Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bill and Eric take a back seat in this one...
Sookie Stackhouse is a telepathic waitress in the small town of Bon Temps, Louisiana. Her ability to read minds keeps the normal people away from her. They fear her ability, even those who claim not to believe in it. However, the vampires and other supernatural beings flock to her.
Her brother, Jason, has recently been bitten by a werepanther. Once he makes his first...
Published on 23 May 2005 by Detra Fitch

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not my favourite
I love Sookie Stackhouse books, and am currently working my way through the series. However, Dead As A Doornail just didn't do it for me. I was surprised to see that people think it's the best book yet!
I guessed almost straight away who was snuffing out the werewolves, the clues and dialogue between the murderer and Sookie made it pretty obvious. As for who was...
Published on 1 Sep 2009 by Librarian


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bill and Eric take a back seat in this one..., 23 May 2005
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Sookie Stackhouse is a telepathic waitress in the small town of Bon Temps, Louisiana. Her ability to read minds keeps the normal people away from her. They fear her ability, even those who claim not to believe in it. However, the vampires and other supernatural beings flock to her.
Her brother, Jason, has recently been bitten by a werepanther. Once he makes his first shift, Jason finds that he enjoys his new ability. Problem is that a sniper has begun shooting the local shifters and Jason's new brethren suspect he may be the shooter. Sookie and her friends have until the next full moon to find out who the real sniper is.
Sam, Sookie's boss, is one of the shifters who has been shot. Unable to tend his bar, Sam has Sookie go to Eric for a temporary bar tender. Charles, a vampire, begins work the very next night. Charles is soon protecting Sookie. Seems someone is trying to kill her for simply associating with supernatural beings. If all this is not enough, the local packleader has died. Sookie must attend the funeral, as well as, witness the competition that will select the new packleader.
**** The vampires Bill and Eric take a back seat and play only secondary roles in this installment of the series. Focus is kept mainly on the shifters and the sniper. Author Charlaine Harris has a winning series with this cast of characters! Harris makes the night come alive with her imaginative, supernatural, and dark shrouded community. As usual, I find myself longing for Sookie's next adventure. ****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down to Earth, 12 Jun 2006
By 
Despite the supernatural characters and 'incidents' that appear in this book, it is pleasantly down to earth in tone and language. I am not saying the language is bad or the tone is bland; it is entirely the opposite.

The flow of the story does not go away from the details of everyday life as they do sometimes in stories that have heros and heroines in them. Buffy is all cool and glamour but I do like something a little more practical than just one destined saviour of the world.

Sookie is no saviour and she does not slay vampires. However, she is down to earth, hardworking and sweet. She goes through life with cheer (most of the time) and the ability to be thankful for what she's got, instead of wanting and wanting and wanting. I am not saying that she is a saint because she is not. She gets jealous; she gets mad; she gets violent but it is all part of her very human nature, just like you or me. I love her for it. If you dislike first-person narratives, which I normally do, you won't dislike this one but it relates, it really does.

Just another note, Ms Harris sure has a sense of humour when she was naming the twins that appear in this book. Come on, two pairs of twins; one pair named Dixon and Dixie; the other pair named Claude and Claudine:) I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fifth in the series and possibly the best yet, 30 Sep 2006
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse series is just getting better and better. I loved the first book, Dead Until Dark, where Sookie got together with Bill Compton, her next-door neighbour who happens to be a vampire. Charlaine Harris introduced us to some of the not-quite-normal people in Sookie's town of Bon Temps in this book - Sam the Werewolf bar owner being one of them. Once Sookie got together with Bill, Sam showed his interest.

In the third story in the series, Club Dead, Sookie and Bill split up after he was unfaithful. This rather spoilt the book for me (I like happy endings and it rather negated the happy endings of books 1 and 2) but more characters were introduced, such as Alcide Herveaux, a Werewolf, who were possible love interests.

In the fourth book of the series, Dead To The World, Eric Northman the Viking vampire finally got into Sookie's underwear, not that he could remember anything about it after the event (amnesia is so inconvenient).

Dead As A Doornail is the fifth book and it starts where the fourth left off. Eric and Sookie's fling is over (and Eric has his memory back, but amnesia now about what took place when his memory had been wiped by the witch) and Jason has been bitten by a Werepanther and is awaiting his first full moon.

This story has lots of complex plot threads and different strands within it which make it interesting. There's Jason's new situation which is immediately made worse by the discovery that someone is shooting shape-shifters and he is a suspect. Calvin Norris, head of the Shifters in the village of Hotshot, is in hospital having been shot himself but tries to protect Jason - mainly because he's after Sookie. And this is the first hint at one of the significant themes of the book - Sookie is becoming mighty attractive to all the men around her. Alcide Herveaux, the werewolf whose former girlfriend Debbie tried to kill Sookie at the end of the last book (and was in turn shot dead by Sookie and buried by Eric) is trying to persuade Sookie to have a more permanent relationship with him. Eric is hassling Sookie to try and find out what took place when he had amnesia and still trying to get into her underwear (not knowing that he already has); Bill Compton, although not featuring much in this book, still wants to get back together with Sookie; and Sam the shifter is being a support to her because he loves her.

Wow! This woman has SIX dishy men after her. Well, none of them are just men - they're all shapeshifters or vampires or whatever. This made me wonder somewhat - granted, Sookie's sweet and nice and caring (although also a disaster area) but is she REALLY that appealing? And can't she choose, rather than stringing them all along (even Calvin Norris who seems rather old for her)?

Anyway, on with the story. Or several stories. Sookie's house is burnt down and she's rescued by Claudine the fairy. She had a bodyguard in Charles Twining the Vampire English bartender, but also has every other male in the vicinity trying to rescue her. She's trying to keep Jason safe, work out who's killing the shifters, keep herself financially stable, avoid becoming beholden to Eric, work out her feelings for Bill (who she seems to find the most comfortable of her beaux) and avoid becoming part of Alcide Herveaux's wolf pack. Phew!

Despite all this going on, the book works well as a leisurely read. Sookie comes across as a nice, simple girl - with an incredibly complex life. She's definitely becoming wiser about the world although her ability to choose and stick with one man is rather suspect.

And at the end we meet a seventh applicant for Sookie's attention, the enigmatic Weretiger Quinn, who I suspect is going to feature in future. This section of the book seemed slightly strange to me, tacked on after the resolution of the main plotline (who's killing the shapeshifters) but is probably a set up for a future book.

If you liked any of the previous Sookie Stackhouse books you'll certainly appreciate this one. If you're fed up (as I am) with the direction that Laurell K Hamilton took in her Anita Blake books this is a refreshing return to the fun side of the vampire world with sex but not sex mania.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sookie Comes of Age, 7 Jun 2006
By 
Debra Morse (Southern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the best Sookie Stackhouse book yet.

With each edition of the marvelous Southern Vampire series, author Charlaine Harris expands the repertoire of characters and environs of the supernatural world of telepath Sookie Stackhouse. At first we readers were confined to the warm intimacy of Sookie's first love Bill Compton, a vampire of considerable seduction, and to Sookie's tiny peripheral world of her boss Sam the shifter bartender, her brother Jason, and a few assorted other extraordinary characters of Bon Temps, Louisiana. Each installation in the series has expanded on that initial narrow world to bring us weres, witches, and the power structure of the Gulf Coast vampire community. What would have been far too complicated a fantasy world to explain in one lump narration effortlessly unfolds thanks to Harris' patient revelation.

In this, the fifth and arguably best volume yet, we are introduced more fully to the world of the weres, in particular the secretive shifter community of Hotshot, a neighboring town to Bon Temps. Sookie finds herself once again inveigled in multiple intrigues. A sniper has set his deadly sights on area shifters, and Jason has fallen under suspicion. Sookie must solve the mystery before the next full moon, and her task is complicated by the killer's targeting her as well. What really goes on in the close, apparently inbred community of Hotshot? What role does the seductive fairy Claudine play? How can Sookie help her friend Tara out of an apparently abusive relationship with a sinister vampire? Sookie must walk a diplomatic line between her various allegiances: to Eric the owner of Fangtasia, to the Herveaux clan of shifters, and to her old love Bill, and all the while stay true to herself. Now she is truly a woman, capable of great maturity and bravery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another one bites the dust..., 15 Dec 2009
By 
Ines Santos Costa "Scully_101" (Lisbon, PT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
How can we begin to describe this series of books? Vampire stories have rocked my world since I was 12 years old and first saw "Bram Stoker's Dracula" on the big screen. Since then, I've been a steady consumer of books, movies and tv series of the genre, always searching for the "next IT thing" for me.

I've read all Stephenie Meyer's, Anne Rice and others, but I have to say that Charlaine mixes up a combo that I find particularly good: the premise is indeed the vampire genre, but we end up more wrapped up with Sookie - and all her single-attractive-working-girl dramas- than with the vampires, wolves, fairies and other surreal humans in the story. It's funny, enjoyable and delivers a good balance - it feels "real" - as far as real can get with all these supernatural creatures.

So cudos to Charlaine for delivering another great story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not my favourite, 1 Sep 2009
I love Sookie Stackhouse books, and am currently working my way through the series. However, Dead As A Doornail just didn't do it for me. I was surprised to see that people think it's the best book yet!
I guessed almost straight away who was snuffing out the werewolves, the clues and dialogue between the murderer and Sookie made it pretty obvious. As for who was trying to get Sookie, well that was pretty clear too once the murderer said something pretty significant to Sookie and Charlaine Harris made a point of emphasising it. So once I worked it all out, it put a bit of a downer on the rest of the book which seemed to drag on and on... and on.
I like the bits of the books where Sookie builds up relationships with people but there's none of that here. Honestly, I'm so surprised no one else agrees with me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, Fast Paced and you will never guess who dunnit..., 10 Nov 2005
By 
shaz17 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this was better than the others, it had every one involved plus some new as well. The vamps, don't take a back seat, but are in it all way through, but these tales are focused on Sookie, as they are about her and her life with her supernatural friends, so cant understand why peeps would think they were about the vamp scene pals all the time. I love the shifters and find myself wanting to join all the fun with them....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dead as a doornail, 18 July 2010
By 
This is the fifth book in the southern vampire series, and once again the people of Bon Temps are being attacked, only this time it's shifters being shot at.

Funnily enough however, this storyline seems to be almost ignored most of the time, instead taking a backseat to Sookie's own problems, the main one of which seems to once again be 'which suitor should I consider dating?', with Sookie being chased this time by Bill, Eric, Sam, Alcide, and now Calvin too.

There are another couple of notable events - Jason's turning into a were-panther for the first time, Sookie's house being the victim of an arson attempt, a funeral, and a competition for the new Werewolf pack leader, but to be honest the book just seems to be a tale of "what's happening to Sookie this week?" rather than to have a definite story line like the previous books, which is actually a little disappointing.

Overall, the book is an okay read as part of the series, but as for an actual storyline, it's a little lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another good book from Charlaine Harris, 1 Jun 2010
By 
Someone's taking lethal shots at weres, including the leader of the Hotshot community, Calvin Norris and Sam, Sookie's boss. Calvin's people think it's Sookie's newly-turned brother Jason, but Sookie's determined to prove otherwise. In the meantime, she has to make a deal with Eric to get a temporary bartender to cover for Sam, and Alcide wants her help with the choosing of a new packmaster for the Shreveport werewolves. There's no rest for Sookie as her life is targeted several times, but thank god for her fairy godmother...

There was less of a structured plot in this one and more of many little plots, some of which connect and some of which don't - but I found it more enjoyable than some of the more single-plotted books like Club Dead. A whole parade of men tramp through Sookie's life wanting her attention and more: Eric, Bill, Sam, Alcide, Calvin and the new guy, Quinn. It gets quite crowded at times! But there's always something to keep us on our toes with Sookie and her crazy life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Southern Vampire" series book 5, 16 Nov 2009
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Poor Sookie, no matter her intentions to avoid conflict (particularly the supernatural kind) and remain injury free, she again finds herself in the forefront of a variety of bloody scenes. These include a sniper targeting Weres, the more brutal relationships to be found between humans and vampires and a vicious contest to elect a new Packmaster.

The plot line is just crazy in this book; fast paced and frenzied throughout with odd but thoroughly enjoyable lip twitching moments. I'm loving Eric's determination to uncover what happened between him and Sookie when he was under a witch's curse (book 4 "Dead to the World") and Sookie's difficult relationship with her ex-boyfriend Vampire Bill. Equally intriguing is new shape shifter Quinn, who certainly makes an impact, whilst I'm itching to learn more of Claudine and her journey towards "the light". This series is improving with every book and I'm becoming somewhat addicted to Sookie's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews