Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back Spin- A Review
This is definitely not one of Coben's greatest work. Far better books include Drop Shot and Fade Away. The most surprising aspect of the book is the ommision of Windsor Horne-Lockwood III from the majority of the book. This made Myron Bolitar's chararacter seem weak, and there is no doubt in my mind that a book without Win as a lead character is not as good as a book...
Published on 8 Oct 2003 by Thomas Bason

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I Love Harlan Coben, But...
I love Harlan Coban, and have read every one of his novels, but this time the complexity of the plot, the dubious motivations of the many suspects, the number and range of co-incidences, and the degree of freedom given to Myran Bolitar by the police and others, left me feeling disappointed. The fact that Harlan had to spend so long explaining it all at the end simply...
Published on 27 Nov 2009 by Crofters Joan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back Spin- A Review, 8 Oct 2003
This review is from: Back Spin (Paperback)
This is definitely not one of Coben's greatest work. Far better books include Drop Shot and Fade Away. The most surprising aspect of the book is the ommision of Windsor Horne-Lockwood III from the majority of the book. This made Myron Bolitar's chararacter seem weak, and there is no doubt in my mind that a book without Win as a lead character is not as good as a book where Win features more prominently. Having said that, it was an enjoyable read, it just did not achieve the high standard that Harlan Coben has set in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Myron Bolitar enters the world of golf, 12 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Backspin (Paperback)
Another very well constructed mystery by Harlan Coben - plenty of red herrings and enough suspects to keep the reader guessing right to the end. There were much smaller appearances by Esperanza Diaz and Windsor Lockwood 111, with Jessica Culver only managing a telephone slot. Possibly their relative absences made it one of Coben's less compulsive stories, but very good nonetheless. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well up to Standard, 23 July 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Back Spin (Paperback)
Harlan Coben continues to prove that he is one of the best thriller writers around at the moment. A page turner is a much used phrase but in this case it is really appropriate. The author's books are always so well structured and his character's well rounded. He is obviously comfortable with his style and ability and this transmits itself to the reader making the reading of his books sheer pleasure from start to finish. Coben has now got a string of best selling crime novels behind him and all I can say is that I hope he continues to write for many years to come. The author lives in New Jersey with his wife and four children.

For Myron Bolitar, sports agent, his client, superstar Linda Coldren comes first and if that means looking into the kidnapping of her son, so be it. He also knows that he might have to go tip toeing around people at the top of the food chain, so to speak. The boy was born and raised in top society , but he was last seen in a down town flea pit of a hotel in Philadephia.

Myron's search for the boy takes him to both sides of the social divide and when the family skeletons start to appear out of the closet Myron starts to find out how difficult life can be, even holding on to it is a mammoth task.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right on the money, 4 Feb 2008
This review is from: Back Spin (Paperback)
For me this has all the ingredients of a good read: mysterious plot, interesting characters, difficult to put down and funny.

I think this is the fourth in the Myron Bolitar series and it is a worthy addition to the ranks. The books tend to be set in different sports areas and as you might guess this one is set in the world of golf.

In spite of his dislike of the sport Myron, the sports rep, is drawn in with the lure of hard cash. Of course things start to get complicated with the apparent kidnap of the teenage son of Jack Coldren. Jack just happens to be leading the US Open at the time. The cast includes the rich and priviliged relatives of Windsor Lockwood III, gangsters, neo-nazis, golfers and sports reps. Quite a crew! Unusually Myron's friend Win stays out of the action this time but former wrestler Esperanza helps out. Girlfriend Jessica is out on the sidelines.

I think the humour is what sets the Myron Bolitar series apart from other detective stories. Here he has a great time describing the near religious experience of the golf tourney. For example Myron chatting to an old guy in the congregation following the golfers. (With reference to the man's pants or as we say trousers) ""You're afraid of getting hit with a golf cart, right." They were orange and yellow in a hue slightly mor luminous than a bursting supernova." Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back Spin scores a hole in one., 27 Jun 1997
By A Customer
In Back Spin, Harlan Coben not only manages to provide a glimpse into the psyche of a champion (whatever their field of expertise), but weaves together a chilling tale of kidnapping, family secrets, and the beauty and eccentricity which is golf.

While Myron Bolitar, sports rep and rival of Henny Youngman for king of the one-liners, attempts to enter the world of professional golfing at the US Open, he is more than a little side-tracked by frantically working to find the missing son of the leader of that prestigious event.

This is a story of violence, in the graphic, physical sense and also in terms of betrayal; particularly the pain that family members can inflict upon one another.

Back Spin also moves us along in our understanding of Myron, Esperanza and especially the charming, but lethal Win. For those already acquainted with those characters (in every sense of the word!), Back Spin is a "must read."

For those not yet acquainted with this trio, or the author, you can look forward to a great story, with more twists and turns than the golf hole of your worst nightmares, and more empathy and eloquence than all the jokes and snappy come-backs might lead you to expect.

Whatever the author's golf handicap may be, with this latest addition to the Myron Bolitar series, Harlan Coben shows he definitely qualifies as a Master of his craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cobens Rules!, 24 April 1999
By A Customer
Please order all of Harlan Coben's Myron Bolitar novels at once. Not only will you read about the world's most honorable sports agent Myron Bolitar but you get a murder mystery to follow as well as some memorable characters to cheer for. The mysteries are excellently written, hilarious and fast-paced. Once I started reading the book, it is hard to put it down, so I didn't, I finished it the day I received, as I did with the previous Bolitar novels. What draws me to this series is Myron's interactions with the people closest to him - his girlfriend, his parents, his assistant/partner(?) Esparanza and last but not least Win Lockwood - psycho-yuppie. I can only read books in the mystery genre and this is one of the best series ever. To all you potential Cobenatics - order all Bolitar novels at once! Please note that you can reserve the new novel - The Final Detail before its release in June. Hurry - catch up with Myron, Win (my favorite) and crew before the June deadline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant as befits a genius talent such as Coben, 13 Jun 1997
By A Customer
Since the U.S. Open golf tournament is being held at the Merion golf
course near Philadelphia, sports agent and private detective Myron Bolitar
attends in the hope that he can find some sports clients. At the
tournament, Jack and Linda Coldren ask Myron to help them find their
missing son, sixteen year old Chad, who apparently has been kidnapped.
Linda has been the leading female golfer for the past decade, while Jack is
known for blowing the U.S. Open almost a quarter of a century ago.
Surprisingly, Jack is the early leader of the tournament. Desperate for
help, he turns to his partner, Win Lockwood, who refuses to help because
the clients are blood, related to his estranged mother.
....... Myron begins an investigation to unearth the missing teen. Myron tapes
evidence that makes it seem as if Chad is conducting a hoax, but Linda
thinks he is still in trouble. Jack thinks his son has pulled a nasty stunt
on them. Linda asks Myron to stay on the case which he does. Before Myron
can further dig into the case, Jack is murdered. It seems that without Win
to help him, Myron is going to lose this case.
........ BACKSPIN, the latest Myron Bolitar mystery, is a great sports
who-done-it. The story line is filled with twists that wrap together in a
plausible manner. Long before we heard of Jerry there was a Myron, who is
a wonderful character. However, this time there is the bonus of learning a
lot about the enigmatic Win. Harlan Coben may be the best writer of sports
mystery novels today and definitely proves that he earned his recent Edgar
Award.

......Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I Love Harlan Coben, But..., 27 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Back Spin (Paperback)
I love Harlan Coban, and have read every one of his novels, but this time the complexity of the plot, the dubious motivations of the many suspects, the number and range of co-incidences, and the degree of freedom given to Myran Bolitar by the police and others, left me feeling disappointed. The fact that Harlan had to spend so long explaining it all at the end simply re-inforced my sense that it had got away from him. Time to give Myran and Win a rest I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Standard Bolitar - Excelllent, 10 Mar 2008
By 
Matthew Thorbes "Pads" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back Spin (Paperback)
When I read the first in the Bolitar series, I thought to myself - there's no way he can keep this going for so long.

Well, here we are at book four and we're still going strong. The Bolitar style - quick, prankish and often a little silly (Myron doesn't ever seem to let himself take things seriously), this series continues to surprise and delight.

As always, there's multiple strands to the story that keep you transfixed and a cast of well realised characters that make the mystery more plausible. You think you've got it figured out when suddenly Coben drags you off the other way, demonstrating that your perceived cleverness was just him taking you right where he wanted you to go.

For fans, there's plenty of story on Esperanza and Win to keep you interested in the sub-plot, and for the new reader, there's a breakneck pace mystery that will keep you reading 'til your done.

It's not the best mystery story ever written, but if you're after a good time, this will keep you guessing (and smiling) from cover to cover.

I'm just stoked there's plenty more in the series for me to enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 11 Feb 2009
By 
A. R. Foster "goodbuyer" (Sandhurst, Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back Spin (Paperback)
Harlan Coben is an excellent author. The twists and turns he feeds into each of his novels are both unique and unpredictable.

His characters are believable even though bordering on superhuman. The wit and sarcasm are well placed and worthy of the reader's sniggers and public laughter.

The plots in the Myron Bolitar stories are sometimes a little tame compared with those in his other books, but the mandatory guesswork keeps you reading chapter after chapter to see if you're correct in your assumptions. Invariably not!!!

This is not the best in the Bolitar series. That is reserved for Darkest Fear.

This man is a fine author. I have read all of his books and can't wait for the next one.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back Spin (Myron Bolitar Book 4)
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews