Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Precious material from the back catalogue
It's always instructive to discover an author's roots.
Here in this RRetrospective (gettit GRRM!), you will discover Haviland Tuf, an ecological engineer; scripts from the TV series " The Twilight Zone, " which he wrote, during his Hollywood years and
to me, the outstanding feature in this volume is the novella " The Hedge Knight." this is a...
Published 21 months ago by Curlyview!!

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a lash up
Bought this after reading fevere dream - (which I thought was excellent btw)

This feels a bit like a lash up of leftover bits and peices , different times and themes and quality. I skipped skipped one section of 60 pages or so as it was an unused film script complete with instructions for camera angles and his / her dialogue captions. Might be of interest to...
Published on 24 Sept. 2012 by Mr. Peter A. Gillon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Precious material from the back catalogue, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamsongs (Volume 2): A RRetrospective: Book Two (Kindle Edition)
It's always instructive to discover an author's roots.
Here in this RRetrospective (gettit GRRM!), you will discover Haviland Tuf, an ecological engineer; scripts from the TV series " The Twilight Zone, " which he wrote, during his Hollywood years and
to me, the outstanding feature in this volume is the novella " The Hedge Knight." this is a pre-quel to his " Song of Ice and Fire " series; which you will know as 'A Game Of Thrones. "

All in all a splendid body of work. Gives invaluable insights into George Martin's creative process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another split book, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This collection of short stories/novellas (scifi and fantasy) is good but bear this is mind:

THIS IS NOT DREAMSONGS 2, IT IS THE SECOND HALF OF THE DREAMSONGS HARDBACK PUBLISHED IN PAPERBACK.

The actual stories are really good, worth buying for the Hedge Knight alone.

In summary, buy it if you didnt buy the hardback Dreamsongs.

Yet another Martin partial duplicate purchase, must remember next time I get an Amazon alert to check better. At least I didnt buy Dreamsongs 1 in paperback, Im not quite that dumb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a lash up, 24 Sept. 2012
By 
Mr. Peter A. Gillon (Warrington England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought this after reading fevere dream - (which I thought was excellent btw)

This feels a bit like a lash up of leftover bits and peices , different times and themes and quality. I skipped skipped one section of 60 pages or so as it was an unused film script complete with instructions for camera angles and his / her dialogue captions. Might be of interest to some but not me.

Think I will put it down as as one for the die hards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 15 April 2012
By 
Liam (REDCAR, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It seems like many a writter, George Martin has struck gold with his Game Of Thrones series however this patch work collection of short stories is very hit and miss. Some of it is quite good, however the others lack quite a bit. There are certainly better collections of short stories out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As per usual with Mr Martin, his work takes you to another world as easily as you change channels with a tv remote. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamsongs (Volume 2): A RRetrospective: Book Two (Kindle Edition)
Wondefully varied stories from the master - well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My wife loves all the George RR Martin's novels, 5 Dec. 2012
By 
J. Higham "Jack Higham" (Warrington Cheshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since the Game of Thrones came on TV my wife has been a huge fan of Mr Martin's novels and tells me about different parts of the story. If you liked the movies you will probably like the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Nov. 2014
By 
J. Brazill "Juls" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamsongs (Volume 2): A RRetrospective: Book Two (Kindle Edition)
A great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dreamsong, 10 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is just what it says, if you like Martin it will be up your street, came in plenty of time and was a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews