Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little off the boil but still fun
Sookie Stackhouse is a great character whose world has opened up in the previous six books of the Southern Vampire series. She's fallen in and out of love with various vampires, met various shapeshifters/werewolves, discovered that she's part fairy, got a housemate who is a witch and more. The last two books in the series had Sookie as rather a femme fatale and at the...
Published on 26 Nov 2007 by Helen Hancox

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All Together Dead
I like this series a lot but apart from the first two or three I don't think they stand up well as books in their own right. You carry on reading because you are fond of the characters, not because of any great storytelling. This one is probably the one I liked the least in the entire series to date. It is full of dry as dust vampire politics and I couldn't believe in...
Published on 18 Mar 2009 by Lilith


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little off the boil but still fun, 26 Nov 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Sookie Stackhouse is a great character whose world has opened up in the previous six books of the Southern Vampire series. She's fallen in and out of love with various vampires, met various shapeshifters/werewolves, discovered that she's part fairy, got a housemate who is a witch and more. The last two books in the series had Sookie as rather a femme fatale and at the beginning of this story she's with Quinn, the Weretiger.

This book isn't one for a novice to the series - there are a lot of complicated events in previous books that are alluded to, or are foundational to plot or character, which aren't fully explained. The central part of the story is the big vampire convention at Rhodes where Sookie is attending, as a guest and helper of the Queen of Louisiana, to use her telepathic skills to help the Queen in her negotiations. However there is clearly more going on at the convention than Sookie first realised, with various trials, murders, bombs and more. Sookie's life is made more complicated by her exes, Bill and Eric, being at the convention along with Quinn. Somehow it seems that Sookie hasn't got over either Bill or Eric and that she's not yet sure about her future with Quinn.

The other books in the series have all been excellent but somehow this one was a little below par. Perhaps it was the plot which, although interesting, was also rather easy to see through. The huge roster of characters can make it a bit hard work to follow what's going on and although the underlying concepts of this series are excellent, I wonder if it's perhaps getting a little tired. Most of the action in this story takes place in the hotel in Rhodes, rather than in Bon Temps or Shreveport, which adds some more interest to the story - almost all the characters in this book are supernatural in some way rather than the usual mix of mostly humans with some vamps or weres. This serves to show how Sookie's life has become rather out of her control as she is subject to the whims and power plays of the various vamps around her.

For those who've enjoyed the previous books this is still a good read and one that most fans will appreciate. However it doesn't quite satisfy as the others did which might be a sign than the author is running out of ideas for this series or perhaps might just be a short blip. I look forward to the next book with great anticipation to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All Together Dead, 1 Jun 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Being surrounded by all varieties of undead, changeling, and preternatural beings has gotten to be nothing out of the ordinary for Louisiana cocktail waitress Sookie Stackhouse. Still, even she has her limits. Betrayed by her long time vampire love, Sookie must now not only deal with a possible new man in her life-the oh-so-handsome shapeshifter Quinn- but also contend with the long planned vampire summit in Rhodes.

The summit, which has attracted undead power players from all over central U.S., is sure to be a tense situation. The vampire queen of Louisiana is in a precarious position, her power base weakened by hurricane damage to New Orleans. And there are some vamps who would like to finish what nature started. With secret alliances and backroom deals the order of the day-and- night Sookie must decide what side she'll stand with. And her choice may mean the difference between survival and all-out catastrophe..... "

I have been waiting for so long for this book to be published....and finally here it is !!! "All Together Dead" is book 7 from Southern vampire series. I loved the book, but there is a reason why I did not give it five stars. I loved going back into Sookie's crazy world of vampires and other creatures, but the story seemed a little too cluttered to me, all about vampire politics (a little dry). And I must admit that I missed Sookie's home town, her bar, Sam ....

All-in-all I loved the book but it did not have the same feel to it like the others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 7th installment of this great series, 6 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sookie Stackhouse is back to investigate all things vampiric in this, the 7th book of the 'Southern Vampire' series. Almost all the action in this book takes place away from Bon Temps and so many of the regular characters are missing, or take a back deat - even Vampire Bill plays only a tiny role as the action focuses on Sookie, Quinn and Eric and their dealings with the Queen of New Orleans, her entourage and some characters familiar from other books such as fellow-telepath Barry the Bellboy. A more complex plot, and the unfamiliar location give this book a different feel to the others and it is certainly darker and less laugh-out-loud funny than the earlier ones. I liked the broader character development and particularly the revelations and insights into Eric's feelings for Sookie. I came across these books recently and after reading all 7 in the space of 4 weeks, I now find myself depressed at having to wait a year for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new developments, 10 Dec 2007
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Over the last few years Charlaine Harris has developed the character of Sookie Stackhouse from something rather more akin to a dipsy blonde bar waitress to a present-day Miss Marples. Of course, the significant difference is Sookie's telepathic abilities and, naturally, her association with all kinds of supernaturals.
This story has moved from her own home town, Bon Temps, to a summit meeting in Rhodes of all the major vampire beings where we just know something major in the murder and mayhem stakes (sorry about the pun) is bound to happen.
It does and Charlaine Harris manages to keep the action flowing until the final explosive finale. Such continuing action is interspersed with details of vampire law and marriage vows but nonetheless, for the followers of Sookie and Eric et al they will not be disappointed with this book and we can only await the next instalment.
One final thought is that Sookie is slowly becoming more vampiric because of blood exchanges. Will the next book develop this gradual processing of our favourite heroine?
One final extra thought: if you can't wait, try the author's 'Grave' series featuring another one-off young female, Harper Connelly who locates dead bodies for a living. Magic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet for me, 7 April 2008
Sookie is one of my favourite heroines now but at the start of the series I found her a tad irritating. As the books have progressed I think that the author has developed her main character beautifully without the incredible and implausible leaps from their core personality that other authors in the genre seem to do. Sookies love interests are developing well, enough variety and conflict to be interesting without detracting from the plot line- I think that this and the previous book are winners for me precisely because Sookie's meetings/workings with the supernatural are now the norm for her and for the reader therefore the focus is upon the inner workings of that alternate world rather than her wide eyed wonder at all she sees, big score for me all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Southern Vampire" series book 7, 22 Nov 2009
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Sookie Stackhouse; small town waitress and telepath, has been increasing involved in vampire politics in previous books; however she is now heavily entangled with vampire royalty and the intrigues that surround them. Charged by Sophie-Anne, the vampire queen of Louisiana to accompany her to a summit, Sookie is not only dealing with those that wish to discredit the queen, she's also face to face with the three men she has at some point been intimate with; vampire Bill, vampire Eric, and shape shifting tiger Quinn. Yet even with her telepathy, Sookie is sometimes too late to stop certain events occurring, whilst juggling her supernatural commitments and dealing with those that wish to use her and her ability for their own gain.

CH ups the action and tension to a whole new level in book 7 of this series. Be left in no doubt, there are heart pounding scenes and action galore that will have fans rapidly turning pages to discover the outcome of some intense moments. The passion also heats up somewhat between Sookie and Quinn, yet fate appears to be conspiring against Sookie, and her chances of settling happily ever after with (if not actually human) a living, breathing man always appear jeopardised by the events she finds herself involved in. I'm thinking it's about time CH gave poor Sookie a break, but then her life would be so much duller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All Together Dead, 18 Mar 2009
I like this series a lot but apart from the first two or three I don't think they stand up well as books in their own right. You carry on reading because you are fond of the characters, not because of any great storytelling. This one is probably the one I liked the least in the entire series to date. It is full of dry as dust vampire politics and I couldn't believe in Sookie's relationship with Quinn. I actually got sick of the vampires and started feeling like it was time Sookie stood up for herself and told them to take a hike and stop ruining her life.
I did like the development of the relationship between Eric and Sookie (my favourite vampire) but I missed Bon Temps and the bar and Sam. I think these stories work best when they are firmly set in Sookie's home town, with her neighbours and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Synopsis, 9 Feb 2008
Louisiana cocktail waitress Sookie Stackhouse has her hands full dealing with every sort of undead and paranormal creature imaginable. And after being betrayed by her longtime vampire love, Sookie must not only deal with a new man in her life-the shapeshifter Quinn-but also contend with the long-planned vampire summit.

The summit is a tense situation. The vampire queen of Louisiana is in a precarious position, her power base weakened by hurricane damage to New Orleans. And there are some vamps who would like to finish what nature started. Soon, Sookie must decide what side she'll stand with. And her choice may mean the difference between survival and all-out catastrophe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripping yarn, 29 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only real problem with the Sookie Stackhouse books is that they are so easy to read! It's all over in a matter of moments. Thank god Charlaine Harris is still writing them. A more minor problem is that the covers of this edition are terribly tacky. In this installment our favourite telepathic barmaid gets up close and personal with the delectable weretiger Quinn, gets drawn further into vampire politics under the auspices of the Queen of Louisiana and faces life-threatening dangers. This is the 8th book in the series, and it really isn't a good place to start: there is too much back-story. Once you start on them, it'll take no time at all to catch up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!! Great Vampire Book, 27 July 2008
By 
5 out of 5!! Best vampire comedy fiction I have read in ages. Sookie is likeable as are the other charactors, it's funny, light and enjoyable. Also gripping, definately unputdownable.

You must try Charlaine Harris' books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews