Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A staggeringly rewarding, ambitious work
I've bought a few new albums in the last couple of weeks - Vampire Weekend, Yeasayer, Hot Chip - all excellent in different ways. Then this arrived 3 days ago. I haven't listened to any of the others since. I just cannot stop playing it, and each time I find a different response to it. I'm a BIG fan of the Brewis brothers and thought that the The Week That Was and School...
Published on 17 Feb 2010 by Bernard H. Christ

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Scared of a melody?
I sort of agree with many of the reviews here - though the one clear influence not mentioned is 10cc. Whilst superficially well-composed and produced, I quickly tired of this album as it is so self-consicously quirky. These guys clearly have lots of talent, yet they seem to be fightened of penning a decent, direct melody. The arrangements are all well-constructed but...
Published on 29 Dec 2011 by Marchespie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A staggeringly rewarding, ambitious work, 17 Feb 2010
This review is from: Field Music [Measure] (Audio CD)
I've bought a few new albums in the last couple of weeks - Vampire Weekend, Yeasayer, Hot Chip - all excellent in different ways. Then this arrived 3 days ago. I haven't listened to any of the others since. I just cannot stop playing it, and each time I find a different response to it. I'm a BIG fan of the Brewis brothers and thought that the The Week That Was and School of Language albums were underrated gems. But initially, I wondered if this new Field Music outing was too dense at first, too musically complex and clever - hell, maybe even a bit too PROG. It isn't. It's got amazing songs by the bucketload, wonderful hooks and smart, brilliant songwriting. But it takes a few listens to get under your skin - and then you just keep finding more and more to love in it.

I don't think I've ever heard such an odd range of influences moulded into something that works so well. Of course there's the angular, XTC post punk that's always there in their work, but I can also hear Traffic, Fleetwood Mac, Prefab Sprout, Kate Bush, White Album era Beatles, Led Zepellin, Fairport Convention, Josef F/Orange Juice and (whisper it), yes even Peter Gabriel era Genesis too. That's not to suggest that this is a derivative album. It's absolutely its own beast, but it's made from by two guys who have a deep love and understanding of the last 40 years of rock music.

Field Music, alas, will always be an acquired taste, and I suspect this album will no more be their breakout than any other of their catalogue, but make no mistake. This their finest work, made by a band at the peak of their powers. Rarer still, it's a double album that you never feel drags and that earns every minute of its playing time. If anything, the second disc is even stronger than the first.

They've clearly put their heart and soul into this. The least you could do is lend them your ears for an hour or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a grower, a keeper, a classic of our time, 3 Jan 2011
By 
Nick (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Field Music [Measure] (Audio CD)
It did take a while for all the pennies to fully drop, after repeated plays, frequent dips into, but I'm finally besotted. Far removed from recent years' landfill indie and autotuned pop, this is witty, ambitious, smart, and rewarding. Characterful, quirky music's still alive and rudely healthy, within this gatefold sleeve. Oh, and it rocks, too. I love this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 22 Feb 2010
This review is from: Field Music [Measure] (Audio CD)
I rarely bother to review records but felt I had to make an exception in this case. Measure is one of the very few double albums in my collection with no filler material or wasted notes. Many reviewers in the press have mentioned that this is a band that like to wear their influences - Pink Floyd, XTC and even Led Zeppelin - openly but the end result is that they have created a superb, original record that moves effortlessly between genres. This is a very early contender for the album of 2010 and one of the most creative records of the last years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for people who love music, 22 April 2010
This review is from: Field Music [Measure] (Audio CD)
Hailing from the north east, this is a superb album from Field music. Make that double album. Ringing with real intelligence in their song writing, its quite unlike anything their british contemporaries are trying to achieve right now. With nothing drenched in reverb, the whole record has a clear eyed clarity that lets Field Music's undoubted musical prowess shine through. Its a joy, pure and simple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Field Music Makem & Takem, 1 May 2010
By 
David S (Whitley Bay) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Field Music [Measure] (Audio CD)
Two CDs of varied, quirky, (mostly) tuneful twists on the history of pop. Beautifully produced and played, this should be the glittering ticket to the Premier League for Field Music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars informed by healthy doses of classic Led Zeppelin, 1980s Genesis', and, for infectious melody, Roxy Music, 4 Aug 2010
By 
Alister King "Big Al" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Field Music [Measure] (Audio CD)
A double album. 20-tracks. Unusual time signatures. Strings, adventurous pianos and multilayered guitars. A 70's prog rock album? No. Sunderland brothers, David and Peter Brewis 3rd album in fact. But it is informed by healthy doses of classic Led Zeppelin, 1980s Genesis', and, for infectious melody, Roxy Music. Lights Up reminds me of Airwaves by Thomas Dolby. Which is brilliant. Precious Plans features a lovely guitar arpeggio with a nice little croon over the top, which build nicely to allow a string quartet to pop in at the end. Lovely. Next album should focus on fewer, more completed works and stands to be a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait..., 17 Feb 2010
By 
Big Twink (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Field Music [Measure] (Audio CD)
It's been three long years since the last Field Music Lp 'Tones of Town' (one of my favourite Lps of all time), although the two 'solo' albums in between did go some way to filling the gap, and now it's finally arrived. Twenty songs showcasing the Brewis brothers' superb songcraft and musicianship.
Not as immediate as 'Tones', you will need to spend time with this Lp and with each listen something new will be revealed. Only three days in, and I'm still getting to grips with its many delights. The boys fit more ideas into one song than in Oasis' entire back catalogue, but not in a over-clever prog way. Each song is kept concise and each note is there for a reason.
Do yourself a favour and welcome them back with a big hug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 30 Jan 2013
By 
N. Higham (north west U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Music [Measure] (Audio CD)
For me but interesting and it is making me go back and listen more and more.A more modern sound than i i am used to but yes i am getting into it.At this price you can experiment .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Measured, 22 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Field Music [Measure] (Audio CD)
Field Music have reached another level with this majestic double cd. If you've heard their earlier works then a lot of the same elements are still there: the vocal harmonies, the unusual time signatures, spikey guitar and soothing piano parts. There is probably more effective use of violin than before, adding a touch of class. The main difference this time is that every song just seems so precisely constructed, flowing into an awe inspring whole, taking us on a journey through the history of rock & pop. There are songs on here which in isolation sound disjointed or even unfinished, but when you listen to each cd as a whole it all seems to flow beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 11 Jan 2012
By 
A. Parsons (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Field Music [Measure] (Audio CD)
I 'nearly' bought this album for a long time. I heard them play a live session on Marc Riley's 6music show and that finally swung it. What I've found is a great (double) album, full of closely considered music. It's rich with influences and they translate really well. It's a reassuring listen and, for me, restores faith in modern-day music. These guys are really talented. If you've found your way here and you're reading this then you are considering buying this album. Go for it. Read no longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Field Music [Measure]
Field Music [Measure] by Field Music (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews