Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD review
I went to the concert and bought the LP, now I have the CD. Great price, lots of good stuff on there. I don't go in fo all this what is/was their greatest album stuff, give it spin and you'll be rocking away in no time. Fits in very well with all the other Stones discs that I've got, great to listen to in the car as well.
Published on 14 Sep 2010 by Mr. M. D. Brocket

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of the Stones' most interesting live albums
The Rolling Stones have put out numerous live albums - they'll soon reach double-digit figures, actually, something which only Deep Purple have done before.
And none of them are bad. Some, like "get Yer Ya-Ya's Out" are even great, but "Still Life" is merely good.

The sound is a bit thin and one-dimentional, especially the drums, and it is quite short at...
Published on 10 Aug 2003 by Docendo Discimus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD review, 14 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. M. D. Brocket (Sheffield,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Life (Audio CD)
I went to the concert and bought the LP, now I have the CD. Great price, lots of good stuff on there. I don't go in fo all this what is/was their greatest album stuff, give it spin and you'll be rocking away in no time. Fits in very well with all the other Stones discs that I've got, great to listen to in the car as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Richie Dodds (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Still Life (Audio CD)
Great service and a brilliant cd stones at their best.have looked for this cd for yonks and im not dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of the Stones' most interesting live albums, 10 Aug 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Rolling Stones have put out numerous live albums - they'll soon reach double-digit figures, actually, something which only Deep Purple have done before.
And none of them are bad. Some, like "get Yer Ya-Ya's Out" are even great, but "Still Life" is merely good.

The sound is a bit thin and one-dimentional, especially the drums, and it is quite short at only forty minutes.
There are some good performances, though...the track list draws heavily from the Stones' 60s releases with songs like "Satisfaction", "Let's Spend The Night Together", "Time Is On My Side" and the catchy (and incredibly misogynist) "Under My Thumb".

A couple of generic rock n' roll tunes, "Going To A Go-Go" and "Twenty Flight Rock", are also included. I would have preferred some good, solid live renditions of some of the material from the Stones' then-current album "Tattoo You", but maybe that's just me.

"Still Life" could have been better, but it's not a bad album. It's just not particularly original or exciting either. Those looking for live Stones should start with "Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out", "Stripped", and maybe "Love You Live".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mix of surprise and the same from the stones., 20 Jan 2000
By A Customer
A good start to album with Start me up sounding as fresh as ever.Shattered and Time is on my side are unusual but welcome changes to the usual tracks on these sort of albums.Going to a go-go and Twenty flight rock are excellent sing-a-long numbers and help to keep the album moving along when mixed in with the more predictable and run of the mill stones tracks which are featured on this album.Satisfaction is the predictable encore and sounds tired.This album is a worthwhile addition to your record collection but sometimes the stones with their enormous talent should try to be a bit more varied with their choice of tracks on their live and compilation albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Still Life - ( but only just ), 8 Oct 2006
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I won't deny an album release like this frustrates the hell out of me - especially when it's from the group proclaimed to be 'the greatest rock 'n' roll band in the world'.

What's unusual to begin with is in normal circumstances a Stones tour pretty much reflects their latest release at the time - if not always in terms of style almost without exception in terms of quality. The Stones recent album at this time was 'Tattoo Tou' which was very good - unfortunately i can't say the same about this.

'Still Life's title very much sums up what's on offer - yes the evidence is the Stones are still alive - but only just.

The Stones by this time had very much lost their mystique and there's also no hint of danger, as they were sounding more and more like a business proposition though Keith and Ronnie played at times with some great vitality, complementing each other fairly well in a stripped down lean fashion. The biggest problem is Jagger, however, who sings in a gruff passionless voice throughout.It sounds like he was often enjoying the spectacle of these shows without being aware of his own shortcomings.

It's an empty and passionless album overall where the performances lack conviction. It may have seemed great to share the experience at a venue but the musical performances outside the spectacle of the occasion are overall extremely lacklustre.

This album fuels the fire to those who claim the Stones aren't that great live. It's annoying because there's so much recorded evidence (in particular 70s bootlegs) that prove otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has it's moments..., 2 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. M. J. Moses "meirmoses" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Still Life (Audio CD)
I'll come out and say that Still Life and Tattoo You were my introduction to the Stones in '81 and I love those albums. Still Life plays out at a frenetic place and is characterised by a kind of 'hard and loose' style. Richards delivers some awesomely slack solos and they sound like they're having fun in an environment of total chaos and hysteria.

Unfortunately, as with almost all RS releases, this could have been bolstered by more tracks from the tour and, as mentioned, the album itself, which featured probably the last quality Stones offerings....

Also: Check out (100% legit) Wolfgang's Vault for some awesome high quality mixing board streams from the '81 tour or 'The Let's Spend the Night Together' Tour movie - a genuine delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the usual songs - just better sound quality, 17 Jan 2004
By A Customer
Still Life is a fast paced, exciting Live album that came from the 'Tattoo You' tour, so why has it only got one song from the album on? It is a good album but we've heard it all before.
It opens up with 'under my thumb' just like 'Got live if you want it' and includes 'Time is on my Side' and 'Satisfaction'. I would have personally liked to hear the likes of 'slave' or 'hang fire' off the album. There is a fantastic version of 'Let me go' and 'going to a go go'.
The sound quality is better than previous attempts but still a bit dodgy.
If you're wanting a live album that really shows how exciting the stones are live, buy 'Flashpoint'.
Good for collectors though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good live album, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Main reason for buying this album is Jagger's introduction after the first track which I remember from listening to it when it first came out on a friends tape player.

To paraphrase " For all you watching on TV hope your sipping a few beers, smoking a few joints, Well alright !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stones at their best, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Susana Knowles "Susy K" (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Stones at their brilliant Live best. Absolutely faultless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Still Life
Still Life by The Rolling Stones
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews