Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars snow patrol rock the show
snow patrol will again blow you away with classics , alot of songs are the ones everyone will know , but there are a few surprises with cover songs, as well as older ones before they were big and to finish with theres a great dvd with great songs from one of the uks greatest bands, an if you stuggle to find a reason to pay extra for dvd special set think again .All in all...
Published on 10 Nov. 2009 by Mr. John Edwards

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I didn't like the music except for Chasing Cars
I bought this CD as a suggested item from Amazon. I didn't like the music except for Chasing Cars. All the tracks seem slow and dreary and not at all interesting. I will probably take the CD to a charity shop.
Published 5 months ago by Geoff, Darwen


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars snow patrol rock the show, 10 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. John Edwards (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
snow patrol will again blow you away with classics , alot of songs are the ones everyone will know , but there are a few surprises with cover songs, as well as older ones before they were big and to finish with theres a great dvd with great songs from one of the uks greatest bands, an if you stuggle to find a reason to pay extra for dvd special set think again .All in all It is a great set of old ,new and unheard classics that make you remember why you listen to music in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent release, 1 Dec. 2009
There are a lot of brilliant songs by Snow Patrol, but for practical reasons, all of them cannot be included on two CDs. The band has chosen to make a proper compilation, and not a "greatest hits", choosing to inject a bit of substance in the set. They could easily have chosen singles from ''Final Straw'' and beyond, but they didn't. What we get is quite nicely balanced set of songs that range from their first album in 1998 up to the latest in 2008. Also included are b-sides, rare songs (like the cover of "Crazy in Love"), two songs from side project The Reindeer Section, and three new songs.

I can't say much about the actual selected songs, as it varies from person to person, based on which songs they've actually liked over the years. But as Gary commented, the set needs to "draw people" in. I do not mind the inclusion of "Run" and "Chasing Cars", but they were a given anyway. The extra live renditions of both are actually a bonus, because the Union Chapel gig was really good. But if you're buying the Box set, its a little minus, as both songs appear again on the third disc. They could easily have skipped them off it and included "Just Like Christmas" and "Fifteen Minutes Old" instead, both played that day. I personally bought the Box set, and its brilliant. The bonus DVD included has most music videos, which is great, but omits "Little Hide", "One Hundred Things...", "Velocity Girl" and a second version of "Spitting Games". It doesn't make sense to me why. Also, the digipak version has the full sixteen minute film for "The Lightning Strike", which is "awe-ful". Finally, as it was totally unavailable (Yes, even on file sharing, I've checked).

The question of whether such a release is ''needed''; I think a ''greatest hits'' is only applicable when the band has disbanded or retired. But the band has made it clear this isn't one, and they did it to mark their 15 year existence. It makes sense to me. One of the new songs and current single "Just Say Yes" indicates a drastic change in sound and a hint of things to come. Gary and Tom have been DJs forever really, and such a change was bound to occur. Also, Gary's current side projects are avant-garde (Listen... Tanks!) and country (Tired Pony), which may affect Snow Patrol's sound even more, as Gary is the primary songwriter. So, I find this a nice way to put the past behind and look to the future, and the band's selection has made it obvious this isn't a quick money grab scheme.

This release would not really interest long time fans, as they'll usually own all albums. But the bonus material is top notch and can possibly spark interest. For new-ish fans, its very comprehensive and sort of a portfolio of the band's activity over these years. Even the album cover seems to convey a subtle message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC, 7 Dec. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have been a fan of Snow Patrol for some time and this brings together the best of their work so far. It doesn't disappoint. Many of the songs have haunting and incredibly moving lyrics sung beautifully by Gary Lightbody who is credited with writing almost all the tracks. His voice gets under your skin and must surely melt the hardest of hearts. Favourite tracks I would urge people to start with - Run, Chocolate, You're All I Have, Crack the Shutters, Set The Fire to the Third Bar, Chasing Cars, Just Say Yes, The Planets Bend Between Us and Open Your Eyes - brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Say Yes, 22 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want all the best Snow Patrol songs without investing in the separate albums then Up To Now is a good choice, made even better with the inclusion of a nice DVD. This is not like some best of's that contain questionable 'hits'; there are 30 songs spead over the two CDs with only a couple (Run and Chasing Cars) repeated and it's great to have these extra live versions. The DVD features some Festival and Abbey Road footage too as well as a documentary and it's a good bonus feature. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was I too old to really appreciate Snow Patrol?, 15 Dec. 2009
The answer is a quite obvious and huge NO! No matter your age, if you enjoy well written melodic songs, extremely well performed by musicions who can play proper instruments, with great production, then Snow Patrol are for you. I'm more a Radio 2 listener at my advanced age (60 when I purchased this CD) but surely no-one can have gone through life without hearing the excellent Chasing Cars but there is so much more to this band than that song.

I live alone, I therefore drive alone so with no-one to change the CD's for me I more often than not get to hear all the tracks on an CD swiftly followed by hearing them all again before being able to replace it, which in the case of Snow Patrol means double the pleasure. I have not been disappointed by anything on this double CD, but if you already have their music either via CD or downloaded to your MP3 or whatever you don't need to buy this. Up To Now is a fantastic introduction to this band. It's great value through Amazon and a totally excellent group of musicians for us old(er) rockers who want more than just listening to the bands of our youth. Buy it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars three sleeves of bliss, 15 Nov. 2009
By 
Anthony J (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
snow patrols best material on two cd's , a generous compilation of gorgous songs , some re-worked , a couple of breath taking live versions , a best of cd which doesn't feel tired and like the end of snow patrols era its more like the begining of a new dawn they manage to keep their music fresh by adding layers to that great spine tingling formula of theirs which is evident from the content on these two cd's just how they have progressed and got better over time , The dvd in the deluxe version definately justifies the extra money its just packed with material , the band documentary alone justifies the price , generous and revealing its such a great compilation in all , highly recommended ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars snow far snow good, 25 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A pretty impressive collection on 2 cd's only knew the band from the singles, but the cd has shown me the depth of their work.Could have done without the crazy in love cover, but a minor gripe in what is a very accomplished collection of high quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snow Patrol, 4 Jan. 2010
By 
Like some others, I thought I only knew Snow Patrol for their big singles, but I was wrong as I noticed I realized several songs while playing.
Please Do Not rate or review this album from the first time you listen to it, give it time, listen to it couple of times and it will grow on you and you will realize it's not just good but it's great, and Snow Patrol are just right out there with bands like U2 and Coldplay.
This album is a decent addition to your collection and I would recommend it to anyone. If I could I would give it 4.5 stars instead, only for reasons that are personal: I hated the Crazy in Love cover, it's one of those albums that takes time to get into you, and because you can't listen to it just anytime, you have to be in a certain mood to play it.
But for the band that gave us Run and Chasing Cars .. a definite 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up To Now- The Best of, 30 May 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
`Up to Now', as the title suggests, is a selection of tracks from Snow Patrols's career up to the date of this albums release. You get a wide range of their music across two discs from well known tracks like `Chocolate', `Chasing Cars' and `Run' to live tracks, covers (Beyonce's `Crazy In Love' originally played for BBC's live lounge) and three new tracks for this collection. On listening to this CD you soon notice just how many of Snow Patrols songs you know and their music has obviously slipped into your consciousness without you even realising it. They manage to carry off light rock and ballads with equal aplomb and this showcases the best of their music in one place. A good introduction to the band or if you want a taste of what they offer without buying the entire back catalogue.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snow Patrol - Up to Now, 23 Dec. 2009
By 
Barrie North - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent double CD and a DVD of live performances and interviews about the history of the band and members. If you like Snow Patrol then this is a must, if you're not convinced/sure about who/what Snow Patrol is/are then this will make you a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Up To Now
Up To Now by Snow Patrol
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews