Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great R.T.S with a difference !
If you are an R.T.S fan, then you need to get this game. Not only does the game contain a great deal of variety within the various strategies on offer, it also allows the ability to create ruse's, these are basically tactics that can deceive and outwit your opponent.

The campaign is great but takes a little while to get going, but once it does it is ace...
Published on 11 Sep 2010 by AL

versus
43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All over too quickly
I love strategy games, particularly those along the lines of Sim City, Civilisation, Industry Giant, or Command + Conquer. Many happy afternoons have been wiled away slowly building up my resources to improve my lot.
This is certainly one of the first that has worked really well on a console(Civ 4 is another), the gameplay makes it easy to pick up and yet hard to put...
Published on 16 Oct 2010 by Tobias Gosselin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All over too quickly, 16 Oct 2010
By 
Tobias Gosselin (Jersey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: R.U.S.E - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
I love strategy games, particularly those along the lines of Sim City, Civilisation, Industry Giant, or Command + Conquer. Many happy afternoons have been wiled away slowly building up my resources to improve my lot.
This is certainly one of the first that has worked really well on a console(Civ 4 is another), the gameplay makes it easy to pick up and yet hard to put down. Graphics are beautiful - watch the anti-aircraft fire trying to take down the WW2 areoplanes as they embark on another attack run...zoom in on the tanks flanked by infantry as they pass menacingly through a town... this could be described as video game art. Sound is superb too, atmospheric and eerie at times, then all-out nerve-racking tension when the action starts. All in all, a hugely enjoyable experience is to be expected for the first 60 minutes of this game.

So, why only 3 stars?

Well, here is where it goes horribly wrong. In the pre-game options, you can set the game length up to 60 minutes maximum. Why?! Why not 6 hours, or infinity? Some of us saddos like our strategy games to last considerably longer then one hour, this really ruins it for me as there is no real chance to build up ones base and thus you're pretty much obliged to be follow rush tactics every time. This, for me at least, means a complete change of my normal strategic tactics and as a devout 'turtle' I'm afraid it just seems like a badly-thought-out idea to limit us to just 60 minutes.

So to sum up, if quick battle games are your thing, you'll love this, go and buy it as you will not be disappointed. However, for those like myself that enjoy slower games that swing back and forth, sometime spanning several hours and that make you really feel like you've just been through a war rather than a quick skirmish - you'll find this is just too rushed and ultimately unsatisfying.

Hopefully future updates may get rid of the one-hour rule...I certainly hope so, as realistically I probably won't bother playing this again until such time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great R.T.S with a difference !, 11 Sep 2010
By 
AL "Ninja B" (Letchworth Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: R.U.S.E - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
If you are an R.T.S fan, then you need to get this game. Not only does the game contain a great deal of variety within the various strategies on offer, it also allows the ability to create ruse's, these are basically tactics that can deceive and outwit your opponent.

The campaign is great but takes a little while to get going, but once it does it is ace.
Multiplayer is an excellent tense and fun affair!

Also this game will support the new Move controller, i think this will simplify the controls, but i don't think move users would have an advantage over dual shock users - as the game is about preparing your defence and planning ahead for attacks, not button mashing nor rushing into the front line (i actually did this during a multiplayer skirmish , my opponent crushed my advancing tanks with ease).

I think this game sits well next to Il-2 Sturmovik and Battlefield 1943 ( two other excellent and exciting WWII games ) so i can't wait to get back onto the battlefield !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good game, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: R.U.S.E - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
This game has received bad marks on the review but is a good exemple how can we play stategic games on the consoles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1st "working" RTS for consoles, 14 Sep 2010
By 
Maijay4 (Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: R.U.S.E - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
This must be the 1st rts on a console that works well with controllers. As with Command and Conquer you have campaigns, skirmish, online multiplayer & co-op so plenty of content to enjoy. Graphics and sounds are fantastic and being able to zoom right up close or zoom out to see the whole map works well.
The game has lots of elements through upgrades, prototypes, ruses, rewards, terrain effects etc and gameplay is very addictive - but I'm not a hardened strategist though I've enjoyed lots of titles from the genre right from the very 1st - Cytron Masters 1982.
If you like rts games like Command & Conquer Red Alert I & II, Generals etc on the PC then this will likely appeal to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games I bought on PS3, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: R.U.S.E - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
It saddens me that a game of this quality did not sell in block buster number thus we will probably never get a RUSE 2. This is the only game where I support buying their DLC (I detest this practice) as you can tell the developer gave you everything they had at time of publishing and did not hold some of the game back.

This game is not for casuals, i.e. if you want to play a short stress free game after work this is not the game for you but if you a game you can get immersed in, this is the game for you.

The online community sadly dwindling thus it will be hard to get into an online game which can be epic!

I enjoyed the single player but not all people do, personally I would give it a 5/5 but some missions are infuriatingly difficult - BE WARNED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, cleaver game, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: R.U.S.E - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
Very good, cleaver game but I am still getting used to handling my army. It is not so user friendly as I would like it to be, however game is intelligent and demanding and i like it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game., 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: R.U.S.E - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
So many hours have I spent conquering the world. However to I'd advise to own the expansion packs for full game experience. The move compatibility is pointless and terrible (hence 4star). Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes!, just about., 7 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: R.U.S.E - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a great video game, easy to pick up and can be challenging

The campaign is great, throwing harder and greater challenges as you progress which follows a good story which i have not finished yet..

You can also create custom matches against the computer which are fun the only drawback being the time constraint of one hour for one of these matches but that shouldn't put you off.

The only game play issue is the lack of a naval option. You cannot build any sort of water born vehicles though there is a presence of water on some maps.

I would defiantly recommend this game to anyone who's interested in a WWII tactical game.

mail me if your up for an online match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 12 Sep 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: R.U.S.E - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
R.U.S.E - Move Compatible (PS3)

First off, i love RTS games, and am a big history nerd as well, so i thought from the promo screenshots that this game would be incredible. I pre-ordered it from amazon and it arrived the day after release, (yay amazon) anyway i started playing this game, and immediately i found it a little too simplistic, im accustomed to Rome, Medieval and Empire total war, where it gets very technical, i found this game to be very similar to Sid Meiers Civilization revolution, which i wasn't a fan of. In the single player modes, i found the Ruse function to be pretty unnecessary to be honest, and you could complete any battles in the "battles mode" without them, the actual campaign again is pretty good, its fun, but not engrossing, and within an hour of play, you've learnt everything there is to know about the game and its take on 'strategy'.

I was expecting, a slower type of gameplay with greater emphasis on planning and executing well thought out plans over time, and also a larger game, whilst it says it offers "Giant sized battle maps" in reality the units move pretty quickly, and when you play at sort of half zoom (which you have to to be able properly command units and observe whats happening) the map is actually pretty small even the biggest ones. I do really like the IRISZOOM zooming function, it is fantastic but its a great chapter in an otherwise un-enthralling book. Similar to the RUSE element, it isn't crucial to gameplay, but serves as a great gimic.

The online multiplayer, is still a bit glitchy (written on the 12th of september 2010) however im sure this will get fixed, and whilst the RUSEs are more useful when playing against a Human opponent, the game loses its tactical-ness online, when it all just becomes who can get the most supplies quicker, then you just build planes, bomb their airfields, and send in paratroopers to capture their buildings, its all a bit to rushy for me, i like games with more time in preparation, this game is more 20 tanks beats 10 tanks, sort of tactics.

All in all, a pretty good game, worth a play, i wouldn't pay [...] for it to be honest, i'd say its a good buy at about 20, and i for one will be selling mine on the amazon marketplace, as soon as i can, then in some months time if i find it in a bargain bin for a tenner, i might scoop it up.

Apologies if this upset anyone. All questions welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The RTS game I've been waiting for, 15 Sep 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: R.U.S.E - Move Compatible (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm a fan of eal-time strategy games, although I find that the ones that are overly complicated tend to ruin my enjoyment of them/ R.U.S.E steers a fine course between those kind of games offers genuinely exciting gameplay and a good number of options to choose from. There is something brilliant about ordering units to hold the line against several advancing armies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa9e169c)

This product

R.U.S.E - Move Compatible (PS3)
R.U.S.E - Move Compatible (PS3) by Ubisoft (PlayStation 3)
21.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews