Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to read the next books in the series NOW !!
"Industrial magic" is the fourth book in Kelley Armstrong's "Women of the Otherworld" series, and you are highly likely to enjoy it a lot, specially if you read the others before. "Bitten", "Stolen" and "Dime store magic" introduce you to a world where magic and the supernatural are just part of everyday life. "Industrial magic" just takes you further into it...
As...
Published on 23 Dec 2004 by M. B. Alcat

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ready to move on from Paige now
I love this series, but I have struggled a bit with both Dime Store Magic and Industrial Magic. I like Lucas and Paige, love Savannah, find the whole Cabal world interesting but I just couldn't get invested in the storyline of this book. Paige and Lucas are trying to find a serial killer who is targeting stray teens from the cabals.

This book is just as...
Published on 26 Mar 2011 by daisyduck1976


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to read the next books in the series NOW !!, 23 Dec 2004
"Industrial magic" is the fourth book in Kelley Armstrong's "Women of the Otherworld" series, and you are highly likely to enjoy it a lot, specially if you read the others before. "Bitten", "Stolen" and "Dime store magic" introduce you to a world where magic and the supernatural are just part of everyday life. "Industrial magic" just takes you further into it...
As you know, in "Dime store magic" Paige, a witch, had to fight for the custody of a young girl named Savannah. In order to do that she had to face a powerful Cabal, which is a mafia-like organization of sorcerers. Should I tell that witches and sorcerers aren't exactly on good terms?. And that Paige got to meet her new boyfriend Lucas, a sorcerer/lawyer, in the process of gaining Savannah's custody?.
In this book we get to see Paige and Lucas living together, and trying to keep Lucas's father, powerful Cabal leader Benicio Cortez, at a distance. The problem is that Benicio wants Lucas to assume the place of heir to the Cortez Cabal, despite being his youngest son, illegitimate, and the proud owner of quixotic tendencies that take him to endorse causes against the Cabal. Benicio loves his son, so he decides that asking for Lucas and Paige's help in an investigation involving the assault on a young witch (daughter of a Cortez Cabal employee) is a good way to approach him.
Clearly, both are very tempted to say no to Benicio's offer, but soon enough they realise that the assault is related to quite a few assassinations of other teenagers that belong to Cabal's families, and possibly to a supernatural killer. After that, can Paige and Lucas really say no?.
In "Industrial magic" we get to meet again our favourite werewolves (Elena, Clay and Jeremy), some of the vampires we already met (Cassandra and Aaron) and a few others, more half- demons and shamans, and even a necromancer. Also, we learn a lot more about the different Cabals and their inner struggles, about Lucas' dysfunctional family and Paige's attempts to come to terms with it. Of course, that isn't easy for her: how would you feel if your prospective brother-in-law had tried to kill you?.
So far, the first two books in the "Women of the Otherworld" series were centered on the werewolf Pack (through Clay and Elena's story), and the other two were centered on witches and sorcerers (through Lucas and Paige's story). I'm eager to read more from all of them, so Kelley Armstrong please write the other books in the series quickly :)
If you want to know more about the books I already mentioned, future release dates, or prequels to the novels in the series (available for free in Armstrong's website), visit [...] and you won't be disappointed.
On the whole, I believe this book is really great, and quite original. I heartily recommend it to you, if you like to mix the supernatural/ horror theme with a little bit of romance and a whodunit.
Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars industrial magic - kelley armstrong, 7 Oct 2004
i loved kelley armstrong's first 2 books Bitten and Stolen, but thought the 3rd book dime store magic was lacking appeal of the first 2, i'm definately glad i stuck with her though and went on to read industrial magic. This is by far the best book so far it has you hooked from the first page, and you definately warm to the characters as they develop more in this book. this book is great if you love all things weird!! it's packed full of witches, sorcerers, mediums and even the odd apperance from warewolves! it leaves you wanting to know more can't wait till haunted comes out!! 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Industrial Magic, 4 April 2005
By 
Clare "Bookaholic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In the latest instalment of the Women of the Otherworld series we see the return again of Paige Winterbourne. Paige is now living with Lucas and they are trying to keep Benicio Cortez at a safe distance, which proves difficult as benicio wants Lucas, despite being not only the youngest but, also illegitimate as heir of Cortez Cabal.
Benicio thinks that asking for Lucas & Paiges help in an investigation involving a young witch, who also happens to be the daughter of an employee of Cortez Cabal, would be a good way to approach him. Paige & Lucas really want to say no but, find out the assault is relating to other assassinations of offspring's of Cortez Cabals employees. They noon realise they really cannot say no.
We also see again Jeremy, Elena and Clay albeit briefly and also Cassandra and Aaron the vampires we saw in Stolen. We also see a new character in Jamie who not only is a TV personality but, also a necromancer who really livens things up.
I really enjoyed this one even more so than Dime Store Magic, and can't wait to read Haunted which tells the story of Eve, Paiges deceased mother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting better and better, 17 Nov 2004
And I thought Dime Store Magic was good... Accidentally I came across the third novel of Kelley Armstrong and read it in one big breath. So when Industrial Magic came out I was ready for more. And let me tell you this one's even better than the one before it.
Characters get lots of room to develop. We see the relationship between Paige and Lucas. The relationship between Savannah and Paige. And the one between Lucas and his father. There are some new characters. The one I liked the most would however be Eve and I'm glad we'll be seeing more of her in Haunted.
The story was also amazing. It was well-plotted. It was interesting. And it kept me hooked.
What Kelley Armstrong has accomplished in this book is to find the perfect blend of mystery, drama, action, romance... you name it. The story is just well balanced.
I think it will be hard to do better than Industrial Magic but I sure hope she finds a way. Industrial Magic was just wicked!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast, Freaky and Fun: much better than Dimestore, 17 Aug 2006
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
After reading Dimestore Magic, the book which immediately precedes this one in Kelley Armstrong's series, I was in two minds about whether I wanted to bother reading Industrial Magic at all. I really enjoyed the mix of adult adventure and supernatural skullduggery in Bitten and Stolen, and was disappointed that DSM was so very mundane by comparison. So I picked up IM, expecting to be disappointed again...

Couldn't have been more wrong! The action switches back to adults, away from teenage angst, and there's a meaty plot to power the characters along. The sorcery ramps up and the cast of characters and supporting mythology all mesh together to create a satisfying quick-quick turn-the-pages-faster feel. It's almost as if Kelley Armstrong is making up for the domesticity of the previous installment by throwing everything at this one: you start off with witches and sorcerers but very soon you have international cabals, necromancers, the werewolf pack (yay!), vampires and probably a demon or two - and without a hint of cliché. Kelley Armstrong has the knack of incorporating the supernatural into the 21st century without it seeming absurd, so you can just sit back and enjoy the ride.

My only criticism of this novel is that maybe there are *too many* protagonists in the final chapters. Some of them aren't well established enough to stand out in the reader's mind so you get a bit of a mishmash of characters as the plot gallops to its climax. It's a little bit confusing - but to be honest I'd rather there was too much action than not enough!

So now I'm all fired up for the next one: Haunted. Great.

If you're thinking of buying this then it is possible to start here, although you'll need to bear with it a bit in the first couple of chapters and may struggle with some of the already established characters and their universe. I can't recommend starting with DSM (it really isn't `horror' or event very `supernatural adventure'), but try Bitten and the Stolen if you want to get into the swing of things. They introduce the world of Industrial Magic and many of the players, so then you could safely skip DSM and get to the good one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very contemporary supernatural thriller, 21 Jun 2007
By 
Paige Winterbourne is ousted as leader of the American Coven of Witches but desperate to protect those she loves she is thrown into a maelstrom of sorcerers, necromancers, druid gods and vampires. This makes for an appetising mixture of horror, sensual thriller and comedy. Well written with a very modern heroine. This book (& the series) will appeal to all those fans of Poppy Z.Brite/Charlaine Harris/Wayne Sharrocks & Storm Constantine...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ready to move on from Paige now, 26 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Industrial Magic (Women of the Otherworld Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I love this series, but I have struggled a bit with both Dime Store Magic and Industrial Magic. I like Lucas and Paige, love Savannah, find the whole Cabal world interesting but I just couldn't get invested in the storyline of this book. Paige and Lucas are trying to find a serial killer who is targeting stray teens from the cabals.

This book is just as well-written as the others, but it wasn't attention-grabbing and "can't put it down" like the first two. I stopped reading it two or three times because it wasn't quite holding my interest enough. One of the problems was the lack of Savannah for much of the plot. We had brief tantalising glimpses of Jeremey, Elena and Clay as well, but not enough to lift the plot. Towards the end, when the pace of the story picked up a bit, I was more engaged, particularly with the resurgance of a character from the second book. I won't name names, as it would be a plot spoiler ;)

All in all, this is still a must-read but it didn't wow me. I am ready to move on from Paige now. She just doesn't pack enough of a punch.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindle edition- error free, so go ahead and download it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witches and Sorcerers Unite! Well almost...., 9 Sep 2004
Paige is back, along with her sorcerer boyfriend, and adopted daughter, Savannah. Things are just starting to get back on track for Paige after the whole Nast cabal thingy in Dime Store Magic, when trouble appears in the form of potential father-in-law.... not so fun. The cabals are having problems with attacks on runaway teens and suddenly Paige and Lucas are expected to run to their rescue leading to.... well lets just say not quite as much fun as meeting the in-laws should be.
Another great read from Kelley Armstrong, I look forward to the appearance of novel no. 5. I just wish she would write quicker. Paige is good, if quirky heroine, and a must read if you are a fan of Laurell K Hamilton's Anita Blake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrors Crown, 29 Nov 2004
I'm a big horror reader and i have to say this book beats any other i've read. With a gripping plot and caracters i can relate to this book hasnt been put down. from the very first page the plot builds up, with horror scenes creeping round every corner. But do not read this book until you have read Dime Store Magic, another great book! from me this is a deffinate 5 star novel!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural Thriller, 14 Jan 2005
Supernatural novels may be a dime a dozen nowadays, but Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series stands out as being a lot more worthy than that. Very contemporary, it combines humour and thrills with the otherworld, where danger is abundant, and powers are required in order to survive.
What also makes this series a winner is its rotation of main characters. "Bitten" and "Stolen" were told through the eyes of Elena Michaels, our werewolf narrator. But Paige Winterbourne, a witch and former coven leader, hosts "Dime Store Magic" and "Industrial Magic".
However, Paige's partner is Lucas Cortez, a sorcerer and sometimes-unwanted member of the Cortez Cabal. Witches and sorcerers normally don't get along, but Paige joins the investigation into a ..........
To get to the bottom of it, though, Paige needs help. With werewolf Elena Michaels to ........, Savannah, Paige then enlists the help of necromancer Jaime Vegas, a ..........
Disconnecting vampire Cassandra DuCharme also ...... And then there's Savannah and her binding spells, not to mention a male vampire who thrives on stereotypes. The kills are gory, the vampire stereotypes are made fun of, and there's less sex than you'd expect from this genre. The writing is witty, and the characters are believable. Sure, our heroines Elena, Paige and the upcoming Eve Levine have similar personalities, but Cassandra and Jaime seem more distinctive. The lovey-dovey stuff is a bit cloying, but there are no explicit sex scenes. Explanations are long, but unfortunately it's still easy to get confused about supernatural murder motives and the spirit world.
But if you're looking for a supernatural series with more bite and more clothing than other books, then you've come to the right place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews