Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Mansell, New Mansell - they're all great!
Does anyone write this type of story better than Jill Mansell? Such a knack for mixing fantasy and reality, glamourous jet-setters and down-to-earth folks. She's really in a class of her own, and Solo is one of her best. Although it's an earlier novel, re-released recently, it truly stands the test of time. Tessa and Holly are unlikely best friends, but best friends to...
Published on 9 Nov 2002

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good romance from Ms. Mansell's early days
Solo was originally published over a decade ago, and has recently been re-released. It's not a light and breezy romantic comedy, filled with eccentric characters and hilarious antics, like Ms. Mansell's more recent works (my favourites being Good at Games and Millie's Fling). It's much more of a standard romance-novel formula--more melodrama than sit-com. Ross, the...
Published on 26 Jan 2003


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Mansell, New Mansell - they're all great!, 9 Nov 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo (Paperback)
Does anyone write this type of story better than Jill Mansell? Such a knack for mixing fantasy and reality, glamourous jet-setters and down-to-earth folks. She's really in a class of her own, and Solo is one of her best. Although it's an earlier novel, re-released recently, it truly stands the test of time. Tessa and Holly are unlikely best friends, but best friends to nth degree they are. Holly, flamboyant and spoiled has fallen for Max. Max, a handsome, wealthy hotel owner (oh, yeah, he's also a best-selling author) is a teeny bit of a womanizer and loves women who are the polar opposite of over-the-top Holly. Tessa's a proud, independent, poor (but gifted) painter. She allows Holly to drag her along to a party, where she meets Max's younger brother, Ross - the business brains of the two, better looking, and more than a teensy bit of a womanizer. Tessa knows he's not her type, but she also knows a good opportunity and a one night stand ensues. Two problems - Ross falls for Tessa hard and Tessa starts craving weird foods and gaining weight 6 weeks later.Oops. Mansell mixes in a huge cast of characters, but they all have relevance to the story and are so delicious. The baddies are bad, the good guys are wonderful. Of course, you know the ending will be happy, despite some real tears along the way. I agree with another reviewer - Solo is a terrific way to bide the time until the next new Jill Mansell book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My first Jill Mansell and definitely not my last!!, 20 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Solo (Paperback)
This book is absolutely brilliant-I couldn't put it down! Although the ending of the book is the usual happy love-fest (as with all of Mansell's books) this is more than made up for with the cast of well developed characters and a rollercoaster of unexpected twists and turns which cannot fail to keep the pages turning well into the night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 90s book that is still relevant today, 3 May 2005
By 
Lis "chic_lit_addict" (Rotterdan, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Solo (Paperback)
A re-release of a Mansell classic this book stands the test of time. Its a real page turner which you dont want to put down. You really dont expect to find something originally released 14 years ago to be so relevant today but it is! Tessa a self-supporting modern woman indulges in a one-night stand...which results in an unplanned pregnancy the father? Lets just say he's someone that your mum really wouldn't approve of. This book follows the twists and turns of Tessa and Ross (the one your mum wouldn't approve of) relationship. Although Tessa is the main focus of the book, you also get involved in the troubled love life of her best friend Holly, Ross's brother Max, Ross's teenage daughter Grace - told you your mum wouldn't approve, Grace's mum Mattie. There are lots of other wonderful characters in this must read book that help to make this wonderful book such a success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another excellent Jill Mansell book!, 23 Sep 2002
This review is from: Solo (Paperback)
a truly entertaining Jill Mansell book. I have read all of her books and this is one of the best.Very funny and entertaining.I read it on holiday and finished it in two days!!
When Tess the central character meets Ross Monahan local hotel owner for the first time at a party one thing leads to another....! yes a one night stand!
However, Ross is a known womaniser and the next day Tess decides she's better off not getting heavily involved with him. Unfortunately things never turn out as they planned. Tess soon realises she's now eating for two and Ross realises he's completely smitten with Tess. Now all he has to do is to convince her is he is changed man and the only one for her and their new arrival.
It's harmless fun, a very light read for all lovers of chick lit!
if you enjoy this read, make sure you also read Mansell's other books, especially "perfect timing" and "open house"
can't wait to get my hands on a copy of Mansell's new book due out in november.
if you have read all Mansell's books like me, than i suggest you try Fiona Walker, or Catherine Alliott. quite alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solo......, 23 Sep 2002
This review is from: Solo (Paperback)
As a great fan of Jill Mansells work I found "Solo" to be absolutely fantastic..the ability to relate to the main character Tessa made the whole novel an uncanny experience (Although I am yet to meet that tall handsome light and bain of my life). Tessa stands for all modern women,stubborn to the point of infuriation yet you feel she is so right yet oh so wrong!! Her relationship with her best friend is to be envied and the vibrant cast of characters makes you live and breathe their very existence! A wonderfully written piece with so much to enthrall ,madden,excite and sadden you.To miss this would be a crying shame..welcome to 'The Party'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's stood the test of time - and it's fab!!, 26 Sep 2002
By 
Miss S L Felton (Jersey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Solo (Paperback)
Another revisited/republished Mansell classic that's stood the test of time. It's amazing that a book written such a long time ago can still be so relevant today.
Love blossoms from the most unlikely situation, but as you might expect doesn't run smoothly. This book is full of twists and turns which crop up when all appears to finally be going well! Of course you may be thinking that here lies nothing new and their timing may appear predictable but there content certainly isn't.
If your a fan of Jill Mansells other books then this one is a must, even if it's just to fill the void until she releases her next. Although the void won't last long as it's very easy to read and, as is often the way, appears to be over far too quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good romance from Ms. Mansell's early days, 26 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Solo (Paperback)
Solo was originally published over a decade ago, and has recently been re-released. It's not a light and breezy romantic comedy, filled with eccentric characters and hilarious antics, like Ms. Mansell's more recent works (my favourites being Good at Games and Millie's Fling). It's much more of a standard romance-novel formula--more melodrama than sit-com. Ross, the main love interest, is a bit too much of a macho philanderer to be an ideal romantic hero. Having said that, this book is a Jill Mansell and therefore worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BORING........, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Solo (Paperback)
I have read many Jill Mansell books and have loved each of them so when I began Solo I thought it would be a nice easy read like the others. I struggled through the book which seemed so promising to start off with but the story didn't grip me like the others. The story was slow, the characters were dull and annoying and page after page was just waffle. I barely made it to half way through before deciding to throw in the towel. I'm very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, wasn't interested in any of the characters, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo (Paperback)
I didn't get to the end of his book as I didn't care how it ended, it was so boring! The characters were one dimensional, boring and did not capture my interest at all. When one compares the characters in this book to some of the others in Jill mansell's books it's clear that these characters were not developed or thought out anywhere near as well as in other books. A disappointing book that was not only dull but also poorly written and lacking any imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jill Mansell does it again!, 31 Dec 2008
This review is from: Solo (Paperback)
I don't know what it was about this book but it is my favourite Jill Mansell book. I don't think any other of her books have the excitable twists that appear in this book and make it unputdownable. The characters are interesting and realistic and I could really feel something towards each character, which is something that is important in a book.
Tess was my favourite character as she was so real and wasn't a phony like you would think.
This book is well worth five stars and I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Solo
Solo by Jill Mansell
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews