Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 December 2004
The Roman Legions are now well entrenched in Britain, but are still finding dogged resistance from the fearsome natives. Macro and Cato find themselves standing between victory and bloody defeat.
Cato is newly appointed to the rank of Centurion and it falls to him and Macro to provide an army of untrained recruits for the aged ruler Verica.
With an army of raw recruits can they halt the progress of a cunning opponent and plotters who are eager not only to destroy Macro and Cato but the whole of the Roman army.
Simon Scarrow has a wonderful feel for the period he writes about and his characters endear themselves to you the reader. These books are well researched and for anyone interested in this period of Britain's history are a great read. Fact mixed with fiction in the best possible way.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
The perfect gift for all Roman history enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
In this the 4th sequel in the Eagle series, Macro and Cato have recovered from their wounds and are on detachment from their parent unit having been ordered to train two auxiliary cohorts of Atrebates to protect the supply lines of Legio II Augusta, which is about to launch a campaign into south west Britannia. The narrative is fast paced with intriguing sub plots, in-depth characterisation and gratuitous violence. All in all a great page turner, recommended.

The perfect companion to the eagle series is the ROMA VICTRIX wine beaker, Simon in his review says:
Beautifully sculpted it is a very handsome thing! The reason why I particularly like this cup is that it features the men and insignia of the second legion, the unit in which Cato learned how to become a soldier under the affectionate eye of Macro! it's a lovely thing and has pride of place on my desk right now!
Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 15 January 2006
The same people, setting and ingredients as the 3 previous novels in the series but Scarrow brings it all together flawlessly. If you love action-packed historical novels can't go wrong with this one. Thanks again Simon!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on 8 December 2003
It might seem a bit premature to state that Simon Scarrow is a master of the historical novel genre. After all his series of novels set in the Roman legions numbers only four books, and as far as I am aware these are the only novels he has had published. But the quality of his writing really shines form the first page. Each book has opened with a pacy introduction to the ancient world and this latest is no exception. Our heroes, the brilliant but self-conscious Cato and the irrepressibly soldier-like Macro, are ordered to raise a private army to enfore the will of the ailing Atrebatan king, Verica. His court is riddled with plotters thirsting to be the new king. Outside the walls of the Atrebatan capital, enemy raiders are razing his kingdom. It is up to Macro and Cato to ensure that this vital ally to the Roman cause is kept safe and kept onside.
As ever the plotting is flawlessly involving, the action makes you feel as if you were there in the thick of battle and the characterisation makes you feel as if you know these men like old friends. The writing is crisp, punchy and occasionally striking in its preciseness and deployment of wit.
Christmas is coming. Now you know what to put at the top of the list when you write to Santa!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 5 August 2013
I have read four of the books in this series and I've enjoyed them all. Lots of action and I have got to know the central characters. They are more thoughtful and resourceful Cato and the bluff 'I am a soldier and that's my lot' Macro and although he's hard through and through I am beginning to get the feeling that Macro cares for Cato - in a very subdued mannish sort of way!!

All four books so far have been really good, but I'm moving on to something different now - too much of a good thing and all that, but I will be back.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 4 February 2014
I'm a fan of Macro and Cato and this is well up to their usual standard. Well written and nicely woven around real historical characters and events. I like the style in that the conversation is readable and modern rather than attempting cod Roman. Mr Scarrow doesn't go overboard on vivid gut spilling, a pleasant change that other writers could learn from.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 4 September 2003
Recovering from the injuries received in WHEN THE EAGLE HUNTS Macro and Cato are given the job of training some native units to protect the aged kind of the Atrebates. Meanwhile, they have to cope with enemy raids, plotters within the tribe and a headstrong and noisome tribune. Treachery comes from an unexpected source and within hours the whole position of the Roman army in Britain is placed in jeopardy. Caratacus is within an ace of defeating Rome. Can Cato and Macro save the day? Well, what do you think?
As ever the heroes speak like real people, the prose is crisp and elegant and the sense of time and place utterly compelling. I think this is the best of the lot so far and can only wait a long frustrating year before the next helping of classy entertainment is dished up by Simon Scarrow
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
solid story telling, simon scarrow brings the ancient roman and british world vividly to the imagination.
The treachery and betrayal of humans has not changed in over 2000 years.
I gave this book 4 stars, have read the previous three and come to like the main characters with their display of strength and flaws. I always hope the Romans triumph (well they have to, they were the power in the known world)
As Simon Scarrow is a professor of Roman history, he demonstrates this acute knowledge down to its infinite detail, weaves fact and fiction well into a fastpaced tension filled and humorous narrative. I laughed out loud in some sections of the novel. Love Macros character. Though I find the dialogue very modern and colloquial, but soldiers would have probably spoken that way in ancient Latin, just visualize it.
anyway intend to finish all 10 novels. I am immersed in it. Wonderful!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
My husband bought me The Eagles Prophecy for Christmas. I started reading it on Christmas day and I really loved it. You can imagine my delight when I found out this was a long series of books. Having a Kindle I began at book 1 and am now half way through book 9, The Centurion. They have all been excellent but, if I have favourites, the Eagle and the Wolves and When the Eagle hunts, are the ones. These adventures of Macro and Cato, the main protaganists of this series of books, are set in Britain and trace the attempts by Rome to conquer the British tribes. Every book has been exciting and the auhtor's research and knowledge about the Roman Legions is extensive and adds to that excitement. I can't rate this series of books highly enough and know I am going to be very disappointed when I have read the last one!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's 44 AD, and Vespasian and the Second Legion are forging ahead in their campaign to seize the south-west of Britain. Macro and newly appointed centurion Cato are ordered to provide Verica, ruler of the Atrebatans, with an army. They must train his tribal levies into a force that can protect him and take on the increasingly ambitious raids that the enemy is launching. But despite the Atrebatans' official allegiance to Rome, open revolt is brewing, for many want to resist the Roman invaders. Macro and Cato must win the loyalty of the disgruntled levies - but can they succeed whilst surviving a deadly plot to destroy both them? Macro and Cato face the greatest test of their army careers as only they stand between the destiny of Rome and bloody defeat. Fabulous read highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse