Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hold Onto Your Hats (and other bits)
This is the best of Mike Carey's Felix Castor novels to date. The hero hasn't changed much from when we first met him in "The Devil You Know", but is becoming a more refined character in every novel.
He is a hero in the sense that the reader wants him to win through and will turn a blind eye to his faults for the sake of the greater good.

The character of...
Published on 13 Aug 2008 by M. J. Saxton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
I LOVED the first two books in the series. Felix Castor is a great main character and the style of writing is very pleasing to read. Something about this third novel grated though. It felt like the writer didn't actually like what he was churning out, or maybe I just wasn't in the right frame of mind for it. Looking forward to book 4 though
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by liveenl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hold Onto Your Hats (and other bits), 13 Aug 2008
By 
M. J. Saxton (Dewsbury, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best of Mike Carey's Felix Castor novels to date. The hero hasn't changed much from when we first met him in "The Devil You Know", but is becoming a more refined character in every novel.
He is a hero in the sense that the reader wants him to win through and will turn a blind eye to his faults for the sake of the greater good.

The character of Juliet now has much more depth. The writer has taken her on a much more detailed journey over the past two novels. This book is better for having more of her in it and she makes a great action heroine who propels most of the big set pieces.

Reading this is like seeing the outline of a movie, it taps into the awareness of modern cinema, probably because of Casey's understanding of writing for that medium. It's the paper equivalent of an action movie.

The story hauls you along from one point of action to another. Description is vivid, characters revealing and easy to visualise. There is an emotional depth in the writing as well that engages the reader on an empathic level even though we can have no experience of such a story.

Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just fantastic, 28 Mar 2010
This is book three in the Felix Castor series and I freaking love these books! Damn they just keep getting better and better. I listened to the audio book edition brilliantly narrated by Michael Kramer. The thing is that the narrator of the audio books is so good, that I'm kinda hooked on them. The voice he does for Juliet is just great! This one was delayed for a while but it was well worth the wait. I love the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher but these books are seriously testing my loyalty.

Book reviewed 13 Dec 2009
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 Sep 2007
By 
Duncan Howorth (Chester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not unputdownable but pretty damn near.

Familiar territory trodden in North London - East Finchley, Mile End, Stoke Newington - lovely sense of place - I wonder where he based Mount Grace Cemetary on ?
Familiar characters take a look in but we get to know more about Juliet who has a very hard time, and are introduced to drum notation.
It still reads like a cross between Chandler and Dr Taverner (from the novels of Dion Fortune) - and this feels like his best in this series yet.
It follows firmly in the footsteps of Vicious Circle and the Devil You Know.
I wonder if in future tales the ground will move to Liverpool ? More familiar for the author - yet not as occult a city (to my mind) as London is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, supernatural detective noir gem, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Men's Boots (Kindle Edition)
Terrific tale , set in London - and the rest of the series only get better! Felix castor is the protagonist - an exorcist with a conscience . Lots of demons, werewolves, ghosts, and layers of mystery . An amazing series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked fun !, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Felix Castor is the 'Eddie Shoestring' of exorcists; mishap-prone, out of cash and down on his luck. Taking on an apparently simple job, he stumbles into a tangle of dire complications...

I've now read #1~~3 in quick succession, enjoyed them immensely, but must wait until month's end before ordering #4~5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best so far, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Men's Boots (Kindle Edition)
The best Felix Castor so far. He goes deep down in his last reserves here, scraping along the bottom and barely coming out the other side. And Juliet is given the room she needs as a character. Liked this one a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars READ IT!, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BRILLIANT ADDITION TO THE SERIES. I URGE YOU TO GET THE FULL SERIES, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. IF YOU HAVE A SENSE OF HUMOUR, THESE BOOKS ARE FOR YOU!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Men's Boots (Kindle Edition)
Felix Castor is clearly from the same school of hard knocks as John Constantine. But he's a little better at keeping his friends alive. I love this series and long for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Men's Boots (Kindle Edition)
I'm very impressed by this series. I didn't particularly like Castor in the first book, but the story was gripping, the concept was novel, and the writing superb - but he has grown on me. So have the other characters, and I'm now waiting for the next book with anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Walk a mile in these boots ..., 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Men's Boots (Kindle Edition)
It's several weeks after VICIOUS CIRCLE. Felix and Pen remain estranged since she discovered the truth about his involvement in Rafi's situation but must put it aside now that Jenna-Jane's started court proceedings to bring Rafi to her institute. Felix must find a way of saving his demonically possessed best friend from a life of hideous experimentation but also has separate problems of his own.

His friend and fellow exorcist John Gittings committed suicide after making a number of calls, one of which was to Felix, which Felix never returned. John's widow, Carla, needs Felix's help against a solicitor who wants to exhume John's body and rebury it pursuant to the terms of a will made shortly before John died - a will that Carla disputes. Guilt makes Felix agree to look into it and it's not long before his investigation takes him to King's Cross and a murder committed by a female American serial killer who supposedly died decades earlier. Felix soon finds himself embroiled in a battle against a shadowy cartel who'll stop at nothing to preserve their power and their secrets ...

The third in Mike Carey's FELIX CASTOR SERIES is a gripping tale of crime families, possession and divided loyalties that kept my gripped from beginning to end.

Felix remains one of my favourite characters. Occasionally selfish and riddled with guilt, he does try to do the right thing by his friends. I thoroughly enjoyed his frayed relationship with Pen but not as much as I loved his relationship with the demon Juliet, who's now happily shacked up with Sue. Juliet is impossibly cool and I could quite happily read a spin-off series solely about her. Their road trip to America was action-packed and Carey really builds extra layers into the mythology underlying his world and the details such as the effect of air travel on demons and the existence of an anti-exorcist civil rights group are deftly handled.

Carey does well at handling the two main plot strands in the story. The central mystery about John Gittings was filled with twists and turns that kept me guessing right up until the end while the Rafi storyline contributes to the overall series arc and promises a great set-up in the next book.

This is one of my favourite series and this book did not disappoint me. I'm really looking forward to reading the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6a08588)

This product

Dead Men's Boots
Dead Men's Boots by Mike Carey
3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews