Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars65
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£21.38+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2008
I followed Doc Martin right from the 1st series, and I can safely say that the 3rd series doesn't disappoint! The comedy and drama mix together beautifully, and the setting for the show is stunning. The relashionship between Louisa and Martin is hilarious and heartbreaking at the same, due to the depressing end to the series. However, with six other episodes to enjoy, and a 4th series coming out later this year, Doc Martin fans have plenty to celebrate.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2008
Now ' Doc Martin - Series 3 ' is as good as ' Doc Martin - Series 2 ' if not better as it allows more screen time to ' Caroline Catz ' and of course ' Martin Clunes ' is on Top Form as normal.

Actually rather than Doctors handing out expensive Drugs to people suffering from Depression really they would be far better prescribing a course of Doc Martin DVD's

Take it from me it has not lost any of its Steam and this should Run and Run.

IYV have confirmed that they have commissioned a fourth series.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2008
This series is every bit as good as series one and two. I only have two complaints. The first one being that after sadly watching the last episode, nothing else compares, and secondly that there was only seven episodes. One goes through the same sort of grief process that happens after finishing a long fantastic book.

Absolutely wonderful - atmospheric, brilliant photography, great characters, good story lines, and most importantly - lots of laughs. Looking forward to series four, and five, and six ..........
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2008
The episodes themselves are excellent, but I felt I must deduct one star for Momentum's cost-cutting (or greed?) by not including ANY extras whatsoever, not even the most obvious candidate: the 2006 Christmas special ("On the Edge") in this set. Series 3 was only 7 episodes long (vs. series 2), so I can't believe it would be a problem of space. More likely, they held it back so they can charge us full "season" price for the one episode.

What makes this more regrettable is there are one or two references in these episodes to events that happened in "On the Edge" (i.e. Louisa's father). At the very least, they should have released the special BEFORE putting out series 3. Let's hope that if they DO release "On the Edge" later this year, that it at least has some decent extras on to make up for the short running time, and that they make it a "stand-alone" purchase (i.e. not bundled up exclusively in a "complete" series set, like the BBC did with series 2 of "Footballers Wives: Extra Time").
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
A massive collector of DVDs, this is the only series I hold back watching too many in one go, because there can never be enough. Martin Ellingham is a brilliant synergy of writing and acting; a character that I never tire of. Louisa Glasson is a delightful character and the two of them together is a joy to watch. The ending of series three is not to be expected and a little sad, but that should not detract from a 5 star rating. Some of the other characters are perhaps a little less interesting, but that is to be expected when there is a real show stealer, and appropriately, as it is about him.

After the Christmas special, which was probably the weakest overall "episode", I can see why there were concerns over series three's longer episodes. I think they work fine and the series is every bit as good as the first two with plenty of fresh story ideas making the viewer as anxious and frustrated as the doctor himself.

One of the loveliest programmes ever made and very funny too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2009
This programme is one that i believe that has more viewers than most programmes because it makes u laugh it and the way it is laid out is nice to watch and by the end of the programme you are feelin lifted .
Doc Martin is a character that you will find alot of people sayin " he is like my doctor " but the thing about him is he always cares and that is lovely to watch in these programmes .

It is a programme i love .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2008
Loved the first 2 series - definitely 5 stars each. This third series was a big disappointment. The new village copper was a bore and the main love story was not developed but merely dropped into the land of cliche.
Will have great difficulty in making another series believable
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2009
Such a great series that I bought a DVD player and purchased this set from the UK because Season 3 was unavailable in the US until recently. Wonderful character development and acting. We were originally turned on to Martin Clunes from the series William & Mary and were hooked at the first episode and watched via rented DVD's until the end of Season 2 and then tried to find the final season in the US. Thanks to Amazon.uk to make it easy to continue to experience fine UK shows. Season 3 is now available in the US, but it's fun to have this available for us to watch when we want.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2008
Usually a good ending is to have the unexpected and a contrast. I don't think this is the case with the last episode on Series 3. It would have been good if the movie tied in to the series - with Doc Martin going on the course and improving his people relations - they could have then got all the past characters more involved and ended with the wedding and Doc Martin becoming more personable. I think Doc Martin Series 3 lost some of the humour when he called people names e.g. the fat lady fat, and the village people called him names...series 3 lost it for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
I love this series and think Martin Clunes is just sooooo good at acting the part, I forget his other roles completely and think he really is Doc Martin. I was very pleased to find this series on DVD as I missed many of the episode's gems. Like when the psychologist attemps to diagnose the Doc with Aspergers syndrome for instance. Take care though, too much of the Doc can be rather like eating too many sweets/candy..best to watch one episode at a time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)