Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Police Procedural at its Best
Mark Billingham is a first class writer of police procedurals and this latest does not disappoint. With DI Tom Thorne receiving text messages showing pictures of dead bodies or videos of those about to be killed, the race is on to catch the protagonist. We know who dunnit fairly early on, and the story revolves around how he is caught. There are enough twists and turns to...
Published on 30 Jun 2008 by Wendy Jones

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad. Not The Best In The Series.
In Death Message, DI Tom Thorne receives a photo message, on his mobile phone. It is a picture of a person's head, and Thorne quickly figures out, that this person is dead. Soon, more messages are being sent, and as the bodies start to pile up, Thorne and his colleagues are desperately trying to find a link between the killings.

I found this book a pretty good...
Published on 31 July 2008 by J.Flood


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Police Procedural at its Best, 30 Jun 2008
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Mark Billingham is a first class writer of police procedurals and this latest does not disappoint. With DI Tom Thorne receiving text messages showing pictures of dead bodies or videos of those about to be killed, the race is on to catch the protagonist. We know who dunnit fairly early on, and the story revolves around how he is caught. There are enough twists and turns to make the plot interesting, and the private lives of the key players keep the book even more interesting. I found this to be an excellent read and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys UK crime books. This demonstrates it at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad. Not The Best In The Series., 31 July 2008
By 
J.Flood (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
In Death Message, DI Tom Thorne receives a photo message, on his mobile phone. It is a picture of a person's head, and Thorne quickly figures out, that this person is dead. Soon, more messages are being sent, and as the bodies start to pile up, Thorne and his colleagues are desperately trying to find a link between the killings.

I found this book a pretty good read. As always, the characters of Tom Thorne, and his colleagues come across as quite realistic, and believable. The plot is interesting, if not quite page turning, as we learn who the killer is quite early on. However, there is still 'whodunnit' elements to other parts of the story, so this is not a problem.

Overall, I find the the DI Tom Thorne series of books quite enjoyable, my only gripe being that there is a bit of 'sameness' about them. I would rank this book 'middle of the pack' in comparison with other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet?, 7 Oct 2008
By 
Jeff "roadrunner" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I have to disagree with many of these reviews. I've read all Billingham's books [in the right order, which is important] and this is quite possibly the best yet. Not in the least bit slow, nor are the others - I really cannot believe that! He is one of the very few current crime writers whose form hasn't taken a nosedive. This one is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tension and laughs, 3 Aug 2008
By 
D. E. Jager "Mutts fan" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is about horrible murders happening and the killer sending DI Thorne the pictures of it on his mobile. The motives behind the murders are so much different and you can almost feel sympathy for the murderer. I also had to laugh a good couple of times, due to the witty dialoge between Thorne and Hendricks, and Porter.
Written in a spell-binding way, this book I could not put down.
I do recommend you read this book in the right order with the other Tom Thorne books by Billiingham, as some re-knowledge will enhance your reading pleasure and understanding of plot unfolding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the other 6 first!, 25 Oct 2007
Mark Billingham is the only author whose new books i look forward to as much as i used to anticipate a new Clash or Jam album! He's that good.

I suggest buying the other 6 featuring Tom Thorne together with this and working your way through them before reading Death Message, it will help fill in the time before the next installment and you won't be dissapointed.

I'd like to think that Thorne will have branched out slightly in his musical tastes by the next book and is giving the wonderful Josh Ritter and Band Of Horses a listen, otherwise more of the same please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom is back - better than ever!, 3 Oct 2007
Tom Thorne is back and so are a few ghosts from his past. I am a huge fans of the series and this one is up there with the best. I thoroughly enjoyed this book - it kept me gripped to the last page. Mark Billingham is such a skilled writer and his characters are well drawn and believable. The dialogue is always razor-sharp. Read this as a standalone novel but I would urge you to start at the beginning and get to know Tom Thorne and company thoroughly. You won't be disappointed. He's a wonderful creation - I hope the forthcoming TV series does him justice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to true form, 16 Sep 2007
I've been a big fan of Billingham since the very start but I definitely found he and Thorne took a bit of a wobble somewhere around The Burning Girl and stumbled a bit...but they're back and better than ever with Death Message!

It draws heavily on the events of The Burning Girl and helps smooth out some of the problems it caused for Thorne (and Billingham!) and kind of made me make my peace with ti as the weakest of the series. Its brave to go back to it and neaten it up a bit...

Death Message is sharp and extremely funny in places. Thorne is back on top form, the plot moves along well (Billingham really excels at a serial killer!) and some of the other supporting characters get a bit more of a look in which moves things along nicely and stops staleness.

Thorne is becoming so good he isn't just a replacement for Rebus, he's a serious rival...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another adrenaline-fuelled hit, 29 Aug 2007
Another cracking thriller from Billingham, those who have already been inducted into DI Tom Thorne's world will love this. Thorne is on top form again, chucking the rule book out of the window and taking calculated, but often needless, risks. Thorne is as imperfect as ever, and Death Message arguably develops him more even than The Burning Girl did, but unlike that book this has much more action and no less intensity.

Despite being part of a series of seven (so far) this works brilliantly as a standalone, so don't be put off by that. But if you have by chance read some of the others (for example: Scaredy Cat and Burning Girl) you will enjoy it even more.

It's classic Billingham and classic Thorne, and up there with the best of the series (Sleepy Head, Lazybones and The Burning Girl).

I can't believe after waiting a year and four months for this, I was done with it in two evenings! Arrrgh, now the agonising wait begins for the next instalment. There's almost 2 years to wait until the eighth Thorne book so you have the time to read the rest if you haven't already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On a roll, 31 Aug 2007
By 
Having discovered the "crime" genre within the last couple of years, and as a vociferous reader, I quickly grew bored with predictable thrillers and 2D characters and then I discovered Thorne.

From Sleepyhead, and realising that there were still authors who could surprise, I was hooked. Seven books later and there seems to be no let up in the quality and consistency of these books. Each works as a stand-alone crime thriller, but as part of a series, like the previous reviewer, I'm left wanting more and can only expect you will be too!

Can't wait for the next Billingham novel even if Tom Thorne is only a cameo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death Message, 7 Jun 2009
By 
D. P. Yardley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well,just another Thorne novel. They are all the same ... brilliant, thought provoking, excelent use of language, stunning storyline, and usually with an unexpected twist at the end.

I bought one, and continued with the whole set and am eagerly awaiting the next one. So for anyone who is into detective novels with a twist, and is fed up with Rebus, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews