Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars62
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2000
Louise Bagshawe is a great young Chick Lit novelist who was around long before the twentysomething female writer was fashionable. The good result of this is that she doesn't write first-person, wingeing, I'm-on-a-diet drivel. Her first 3 books were sexy bonkbusters in an 80s tradition, though the heroines were young and 90s in their tastes and sympathies. Then she did 'Venus Envy' - her go at a Bridget Jones-style girl-about-town book, but thankfully here she has gone back to her traditional roots and produced another blockbuster.
The book reminded me very much of her brilliant first novel, 'Career Girls.' The plot is fast-paced, the heroine is gorgeous and she falls for the classic Bagshawe hero - he is dark, handsome, magnetic, powerful and dominating. The chemistry between them simply sizzles, though Bagshawe, perhaps responding to a few criticisms of her earlier work, has reduced her sex scenes to 3 per book (rather than the 30 or so you get in her early work). Also woven into the plot is a gripping read about publishing politics and business board-room cliff-hangers.
The book somehow isn't quite as sparky or energetic as 'Career Girls'. Her style has matured but it has also become more subdued and her pace slower. Even so, it's still a great read. What shines out is the author's ability to draw you in and keep you turning pages - she is utterly addictive.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2007
This was good. Some of it was laugh out loud good, some of it was really touching, but all in all it was good!! The kids were not just 'incidental' - they were part of the story. It was fun, lighthearted and frothy, and very enjoyable!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2007
when i first picked up this book in my local library i wasn't too impressed with the synopsis. But, although it starts quite slow, it is really worth it when you get into it. you have to love jack and the character of sam as well. it was written brilliantly and in a funny and original style. i would definitely recommend this for anyone who loves romantic fiction. its not completely original, (the storyline has been revamped a lot), but it is original at the same time in the way it has been writeen and the path the story takes to the inevitable ending. a must-read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2003
As usual I am not dissapointed with a Louise Bagshawe novel. The pace is fast and exciting and you do not want to put this book down. You travel from England to New York and even LA. The main Characters Topaz Rossi and Rowena Gordon are superbly written. The story is full of excitement, betrayal, revenge and of course romance that makes you want for more. You may even shed a tear whilst reading it. A definate 5 star read.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2000
I enjoyed Career Girls very much as a light, fun and entertaining work. This book sadly doesn't compare. It is much slower and quite frankly boring in parts. The author seems to be better suited to writing about young single heroines trying to make it, rather than married woman trying to have another shot. The heroine was entirely unsympathetic. Be warned that this book begins with the embarrassing author's acknowledgment '[the hero] is inspired by [my husband] so you'll be able to read for yourselves just how cool my husband is'. Oh dear.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2001
This was a big disappointment to me. All Bagshawe's other heroines came from behind the tracks, struggled to the top and didn't need no man to make their dreams happen. Plus, when they did get a man, it was someone worth having- think Zach Mason in 'The Movie'- for me the best hero in any of Bagshawe's books, like Keanu Reeves with brains. 'Poor little rich girl takes a fall' is a well-worn plot, I'd have thought Bagshawe could have found something more original. Plus the hero was just totally unsympathetic. Bagshawe's heroes have always tended towards the domineering type, but someone who thinks of feminists as 'feminazis' and screws around is just not appealing to a modern woman.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2001
I had great fun reading it - I agree that it wasn't nearly as much fun as Career Girls or Venus Envy (which I think are her 2 best to date), but it was still good. She does a better job capturing New York City (my home) than do most Brit writers, even though her ear is sometimes off - I wanted to whip out the old blue pencil and correct some of the odd Britspeak locutions she popped into Cicero's mouth, and some of the geographical oddities (she really doesn't yet understand New York neighborhoods). But those are quibbles. This book is a delightful bit of froth, and well worth a girl's night in, bonbons and all.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
I'm in my early 20s and not much of a reader, so I'm always looking for books between young adult and adult ranges so I don't get bored. In theory this book was a great idea - money, New York, revenge - but it just turned into various sex scenes and the same characters moaning about the same things. It also wasn't very well put together. No plot progression, just suddenly being told it's 9 months later. OK then....
Not an awful read, but I'm leanding it to a friend and probably won't worry if she doesn't return it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2000
Bagshawe returns from her Bridget-style adventure 'Venus Envy' to her bonkbuster roots in 'Career Girls', 'Tall Poppies' and 'The Movie', though there are shades of 'Venus Envy' in that she concentrates on one strong female protagonist rather than a number and their relationships. Though Diana is unlikeable at the beginning, once the marriage is over she starts to become one of the power-women of Bagshawe's previous novels. However, the male lead, Michael, does not shine as much as her other heroes, though he is obviously from the same mold.
Once again, Bagshawe displays excellent knowledge and/or researching ability; she sets her scene in the publishing industry as well as she has used film, music, magazines, pharmaceuticals, and skiing, though Diana's career, as she comes to it late in the book, is not as much of a focus as it has been.
However, the situation the baby company finds itself in bears a very definite resemblance to that in 'Tall Poppies'; though at the point where it comes in, it is not half as compelling, with the 'villain' rating much less characterisation than in that novel.
All in all, the idea is good and the writing is undoubtably expert, but it lacks some of the pace and fire Bagshawe had in her earlier efforts. An enjoyable read for Bagshawe fans; but not the best place for first-time readers to start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2007
I'm more of a historical romance person, but Donovan brought me back to contemporary. She's hilarious in this book, I just couldn't keep my grins - surely I looked silly in Tube - she's that good.

Jack is so honest with his expression, you just fell for him. Sam is an identifiable person, you feel warm for her having met Jack.

I'm now looking for Donovan's other books, not that many though.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£5.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.