Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Potential Nobel Prize Winner.
Many books are pure ruthless when basing them on murders but this book introduces elegance, history and mystery that will make you scared but wanting to turn the page. It's depth is brilliant and when the mystery is finally unravelled you become relieved that you know who the murderer is in it. Sir Hugh Corbett's character is witty but also dangerous he is the medieval...
Published on 10 Nov 2002 by Jim Kay

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissappointing
For years I have been a fan of the Hugh Corbett series. Although I recognise it's faults (sloppy and inconsistent characterisation - 'Ranulf' especially seems to change radically with each new book - and too concisely written resulting in 'thin' stories) there is something which intrigues me every time I pick up a new volume. Something which makes these characters come to...
Published on 18 Aug 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Potential Nobel Prize Winner., 10 Nov 2002
By 
Jim Kay (London, England) - See all my reviews
Many books are pure ruthless when basing them on murders but this book introduces elegance, history and mystery that will make you scared but wanting to turn the page. It's depth is brilliant and when the mystery is finally unravelled you become relieved that you know who the murderer is in it. Sir Hugh Corbett's character is witty but also dangerous he is the medieval version of an MI5 agent with all the secret seals and titles to along with the job. Ranulf, his sidekick is heavy handed and produces many funny moments his character is the same as Corbett's but much more impatient. When you begin to read this book its marvellous beginning enthrals you and takes you back in time to when knights fought battles and when kings ruled unconditionally. In typical Doherty style the book begins with the prologue (murder) but its context is deep and meaningful. Doherty is a brilliant author and combines fact with pure fiction. At the end you will be thinking of living in medieval England forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book that just could not be put down!, 14 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was never much one for politics and history and both together would seem to be a disaster, however, throw in a bit of old fashioned sleuthing, murder, mystery and intrigue and Paul Doherty has done it again!
Corpse Candle is done in a similar way to a lot of the Hugh Corbett mysteries however,it works. Once again Doherty seems to make you think that just about everyone has "dunnit", even the most honest of people before revealing the true culprit right at the end. It kept me guessing anyway!
The usual banter between Hugh and Ranulf is excellent and very enjoyable and it is good to see the characters grow from book to book. Saying that, if it is the first you have read, you do not need to have read any previous books to appreciate the story.
Overall, Corpse Candle is an excellent read, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This 'Candle' Burns Brightly!, 13 Feb 2003
By 
Billy J. Hobbs "Bill Hobbs" (Tyler, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paul Doherty uses quite a few pseudonyms, but regardless of which nom de
plume he chooses, or which series he presents, readers always get a good,
well-reseached, convincing historical mystery.
In “Corpse Candle,” Doherty gives us Sir Hugh Corbett, King Edward I’s
special envoy and close confidant, the 12th such episode in this popular series.
It is 1303 and Abbot Stephen, a close personal friend of Edward’s, is found
dead in his locked chambers at the Abbey of St. Martin-in-the-Marsh. As the king’s
envoy, Corbett quickly finds that there is more to the story than the death of the
abbot. As Lady Macbeth says, “False face must hide false heart,” and to continue
the Shakespearean allusion, “Corpse Candle” ends us with far more bodies scattered
about the place than Hamlet’s Act V!
With his trusted aide Ranulf and newly acquired groom Chanson, Sir Hugh
finds his intellect and common sense broadside by the incessant deaths of members
of the Abbey. Of course, as he investigates, all these deaths are related and using his
famed logic and ability to re-construct, he is able to bring the murderer to justice.
Of course, all in good time, as the killer wreaks vengeance upon those whom he feels
are complicit in the greater crime, one that began years ago and, sadly, now plays to
its tragic, deceitful, and explosive end.
Of all the Corbett books, this one is the best researched and most carefully
laid out and presented. From its opening pages, “Corpse Candle” holds the reader’s
attention and the plot unfolds in a timely manner and pace. Few loose ends are left
and the conclusion logical and noteworthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Doherty never disappoints, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corpse Candle (Hugh Corbett Mysteries 13) (Kindle Edition)
Intrigue is maintained throughout with interesting twists. I love the main characters and how they are developed through each book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Doherty Stories are Great, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. W. J. Pritchard (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corpse Candle (Hugh Corbett Mysteries 13) (Kindle Edition)
I find Paul Doherty stories absorbing. Thirteenth and Fourteenth centuries must have been really smelly. No wonder there were so many plagues the people just didn't know how to look after themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The student comes of age, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corpse Candle (Hugh Corbett Mysteries 13) (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent medieval mystery from Paul Doherty , the secrets that we keep, Hugh Corbett ever watchful ever thoughtful, piecing together an intricate puzzle assisted by his faithful Ranulf and chanson. I believe that Paul Doherty has in ranulf the character for a new series with Hugh Corbett as a character in the wings. Looking forward to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissappointing, 18 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Corpse Candle (Paperback)
For years I have been a fan of the Hugh Corbett series. Although I recognise it's faults (sloppy and inconsistent characterisation - 'Ranulf' especially seems to change radically with each new book - and too concisely written resulting in 'thin' stories) there is something which intrigues me every time I pick up a new volume. Something which makes these characters come to life. Ellis Peters might be a far better writer, but her Cadfael never gripped me like Doherty's Corbett. Until 'Corpse Candle' that is. The plot is transparant (if you don't know whodunnit halfway through you're a dunce) and the characters of Corbett and Ranulf hardly interact (which is always the most enjoyable part of the series) thus leaving us with a dreary, listless book. I only give it two stars because I'm such a fan of the series. Avoid this one, dear readers, you'd be wasting your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sir Hugh Corbett gets better and better., 12 May 2001
This review is from: Corpse Candle (Hardcover)
Again, an excellent book of Medievil murder and mystery from Paul Doherty. Sir Hugh Corbett gets better and better and more thrilling as the book progresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissappointing, 18 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Corpse Candle (Paperback)
For years I have been a fan of the Hugh Corbett series. Although I recognise it's faults (sloppy and inconsistent characterisation - 'Ranulf' especially seems to change radically with each new book - and too concisely written resulting in 'thin' stories) there is something which intrigues me every time I pick up a new volume. Something which makes these characters come to life. Ellis Peters might be a far better writer, but her Cadfael never gripped me like Doherty's Corbett. Until 'Corpse Candle' that is. The plot is transparant (if you don't know whodunnit halfway through you're a dunce) and the characters of Corbett and Ranulf hardly interact (which is always the most enjoyable part of the series) thus leaving us with a dreary, listless book. I only give it two stars because I'm such a fan of the series. Avoid this one, dear readers, you'd be wasting your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews