Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars71
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 12 June 2010
This is a great film. Captures the class divide, 80's Yuppies and the social changes. Those that disagree where probably not even born when this was set. Tough, real, violent and up close. The film captures the feel of the time, perfectly.

With excellent production techniques & casting this feels so much bigger than just a film about football violence. It should be considered a 'cult classic'.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
A good re-make from a different preception of the original film.
A good watch but not as good as the original film.
despatched quickly thanks
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
The original (tv) drama from the 80's had one great thing as a selling point: Gary Oldman. He was electric as Bex. Charasmatic but as mad as a bag of snakes; a likeable sociopath that sort if became the template for much of Oldmans's later work. Here though, Bex is played as a vicious bully with no redeeming qualities. A mindless thug followed by equally mindless thugs. But I guess that might be closer to reality, but it makes it quite hard to sell the story when the hooligans messiah is a total loser from the get go. But I'm not knocking the actors. They play the parts of terrace tossers well enough, but aside from dressed in silly 80's sportswear, so the real 'fun' surely would be in the violent rucks which is really anyone interested in casual sub-culture ( or hooli films) would give a toss about anyway. This is where the film is a huge let down. The fights are incredibly boring. You never really get 'caught up' in the action because Nick Love has left his gloves on for this one. A shame really because this could have been the best hooli film yet, instead it pales in comparison to the original on just about every level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
Nick Love's The Firm certainly has a love for the 80s, but the film doesn't quite pull it off. We are never emotionally attached to the actors, and by the end you don't care who gets hurt when the fighting breaks out. This is partially due to the poor script but also because the film focuses only on two main characters- Bek, the head of the firm and Dom a naive shy kid who wants a bit of excitement but bites off more than he can chew.

The realism of the hooligans which dogged English football in the 80s is pretty much spot on and there are as you would expect in a Nick Love film some hilarious scenes. But dare I suggest there could have been more impact violence? Not violence for violence sakes, but for an emotional response, from us the viewer. Without it, we are left with an empty yet fairly enjoyable 90 minutes.

Try and find the original TV movie that this film was based from, it has A list actors and is much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
A pretty enjoyable remake of the 80s TV film. This version differs from the original in a number of ways but still retains many of the most memorable scenes.Where as the original placed almost all the emphasis on Bex (the top boy in "The Firm") and his rivalry with Yeti (his nemesis and leader of a rival firm), in this version,although the rivalry between Bex and Yeti is still there, there is more emphasis placed on the rites of passage into the firm of Dom, a young lad from a down at heel estate.
As Bex becomes more obsessed (and unhinged) with his need to fulfill what he sees as his destiny as top boy in a combined English firm,to follow the England national team into Europe, realisation dawns on Dom that the buzz and the clobber cannot compensate for feeling bullied, afraid and to some extent, betrayed.
The original suffers in comparison when you look at the attention to detail in this newer version. The clothes in particular in this version are a very accurate refelection of what was predominant at the time on the terraces -some of the Fila,Tacchini and Diadora etc, gear worn in the film still can't be beaten when it comes to football fashion.
In some ways (although obviously impossible) it's a shame that we could not have a hybrid of the old and the new version. Gary Oldman was excellent as Bex in the original for example but as already touched on, the clothes worn in the original, were rubbish (the new version took advice from a specialist 80s casual clothing website for authenticity).
This is not a tale that anyone could argue glorifies violence and fighting at football, the repercussions (both potential and real) on family and self of being involved are well explored in the many darker moments of the film(although there are some pretty funny moments as well and it certainly scores on the nostalgia front).
All in all, a pretty good remake, the clobber is great, the music is thumping but as the previous reviewer has pointed out some of the dialogue is a bit iffy.
Very enjoyable but probablly not a 100% "classic" British film.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2011
This film isnt as good as the original firm but its a good effort, the first time i watched it i wasnt keen but after watching it again i started to enjoy it, but in this version the portrayed Beck's as a in a different way, he's a big bully in this, good acting, funny outfits and a good taste in music, 3 out of 5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
I wasn't ever a real fan of the original Gary Oldman film "The Firm". So this gave it the much needed refresh and rethink that it needed. I think overall origianl Firm fans wern't overly impressed by this remake, but if you were like me and didn't really enjoy Oldman's version then this was the film for you.

There are a few familiar faces in the cast from other hooligan and gangland films, Calum McNab in the joint lead role who you will recognise as Raff from Football Factory, his dad you will recognise from The Business and other actors such as Paul Anderson and Daniel Mays have large roles. The soundtrack is fantastic, a typical eighties soundtrack.. all that keeps playing back in my head is "Don't you stop it..don't you stop..don't stop the music". Nick Love really nailed everything down in this, the clothes..Fila and Sergio Tacchini tracksuits..everything in this film just transports you back to the 1980's. The storyline has been toyed with a little bit, but I think that benefits the film and its actors, and like foremmentioned..I didn't like the original, as much as I tried.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2010
A watchable DVD but not as good as the original BBC drama with Gary Oldman in it. I found that they used a lot of the same material and even quotes from the original. If you like watching Hooligan films, then it is ok but not as good as the original or other hooligan films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Great film, can't understand a word without subtitles because of the english accent, which makes it hilarious and realistic! When I first started watching it on tv it seemed a bit of a joke but turned out to be a real classic, better than the original in my opinion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
A great film to watch that might be wide of the mark in a number of ways, but the characters and acting are supreme. Probably best appealing to a middle aged audience to whom the music in the film and the times portrayed have some resonance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)