Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars10
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2009
'The 1995 Sessions' is something Dannii Minogue fans around the world have been waiting for for almost 15 years. And boy does it deliver! Despite being an album of demo recordings, it's the perfect bridge between Dannii's sophmore album 'Get Into You' and her fantastic third album 'Girl', her first real foray into the dance realm. This album perfectly shifts between the two albums, mixing the soul of 'Get Into You' with the euro dance sounds that led to 1997's 'Girl'.

First track 'Free Your Love' is a slice of dance-pop heaven with Dannii's ever strong vocals and it's extended 12" mix adds some extra vocal takes and beats to the track. The albums sole-ballad 'Don't Wanna Leave You Now' (as previously featured on Dannii's 1998 Unleashed tour) is a gorgeous ballad that really showcases the younger Minogue's vocals - that for one reason or another it seems are always under scrutiny by the public and media that are not 'in the know'. 'Skin Deep', 'Crazy (For Your Love)' and 'Love And Affection' are all fantastic dance/pop hybrids that prove just how strong even unreleased material by Dannii is.

'Everlasting Night' is here in it's original form, sans drag queens and harder dance beats it would go onto feature when released as the official Mardi Gras release in 1999 in Australia only. I can't decide which version of 'Everlasting Night' I prefer, to be honest I think I love both! 'Exclusively' while sticking to dance styles, flirts with the hip-pop beats of her debut album 'Love & Kisses' and the original version of 'Coconut' is a fun dance reworking of the Harry Nilsson classic, however not as good as the final version, mixed by FlexiFingers that appears on the 'Girl' album.

This being a deluxe fan edition, there's something we've become accustomed to as Dannii fans - 24 page deluxe booklets! This one does not disappoint, featuring an array of black and white photos of Dannii at that time in her career as well as lyrics to all the songs and a short but sweet note from Ms. Minogue.

This is one to check out for the Dannii fan in your life for sure. Whether it's your boyfriend, your girlfriend or even yourself at this price how can you say no?
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2010
As a recent Dannii Minogue fan here in the U.S., I was so excited to hear of this CD, the "missing" third album from a great dance/pop artist. Originally intended to be released as her third studio album, because of reported management problems, it was shelved. Probably in part from her recent success on UK TV as the British equivalent to Kara or Paula from American Idol on the mega-successful British predecessor, "The X-Factor" but moreso because of her dedication to her fanbase, this previously unreleased material has been presented to her fans (and hopefully a bigger part of the world) as the "1995 Sessions".

Sooooo worth the wait! If you are new to Dannii, she channels Ibiza and all that is dance with a voice that is more refined and less nasal than her successful sister Kylie. From the opening track, to the final "Coconut" (a great remake of a 70's hit) and one bonus track (a remix of the first tune), it is the finest of 90's dance to the point of sounding retro/"current" - because as we all know, what goes around...

Give this a try. And then explore her back catalog: "Love & Kisses", "Get Into You" (both recently digitally remastered with bonus tracks), the highly personal "Girl", the chart-defining "Neon Nights" and all the rest. After Neon Nights came a lot of compilations with lots of fun twists, culminating with her last studio release, "Club Disco". 2010 will hopefully see a new album; In the meantime... Dannii is the best. Her music has been huge to me and I love sharing it with others here across the pond!

Obviously, sign me, a fan.............
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2010
The lost 1995 Sessions was something of a holy grail for Dannii Minogue fans - this was the turning point from Dannii's early "urban" style and a precursor to her subsequent dance recordings.

Plenty of the songs here are catchy enough but the 1990's production does sound dated. A must have for any Dannii fan though and special mention should go to the effort put into the cd artwork and design.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
For all the die hard Dannii fans out there, the release of this latest collection was long overdue!! This collection should have been the follow up to the 'Get Into You' album but sadly never got released..... UNTIL NOW!!!
Containing some fantastic tracks such as 'Free Your Love', the original version of 'Everlasting Night', the rare 'Coconut' and the beautiful 'Don't Wanna Leave You Now', this CD will not disappoint all the Dannii fans out there!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
* The verses on 'Everlasting Night' are different to the 1999 Aus only single release.

* Dannii performed 'Don't Wanna Leave You Now' on her 1998 'Unleashed' tour.

Way back in early 1995 Dannii started writing and recording tracks for her 3rd Mushroom album (following Love & Kisses and Get Into You). News about the upcoming release started to come out slowly; the album would lean towards the music pumping in the clubs and fellow songwriters and producers included the Rapino Brothers, Love to Infinity, Soul II Soul, One World, D.N.A, Terry Ronald and Motiv8.

Fans excitidly waited... and gave up on ever hearing the new material after Dannii left her record label (they had a disagreement regarding which territories the album would be released in).

Now after a 14 year wait, Dannii's older fans are being rewarded for their patience by the release of the majority of her unnamed album's tracks on CD for the very first time.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2010
I ordered this cd as a gift for myself and I've always been a fan of both the Minogue sisters but the was one particular thrack on this CD that I have always wanted and the track is called "Love Will Find A Way". but I'am so happy that this CD was purchased becuase this cd also had some other rare 1995 tracks that I have never heard of before as this is a "Demo Recording CD" but now this CD has completed my collection of Dannii Minogue Song's, If there are new fans that are interested into buying this CD I fully recommend buying because you wont be dissapointed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 December 2009
after the first two mainly pop oriented albums, this was to be the third release, but dannii parted company with her label - they were unhappy with her move into dance territory, which she finally accomplished with the album "girl" and its hit singles and then the success of "neon nights" which cemented her as a great pop/dance artist!

its a shame it has taken so long for these tracks to be released, as they are classic tracks - very much of the dance era at the time, but they still sound fresh and new!

this is a true must for dannii fans, i can;t stop playing it!

"crazy" is my favourite but its hard to find a bad track even "coconut" which was a hidden track on girl, with its silly lyrics, i have to admit is a song that heard once you end up singing forever!

a stunning set of dance/pop songs which is far superior to first two albums!

you will not be disappointed!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2010
Thank you Dannii for this excellent album. I love it...
The sound is very Dance 90 ! I love I love I love ¢¾¢¾¢¾
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 December 2009
So these tracks were recorded in 1995 and have surfaced to cash in on Dannii's current "fame" on X factor. To be very frank, these tracks are awful, badly mixed, no catchy anthem tunes in there and I'm very suspicious of the first reviews, could Dannii be getting her mates to 4/5 star this trash?

Dannii simply needs to sit down and write a decent follow up to her 2003 album, not breathe life into old material which was never any good to begin with.
33 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2010
absolute drivel that should have been burned way back. poor deluded dannii, she along with sinitta seem to have false memory syndrome, they were never any good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.