Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun
Playing one of four humans stuck in a zombie invested city, this is primarily a survival game rather than a shooter. Weapons and ammo are limited so conservation is vital. It's all about getting to the safe house rather than seeing how many zombies you can hit. This adds to the dark and often nerve-wracking experience of the game.

The other survivors can be...
Published on 1 Feb 2010 by Tasha

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of action when the zombies make a run for you...
Really enjoy shooting those zombies and working as a team member on line. Would be nice to have more characters to choose from. The weapons are cool, really good game..
Published on 23 Jun 2011 by peeps


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 1 Feb 2010
By 
Tasha (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Left 4 Dead - Game Of The Year - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Playing one of four humans stuck in a zombie invested city, this is primarily a survival game rather than a shooter. Weapons and ammo are limited so conservation is vital. It's all about getting to the safe house rather than seeing how many zombies you can hit. This adds to the dark and often nerve-wracking experience of the game.

The other survivors can be played by AI, which is mostly good but sometimes - as with all games - sometimes has issues. Most notebly they let you down when there's a "Witch" around. Witches want to be left alone so the idea is to sneak past them, however more often than not an AI character gets to close or shoots at them. Also the AI characters seem to have a thing about walking in your line of fire.

Fortunately, there's a much more fun way to play the game and that's with 3 other real life people in co-op mode. This can be done either split screen or online. Communication is a must, making it much easier (and more fun) to get through the levels working as a team.

All round fun, best played with friends late at night with the lights out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Endless zombie-killing fun!, 18 Aug 2011
By 
Miss Robinson (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Left 4 Dead - Game Of The Year - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is easily one of the best zombie games around for the zombie-lover in your life. In mine, it is my Fiance, I bought him this as a Christmas present back in 2009 & it is still one of his most-played games! The game is so addictive that even I have become a zombie-killing gamer!

The storyline is pretty simple, 4 survivors battling their way through a city against a horde of starving zombies from safe room to safe room. The 4 survivors can be played by 4 of you locally on the same console or the 'vacant' players can be AI. As another reviewer has mentioned, the AI is sometimes a little trigger happy & can startle 'witches', this is especially annoying when trying to make it through a chapter without startling one for an achievement! There are also other types of special zombies - Smokers who drag you away from your team mates with their tongues, Boomers who vomit on you attracting hordes of zombies & Hunters who pounce on you, pinning you to the ground until you are saved by a team mate or killed. This makes for rather interesting play & you will soon begin to recognise each special's sound!

Although the campaign is quite short, this game has great re-playability in that there are many different approaches & strategies you can go for, this ensures it is never tedious when replaying to gain achievements or even just for fun which is a great bonus for the game. I would recommend this for the zombie-lover in your life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd best game ever, 23 Mar 2010
By 
D. Saxby (Plymouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Left 4 Dead - Game Of The Year - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this is the 2nd best game ever (the first best being left 4 dead 2). can't believe someone gave it 3 stars!!! what a sausage! i highly recomend this game if you like co-op games. it can't be beaten for that very reason. the versus mode never gets dull. and valve said they're bringing out new content at some point in 2010 for both left 4 dead and left 4 dead 2. so yeh this game slays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed at first but it grew on me., 15 Sep 2010
By 
Alex G (Surrey, U.K.) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Left 4 Dead - Game Of The Year - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I got into this game (and Xbox 360) late and I had high expecations of this.

My first impressions were that the graphics were a bit poor but that this was obviously in order to accomodate having dozens of zombies on screen at once. Gameplay wise - sure it was fun for while but it didnt seem a very substantial game.

Over time it grew on me however and I have sinced spent many hours playing the campaigns and versus mode. I still find it hard to say why though...

This game does require more teamwork than many other online shooters but I still think this aspect is overhyped, at least in campaign mode - more often that not it just boils down to sticking together as anyone who wanders off will get 'done'.
Versus mode requires more co-operation - particulary if you are playing as the infected as attacks work best if they are co-ordinated.

I guess the thing that keeps me coming back is that every game is different. Despite only having 4 short campaigns it really is the people you play with that alter the experience every time. With a team of experts it can seem easy but other times its a different experience altogether.

I would recommend this game overall - but only if you intend on playing online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More zombie killing, 16 July 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Left 4 Dead - Game Of The Year - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having playing left 4 dead 2 before the first one and buying every DLC for it and gaining every achivement, i decided to go ahead and buy the first one and it was a great choice.
I loved how the campaign levels are much darker than L4D2 and how the first time you play your a bit wary of if theres gonna be a tank around the corner, all though i found L4D2 more exciteing then the first.
I decided to see if any of the left 4 dead 1 DLC's were any good and i bought crash course campaign and then the sacrifice even though i had played it on L4D2, i found them okay but not as good as L4D2 but thats proberly because its newer.
Anyway its a great game if you like zombie killing or want a game to play with your mates, the only thing i dont like about L4D1 is that the servers can be laggy at times and some achivements are glitched like the last 6 i need...but dont let that put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game for a busy adult. ;-), 30 April 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Left 4 Dead - Game Of The Year - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Short fun adventures that can be played again and again with pals across the ocean, cool.
Easy to play for an experienced player, a bit more challenging for newbies (up, down, what?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars left 4 dead, 18 Mar 2012
By 
WarLord (Death Valley) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Left 4 Dead - Game Of The Year - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
a good game if you like zombie games and on-line games, but it's not very long in the single player off line mode, only 4 levels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Gaming Fun, 15 Sep 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Left 4 Dead - Game Of The Year - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Left 4 Dead is an amazing game to play on your own or with your friends,I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to buy a zombie survival game that they can play together. Plus, it is always being updated with new content so it never gets boring... you just need some points for them. 5 Stars is too low for a game like this, I wish I could give it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of action when the zombies make a run for you..., 23 Jun 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Left 4 Dead - Game Of The Year - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Really enjoy shooting those zombies and working as a team member on line. Would be nice to have more characters to choose from. The weapons are cool, really good game..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Kevin P. Teasdale "Kevin Teasdale" (Newton Aycliffe, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Left 4 Dead - Game Of The Year - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this for my daughter, she plays it at all of her friends houses. The graphics are a bit pants and so is the endless repetition. My main gripes are that you never run out of amunition and everywhere looks the same. The good parts are the witches and thats about it.
That said the kids love it, 18 rating is is a bit OTT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Left 4 Dead - Game Of The Year - Classics Edition (Xbox 360)
17.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews