Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic uncovered!
This is an excellent value for money box set, the first couple of DVDs are a little stale in terms of offering nothing new, but as you work throught the set, you are really drawn into the story.

There is some amazing footage of the Titanic on the seabed, especially some interior shots never seen before which are fasinating. There is alot of analysis of the...
Published on 24 Nov 2010 by lmt25a

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I required
I stopped watching after second disc. Very boring for me, although maybe not for others. Was not what I was expecting, it's mainly about them going down to investigate now and how they do that. I was looking for for the story of titanic.
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by oldfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic uncovered!, 24 Nov 2010
This review is from: Discovery Channel - Titanic Gift Pack [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent value for money box set, the first couple of DVDs are a little stale in terms of offering nothing new, but as you work throught the set, you are really drawn into the story.

There is some amazing footage of the Titanic on the seabed, especially some interior shots never seen before which are fasinating. There is alot of analysis of the sinking, etc which is neither too stuffy or dumbed down and some fairly interesting and credible theories are put forward that really get you thinking.

In terms of the expedition footage, it is kept in context, unlike most books and DVDs that spend far too much time banging on about the submarines and the techniques used to explore the titanic.

If you watch the DVDs together in close succession, there is some repetion of shots and narrative, but it is fairly minimal.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed the films and learnt quite a bit more about the Titanic, the sinking and people who were on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value!, 1 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discovery Channel - Titanic Gift Pack [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent value multi dvd set, i have a little one that is facinated about the Titanic.... this was just what the doctor ordered! lol Highly recommended if into the Titanic... oh and excellent service from Amazon as per usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really informative, thoroughly immersive documentary, 14 Mar 2011
This review is from: Discovery Channel - Titanic Gift Pack [DVD] (DVD)
I have always been interested in this story - who hasn't?? Recently I went to the Titanic Exhibition at the O2, and I left yearning to know more about this great story, so found this dvd series. It's really excellent. There's so many things I didn't know in this no stone un-turned documentary of the events of that fateful night. It's an immense story on so many different levels, and the box set does it amazing justice. If you're interested in the Titanic, this is a must in your arsenal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars forensic examination of the wreck, 22 Jan 2011
By 
R. Viggers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discovery Channel - Titanic Gift Pack [DVD] (DVD)
The first four discs cover a forensic examination of the wreck by a team of naval architects and other specialists, including bringing up samples of the hull and subjecting them to metallurgical testing. The fifth is about some of the people and their stories. The sixth is footage shot by James Cameron of the interior after the film was released.

The only, minor, aspect that spoils it for me is the typical breathless American commentary. However, the footage and scientific investigation of the ship and the mechanics of the sinking outweighs that considerably.

An excellent package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy tribute to the Titanic, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: Discovery Channel - Titanic Gift Pack [DVD] (DVD)
You have a choice-either spend a tenner in the pub or buy this Gift Pack.
This isn't fiction its real and shows how attempts were made to raise a piece of the Titanic even though it failed.
It shows the trials and problems the French crew experienced as they went 10 miles below.
Ths story of the Titanic disaster is recreated in a number of films most of which are Hollywood's version and not the real facts.
With over 6 hours you learn more about the Titanic than ever before.Should be the last word
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic., 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discovery Channel - Titanic Gift Pack [DVD] (DVD)
I like the six different episodes of the documentary. Interesting to listen and understand has to why and how the disaster happened or could have been avoided. You need to see the six episodes for your self. Needless to say , overall there will always be unanswered questions to a maritime disaster. Being a 101 years at the bottom of the Atlantic Ocean, and gradually rotting I just think it absolutely tragic that the disaster happened to the families on which brought sheer grief. Personally it would be more respectful to leave the valuables where they were left when Titanic sank and just to have a memoir ale service like they did a year ago {2012} to remember the sinking. Man always the tendency to pry or recover valuables for worth than respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for a Titanic fan, 26 Jun 2014
This review is from: Discovery Channel - Titanic Gift Pack [DVD] (DVD)
This pretty much covers everything in the latest investigations, nicely presented. It also talks of the lesser known stories of survivors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars titanic gift pack, 12 Feb 2014
By 
A. Iliffe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discovery Channel - Titanic Gift Pack [DVD] (DVD)
this gift pack is in good condition, and well worth the money. it will help me with my interest in the titanic. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unsinkable, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discovery Channel - Titanic Gift Pack [DVD] (DVD)
My son is obsessed with the Titanic. Despite the fact he is only 11 years old and this is factual & not fictionalized action I'm starting to get the feeling I may have to buy a replacement soon when he wears this one out. And as the price is great & delivery top notch you will not hear any complaints from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Discovery Channel - Titanic Gift Pack [DVD] (DVD)
Lots of DVDs and great collection. Bought for someone who follows and is interested I the titanic story. I think this was bought after watching the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Discovery Channel - Titanic Gift Pack [DVD]
£11.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews