Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest comedies on growing up
Little Nicolas is a French comedy painting an interesting and extremely well told picture of growing up - from the child's perspective. Little Nicolas is a fairly average school kid from a middle-class family of the 1960s urban France. He likes his parents, his school mates and his life in general - and would, of course like everything to stay that way. But events at...
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by AK

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what i expected
I didn't realise what this film was about, but bought it on other peoples good reviews.

Not a bad film and it is watchable, but it's for children really. Luckily enough my wife enjoyed it, as growing up in France she read the books when she was young.

Good as a family film.
Published 4 months ago by Philip Scott


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest comedies on growing up, 7 Jan 2011
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Little Nicolas is a French comedy painting an interesting and extremely well told picture of growing up - from the child's perspective. Little Nicolas is a fairly average school kid from a middle-class family of the 1960s urban France. He likes his parents, his school mates and his life in general - and would, of course like everything to stay that way. But events at school make him think significant, and scary change is ahead - the rest of the movie is basically about him dealing with the 'situation'.

What makes the movie truly outstanding, is how well it manages to empathise with a child's point of view. The fears and misunderstandings of the children in general and Nicolas in particular make for a warm but relentless stream of hillarity - it has been a very long time since a comedy made me laaugh so much or so hard. In it's warmth it very much reminded me of Monsieur Ibrahim [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (without the sad ending).

At the same time the entertainment is fairly innocent and can be enjoyed by viewers of pretty much all ages. Some other aspects, involving his parents are pictured pretty amusingly, too - and relate to experiences many families have gone through at some point - the husband's striving for promotion, the entertaining of the boss and his wife at home, the somewhat desperate housewife...

The only unfortunate thing about the movie currently is that I have not yet been able to find a version with English subtitles. So if your French is not up to speed, you will sadly have to wait - but I am sure the wait will be worth it, once an English version eventually appears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Release a UK and Region 2 version - NOW! AND THEY HAVE!!, 18 Jan 2012
By 
EA Williamson "Crying Out Loud" (Dollar, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Went to see this film at our local brilliant Macrobert Centre in Stirling which thankfully picks up world cinema ignored by the big boys, based on the fact that it was French and about school (wife and I both Primary teachers and fond of French culture). I have honestly never heard her laugh so much and so consistently throughout a film. Excellent understanding of a child's world and take on reality. Wonderful performances from all involved in this as well. This was early 2011 and still no sign of a UK release on DVD a year later. I do have a copy WITH ENGLISH subtitles now as I was so wanting this I got a copy from Amazon in Canada! Had the hassle of it being Region 1, but worth the pain and extra cost:
http://www.amazon.ca/Petit-Nicolas-Little-Nicholas/dp/B003FTM19G/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1326874604&sr=8-3
STOP PRESS: UK VERSION OUT ABOUT 14 MONTHS AFTER THE REVIEW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned charm, 16 Mar 2013
By 
S. J. Williams "stevejw2" (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Petit Nicolas [DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is billed as a family film, but despite not watching it 'en famille' and with no children in sight, I still enjoyed it very much. The (considerable) charm stems from its rather old-fashioned feel, rather like the neverland world of 1950s and 60s school-based children's stories here. The film is based on an established series of French books for children, illustrated a la Quentin Blake.

The children are very amusing archetypes: the greedy one (who eats in every situation); the goggle eyed swat, whose arm is almost permanently hoisted at 12 o'clock to answer any question; the class ignoramus (though he knows more than it seems if asked in the right way); the rich boy, for whom walking to school is being carried by the chauffeur, the eponymous hero whose parents are as foolish as the children, and so on. The adults are very much the same, broad brush figures. The plot centres on childhood misunderstandings to do with the arrival of siblings and the utterly implausible but amusing steps the children take to subvert the arrival of Nicolas' new brother. (The children in the story look to be 10 or so but none has any understanding of 'the birds and the bees'!) No one is truly unpleasant:even the strictest teacher helps out with lines which are proving too time-consuming for the pupil.

Visually, the film has a delightful patina of the storybook, a little like 'Amelie' or the heightened polish of 'The Truman Show', though obviously at the service of a very different kind of story. This enhances beautifully the artifice of the whole production.

Great fun, though I have to say I wonder if it might be more enjoyable for adults brought up on the now rather dated fare of the 50s and 60s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Petit Nicolas [DVD] (DVD)
Sometimes I just seek a film to escape into, and Petit Nicolas is perfect for 'one of those days'.

This film is a charming adult's eye view into a child's take on life; it reminded me very much of the 'Just William' stories that I used to share with my sons.
Uncomplicated, nicely filmed and and perfect for an evening when you need a light-hearted diversion from the pressures of the adult world. It made me smile and laugh and brought me much enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to Childhood., 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Petit Nicolas [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed it a lot.Takes you right back to when i was that age and the problems with growing up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny, 14 Feb 2014
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Petit Nicolas [DVD] (DVD)
Goodness but this took me back to my poor parents suffering my many hair-brained plans and schemes; the strange world of junior school, and the mysterious arrival of siblings. I well understand Nicolas's problem of not wanting to grow up when one was having such a good time. Despite Nicolas being a couple of years younger (based on publication date) and living in France there was so much that reminded me of life in Britain in the Fifties. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and charming, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Petit Nicolas [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film about a young French boy who's imagination lets him believe he is about to be cuckoo'd out the family nest. Charming and delightful in equal measure I recommend this film for those who want a light, whimsical tale .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring the old gang back together!, 5 Feb 2014
This review is from: Petit Nicolas [DVD] (DVD)
It has been suggested that this film is a gallic style Diary of a Wimpy Kid type of film. In both style and approach it is very much closer to the wonderful 1980 Australian Classic 'Fatty Finn'Fatty Finn [DVD], and is much the better film as a result, especially for the adults in the audience. Maxime Godart apparently effortlessly becomes the character of Nicolas, who has a very clear take on events around him, as most boys his age do. This film brings back to me all the joys and fears of my own eight year old life, and it is a joy to see that the rest of the cast get into the spirit of Nicolas' world with relish. Watch this film, and enjoy being a child again! Better still, watch it with your own children and enjoy being the same age as them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Film, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Petit Nicolas [DVD] (DVD)
I only finished watching this film very recently and it thoroughly deserves its five star rating. The story is told through the eyes of Nicolas a young school child who thinks the world as he knows it is going to come crashing down. I found it at times laugh out funny with lots of smiles in between. The sort of film that will offend no one but please virtually everyone, just sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great family movies, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Petit Nicolas [DVD] (DVD)
Good movie to watch at Christmas. Family favourite. One of our favourite movies. Already watched 4 times with different family mrmbers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews