Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game with very high specs
I first purchased this game as a 2nd hand copy from ebay, I would like to warn people that all 2nd hand copies have been linked by the previous owner to their steam account which can be done only once so you wont be able to play them.

To the game, the game itself is such an imersive and frightening experience that had me quaking in my boot, from the low powered...
Published on 8 Oct 2010 by Frankthetank1983

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okayish, Can activate on Steam
You can activate this game on Steam by typing in the serial number from the game you receive in the post. You can then download it using Stream and thus bin the physical CD.

After that I just couldn't get into this game. Starting off wasn't much fun... the game doesn't handle remapping of keys that well so you get "Do this by pressing (UNDEFINED)" prompts. It...
Published on 2 Jun 2012 by Tee


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SCARY FUN (TURN AA OFF) (STEAM GAME), 31 Aug 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metro 2033 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
i love a good story driven FPS shooter and this diddnt let me down the atmosphear is great and it had me jump out my seat more than once, the heavy breathing of the gas mask along with the howls and growls of the tunnel mutants makes for some very tense gameplay.
usualy i dont like dungeon crawling dark fps games but this hits the spot and theres nice changes of pace when you visit the surface

i played this on a ATI 5850 4core phenom 2 with 4gig i turned the settings down to high at first because the game didnt run well with resolutions over 12 hundred
its onjly later when i turned the AA completly off that i saw massive improvments
and it still looked great

charactger movements are really good facial expresions arnt too good and they have wierd super white eyes
voice acting is great for english im now going through it with the russian dialog setting

and you get free game RED FACTION ARMAGEDON
i dont know what this is exactly but same with alien vs predator the game installs on to steam network so i assume so im probably stuck with it now :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars welded to the rails, 19 May 2010
By 
C. Cresswell (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro 2033 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
the look of the game is great and it could have been amazing, but what I really hated was the 'on rails' design.

i was expecting it to be more linear than the STALKER series, but what they have actually done is take away almost all responsibility for progress from the player. you spend a large part of the game following different NPCs who have their own agenda, and tell you when to stop and when to fight, and when you do get to fight your achievement is not really recognised because the end of the fight is often a scripted event such as being knocked off a train, knocked out by an enemy, saved at the last second by NPC, etc etc which would be the same whether you fought well or poor (except if you fight so badly you die of course).

In between you have to listen to way too much one-sided dialogue from the NPCs. By the end of a few hours I just wanted to shoot everyone in the game. The game would have been much better if it was mission based with the various metro stations acting as 'mission hubs'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictively Atmospheric!, 9 Jan 2011
By 
Griesmayer (Wien, Österreich) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metro 2033 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
It's not very often that you see video games being developed outside the English-speaking world. Apart from German RPGs and Japanese Fantasy games, most other countries don't have big software companies with the necessary budget to bring out big titles. Least of all Ukraine. However, after more than four years of development, 4A Games, founded by former employees of GSC Game World (known for the Cossacks and S.T.A.L.K.E.R series) has now released the latest survival-horror First-person shooter, Metro 2033, which is a welcome change to the current wave of Call of Duty oriented FPS games dominating the market.

SETTING
20 years after an apocalyptic nuclear holocaust turned most of the world's surface into a radioactive wasteland, Metro 2033 follows the story of Artyom, who has been living among forty thousand other survivors of Moscow in the city's underground metro network, which is the only home the inhabitants of Russia's capital now have. The game's biggest and best feature is exactly this setting and the atmosphere it creates. Not only is the game engine rich in detail, but the developers have also exploited the linearity of the campaign to make each game level as realistic and unique as possible, breathing life into the tunnels of the Moscow metro. Each Metro station has been transformed to provide housing for hundreds of people, everything feels cramped and cosy at the same time. On the other hand, tunnels leading to other stations feel ghastly and foreboding, while the surface radiates a sense of bleak hopelessness making you shudder in your gas mask, eager to return to the tunnels below.

GAMEPLAY
Metro 2033 is a First-person shooter with RPG elements. This involves limited interaction with the enviromnent (unlike Crysis, you cannot pick anything up and throw it about) such as turning lights off or on, knocking on doors (much to the annoyance of its owners), giving handouts to beggars and also buying and selling weapons and ammunition. The currency in Metro 2033 is pre-apocalypse military grade ammunition, which can be exchanged for a great deal more bullets, albeit post-apocalyptic, "weaker" ones manufactured in the metro. This definitely makes for a cooler and more realistic and likely post-apocalyptic currency than Fallout's bottle caps.

There are several basic weapon types, this involves your usual handgun, shotgun, assault rifle and explosive, but also some more exotic weapons making use of electricity or air pressure, requiring you to keep charging or pumping up these weapons periodically for maximum effectivity. And unlike most other shooters, ammunition is hard to come by in Metro 2033 - you have to be constantly looting corpses for bullets or you'll run out of ammo pretty soon and a knife can only get you so far.

The game has a steep learning curve - the use of gas masks, filters, nightvision, head torch and weapons that need constant recharging, a stopwatch to determine how long an air filter will last and the whole concept of military grade ammunition as currency takes a little while to get accustomed to. Similarly, the weapons in this game require some experimenting before one can settle down with which one suits the personal playstyle best. My favorite is the Volt Driver, aka Railgun, deadly at close to mid-range and dirt cheap ammunition. Throwing knives and silenced (or suppressed, for the purists) weapons are quintessential for stealth gameplay, which is an alternate option of playing this game: almost any overhead lights can be broken to render you invisible in the darkness, with an LED on your watch indicating your visibility.

There are some bugs however, that I am not happy about. First of all, there are some glitches in this game. For example, characters partially vanish into walls when they get too close or when loading a save, you start drifting off in one direction and the only way to fix this is by fumbling about with the movement keys. There are also some other bugs I've heard about but didn't personally encounter, such as infinite gas filters and dead enemies flopping about. Another drawback is that despite the game designers taking so much time in making the singleplayer experience immersive, they threw in a crappy checkpoint system almost as an afterthought. The game saves at irregular intervals, in the weirdest of places. This often ends up in the last checkpoint being half a second before a headshot kills you, and unfortunetely, Artyom doesn't have the skill to continue with a bullet lodged in his skull. Games from the last decade already had the ability to save wherever and wherever you wanted, so this is not a technical limitation, rather sloppy programming.

But the main problem is the initial installation process: getting this steam game to run in the first place, requires some patience. The first time I tried running Metro 2033, it wouldn't get past the THQ logo screen and kept crashing. I had to run the game in safe mode and experiment with the video settings to find out what caused the crashing until I found out the culprit: DX10. With my GTX295, I can max out the game (1920x1200, no AA though) quite well with DX9 and get 15 - 30 FPS depending on the situation I'm in. About 5 FPS worse than Crysis maxed out running with DX10 and 4xAA, too. As you can see, Metro 2033 is, while graphically a close competitor but not superior, an even more demanding game than Crysis. Nevertheless, the promised next-gen capabilities of the engine regarding DX11 disappoint - the DX9 version of the game looks identical to its DX10 and DX11 counterparts in almost every aspect. You have to look really hard to spot the differences. Direct X 11's hardware tesselation for example, turns octadecagons into proper, round objects - but cuts the average framerate by a staggering half! Such subtle effects aren't noticable in regular gameplay and are certainly not worth shelling out half a grand for. At least not for anybody who bought a new graphic card 2007 onwards.

CONCLUSION
Overall, I can only recommend Metro 2033 to anybody who is seeking a deep singleplayer experience without having to resort to a full blown 50 hour RPG. The storyline itself may not be very gripping, but the journey Artyom takes from his home station to the grande finale is a rollercoaster ride of atmospheric awesomeness that just cannot be measured by words alone. It took me 15 hours to finish the game, which involved some exploring, watching all cutscenes and dying a couple of times. Metro 2033 is not only a refreshing change to the typical American setting for almost any given post-apocalyptic scenario, but also full of setpieces and cinematic moments, despite mostly being set in the tunnels, with occasional excursions to the bleak surface. The choice of playing the game guns blazing or utilizing stealth and the scarcity of ammo also make for a unique experience that you won't be forgetting so quickly. Metro 2033 is one of the few titles that make you lean back and think about what you just experienced after you finish playing the game, leaving plenty for open thought. A four, out of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metro 2033 Game for Windows, 27 Oct 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metro 2033 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Good Support from Steam, Graphics exellent, Sound Effects very good, Long game play, Overall great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric Shoot-Em-Up, 3 May 2010
By 
P. K. Bailey (Kings Lynn, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro 2033 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Set in a post nuked Moscow, this game is very atmospheric. It is also relatively true to real scenery in Moscow, as there are several places that I recognise from my many trips there. It is quite linear, which is a slight step back after so many new open world titles, but has a good story line. You battle your way through the metro stations fighting beasts & humans enemies. To begin with, the weapons are poor but soon get better. The silenced assault rifle is a favourite.
The only downsides is the time limit of your gas mask when you go 'top-side'. Personally I dislike dashing around, often lost, running out of air and having to start the section again as you can only save at certain check points.
Overall though, a good buy & would recommend it to anyone after a shoot-em-up with more depth & atmosphere than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring yawn, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro 2033 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Played for 20 minutes and lost interest, preferred dead space or bioshock series but tried on recommendation not worth the tenner i paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro 2033 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
EXCELLENT CONDITION. THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bah, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro 2033 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Great game just a real shame its so damned short. What a shame that they didn't add more content I completed this in 7hrs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars METRO 2033, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro 2033 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
LOVED THE GAME WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE I WILL PLAY IT OVER AND OVER TIME AND TIME AGAIN LOVED IT MR L R MITCHELL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's the Metro., 23 Aug 2013
By 
Traffic (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro 2033 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
As mentioned by just about every other review this game is truly great. Nothing else I can add to that.
Before you purchase just make sure that your PC can handle it because this game does tax even the most powerful graphics cards out there.

If you like FPS games with a great story this is a must have. recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metro 2033 (PC DVD)
Metro 2033 (PC DVD) by THQ (Windows Vista / XP)
£5.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews