Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT cRPGs DREAMS ARE MADE OFF !!
Whoever doubts that computer gaming is an art-form should play PLANESCAPE-TORMENT.

Words fail to describe the perfect symphony of brilliant ideas, emerging story-line, beautiful environments, mesmerizing music, fun gameplay and detailed coding that makes this game an unsurpassed classic!
I have yet to meet anyone who has played it and not raved about...
Published on 29 Oct 2009 by NeuroSplicer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
cvcxx
Published 3 months ago by R.C. RAYNER


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic RPG, 3 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. A. M. Graham (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plane Scape Torment (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
If you like RPGs you'll love this. The graphics are quite dated by todays standards but actually not bad at all when considering how old the game is. The game uses a D&D based system, and you can have up to 5 followers tagging along with you. There are many, many quests to solve and a lot of dialogue options available compared to most other available adventures - the game is quite wordy and you do have a bit of reading and thinking to do as to how best to go about things. The sound effects and music are excellent. The .ini file can be tweaked a bit to up the frame rate and search nodes for npcs. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite game ever, 6 April 2011
By 
J. E. Boyd "RPG fan" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plane Scape Torment (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I first played this game in 1999 when it was first released and loved it. It has fantastic humour and depth of character, the storyline is inspired and the character development was years ahead of it's time. The interface is poor compared to the current level and spells massively outpowered melee for the primary character. I've played this through and completed it probably 5-6 times since I've owned it but I've recommended it to a dozen different people. It doesn't cost much - if you've never played it, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as they come, 8 Aug 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plane Scape Torment (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Over a decade old, still one of the best games I've ever played, *and* one of the top 3 stories I've ever read. That's right: read. The game's vivid, engrossing writing draws you in the way games with full voice acting often fail to do, and leaves an enduring impression on you.

I really can't add much more to what's already been said, but like a former reviewer stated, one might ask oneself how an old and admittedly graphically dated game is still getting 5-star reviews. I take it it's the formula of a superbly fleshed-out world, memorable characters, engaging voice acting, a twisting and turning plot, and rich visuals.

With enough style to fill a fashion show's catalogue and more substance than you can shake an Entropic Blade at, Planescape: Torment is a classic that transcends the borders of gameplay and becomes a masterclass in storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a profound game, 31 Oct 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plane Scape Torment (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I played this through first time round and I still rate it as one of the best cRPG's out there. As others have said the story drives this game, as does the NPC character interaction which is fantastic.

Its not a new game and the graphics by todays standards will not be great, however if you have not played it and like CRPG's, this is definately one to get and to cherish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class RPG, 7 Dec 2009
By 
Adam Newell (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plane Scape Torment (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have to agree with almost everything said in the other reviews here. This game is very much like reading a good book with the added benefit that you peel back and unveil it as you play and shape the story through the choices you make, mainly in the dialogues.
The combat isn't that challenging for experienced RPGers but I wouldn't dwell on that because it's merely a spacer in between the excellent _roleplaying_ sections which are the outstanding part of the game.
The graphics were probably even considered dated when it was originally released but it really doesn't matter as that's not why your playing it, the story really is everything. There are mods available online which can improve the resolution that the game will play in which makes it look a bit better, but it's still the Baldur's Gate engine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "What can change the nature of a man?", 31 Oct 2009
By 
an_sionnach (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plane Scape Torment (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
An incredible, thought provoking game. Don't be put off by its age, what makes this game special is the writing - something that will never go out of date. If you missed it ten years ago, here's your chance to experience one of the few titles that demands gaming be taken seriously. It's a shame that this game hasn't been more influential: once you've played games like this, Ultima VII: The Black Gate and Serpent Isle, almost everything else seems noisy, immature and hollow by comparison. The modern gaming industry has lost its way trying to ape blockbuster films. If you'd rather think and be challenged with ideas and real moral dilemmas than blow stuff up, level up and grab more loot then please play this game. It starts out a bit slowly but keep playing and your patience will be rewarded.

Planescape Torment is a true RPG and a masterpiece. Everybody who loves games should play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic RPG !, 30 Oct 2009
By 
J. Webster (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plane Scape Torment (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
If you have ever enjoyed role playing game of any kind you should play this one . NeuroSplicer's review has said it well but I just wanted to reinforce it .

The gameplay is fun , storyline is fantastic and the characters have real depth (and are voiced wonderfully ). It is , by turns , sad , funny , weird , beautiful , challenging and there are moments where you just have sit back and think "whoa , thats heavy !".

Thats what I think anyway .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best!, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plane Scape Torment (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
What can change the nature of a man? this game

the best plot meant for a computer game.
just great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars welcome to sigil, the cage, the city of doors, 19 Mar 2014
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Plane Scape Torment (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This game stands apart from other d&d crpgs in its unusual setting: sigil. Set apart from the prime material plane, a city populated by man, beast, demon, Angel and everything in between.
You play as the nameless one, covered in scars and tatoos, waking up on a slab in a mortuary.

Ive played many d&d crpgs, and this is by far the best.
Every playthrough gives chances for very different approaches, leading to different rewards and oucomes. The class system for your character is based entirely on who you can get to teach you. Wanna be a thief? Perhaps you can find someone to show you how its done? Or maybe catch a pickpocket in the act, get him to teach you a thing or two (or if thieving isnt your thing, teach HIM a lesson!).

The companions are varied and ever talkative, each with a rich, deep history that tells you more of the city and the planes each time.
(8 companions in total)

Pick and choose your preferred methods as you go along, but be warned, save often, as actions have thier consequences, immediate or no.

So buy this game and set out to descover who you are. Who you once were. Why you are.
And more importantly, what can change the nature of man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fifteen years later this is still THE game for me, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plane Scape Torment (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I've been playing since 1994 and my all-time favorites include many classics such as the DOOM, Civilization, and Thief series. All Black Isle Games have been great - whether they take place on the Sword Coast or in the distant north. But there is always that one game for everyone, that sweet, euphoric memory that always brings back a warm smile, even decades later. I had an intense, passionate, life-changing experience with Planescape Torment in 1999 - it seriously blew my mind and made me reconsider my expectations for a career (as a 19-year old back then, I started to ponder the chance of making such awe-inspiring games myself). Those dreams of game-making never materialized, but PST left its mark. If I ever have the chance to write script or dialogue for a computer game, it's because of PST.
Now, fifteen years later, I am once again visiting the old flame. Yes, the graphics by now are obsolete. Yes, the later games added features that were very helpful (such as highlighting pickable items/objects with the Alt key). But this is like revisiting a massive Medieval fortress (think Krak des Chevaliers) - buildings today have better amenities and can be built faster, but when you think back to the year, you'll be stunned by the level of effort, the sheer detail painstakingly crafted by hand, the size of the thing...
I have no doubt I will be playing this in 2030 and in 2050 - assuming a long lifespan, of course - and I would be delighted to see my son and possible future grandchildren pick up the game and exlaim, like me: "This is THE most immersive RPG I have ever played!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plane Scape Torment (PC DVD)
Plane Scape Torment (PC DVD) by Interplay (Windows Vista / XP)
£9.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews