Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Who with some class
This is a whole season with one story arc, most of them work well and some flag a bit, not surprising when you consider the production involved, so much work, micro budget and ironicly for a series involving time travel not enough of it, how ever when they do pull the boat out it's done with a stylish aplomb, Tom baker does get going quite well and acts his socks off in...
Published on 5 Mar. 2012 by stu

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Endless Quest
It's a good idea - tie all the stories together with one linking theme - a quest, like Bilbo's journey to Mount Doom or Jason and the Argonauts; the Dr gets sent by the White Guardian (kinda like God) to find the ultimate McGuffin, before the Black Guardian (kinda like Satan, only played by Valentine Dyall) gets to it first. It's the kind of good idea that works best if...
Published 21 months ago by Alex Lyon


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, 22 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Key to Time Box Set (Re-issue) [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
One of the real GREATS of the Dr Who cannon of works. A fantastic series of stories covering the search for and acquisition of the Six Segments of the Key to Time. Thrilling and well written, some of the concepts - the Pirate Planet, are staggering in their imaginative quality. Every other scifi series just doesn`t compare because Dr Who is in another Universe away from all the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Key to Time Box Set (Re-issue) [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
ideal present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mixed stories, 16 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Key to Time Box Set (Re-issue) [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
OK then lets start of...

The Ribos Operation for me was not to enjoyable in parts 1 and 2 but the action got better and better on Parts 3 and 4. There are some interesting characters. What annoys me about this story is the conman, the fat man, he seems a bit to smug and he obviously is up to something.

The Pirate Planet was good, it was the first story for Douglas Adams. What was goof about this story is the villins and how they have very little mercy.

The Stones of Blood is an enjoyable story with the Professor taking front seat and the villin is unexpected. This story creeped me out a bit as I watched it late on a dark Friday Night.

The Androids of Tara, nothing can fault that story, the maycyup on that andriod making woman was fantastic. For me the one thing that did let it down was the fact that we never find out what happened to the bad guy.

The Power of Kroll is very good, you can sympsise with the Swampies. The Villins are great in it too.

The Armageddon Factor, well what could fault that, Mary Tamm gives a very good perforance as does Lalla Ward. As for K9, he goes a little bit bad. The Only thing that was a little bit wrong was that the Shadow, the bad guy wears tights over his face or thing mayterial.

Over all I give the Key tio Time season 5/5 for its stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Key to Time Box Set (Re-issue) [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the key to time dr who, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Key to Time Box Set (Re-issue) [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Thanks for sending the DVDs from my favourite all time TV. Series I c ant believe tom baker one of my favourite doctors was 80 this year I have nearly got all Dr who on DVD now this was one I very much wanted bob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colossal, 17 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Key to Time Box Set (Re-issue) [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
A season I've often avoided, as it always looked so drab. Upon viewing The Ribos Operation, my views on this season have somewhat changed favourably. Deffo for the fans only, plenty of extras and all in a sturdy box. At this price, buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars When the downhill started, 20 Feb. 2011
By 
Panagiotis Karatasios (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Key to Time Box Set (Re-issue) [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
The six stories that comprise the Key to time collection is, i think, the moment that Doctor Who ended its golden age and the downhill started. True there were some very good, even brilliant, episodes after these (like destiny of the daleks, city of death, caves of androzani) but thet were few and far between. In the 1970-1978 period Doctor Who saceeded to move beyond a series mostly for children and to become also a agood adult series.But with the introduction of K9 and the key to time stories things changed.
The stories themselves are a very simplistic good versus evil arc, so simplistic that it becomes almost nonsense. The idea of a key to time was certainly nonsense. True the science in doctor who was many times sloppy but at least it managed to remain in the realm of interesting even brilliant ideas. Not this time! Af all the stories only Stones of blood is really good and to some point The androids of Tara. Power of Kroll starts rather well but then it deteriorates into cliches. The others are just mediocricies. The worst episode is perhaps the last The Armageddon Factor which streches your patience to the limit (whose idea it was to make it onto a six part episode?)
So watch it if you have nothing better to do but don't expect much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best., 11 Aug. 2010
By 
P. Lockwood (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Key to Time Box Set (Re-issue) [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
For me this season can easily be forgotten for two reasons. One I was not alive to watch it first time round and secondly, the BBC deleted the first releases of these stories twice, once on VHS and once again on DVD. The stories here are a mixed bag with Ribos Operation and Pirate Planet both being very good and the rest being watch-able. I find Mary Tamm who plays Romana do not be a patch on Lalla Ward but that is not to say she is not a good companion. She reminds me very much of Liz Shaw from Season 7.

Worth getting just for the extras though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars reissue that's a blow to the ebayers, 2 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Key to Time Box Set (Re-issue) [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Well they have finally kept to their word and re issued the very sucessful Key To Time Boxset but obviously not Limited edition like the original release, but now means more fans who missed out the first time round can now enjoy this boxset with out paying over the top prices (oh dear eBay and amazon sellers).

So this is the standard release, does this mean just the stories or does it have the load of extras that the limited eidtion had (time wil tell, usually does) hopefully it will as it's worth buying for the extras alone.

six stories regarding the key to time some good stories some average (pirate planet my personal fave) and the limited appearance of Romana MKI (Mary Tamm)make this a great boxset to own and re-visit for those old enough to see it the first time around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dr who, tom baker., 12 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. E. A. Smith (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Key to Time Box Set (Re-issue) [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Great quality. Tom Baker was the best Dr in my opinion. I will enjoy these dvds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Key to Time Box Set (Re-issue) [DVD] [1978]
£25.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews