Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Young , The Hits
Can it really be seven years since the first Pop Idol entered our consciousness? The Hits are a compilation from Will's four platinum albums and contain some of the all time favourites. Sung in that very distinctive voice that four and a half million voted for and with superb arrangements and production for most of the tracts by Steve Lipson, it is a fitting memento of a...
Published on 20 Sep 2009 by Rosco

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No issue with Actual product, But the Case Broke
No issue with Actual product, But the Case Broke into 100 pieces when I dropped it.

Mad of some super weak shattering plastic, Ended up being quite sharp pieces.

CD survived fine though.
Published 5 months ago by Oli Winters


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Young , The Hits, 20 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
Can it really be seven years since the first Pop Idol entered our consciousness? The Hits are a compilation from Will's four platinum albums and contain some of the all time favourites. Sung in that very distinctive voice that four and a half million voted for and with superb arrangements and production for most of the tracts by Steve Lipson, it is a fitting memento of a very successful career.However,amongst those four platinum discs there are some less well known gems and I beg everyone to also check out his back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An idol's journey, 8 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Will ever since he won Pop Idol, and it goes without saying that he has made quite an impressive back catalogue of music that spanned four albums. This being Will's first 'hits' collection contains every single he released from Evergreen to Let It Go. Throughout the duration of the album, Will's musical evolution and development as an artist and musician is evident as the tracklist is chronologically arranged with the addition of 2 new tracks to banner the album, including the toe-tapping Hopes and Fears which fits nicely with all his other songs.

I would say that the tracks from the first album (From Now On) are the weakest on this collection. The real entertainment begins with track 4 with Leave Right Now, which still remains the penultimate track of Will's career, where his brand of blue-eyed soul truly took center stage. The song still is very effective, touching and endearing after all these years. Other highlights in the album are 'Friday's Child' which sounds like a cross between Lighthouse Family and Groove Armada - still epic and curious, 'All Time Love', a simpler and subtler retread of Leave Right Now perfect for those chilly nights, 'Your Game', which finds Will channeling George Michael circa Faith, and soul-pastiche 'Changes', which could have taken itself from the pages of Duffy or Adele's songbook.

The 14 tracks that make this collection may represent Will's singles, and commercial work, showcasing his one of a kind voice. While it is the obligatory hits collection for the artist, to truly have a taste of Will's best work however, I recommend picking up his 2nd and 4th albums - 'Friday's Child' and 'Let It Go' where his full artistry and sentiments are fully explored. But the collection is always a nice addition to anyone's music box.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD, 10 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
I am thoroughly enjoying listening to "Will Young - The Hits" which gathers together many great tracks from over the past few years like the soulful "Friday's Child", funky "Your Game" and glorious ballads like "Leave Right Now" and "All Time Love" through to the very catchy and uptempo latest single "Hopes & Fears". I was also delighted to hear for the first time "If It Hadn't Been For Love" (a bonus track) when the CD was delivered - sheer perfection! This album is a wonderful addition to my CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All singles and more, 18 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
These are Will Young's 13 songs released as singles to date plus a very special song you have never heard before. If you're already a fan, you won't escape the emotion caused by listening to the tracks from when all began back in 2002, then made very proud and happy with the artistic evolution that followed. If you're not, on this CD you'll find beauty and soul you did not know existed. In my opinion 'If it hadn't been for love' is the most beatiful song Will Young recorded up to now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will's HITS DELUX is a must for Crimbo, 7 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
Treat yourself to lovely Wills DELUX HITS, as not only do you get the fab songs, you get his unique videos too.

Will has grown into an amazing mature artist since winning Pop Idol all those years ago, with this CD you can enjoy his journey from the rousing Evergreen, as the Hits shows off how many stylish classic songs he has released as singles. My personal faves being Evergreen, You and I, Who am I, Fridays Child, Leave Right Now, Switch It On, and the fabulous Grace, but they are all great.

Will is a National Treasure. Treat yourself and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - yet again!, 7 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
This album of Will Young's many hits is a must for anyone who enjoys hearing a great singer performing great songs.

It is nearly eight years since Will won Pop Idol and he hasn't let us down for a single second.

I loved hearing all the old tracks from his successful career and also to listen to two brand new tracks. "Hopes and Fears" is an up-tempo song but with a message. The last track, "If It Hadn't Been for Love" is a beautiful song sung with great feeling by a master at his very best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wonderful World of Will, 26 Nov 2009
By 
K. Jenkins (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
I have been a huge fan of Will Young since his rare talent triumphed on the original reality singing show, Pop Idol. He has such an astonishingly breathtaking voice which reveals every emotion in each song he sings. Even though I own all of his albums, it is a delight to now have the singles collected together on one album, and the CD has not been out of the player in my car since I received it.

This album includes all of the singles he has released since winning Pop Idol, and is rounded up with his current single Hopes & Fears. Hopes and Fears has a slightly different feel to it to some of the stuff Will has released before, and I love it. It has an uptempo beat with very very catchy lyrics. The final song on the album, If It Hadn't Been for Love, is a beautiful ballad which showcases the purity of Will's voice perfectly.

It is also a pleasure to have all of the videos collected together too - Will has done some marvellously creative videos and I am glad that I have them all in one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new fan, 15 Jan 2010
By 
Spitfire (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as a present for someone and when I listened to it I thought it was really good. Didn't think I was much of a Will Young fan but I think I enjoyed every track on this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars will young's hits, 23 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this after seeing the advert on Sky.
It included my two favourite songs, All Time Love and Leave Right Now.
I think this young man has a lovely unique voice. Perhaps I'm bias, but he's going strong since he
won.
Well worth the money.Hits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pop idol with more than the x factor, 10 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
Not one of the continuing products of the Simon Cowell factory can hold a candle to Will Young.
The Original, and far and away the best. He can sing even better live than on disc, but this album is a reminder of just why he is still around when so many of the others have faded into obscurity.
Buy it now and brighten the dull winter days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hits
The Hits by Will Young
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews