Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a shock.....
.....But not an entirely unpleasant on. It does take some getting used to though. The first two albums were very guitar based and this leans heavily to a more electropop direction, so it seems very weird at first. 'No you girls' 'What She Came For' and 'Live Alone' is a very catchy typically Franz rock/pop song in the vein of 'Do you want to' but the other tracks so...
Published on 23 Jan 2009 by Miss D. Miu

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars bad
One cd is missing, I only received the special edition cd and not the tonight one. I am disappointed this time
Published 11 months ago by Alessandra Marivo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a shock....., 23 Jan 2009
By 
.....But not an entirely unpleasant on. It does take some getting used to though. The first two albums were very guitar based and this leans heavily to a more electropop direction, so it seems very weird at first. 'No you girls' 'What She Came For' and 'Live Alone' is a very catchy typically Franz rock/pop song in the vein of 'Do you want to' but the other tracks so elements of Orange Juice/Lyndsey wells/8O's synth/90's break beats. The tempo of the songs often change at the beginning and mid stream e.g. 'Bite Hard, What She Came Fo" which makes all the more exciting and creative. 'Katherine Kiss Me', the last track is slow and acoustic and seems abit of an odd choice to end on. If you are sole fan of guitar based music - stay way. But if you like twists and turns and fancy something varied I heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonight: Franz Ferdinand, 11 Feb 2009
By 
M. White (Hampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album has had mixed reviews in the press, but don't be put off. This is a quality set of songs, some of which ("No You Girls, "Bite Hard", "What She Came For") stand out as instantly catchy candidates for singles, but the more I listen to the album, the harder I find it to decide which song I like best. They are all so good in their own way. At the moment, "Live Alone" is my favourite. It's insanely danceable and the lyrics show a rejection of true commitment in favour of the excitement and thrill of love. The comfortable and routine is not for Alex Kapranos! As with previous Franz albums,the lyrics, melodies and hooks are still there. It takes a few listens before they are fully revealed, but the album is all the better for it. Although the songs stand well along, to do them full justice, I think this is best listened to as an album, as it truly is a journey through preparing for, enjoying and recovering from a great night out. Buy the album and make up your own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonight Tonight Tonight, 17 Dec 2008
This is so worth the wait. If you're holding your breathe wondering why it's taken a while relax. Tonight is as fresh and immediate as their debut but darker, tighter, and way more psychedelic. The LP opens with current single Ulysses, setting an insistent and edgy pace. Turn It On, Live Alone, and Bite Hard all feel like they're wearing sunglassses after dark the night after the night before. Lucid Dreams is twisted and trippy, it's followed by Dream Again an even further out twist. For the whole of Tonight, they're once again the hippest band in the UK, way out there on their own. Finishing with Katherine Kiss Me, one of their most instant head to feet to party numbers. Whoever Katherine is - Tell Her Tonight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dare to be (a little) different, 4 Feb 2009
So, I'll nail my colours to the mast and admit that I loved the first FF album; liked the second a lot, and am definitely impressed by the third after several listens. A lot has been said here about the album's style and content so I'll stick to writing a review that should be helpful to prospective buyers.

Like Bloc Party (yes I like them too `Hornpipe'!) FF have bravely attempted to avoid merely treading water and started to push their own boundaries a little. I agree with the previous reviewer who said that the burgeoning electronic aspect has resulted in the band's trademark edgy guitars being dumbed down; however they are at least trying to be fresh - bringing in influences from the likes of Human League, Gary Numan and Pet Shop Boys is fine - as long as it's not overdone. I thought that the second track on the album was the most like FF of old; Ulysses is a cool name for a cool track; at least they're embracing our rich cultural history rather than simply recycling old names!

The dub-style bonus CD reworks the songs rather than simply extending them and is a real nod to faithful fans. Lie down, turn out the lights, stick some decent headphones on and crank up the volume on this one.

Recognisable but fresh; spirited but thoughtful; I would recommend this as both a good way in for those who are unfamiliar with FF, and a treat for those who have followed the band over the past seven years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A change in direction, a change of opinion, 14 Feb 2009
I absolutely love Franz Ferdinand's self titled debut, so even before listening to this album I guess I would be biased into enjoying it. The first 3 tracks are very enjoyable, moreso with "Turn It On" and "No You Girls" being more of the traditional FF sound which I'm used to hearing. However, it is obvious they are experimenting with keyboard synth sounds, as can be heard on "Ulysses", "Twilight Omens", and "Live Alone". The songs do work, and are very danceable and catchy, with that trademark simple picky bass line. Some of these songs still incorparate the rocky elements of FF, but others are of a completely style, particularly "Can't Stop Feeling". It seems that these types of song contrast each other a little too much, if you stripped away the vocal you may think that this album was recorded by two different bands. The final two songs are different once again to the rest of the album. The bass seems to be more inventive than usual, standing out on "Send Him Away".

I rate this album a 4 because FF have done a decent effort of maintaining elements of their reputed sound, whilst still experimenting with new layers and sounds over the top. Some songs are very memorable and catchy - but be warned, if you don't like bands that experiment with their sound, this may not be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, refreshed and refreshing!, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Norberto Amaral (Aveiro, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am truly wondered at this album. Franz Ferdinand have been able to reinvent themselves and yet still keep their essence, their unique sound. I don't know how exactly that can be explained in words - you just have to listen to it.

The songs don't all sound the same like in previous albums (though I still loved them), some border on dance, others on garage rock, others on some kind 'dirty pop' and parts of others yet... you think you're listening to house music!

The resulting sounds are very refreshing and show that Franz Ferdinand are definitely not a one[album]-hit wonder. If they keep doing this they will surely continue being very successful in the long term. This is material for being a great rock band until for another decade or two.

You will thank me if you follow my advice to put this on the car stereo when you're sitting in the traffic; you will gain a bounce in your feet if you're listening to this on your MP3 player when you're going up and down escalators on the Tube; the sky will be bluer when you're by the pool in the Med.

Just quit reading this and other reviews, buy the whole album (only one or two tracks won't do!) and enjoy the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, refreshed and refreshing!, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Norberto Amaral (Aveiro, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am truly wondered at this album. Franz Ferdinand have been able to reinvent themselves and yet still keep their essence, their unique sound. I don't know how exactly that can be explained in words - you just have to listen to it.

The songs don't all sound the same like in previous albums (though I still loved them), some border on dance, others on garage rock, others on some kind 'dirty pop' and parts of others yet... you think you're listening to house music!

The resulting sounds are very refreshing and show that Franz Ferdinand are definitely not a one[album]-hit wonder. If they keep doing this they will surely continue being very successful in the long term. This is material for being a great rock band until for another decade or two.

You will thank me if you follow my advice to put this on the car stereo when you're sitting in the traffic; you will gain a bounce in your feet if you're listening to this on your MP3 player when you're going up and down escalators on the Tube; the sky will be bluer when you're by the pool in the Med.

Just quit reading this and other reviews, buy the whole album (only one or two tracks won't do!) and enjoy the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Vinyl Edition, 17 Mar 2009
The album,takes a little getting into, but its relentless beat (until Katherine Kiss Me) takes you out for a night you'll never come home from ;-)

The vinyl edition is superb. Two discs, top notch pressing and a big sturdy cover that won't get dog eared over time. Of course, worth getting the 2CD edition as well for Blood (The Dub remixes), but if there is one vinyl album you have to get in 2009 it's this one. So good, you'll want to buy a turntable if you haven't got one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC ALBUM, 2 July 2009
This album is a really good one and i would reccomend to any franz ferdinand supporters to buy this one as its possibly the best of 3 albums! More amazing base lines and amazing music from the band.
- The album came perfectly on the first day of the expected delivery date and was in mint condition. fab! by it now!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They've still got 'it'!!, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't be put off by some of the reviews - this is still a predominately guitar/bass/drums based album!! With a smattering of keyboards on some tracks that in my view only enhance the songs and add an extra dimension. This 3rd album still captures FF's distinctive, seductive style - most of the album still has the 'big' sound, infectious beat and 'anthemic' quality of other FF classics - the first 9 tracks especially, particularly 'No You Girls', 'Bite Hard' and 'What She Came For'. 'Send Him Away' is beautifully melodic. The last 3 tracks are slower but are a nice contrast to the others and enable the listener to 'wind down'. Unlike the first album, this album did take me a few listens for me to get into it but once I did I was completely hooked. There is so much going on in each song and I agree with one reviewer here that it is only after a few listens that the greatness of the songs are revealed and you really appreciate them and find you can't get them out of your head! I'm not a die-hard Franz Ferdinand fan by any means and would say if I thought this album was 'lacking' but there isn't one track on this album that I would skip over. I love it!! I look forward to their fourth 'offering'. If you really love the FF sound/style you'll love this even if it takes 2 or 3 listens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tonight
Tonight by Franz Ferdinand
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews