Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certain games made much easier!
I purchased this controller after receiving my Wii on Christmas day. I wanted Mario Kart and some other racing games and having played on a friends, I knew I really didnt get on with the steering wheel option.

This was the answer to my prayers. Its worth noting that you can only use the classic controller with games that have the classic controller symbol on...
Published on 28 Jan 2010 by B. Harman

versus
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite wireless
What I really wanted was an official Nintendo wireless gamepad but they don't make one (yet?) so I settled for this one which plugs into the wiimote and is a bit of a hybrid.

It's good, but not as good as it would have been if it were a standalone wireless gamepad but it's still way better than any of the unofficial controllers. It's not compatible with all...
Published on 28 Mar 2010 by madmax31


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certain games made much easier!, 28 Jan 2010
By 
B. Harman "ilhk" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Controller Pro - Black (Wii) (Video Game)
I purchased this controller after receiving my Wii on Christmas day. I wanted Mario Kart and some other racing games and having played on a friends, I knew I really didnt get on with the steering wheel option.

This was the answer to my prayers. Its worth noting that you can only use the classic controller with games that have the classic controller symbol on the back of the box. Its function is obvious and it works, its well made, and being high polished and black it looks good too.

When I bought this at the end of December 09, Amazon had the best price I could find anywhere in the UK via the internet, and, as always from Amazon, it arrived quickly and well protected.

Well worth it if the Wii Steering Wheel drives you mad !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Used for Wii games, and to play Wii games only on the new WiiU, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Controller Pro - Black (Wii) (Video Game)
I brought this controller as I brought a new WiiU and I wanted to make sure I had controllers that I could use with Wii games. (GameCube style controllers are no longer compatible with the new WIIU console or unoficial controllers may not be compatible) This controller is great and better for playing various Wii games like Resident evil, Smash bros Brawl or any other game really instead of using the wii remote which can sometimes be awkward/limiting to use on certain games. Also its a classic controller so you need this to play the virtual console games on Wii like old sonic the hedgehog or mario 64 etc. Its a great controller with 4 shoulder buttons and 2 controll sticks.

This is great for Wii games and if you are not bothered about the controller being compatible with WiiU then its a way of saving money to use with your Wii games

**This pad can only be used on a WiiU to play Wii games but there is a WiiU version of this classic Pro controller.
Hope this review helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Xenoblade, 19 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Classic Controller Pro - Black (Wii) (Video Game)
Not only is this controller very comfortable, its great for Xenoblade and makes Xenoblade a 1000 times better to play as the controls are near enough perfect.

If you own, or wish to buy Xenoblade. Add this to your basket. Your hands will thank you.

Also I noticed a few low star reviews. When buying this controller, make sure you're buying from Amazon.co.uk, it should say Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.co.uk. Gift-wrap available. if it doesn't don't buy. As some of you seem to be getting dodgy sellers who are selling you cheap knock off controllers. Hope my suggestion helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent ergonomic design from Nintendo, but does not work on all games and needs a Wii remote to plug into., 24 Nov 2009
By 
Dicko (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Controller Pro - Black (Wii) (Video Game)
This is a great controller. It's really comfortable in your hands with easy access to all of the buttons. It also has the side bits for your palm like on a PS3 or Xbox controller which the white version does not have. I think this makes it a lot more conforable to use. It has a shiny top which may scratch easily over time but looks good. The bottom is a bit more textured to allow for grip.

Please note though that this controller will not work with all games and requires a Wii remote to operate, it will not function on its own. It doesn't really mention this in the advert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Controller, 19 Jan 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Controller Pro - Black (Wii) (Video Game)
I bought it to play PES 2010 Wii with, and I don't regret it, it's basically a PS2 controller, with nice grips, it doesn't slip around if your hands get sweaty, and I adore playing Pro Evo with it, I haven't tried it with many other games, but if it's half as good, it's worth every penny. Anyone wanting to play old school should get one of these (don't get the white classic controller, it has no handles, it's like a snes controller) this is the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice quality...., 27 Dec 2013
By 
PF Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Controller Pro - Black (Wii) (Video Game)
Purchased for the grandkids to use with Call of Duty and the likes, work surprisingly well despite not being directly connected to the console. All buttons work as they should with a good contact when pressed and joystick is accurate. They are a bit of a fingerprint magnet with a gloss finish but all in all a nice quality item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 13 Oct 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Classic Controller Pro - Black (Wii) (Video Game)
As most people have already said, the controller is brilliant. It is ergonomic, fits into your hands really well, is fairly cheap (for an official one), and also robust, if you buy it for your child, you won't be buying a new one in 6 months.
However the main point is of course how well it works with games, and the answer is amazingly. I bought one for use with Xenoblade Chronicles, and the Last Story, a pair of Wii JRPG's that were made to work with this controller, and it shows. Gameplay is massively imrpoved when using it, and it is much smoother. It is clear it is the way the game was supposed to be played. Overall, 10/10 on everything from price to use, couldn't be a better buy for the Wii Gamer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 28 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Controller Pro - Black (Wii) (Video Game)
I've had this for a couple of months now, works perfectly, is comfortable and I haven't had any problems with it - does exactly what it says on the tin. Works great with games like monster hunter, although I wouldn't recommend it for some of the virtual console games available on the wii.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great controller, 21 Oct 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Classic Controller Pro - Black (Wii) (Video Game)
This controller is perfect, I bought it to play fifa and it made playing the game so much easier. The controller also couldn't have been sent any faster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TAKE CONTROL OF YOUR GAME, 13 Oct 2011
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Controller Pro - Black (Wii) (Video Game)
The Nintendo Wii is a unique console. It was never the most graphically powerful console on the market and yet it managed to offer the most fun to its users. Two factors contributed to this: brilliant games and the introduction of innovative controls. For years the rest of the market straggled to imitate the Wiimote. With mixed results.

There are certain games however for which the combination of the Wiimote with the Nunchuk requires some training. It feels like a second nature after a while and you do not give it a second thought. If like me, however, you are over 35, you will welcome the feeling of a good old classic controller in your hands.

Games such as The Xenoblade Chronicles, The Conduit I & II and Rune Factory Frontier, they all open up as a different experience when played with a classic controller.

The controller plugs into the Wiimote and not the console so it is portable - but clearly not wireless which would had been preferable even if it meant a higher price. Nevertheless, this is a very ergonomically designed controller and it manages to combine the classic Nintendo feel with more modern expectations. It has the classic 4-directions cross on the left, the four action buttons on the right (A, B, X & Z) and the two octa-directional sticks (which are at the right distance not to hinder one another). Moreover, each side has two shoulder buttons (L, Zl, R & Zr) as well as the familiar from the Wiimote, Home, Select (-) and Start (+) buttons. Everything is within easy reach and works without a glitch.

The controller feels just right. Heavy enough to register but not too heavy to be tiresome. I got mine in black to match the color of my Wii but it is also available in white as well as (special edition) gold and red, usually available only bundled with certain games.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Controller Pro - Black (Wii)
Classic Controller Pro - Black (Wii) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
£33.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews