Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as previous seasons
Season five takes place soon after Booth is reinstated to an fbi after his brain tumor last season. Unlike other season of Bones, season 5 is much more about the relationship between Booth and Brennan, with the 100th episode taking us back to see what their relationship was like together on their first case. There are many good episodes in this series, but as mentioned...
Published on 14 Jun. 2010 by Sue

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the previous series
If you liked the first four seasons of Bones then you will probably want to buy this, and will be entertained. We were, and we didn't regret getting a copy. But it's definitely a step down from the previous series.

The plot lines are full of the same quirky circumstances, police antics and pseudo-scientific leaps as ever. They are more outlandish than...
Published on 31 Dec. 2010 by J. Bellman


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as previous seasons, 14 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Bones - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Season five takes place soon after Booth is reinstated to an fbi after his brain tumor last season. Unlike other season of Bones, season 5 is much more about the relationship between Booth and Brennan, with the 100th episode taking us back to see what their relationship was like together on their first case. There are many good episodes in this series, but as mentioned the cases are not the driving force of this season. There are, however, many good episode such as the gravedigger trial;'The Boy with the answer'.

Despite this the chemistry between Emily Deschanel and David Boreanaz is sizzling from start to finish and is what attracts many people to the show. I would definitely recommend season 5 to anyone as it is well worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the previous series, 31 Dec. 2010
By 
J. Bellman (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
If you liked the first four seasons of Bones then you will probably want to buy this, and will be entertained. We were, and we didn't regret getting a copy. But it's definitely a step down from the previous series.

The plot lines are full of the same quirky circumstances, police antics and pseudo-scientific leaps as ever. They are more outlandish than before, bordering on the completely unbelievable (rather than simply the "unlikely" kind of unbelievable that you'd expect).

The characters feature more - the relationship between Bones and Booth is explicitly discussed rather than hidden by innuendo and sexual tension. We felt like there was little interesting development in the characters and their inter-relationships throughout this series, and the crime plots were less addictive. It's okay, but if the trend continues then we watch Series 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 NOT OUT, 18 May 2011
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
A great season. 22 intriguing cases - forensic procedures continuing to fascinate, a charismatic cast, sparkling scripts heavily laced with humour rendering more palatable the gore.

Deliberately designed to shock, the opening "puke time" sequences include cats gorging on a corpse, human remains under a barbecued pig, a disintegrating body whirling in an industrial washing machine. In a Christmas special Santa explodes - gobbets of flesh hurtling in all directions, an eyeball heading straight for the camera. Much work lies ahead for the world's leading forensic laboratory!

David Boreanaz and Emily Deschanel still shine as Booth and Brennan - he almost recovered from his brain tumour operation; she unswervingly methodical, people skills limited to those that are dead. (At High School she was known as "the creepy girl". When asked about her feelings for Booth, she concedes "the symmetry is pleasing".) They remain one of television's most inspired and unlikely partnerships.

Highlights are many. Ep.3 - How can a person with all the attributes of one raised in the 1800's have died just two months ago? (The answer is greatly moving.) Ep.11 - The corpse an alien? (Amusing digs at "The X Files".) Ep.12 - Just whose bones are those necessitating armed guards and a laboratory shutdown? Ep.15 - Earth tremors provoke possible life-changing decisions for psychologist Sweet. Most chilling? Ep.21 - Trial of the psychopath who nearly killed three of the team, two still having nightmares after being buried alive.

David Boreanaz directs Ep.16, the show's 100th - a flashback to when Booth and Brennan met (and a welcome chance to see again the ill-fated Zach).

Incidental pleasures? Stephen Fry, his psychiatrist character now a chef. Ralph Waite guesting as Booth's grandfather (a blast from the past for fans of "The Waltons"). Oh, and watch out for what Brennan does to the judge who annoys her!

All the way through, there is much to enjoy. A series cannot run for ever. Too many linger - with diminishing returns. It heartens to see BONES still going strong - in itself a tribute to the talents involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A patchy season, but still good, 10 Nov. 2010
By 
M. Hepworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bones - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The fifth season of Bones continues the formula of forensic investigation and very dark humour that has served it well so far. The true strength of the series is in the characters, particularly the relationship between FBI agent Booth (David Boreanaz) and forensic anthropologist Brennan (Emily Deschanel), and this season seems a little unsure as it moves to confront the tension at the heart of its central relationship.

The excellent Season 4 had ended with a dream-episode as Booth underwent brain surgery. The new series picks up some time later with him coming back to duty, but still haunted by his dream-relationship with Brennan. Bones is always episodic, but often with some common storyline running through - previous seasons have included the mystery of Brennan's family, serial killer Gormogen, and kidnapper The Gravedigger. This season lacks any external thread to follow, but instead slowly makes its way towards resolving the longstanding romantic tension between Brennan and Booth. This leaves the individual episodes feeling a bit flat, and the show seems to have felt the need to be a little gimmicky, such as for "The X in the File" with X-files-style music popping up at every opportunity.

This season include the 100th episode, which treats us to a look back at the very start of Booth and Brennan's relationship. It's a very well-played and interesting episode, directed by Boreanaz himself, and can be considered the centrepiece of the season.

Each individual episode is generally good, and there are a couple of gems, but overall the season lacks a bit of life. If you're already a fan of earlier Bones you will enjoy this season too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bones - Getting Old ?, 19 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I have always been a big fan of Bones but season 5 does seem a little bit lacking of ideas. It seems to concentrate more on the relationships and less on the cases which I think detracts a little. The balance has always been very good in the past.

There is still some humour in the plots which is good and some of the effects and experiments are very entertaining.

But all in all this hasnt quite lived up to the previous series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the purchase., 17 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Bones - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Bones season 5 dvd, well worth buying if you have been following the series from the very begining like I have. Overall it's a good season, with a few really good episodes but...

Unfortunately not as good as previous seasons. While the heavy and powerful chemistry is still present between Booth and Brennan, the constant one step closer, two steps back in their relationship is getting a tiresome and frustrating.
Sort of just want to say to Hanson: why don't you get them together already, it's been 5, almost 6 seasons now! BONES will not end if the two of them get together, actually i think it would open up a world of interesting storylines for the series.

Should take a leaf out of grey's anatomy, the main characters ( don't read if you haven't seen season 5 yet!!!!) are married already, yet each next episode is as interesting as the last, and they are now two seasons later.

I love the Kathy Reichs books, and up till this season i loved the series BONES.

Worth getting because all the episodes are interesting nonetheless, and the cast is still incredible. But at least from my point of view, if nothing happens romantically between Booth and Brennan in season 6, or god forbid they make Booth marry someone other than Bones, I will be very sorry to say that I might abandon this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I can't wait till 6th season., 26 May 2011
Very good season. For those who asked:

Audio Language: English

Subtittle: English, Spanish, Portuguese
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great show, lousy Disc quality, 26 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
The show Bones is absolutely brilliant, I think. You can of course watch the episodes without knowing any of the characters, but starting at episode 1, Season 1 will definitely improve how you feel about the show.

Because I like the show so much, I couldn't wait for the Season 5 Box with Dutch subtitles (my native language), so I ordered Season 5 at amazon almost as soon as it became available. The episodes are still very funny adn intriguing, but unfortunately the quality of the discs is not good at all. Every disc contains four episodes, but also every single disc contains problems with the index or something, which causes my DVD player to crash when trying to read it. It's a real shame you're not allowed to return DVDs or have them replaced, cause it's not quite the quality I expected. However, the show is still very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for the rain!, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Saving this for a rainy day or 2, but know we'll love it! Can't wait to see what has happened to our favourite characters.
It's the build up of the inter-action between the characters that keeps me watching, the humour, the pathos and the indignation at times....how life treats them. I've kept series 1 to 4,and have watched 2or more times....will do with this one too. The technology is fascinating . When's it going to rain???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bones 5 great buy, 7 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Its a great buy. If you like the new wave of crime comedy duos the Bones seasons will be right up your street. The season 5 of Bones continues with great onscreen interaction with all the main characters. Booth and Bones are, in my opinion, are the best on screen duo I've seen. A great season at a great price at Amazon. Will be using Amazon again for sure.Bones - Season 5 [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bones - Season 5 [DVD]
Bones - Season 5 [DVD] by David Boreanaz (DVD - 2010)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews