Customer Reviews


302 Reviews
5 star:
 (198)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a christmas classic!
this is an absolute delight to watch. one of the best versions of a christmas carol ever, probably the best since the allistair sim version. while it might be a bit too dark for young children, the whole family should enjoy this. it's very faithfull to the book, and indeed i was mouthing lines of dialogue before the characters! there are a few comedy slapstick scenes...
Published on 25 Nov 2009 by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly imaginatively conceived and executed - until it turns into a theme park rollercoaster ride
Robert Zemeckis' A Christmas Carol is one of those films that almost finds new cinematic potential in Dickens' most famous and beloved tale before losing its way in his eagerness to show off his new technology at the expense of the story. It certainly starts off decently enough with Jim Carrey's animated Ebenezer Scrooge taking the coins from his dead partner Jacob...
Published on 21 Jan 2012 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a christmas classic!, 25 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
this is an absolute delight to watch. one of the best versions of a christmas carol ever, probably the best since the allistair sim version. while it might be a bit too dark for young children, the whole family should enjoy this. it's very faithfull to the book, and indeed i was mouthing lines of dialogue before the characters! there are a few comedy slapstick scenes added on, but it's very tastefully done, indeed i think dickens himself would have approved of this film.
i admit, i did have reservations about jim carrey playing scrooge, thinking he would be dreadfully miscast, and i'm a big jom carrey fan, but somehow was expecting the worst from him, but i was very pleasantly surprised. in fact, this could very well be one of his best performances, and he plays the voices of the 3 ghosts as well. the rest of the voice cast are also excellent. in fact i'll go as far as to say that this is one of disney's best films in years, one of the best christmas films in years too, and ties with up as the best animated films of the year. i can't praise this film enough, the 3d effects are amazing. i think pixar might have some serious competition at next year's oscars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Es a good, e's Ebeneezer Goode, 7 Dec 2009
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
Ignore those crying `bah humbug', Robert Zemeckis' motion-capture version of Charles Dickens' eternal Christmas classic is a hugely enjoyable yuletide movie, and arguably the best version ever committed to celluloid.

With Jim Carrey taking the lead and also playing the three ghosts, the film sticks to Dickens' story with only a few embellishments which only serve to make the experience more enjoyable. Dickens' overarching themes of poverty and the class schism in Victorian London are clearly flagged-up, and Zemeckis doesn't hesitate in adding scary and sinister touches - the nefarious ghost of Christmas yet to come is as frightening as you'd expect, and I would suggest a pre-screening before sitting down with children under 6. [ASIN:B000BAZD8S The Polar Express], Zemeckis' previous Christmas motion-capture effort, has often been criticised for weaknesses in some of its animation techniques - the eyes of the characters for example - but this time around these have been ironed out and the picture is superb. The 3D experience is simply the icing on the cake - most effective aspect being the falling snow.

Ultimately, this is A Christmas Carol for those who love the magic, chills, and sheer brilliant storytelling that made the novel such a classic, and I for one will be sitting down with this DVD and a glass of mulled wine for many Christmases to come - God bless us everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Carol 2009, 20 Nov 2009
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
There have been many many versions of this well known story ranging from the excellent Scrooge (Christmas Special Release) (Two Discs) (DVD) [1951] to modern versions Scrooged [DVD] [1988], animated editions, muppets, musicals, and now cgi. To make another adaptation of a christmas carol something has to be special about the film in order for it to find it's place in a crowded market.

This 2009 Disney adaptation filmed using motion capture breathes new life into the classic Dickens tale. The animation is everything you would expect from a Disney film. Jim Carrey is a revelation, he performs as Scrooge AND the Ghosts yet each voiceover sounds so different, Gary Oldman (Jacob Marley, Bob Cratchitt), Bob Hoskins (Mr. Fezziwigg, Old Joe) and Colin Firth (Fred) also do well in support.

The use of animation in this way allows the filmakers to use techniques not seen before in the other versions. Look out for the scenes in which Scrooge is flying over the rooftops of Victorian England and the tiny Scrooge being chased by the Ghost of Christmas future, the cinematography is stunning. The Ghosts are far scarier than I have ever seen them before.

This is not the definitive version of A Christmas Carol but is definately up there as one of the best. The story may be familiar but this film gives it a new lease of life for the 21st century generation. A definate must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute pleasure, 13 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i had heard about this film didnt realise it had been outso long 2009 i think it was released? purchased from amazon couldnt wait to watch especially on blue ray! pumped through my 1000watt home theatre kit on my 46" led hd tv
Well this film was an absolute pleasure to watch the graphics were jaw dropping and each character such a joy to behold!
The film was very true to the original story, even the lines were true to the original too, which im so pleased they were. Right from the start i was captivated,i have watched various versions of this endless classic and always on christmas eve for as many years as i can remember.
I can honestly say its one of the best films i have ever seen and would give this 10 out of 10 wanna get into the festive mood at christmas time? Then settle down with the family, on a christmas eve, and watch this its simply magical!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, mythical masterpiece!, 24 Nov 2009
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
Although this is the latest of many screen adaptations, for me it has the most traditional feel. Technology (both animation and 3D) is totally employed in service to the integrity and (dare I say) spirit of the story instead of galloping off into irrelevant set-pieces as so often happens with computer graphic effects. Finally in 2009, the technical skills are there to produce feats of wonder as magnificent as could be performed by Spirits and imagined by Charles Dickens. Be warned though, whilst the wonders are truly wondrous, the horror is also authentically horrible and not for small children of a sensitive disposition. Jacob Marley in agony and chains, his spirit doomed to be weighed down by all that he held on to so tightly in life is shocking. On the other hand Dickens' London is beautifully crafted and in 3D, the Christmas Eve snow is breathtaking. Last night, the whole theatre was full of children gasping in awe and delight.

Having set this magnificent backdrop, the characters are then exquisitely etched, from a grizzled, bitter Scrooge, to the careworn but loving Cratchit family through to all the other supporting characters. The layered crafting of each individual's characteristics such as facial expressions, manner of walking, body language gives the whole piece a richness which elevates it beyond what I've ever understood from the term 'animation'.

Whilst lavishing this praise, I must say it all pales into insignificance in the face of the genius that has gone into the conceiving and bringing to screen of the Spirits. Every second they are on the screen they are mesmerising and so perfectly interpreted for the film medium. First, Christmas Past as an ethereal, slightly mournful candle - as bittersweet as memory, as seemingly fragile as a sigh, but like the past, impossible to erase - just amazing. Then comes Christmas Present so full of the zest, abundance and joy that can only truly be relished in the moment. Finally, Christmas Yet to Come, which for Scrooge anyway, spells doom, but a doom of breathtaking power and dread.

His transformation then, is all the more beautiful and poignant. Not a dry eye in the house!

An incredible journey for the eyes, mind and heart with a really pertinent message for these materialistic but economically hard times, especially at Christmas. Bring on the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Merry as a schoolboy...., 7 May 2014
On Christmas Eve, crotchety miser Ebenezer Scrooge is visited by the ghost of his dead partner Jacob Marley.

Scrooge is told that what they do in life will determine what happens to them in the afterlife.

Marley tells Scrooge that he will be visited by three ghosts and to take heed of what happens. The first spirit, the Ghost of Christmas Past, shows Scrooge that he was once a happy young man, carefree and in love but money became his greatest desire.

The Ghost of Christma Present shows him how others, including his nephew Fred and his clerk Bob Cratchit, The Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come, shows Scrooge the fate that awaits him......

We all know the story of this film, and its been filmed numerous times since cinema began, but it's pleasing to say that Zemeckis has made a brilliant interpretation of the age old classic.

But it's a dark movie, and sometimes very unnerving, so if you have younger children, i'd give it a miss.

Carrey and the rest of the cast are on top form, and the Animation is fantastic in 3D. It's lighted in a very miserable way, mirroring the main character.

But when he starts to learn the true meaning of Christmas, the film becomes brighter and more warmer, I think a lot of people who criticised the aesthetics and the lighting, didn't get what Zemeckis' intentions were.

But watching it in 2D, my only gripe is that the characters have 'dead eye' which is not noticeable in 3D.

It's a great film to watch on Christmas eve, and really does make you feel warm inside.

But still not a patch on 'Scrooged'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Carol, 25 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
Where do i begin?
I have seen and read this fantastic story and when i saw this version i thought i'd give it a go and buy it. And boy!! WHAT a version it's out of this world and i was in tears in parts. It's worth the money to buy this dvd.
The animation in this dvd is absolutely FANTASTIC.
I hope there will be more from this group,the polar express was made by the same group who did this version of a christmas carol.
I'll give both films a 1000 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious Christmassy version of Glorious Christmassy Favourite, 21 Nov 2010
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film...

A Christmas Carol has been a favourite of mine since I was young. It was the only Dickens book I was interested in reading as a child and it is still the only Dickens book I have read, I have read it many times, and this film version is now my favourite visual adaptation of this book.

Seeing it at the cinema I was enamoured with it, I felt it was a visual delight. As true a version of A Dickensian London Christmas as we have come to believe. I also felt that Jim Carrey made a very brilliant Ebenezer Scrooge and was also wonderful as the three spirits, especially the Ghost of Christmas present. The supporting cast were also wonderful, especially Gary Oldman as Bob Crachit, Tiny Tim, Jacob Marley and others. I also felt the CGI dealt exceptionally well with the magical aspect of the tale and made the scenes as lifelike as animation is possible of doing.

With this in mind, I knew I wanted the DVD when it came out and I got it and was not disappointed when I watched it on the small screen.

I would strongly reccomend watching it when it is Dark to enhance the gritty feel of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 8 Jan 2012
By 
R Lough (Sunderland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This version of 'A Christmas Carol' is easily the best since the classic Alastair Sim version from 1951. The beautiful animation gives the old familiar story a whole new lease of life. Jim Carrey is excellent in his role of Ebenezer Scrooge (as well as the three Ghosts of Christmas). I get the feeling that I wont be able to wait until next Christmas to watch this again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sumptuous visual feast, 22 Nov 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Christmas Carol [DVD] (DVD)
Other reviewers have commented on the acting performances of Jim Carrey et al in Disney's new animated ("live action" performance capture) version of A CHRISTMAS CAROL by Charles Dickens. I'll simply say that Carrey is brilliant in his multiple roles; he presents as the Scrooge for the Ages.

What I really want to rave about is the visual special FX of this production, especially the 3-D presentation, which will most assuredly win an Oscar. The opening sequence, in which the virtual camera soars over and through a marvelously re-created 1842 London, is worth the price of admission alone. My wife and I watched the film from the front row of an invitation-only studio screening. During a couple of scenes depicting falling snow, it seemed, through our 3-D glasses, that we could reach out and touch the descending flakes. And one is tempted to flinch backwards as the blackened, skeletal, claw-hand of the Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come apparently reaches out from the screen.

It's been decades since I read the Dickens classic. (At least, I think I read it; memory fails.) I suspect that literary purists may object to embellishments of the original story, and over-protective parents may judge it too dark for small children. I say to those, "Get over it!" The visuals will simply knock your socks off and I'd award six stars if the rating system allowed such.

You'll thank yourself if you make the decision to go see A CHRISTAMAS CAROL (2009) on the Big Screen. I'll happily go see it a second time, which isn't something I can usually say about an animated feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Christmas Carol [DVD]
A Christmas Carol [DVD] by Robert Zemeckis (DVD - 2010)
£3.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews