Customer Reviews


212 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the price very good with a few minor niggles
I bought this for my daughter to use on her desk while studing as the room light is poor. It seems well constructed apart from the plug which has wobbly pins, I opened it to check the wiring and that was fine with the earth securly connected. The positioning mechanism works well and the base is solid so the lamp won't fall over. We fitted it with a 40 watt daylight...
Published on 5 Oct 2011 by RJP the Book Boy

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its not as big as it looks in the picture
its ok a bit small, may be because my desk is quite big, but it does the job.

also the switch is on the wire, not on the top or base of the lamp, which is kinda annoying.
Published 22 months ago by Zack


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the price very good with a few minor niggles, 5 Oct 2011
By 
RJP the Book Boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LLOYTRON Hobby Desk Lamp Adjustable 40W Reach 350mm H560mm Black Ref L946BH (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this for my daughter to use on her desk while studing as the room light is poor. It seems well constructed apart from the plug which has wobbly pins, I opened it to check the wiring and that was fine with the earth securly connected. The positioning mechanism works well and the base is solid so the lamp won't fall over. We fitted it with a 40 watt daylight quality bulb and it gives plenty of light for the study desk. The finish is a nice anodised black and it looks more expensive than it is. It has an in line (on the cable) on and off switch which seems solid enough. The uint takes screw fit bulbs. A nice item but only 4 stars because I was suspicous of the quality of the fitted plug, I also chnaged the fuse for one with a British standards mark on it as the one in the plug was just plain and 13 amp which is wrong for lamp it should be a 3 amp. So some minor niggles but I would buy another as it is very good vlaue for such a verstaile lamp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why?, 26 Dec 2011
By 
Liam Sizer "Bookworm" (Romsey, Hampshire, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LLOYTRON Hobby Desk Lamp Adjustable 40W Reach 350mm H560mm Black Ref L946BH (Kitchen & Home)
I needed a lamp for my computer desk and after browsing Amazon's pages of desk lamps and being shocked at many of the prices I settled on this lamp mainly because of the reviews. It arrived less than 48 hours after I placed the order, well packed. The "arm" of the lamp slots onto a peg on the base and the whole thing is very sturdy and will not fall over. This type of lamp is not particularly pretty but that's due to its design. However, it looks good, the black chrome finish looks classy and not too garish and it completely fits the bill in every way. Why anyone would pay some of the prices of the other lamps on Amazon's pages I can't quite fathom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just a lamp, no bulb included, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LLOYTRON Hobby Desk Lamp Adjustable 40W Reach 350mm H560mm Black Ref L946BH (Kitchen & Home)
So often it is 'no battery included' but in this case it is 'no bulb included'. The two options linked to this lamp stand on Amazon are not what I wanted. It is worth while searching a bit further: I bought the Sylvania fast start energy saving bulb (E14 fitting)from Amazon: 12 watts in equivalent to 53 watts out (not the 60 watt on the web site), homelight colour (this looks white). Yet to see if this is too much for this lamp stand.
This lamp is good but very much smaller than the Anglepoise also in my office. For those with no comparison, it is excellent; just don't forget the bulb purchase.

Much later. The energy saving bulb mentioned above works well with this desk lamp stand. See my review for the bulb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sesk Lamp, 10 Jun 2011
By 
M. J. Dinnage - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LLOYTRON Hobby Desk Lamp Adjustable 40W Reach 350mm H560mm Black Ref L946BH (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent small anglepoise type of desk lamp. Simple to set up just place lamp in weighted base.
If space is a premium then the small base means the lamp can be placed on the smallest of areas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Bright, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LLOYTRON Hobby Desk Lamp Adjustable 40W Reach 350mm H560mm Black Ref L946BH (Kitchen & Home)
40W is plenty for miniature painting, very bright white light. Nice heavy base. Very happy with the overall quality and very little assembly (slot the leg into the base).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value desk lamp, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LLOYTRON Hobby Desk Lamp Adjustable 40W Reach 350mm H560mm Black Ref L946BH (Kitchen & Home)
Having looked extensively for a desk lamp and finding that the market ranged to excessive prices for such items, I was pleased to find this lamp. If you intend to located it and let it remain where it is this works well, as the stem does not fix to the base. It has the quality of a short angle poise lamp and is compact enough to fit in the smallest of office spaces... in fact with a ceiling light and bouncing the beam of the desk lamp off a light coloured wall this gives a good result without needing to angle the lamp directly at the work area and suffering glare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading Lamp, 21 Mar 2012
This review is from: LLOYTRON Hobby Desk Lamp Adjustable 40W Reach 350mm H560mm Black Ref L946BH (Kitchen & Home)
Good quality hobby lamp. Present for my husband as he is a great "puzzler" and needed extra lighting to do his thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its not as big as it looks in the picture, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LLOYTRON Hobby Desk Lamp Adjustable 40W Reach 350mm H560mm Black Ref L946BH (Kitchen & Home)
its ok a bit small, may be because my desk is quite big, but it does the job.

also the switch is on the wire, not on the top or base of the lamp, which is kinda annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very bad product, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LLOYTRON Hobby Desk Lamp Adjustable 40W Reach 350mm H560mm Black Ref L946BH (Kitchen & Home)
First one did not work.Thankfully got a second one.And after few weeks it has also given up.
Please don't buy this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LLOYTRON Hobby Desk Lamp Adjustable 40W Reach 350mm H560mm Black Ref L946BH (Kitchen & Home)
Does what I thought. Solid enough and nice and cheap in comparison to other lights. What more do you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews