Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best reissue yet
"The Unforgettable Fire" gets an unforgettable reissue in the style of "The Joshua Tree" release a couple of years back, and it's an instant hit.

I think it stands up as the best of their reissue work to date by a country mile, and iv'e enjoyed all of the reissues thus far.

Even if you are one of those who have felt that U2 have been cashing in with...
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by Andrew D McAllister

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It could've been a true classic
I would have given this box set either 4 or 5 stars, but what brought the rating down for this remaster is the lack of video content on the bonus DVD. It's well known that video footage does exist from U2's Unforgettable Fire tour, and yet surprisingly only 1 song from one of their regular concerts (Croke Park) shows up, in addition to their appearances at the Live Aid...
Published on 3 Dec 2009 by Trance Addict Fan


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It could've been a true classic, 3 Dec 2009
I would have given this box set either 4 or 5 stars, but what brought the rating down for this remaster is the lack of video content on the bonus DVD. It's well known that video footage does exist from U2's Unforgettable Fire tour, and yet surprisingly only 1 song from one of their regular concerts (Croke Park) shows up, in addition to their appearances at the Live Aid (complete) & Conspiracy of Hope/Amnesty Int'l (incomplete) concerts.

At least with the Joshua Tree Remaster, the fans got pretty much a complete concert on the DVD. With the Unforgettable Fire Remaster, the DVD feels like it was too short on video content.

Other than the lack of video content, the rest of the box is fine, from the book, the postcards, & the extended audio content, it's worth listening to this album again. For my money, I would probably just stick with the 2-CD version of the Remaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best reissue yet, 27 Oct 2009
"The Unforgettable Fire" gets an unforgettable reissue in the style of "The Joshua Tree" release a couple of years back, and it's an instant hit.

I think it stands up as the best of their reissue work to date by a country mile, and iv'e enjoyed all of the reissues thus far.

Even if you are one of those who have felt that U2 have been cashing in with all of the recent rereleases (and I know that even a good few genuine U2 fans are included in this) You will want this one.

The Bonus CD has enough quality material to have produced a fresh album, whether back in the mid 80's or possibly even now.

The DVD documentary section captures the pure rawness of the band as they were transforming unwittingly from psudo punk pretenders to the super-rock-band they would become within the next few years. The footage of the Slane castle sessions is gift to their fans just before xmas. The whole DVD is a well put together "video scrap book" of the period with a couple of defining live performances, four commercial videos from the album and the aforementioned documentary.

The whole period from "War" to " Achtung Baby" is my favourite U2 era, and If like me "Bad" is one of your enduring favourites from the band, then the live versions on the bonus discs (DVD and CD) are probably worth the purchase price alone.

And I haven't even mentioned the title CD yet. Do I have to say anything? it speaks for it'self surely....... Only I would say that a few folk have said they prefer the sound of the original vinyl. Well I remember having the vinyl and I must confess that I'm a true digital convert. I think that CD beats vinyl any day, but thats just a personal opinion (sorry guys). I get the whole raw sound thing of vinyl but still love the cleanness of CD and how you can play with the sound on good equipment.

From a true "U2-o-phile" (mind you i'm not sure if one of those doesn't sound a bit dodgy... read that 3 star review, and you'll get it) This is a complete winner and I dearly hope that "Achtung Baby" gets the same treatment as this and "The Joshua Tree" did to complete the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Sort of Homecoming, 28 Oct 2009
By 
avl06 (The Village) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The Unforgettable Fire was the album with which U2 took a great leap forwards, and it remains my favorite to this day...I remember vividly taking up the empty cassette case to my local WH Smiths to purchase it, ah, more innocent times, anyway I digress...

That cassette tape got played until it died, but the CD when it appeared didn't really do justice to this pivotal album - until now. The remaster is a great success, clarifying the delicate, yearning textures, filling out the filigree guitar work and the expansive Eno-lead sonics to thrilling effect. Bono is young and passionate, his voice still soaring (compare his new vocal on "lost track" Disappearing Act for a modern comparison), and this is a band firing on all cylinders, out of their comfort zone, striking out for new artistic territory, and succeeding.

The xtras CD is nice enough, great to the have the Wide Awake in America tracks included, especially the live version of 'Homecoming. I have't watched the DVD yet, but fantastic to have their game-changing appearance at Live Aid the followying year.

This adds up to a terific memorial to a pivotal moment in the history of U2, and to a time and place for yours truly!

Highly recommended. Roll on Achtung Baby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its U2's Unforgettable Fire. Enough said., 28 Oct 2009
By 
This is not the place for the vinyl / CD / remastering debate (which a previous reviewer implies is a matter of clarity of volume; hmmm... sounds like Spinal Tap `11' logic). What can be said is that, outside of that debate, this is a superb remaster both in and of itself c/w the so-called bonus tracks - it's really a two-fer with the Wide Awake in America ep included, the live version `Bad' from this being worth the price of admission alone; you can get this through the cheaper CDs only package. But that won't give you the DVD with a few of these `videos' long unavailable, esp. The Unforgettable Fire itself.

This is the place to say... Finally! A top drawer presentation of the key U2 album: no Unforgettable Fire = no Joshua Tree and quite possibly, no U2 today. 25 years on and still an unadulterated joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe it or NOT The Unforgettable Fire has GOT BETTER, 26 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Richard Thwaites "R. Thwaites" (Bournemouth, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having been a U2 fan for all my life, i'm 40 going on 41 now. - Let me first say if you are a U2 fan and wondering if it's worth upgrading to this Deluxe Edition of The Unforgettable Fire, and if like me, you had the album on vinyl before you bought the album on the terrible analogue CD mix from the 1990's I would say definately buy the 2009 CD edition - PLEASE DO, you won't be dissapointed it's truly superb. I thought the re-issue of the Joshua Tree was as good as it gets, well I was wrong, after hearing how they have completely improved the sound quality of this spellbinding album, I am so glad I have re-purchased the album, yet again lol. Personally, I don't think the boys will ever make a more perfect record, it's beautiful, thought provoking, mesmerising and above all I think Bono voice on this album is truly breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mainstream lift off,no longer a cult band!, 12 Sep 2010
By 
This Brilliant album HAS got better and better!I originally got this on cassette in 1984 as a 14 year old boy.Pride was a huge hit and was played on the radio also,which was a big deal in 1984.Footage of U2 on the telly was even rarer at the time no MTV europe back then or VH1!Compared to the 1st 3 U2 albums, Pride and Wire most sound like those early albums.Textures,atmospheres different rythmn patterns are to the fore,all done in a powerful and melodic way.This album may take a few spins ,but is definitely worth the effort as there are some fabulous songs on here Homecoming,Bad,Promenade and the title track itself ,to this day probably contains Bonos greatest ever vocal,which is some statement as his voice on this album is awesome throughout!There is a clarity with the mix and production that U2 hadnt previously had and Larry & Adam are right up there. Only 4th of July and Elvis & America leave me cold and seem a bit filler,otherwise this is inspired! The 2nd disc contains stuff you can find elsewhere ,however a finished version of Disappearing Act is here,extended version of Pride and my favourite a Lanois inspired remix of A Sort of Homecoming ,is an unashamed 4 minutes of absolute joy,which a U2 fan MUST own.The DVD is a slight disappointment,again some of the content here is available elsewhere and theyve missed a trick by NOT including the short set from 1986's Self Aid gig,however there is a little footage from 86's Amnesty tour and 85's Croke Park,pity its not a full set.That said, any U2 fan should own some version of The Unforgettable Fire,totally essential!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe inspiring album that never shows its age, 6 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Unforgettable Fire (Audio CD)
Looking at the back of the box the other day, I frowned deeply at the year 1985. Nearly 16 years ago this album was captivating the music world, and so it deserves to today.
If you try to think that the track "Elvis Presley and America" managed to slip in from the B-Side bin, then you would have to admit that this is one of the most perfect albums in existence. Most people know of "Pride", but one listen to "Bad" changes your mind about what this album is about.
If this album isn't in your collection, you wont have experienced an album which can captivate your soul, relax your mind, and then throw you back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unforgettable Revisit 25 Years On!!, 26 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. P. Keighley "bonerra10" (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well...................Where Shall I Start In Reviewing What Was Probably The Most Pivatol Album In U2"s Career?? 25 Years On And It Still Sounds As Fresh And Important Now As In 1984.

The Album Really Speaks For Itself......10 Immense Songs That Were The Pre-Curser To What Has Taken Place Since, AND Was The Big Brother Of "The Joshua Tree", What REALLY Stands Out About This Magnificent Box Set Is Of Course The Bonus Disc, And The DVD.

The Bonus Disc Is Packed Full Of B Sides From The Time, 2 Previously Unreleased Songs, A Few Different Mixes Of The Album Tracks, "Disappearing Act" Is an Absolute Gem Of a Song Which They Completed During a Break In Rehearsals For The Current 360 Tour, So An Up To Date Vocal From Bono, 2 Live Performances Of "A Sort Of Homecoming" And "Bad", Then We Have 2 Of The Best B sides U2 Have Ever Done In My Opinion, Which To This Day , Amazed Me That They Didnt Make The Album! "Love Comes Tumbling" And "The 3 Sunrises" " Yoshino Blossom" is The 2nd "New" Song, A Quirky Melodic Instrumental, 2 Remixes Of "Wire" An Alternative Version Of "Pride" And A FABULOUS Danny Lanois Mix Of "A Sort Of Homecoming"
Other Old B Sides Complete The Disc With "Boomarang 1 & 2 " "Bass Trap" " 60 Seconds In Kingdom Come".

Now The DVD Is Also Comprehensive In The Inclusions, Documentaries , Music Videos, And Some Live Performances ( Including Live Aid And "A Conspiricy Of Hope" in 86 ) All In All It Adds Up To A Very Pleasing And Comprehensive Collection Of U2 Material In That Ground Breaking Year Of 1984.

For The Price This Is Well Worth Investing In, The Quality And Quantity Definatly So, U2 Fans Old And New --This Is A "Must Have" To Add To Your U2 Experience! Without Question This Was The Most Pivatol Album In U2"s Career And History, This Is Bringing So Many Memories Flooding Back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second Of Three Great U2 Albums In A Row, 21 Aug 2002
This review is from: The Unforgettable Fire (Audio CD)
'The Unforgettable Fire' is one of the best albums ever made in my opinion as U2 once again demonstrated they could produce more than one classic album, 'War' was excellent, this was even better and 'The Joshua Tree' saw them at their peak. This album features some of U2's greatest songs. My favourite U2 song is on this album, in the form of the title track. It is an incredibly moving piece of music and despite it's subject matter, proves uplifting. 'Pride' is a also a classic, while 'Wire', 'A Sort Of Homecoming' and 'Bad' are unique gems, in their own right. All put together on this album it reaches classic status and is their second best album behind 'The Joshua Tree'. Essential to any true cd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U2's best album sounds even better, albeit a bit over-packaged, 29 Oct 2009
By 
Colin Mccartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"The Unforgettable Fire" is U2's turning point. Had they not enlisted the services of Brian Eno when they did, they perhaps might have gone down the same road as Simple Minds (i.e. fondly remembered, though discarded early works and cheesier later works).

If your knowledge of this album extends only to the two singles - "Pride" and the title track - and you didn't bother buying it because you weren't particularly impressed by either, then I envy you because you're in for a treat here. Even The Edge in the liner notes describes "Pride" as the song that he was, at least sonically, the least happy with. Yet "Pride" in a sense is the key track: the link between the flag-waving "Under a Blood Red Sky"-era U2 and the fuzzy logic that is "The Unforgettable Fire". Other than on "Pride, the politics are stripped away in favour of atmospherics. The other tracks are uniformly excellent although none jump out as radio-friendly (perhaps the reason this LP saw only one further single release). Some of the songs have a seasonal feel: winter landscapes ("A Sort of Homecoming"), rainy Sunday afternoons in Ireland ("Promenade") and high summer ("Bad"). Then there's Elvis Presley and America - it's one of those tracks that you just can't work out where the hell they got the idea from (New Order's "Hurt" has left me similarly puzzled and amazed).

Whilst I didn't particularly think the album needed a remaster I must say that it never sounded better although perhaps that in itself is not a good enough reason for re-buying.

The deal-clincher for me was the bonus disc - a) to reclaim "Boomerang II" - one of my favourite B-sides of all time (my 7" copy long since lost) and b) a chance to hear some of the unreleased material from the time. The latter does not disappoint either. "Bass Trap" (an instrumental) is Blue Nile-esque in its ability to capture a vibe. Daniel Lanois's remix of "A Sort of Homecoming" was apparently done while he was working on Peter Gabriel's "So" and madly enough, sounds as though it could have been lifted from it. Now THAT could have been made an interesting single. The newly finished track "Disappearing Act" fortunately doesn't sound newly finished and is rather good (vastly better than anything on U2's last album). Nevertheless, it will not have escaped many fans' attention that all of Wide Awake In America, widely available for some time on CD already, appears on disc 2. This is perhaps not too bad a thing since it was excellent but hardly worth the full price they charged for what was effectively a single - so if you've never succumbed to buying that one, this isn't actually a bad way of getting hold of it. And it probably fits better as a bonus to "The Unforgettable Fire" than as a stand-alone release anyway. It's also a good way of getting hold of the Martin Hannett produced version of "11 O'Clock Tick-Tock" - though quite why it's included I'm not too sure as it surely predates the rest of the material here by several years.

The hard back book packaging's a little over-done maybe (though not as bad as the "super deluxe" edition) and you certainly don't need the full lyrics either - part of the magic of "Elvis Presley and America" is trying to work out what the hell Bono was singing about.

But I could only ever give this a 5 star review as it's one of my benchmark albums. Roll on the "Achtung Baby" deluxe edition (but don't bother re-doing "Pop" on my account lads).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3d1a0d8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews