Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ooops...she did it again!
'The Singles Collection' really highlights the magnificent career of Britney Spears, and is a great reminder of all the classic hits she has given us.

Naturally quite a few of the songs on this CD (in fact 11 of the 18 songs) are the same as Britney's previous greatest hits package (My Prerogative - 2004). It contains all the biggest hits from that album,...
Published on 26 Oct 2009 by Mr. MusicMan

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars item ok.
cd became boring after a couple of listenings to so I personnally would'nt advise anyone to waste their money in buying it.
Published on 13 Jan 2010 by Mrs. J. H. Marie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ooops...she did it again!, 26 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Singles Collection [CD/DVD] (Audio CD)
'The Singles Collection' really highlights the magnificent career of Britney Spears, and is a great reminder of all the classic hits she has given us.

Naturally quite a few of the songs on this CD (in fact 11 of the 18 songs) are the same as Britney's previous greatest hits package (My Prerogative - 2004). It contains all the biggest hits from that album, including many iconic numbers, such as '...Baby One More Time', 'Oops I Did It Again', 'Toxic' and 'Everytime'.

The rest of the album comprises her songs from 2007-2009. This is the first time these songs have been together on one disc - and so, this alone is a very good reason to buy this album. All of Britney's most popular UK singles from this era are here, including `Womanizer`, `Gimme More`, `Piece Of Me` and 'Circus`.

The CD also features one new track, `3`, that has already reached no. 1 in the USA and will most likely chart in the higher positions of the UK chart soon.

Unfortunately high charting singles like 'Sometimes' (my personal favourite song by Britney), 'Lucky', 'Overprotective' and 'Break The Ice', to name a few, are absent from this compilation, thus only 4 stars. Perhaps a 2-disc compilation would have been a better idea?

I would still recommend `The Singles Collection` to any music fan, as it is a clear explanation of why Britney Spears is one of the most successful singers of all time. A true icon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britney Spears: The Fun Music Collection, 30 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Singles Collection [CD/DVD] (Audio CD)
Britney Spears: The Singles Collection is very nicely assembled collection of some of Britney's hits from the 90's and the millenium. For those who like some of Britney's songs from when she first made her debut on the music scene, the listener is treated to musical gems from her 90's heyday in the form of classics such as the memorable "You Drive Me Crazy' and "Born to Make You Happy". "Circus", "Radar", and "3" are fun dance/pop musical numbers that reflect a more mature and self-confident Britney. The one thing that I obviously like the most from this collection is that the songs were assembled from various stages in her life. For example, "Baby One More Time" is one of the first songs that she is famous (from back in the 90's), "Boys" was during the 2002 period, "Everytime" was from her 2004 period, "Piece of Me" was during the 2007 period, "Circus", "Womanizer" and "If U Seek Amy" are great songs from when she made a very good comeback in 2008 (in addition to serving as a positive example that you can always pick yourself up). For the 2009 period, the musical treat that is "3" is featured. Overall, this collection is a nice addition to obtain if you like the music of Britney Spears and/or enjoy dance/pop music. This singles compilation reminds me that I very much look forward to her new collection coming out this week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britney Spears - The Pop Icon of a generation, a celebration of a decade of her work!, 7 Oct 2010
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection [CD/DVD] (Audio CD)
Compilations always tend to make a habit of leaving some genuine classics off or underrated or fan favourites, Madonna's Immaculate Collection did so with Dress You Up and Who's That Girl amongst others most famously, and Madonna's recent Celebration Collection is one of the most finest compilations EVER and 2CD's are not enough for her entire back catalogue. Now Britney Spears' second collection of her career (her first in 2004!just 5 years into her career) Britney leaves off a few strong songs and personal favourites such as; Overprotected, Break The Ice,Sometimes and epic cover of I Love Rock N' Roll being examples here, but of course we can forgive her.

Being the second compilation disc of Britney's career this album presents an entirely different experience to My Perogative (the fastest selling album by a female artist in 2004 i must add! in the UK and US for that year)here we are presented with a super sonic blast with newest song '3' which is (much like Celebration) presents something nothing truely iconic or anthemic as what made her career so significant but a small dance tune with some down right smutty and dirty innuendo within the lyrics that it is a definitive strong point of her discography and reminds me of the similarities to Prince's style of the early 80's. We then get a newly remastered sound and a few remixed quality throwdown of her back catalogue from her HUGE debut through to the Circus era, each presenting that flow through sound and structure so marvalously as the listener takes themselves on a nostalgia trip through the years and a reminder as to why she will be regarded as something of a legend in a few decade's time up there with Madonna, The Beatles, Michael Jackson, Marvin Gaye, Elvis and Queen to name a few! because with 100 million albums and singles sold globally Britney is still at the top of her game despite a few personal throwbacks by the media, it never has ever stopped her!

Her Circus World Tour matched the likes of Madonna's recent S&S Tour and U2's, and filled out stadiums in every country and continent she ventured to! going on to become one of the highest grossing tours of all time! Of all her contemporaries she has always remained consistent and engaging, some wrote her off but the true listeners took on board her artistic growth and can relate to her music and style on a personal level, that is what has made Britney Spears something of an interesting appeal.

What The Singles Collection proves is that Britney Spears has been the most distinctive artist of the late 90's through to 2009 (with this release) and shows that we may indeed be taken to a new level with her next album (currently recording for the past year and set to take storm next year in 2011).

From Pop to Rock to House to Dance to Ballad, take a journey on a GRAND scale from one anthem to the next. While there aren't any filler tunes (which her Circus album regrettably had a handful) it ranks alongside her best albums of material (...Baby One More Time, Blackout,Britney and In The Zone are for me her most fully EPIC albums)there is something for everyone on this disc of 18 exceptional songs.

Let Britney show you the way, The Pop Princess!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality and Value, 10 Aug 2010
By 
K. Childs (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection [CD/DVD] (Audio CD)
Having been a secret Britney fan since her first hit single (only bought the first album), I came across this album whilst browsing Amazon. The fact that it came with a bonus dvd of her greatest hits convinced me to buy it. I have a varied taste in music and have rated this item for what it is. ie a greatest hits cd chronicling 12 years of hits, backed up by a dvd of the same hits (or at least the best of them)- all for under 12! Go ahead and buy it. You know you want to!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Mar 2010
By 
R. Spencer (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Singles Collection [CD/DVD] (Audio CD)
I loved this album, it has all her greatest hits on including her newest release 3. Easy listening and great for watching all the videos on too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Singles Collection, 27 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Singles Collection [CD/DVD] (Audio CD)
Being a Britney fan since she first came on the scene in 1999, this was a must buy for me. Eventually I got it for Christmas and I have to say that I love it. It features all of the best Britney singles, sifting the wheat from the chaff, making for an amazing collection.

It also includes the catchy and addictive 3, the best single to come out of Britney since Womanizer in 2008.

And then there is a DVD which only adds to it's value. My only criticism is that it doesn't include the video for 3 which is a great shame.

Highly recommend this to old fans and new fans a-like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars her best work on one disc, 11 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Ds Long "Dan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Collection [CD/DVD] (Audio CD)
as my title says it's her best work on one disc [2 with the dvd], a must buy for anyone interested in music from the last decade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britney's Collection, 28 Nov 2009
By 
George Titas (Piraeus, GREECE) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Singles Collection [CD/DVD] (Audio CD)
Great collection with all single hits of Britney Spears.

Great also the idea for the DVD with the video clips.

Also the new hit "3" is included. One more great song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Britney sorts her wheat from her chaff, 27 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. TB Reeks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Singles Collection [CD/DVD] (Audio CD)
Britney's been around long enough now for her, or at least someone at her record company to start sorting "the wheat from the chaff" so to speak. Gone are some of the more dreary ballads, this second greatest hits collection is filled with Britney's most successful songs, including her collaborations with Madonna and Pharrell.

Celebrate Britney's first decade in music, with eighteen hit singles that are all killer, no filler. If you've enjoyed Britney's songs on the radio or music channels, but haven't bought any of her albums, then this would do just the job, providing you with a collection of music from a young woman who can now be truly be called a superstar.

This version contains the new saucy track called "3", and a DVD containing 16 music videos from the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid package, 20 Nov 2009
By 
H (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Singles Collection [CD/DVD] (Audio CD)
Love her, hate her, say what you want about her... well, she says all of the boys and all of the girls are begging to If U Seek Amy, but that's not how I'd finish the sentence.

I'd finish by saying that whatever else you may want to think or say about Britney, you can't deny that the girl has lasted a lot longer than anybody ever thought she would and sold a lot more than anybody thought she would. She is nothing short of a pop sales phenomenon. That's never been more evident than now, when her most popular songs are placed together on a disc like this to celebrate ten whole years since she burst onto the scene in those pigtails and that uniform. If you don't like Britney then nothing on this disc is ever going to change your mind but even the more casual fan can find a lot to like here, especially with the bonus DVD of all her videos - iconic pieces like Baby One More Time and I'm a Slave 4 U are well worth multiple viewings. For pure pop glory without wasting your time on the fillers that tend to clutter up studio albums, you can't beat this. That she can fill up an album like this without even putting every single release on it tells you how prolific she's been this past decade.

However, it has to lose a star because it's not been all that long since her last Greatest Hits collection and as such, a lot of this ground was already covered on that release. There have been enough singles released since then to mean this isn't a total rip off (surprisingly, even when in the middle of a breakdown Britney manages to be very productive on that front - including new single 3 there are 7 newer tracks on this CD compared to the previous, and that's after cutting a couple which you'd have to go to the deluxe edition for).

This is a solid buy for anybody who loves a bit of pure, unadulterated pop. I would suggest that if you've already got a lot of Britney's material this may not be worth it except for the sake of keeping the collection complete, but for the more casual listener this is a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Singles Collection [CD/DVD]
The Singles Collection [CD/DVD] by Britney Spears (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews