Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent beyond measure
Let me start with the film's one drawback... it is part one of two. As enthralling and far better than expected as this film is, it disappointingly terminates midway through the story. The end of this movie is a logical breaking point, however, a breaking point all the same, leaving you wanting more.

That said, there is no reason to give this DVD anything less...
Published on 17 Mar 2009 by Charles Miller

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully told
This is a beautifully told and photographed and well acted portrayal of Milarepa's life. The reason I have only given it 3 stars is because there was nothing on the packaging that indicated that it was only the first part and I would have liked to have been aware of that fact as it MAY have influenced my choice to buy it. On line it indicated that the next instalment...
Published on 11 April 2010 by gawayne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent beyond measure, 17 Mar 2009
By 
Charles Miller "objective clarity" (Baltimore, Maryland U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let me start with the film's one drawback... it is part one of two. As enthralling and far better than expected as this film is, it disappointingly terminates midway through the story. The end of this movie is a logical breaking point, however, a breaking point all the same, leaving you wanting more.

That said, there is no reason to give this DVD anything less than 5 stars, because it could not be better than it is. Interestingly, most of the cast and crew are from a Buddhist monastery. You would never know until you read the credits at the end because there is nothing provincial or pedestrian about it. The acting, dialogue, special effects... everything for that matter, comes across as a very professional production.

There is considerable Buddhist "morality" conveyed as well, which is perfectly handled by the monks who made this film, but not in a heavy-handed way. In fact, one would need a Buddhist background to recognize the point-blank Dharma lessons contained within. This is something that could be viewed and enjoyed by anyone, including non-Buddhists. Finally, there is a most excellent documentary about the historical Milarepa as bonus material. Herein the viewer will get the full picture with regards to who the main character is as well clear and well-explained Buddhist thought on the same.

Highly recommended to everyone and of special interest to those with a leaning towards Buddhist thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating story of intrigue, betrayal, and revenge begins the life of famous Tibetan saint Milarepa, 30 Sep 2009
By 
Jerome Ryan (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Filmed in the Spiti Valley on the Indian-Tibetan border, this award winning film tells the story of the first half of Milarepa's life (1052-1135), whose path to enlightenment began with revenge. A second movie is planned to complete the story.

When his well-to-do merchant father died, Milarepa's uncle and aunt took all the family's wealth, suddenly thrusting Milarepa and his mother into poverty. His mother plots revenge by sending Milarepa away to study sorcery. Milarepa comes back to the village and causes a violent lightning storm to kill many people.

When the villagers chase him, Milarepa causes large rocks to fall from a ridge blocking their way. As he escapes Milarepa meets an old monk, and learns of Buddha's teachings. Milarepa returns to his sorcery teacher, who advises him to study with Marpa. The film ends with Milarepa seeking Marpa.

The landscape is stark and beautiful. The special effects are quite well done - I especially liked the scene where Milarepa gains mastery in sorcery, a bit like a Pink Floyd psychedelic trip from the 60s. My favourite scene was when Milarepa meets an old monk while escaping from the villagers, and sits quietly with old Buddhist paintings all around him on the wall. You can feel that his redemption is at hand.

As companions to this movie, I highly recommend reading a book about his life such as The Magnificent Trickster - The Story Of Milarepa by Molly MacGregor, and some of his teachings like in the book Milarepa: Songs On The Spot by Nicole Riggs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully told, 11 April 2010
This review is from: Milarepa [DVD] (DVD)
This is a beautifully told and photographed and well acted portrayal of Milarepa's life. The reason I have only given it 3 stars is because there was nothing on the packaging that indicated that it was only the first part and I would have liked to have been aware of that fact as it MAY have influenced my choice to buy it. On line it indicated that the next instalment would be released in 2009, but as yet there are no signs of that.

Nevertheless it was much better than I expected and I do look forward to the sequel-whenever it comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deserves better, 4 Mar 2013
By 
P. Taylor "Dig" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milarepa [DVD] (DVD)
It is amateurishly made and more importantly this is the first half of 2 films and the second was never made leaving you up in the air totally
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it for the second disc, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Paul (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milarepa [DVD] (DVD)
The film of Milareoa's life felt more like an old fashioned B movie about revenge and sorcery. I wanted to like it but the acting was unconvincing and the poor (by today's standards) effects were distracting if not unnecessary. The biography seemed to dwell on the hard life and injustice that led Milarepa to his eventual disillusionment and then a scarce few minutes at the end of the film spent upon his catharsis and onward search for enlightenment . . . I would have preferred to have seen less of the former and more of the latter.

However, the accompanying disc, where the teachers and yogis of today were presenting Milarepa's life and lessons as relevant for today, is priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milarepa [DVD] (DVD)
Great! Looking forward to the second part. May somebody produce it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was impressed, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milarepa [DVD] (DVD)
I would recommend this film to everyone. I was very impressed of the actors.
Also the landscape is very beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One of two, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milarepa [DVD] (DVD)
This cd gives you a look at a Milarepa The cd isnt hd quality But still fine to watch I found out some interesting facts after watching this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milarepa [DVD] (DVD)
This film depicts the story of a spiritual man that conquers his demons to achieve greatness. There is a great spiritual message in his life for all of humanity.When is part two coming out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milarepa [DVD] (DVD)
A beautiful film, keep meaning to get the next film follow on from this. Very well filmed and accurate to Tibetan culture and tradition, and very inspiring. Arrived on time and no issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Milarepa [DVD]
Milarepa [DVD] by Neten Chokling (DVD - 2010)
4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews