Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nightmarish Version of Monopoly
Tomas and Jason are a couple of laid back, twenty-something American graduates, who are backpacking and surfing their way around Europe. Tomas is accompanied by his girlfriend, Lisa, and the three of them are touring the rocky beaches of Northern Spain.
They get to know some of the local Spanish lads, and Jason starts to pursue an American lady, Erika, who's played...
Published 1 month ago by William Mason

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another wasted premise
There may be spoilers in this review.

The idea for this movie could have been done in such an amazing way, but it fell short over and over. The same with the CGI, there were moments of brilliance (legs - that's all I'm saying) and times when it was AWFUL!
Unfortunately they're using characters no one will care about (all so annoying you wish them all dead)...
Published 7 months ago by raven_guest


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nightmarish Version of Monopoly, 13 Nov 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Open Graves [DVD] (DVD)
Tomas and Jason are a couple of laid back, twenty-something American graduates, who are backpacking and surfing their way around Europe. Tomas is accompanied by his girlfriend, Lisa, and the three of them are touring the rocky beaches of Northern Spain.
They get to know some of the local Spanish lads, and Jason starts to pursue an American lady, Erika, who's played by the stop-the-traffic beautiful Eliza Dushku. Jason wanders into a very creepy tourist shop, which sells voodoo items, and the storekeeper persuades him to buy a board game named Mamba. It comes in a very large wooden box, intricately engraved with dragonflies and mambas. The shop owner tells Jason that the game is a genuine artefact of the Spanish Inquisition.
That night the four Americans, along with three of the Spanish locals, start to play Mamba. Their understanding is that, if you win, your wish will come true. But, if you lose, fate will conspire against you in some very unhappy ways...
Some of the death scenes are quite inventive - at one point, one of the Spanish males is eaten alive by crabs! There's also a well executed death scene involving a oil truck. However, the CGI is definitely B-movie standard - it's sort of okay, but not entirely convincing. However, no CGI is needed to make Eliza Dushku look good, and she enjoys a lot of screen-time - she has to be one of the hottest Hollywood actresses of today, right up there with Scarlett Johansson.
Although the game fulfils it's promise of unhappy fates for the losers, we don't see any wishes comes true for the winners, in fact we're not even told about any wishes (with one important exception), which I think could have improved the film. Furthermore, I'm surprised the movie is an 18 Certificate, the scenes of horror aren't too nasty, and there's no nudity or sex scenes, a 15 Certificate would have been far more appropriate.
The first half of this movie is actually very reminiscent of the first half of the original Hostel - happy-go-lucky Americans cruising through Europe, drinking and carousing, flirting with the locals - Hostel - Part I-III Box Set [DVD]. Overall, the film plays out like a combination of Jumanji (the late Robin Williams), The Wishmaster and Final Destination - Wishmaster [DVD], Final Destination [DVD] [2000]. Oh, and did I forget to mention that the perfectly formed Eliza Dushku has a starring role?
If you like this movie, you'd probably also enjoy the first rate Triangle, which is a clever cross between Groudhog Day and horror - Triangle [Blu-ray].
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another wasted premise, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Graves [DVD] (DVD)
There may be spoilers in this review.

The idea for this movie could have been done in such an amazing way, but it fell short over and over. The same with the CGI, there were moments of brilliance (legs - that's all I'm saying) and times when it was AWFUL!
Unfortunately they're using characters no one will care about (all so annoying you wish them all dead) a script that is ridiculous;
's***. What is going on here?' and a whole bunch of things that don't add up;
-Why are Spanish cops English? Why was the game in English? Why would this bunch of eedjits play the game? Who thought up the rules of the game? (so, so, so stupid. Literally roll dice, take card or don't take card. That is it) Why were all those women sleeping with Tomas? Why did no one seem that bothered when their friends were...

This film is over long in parts (not least the footage of surfing which is completely redundant) but is harmless enough. I just wanted a lot more than it delivered, and it was such a promising concept.

One more thing, how prevalent was Voodoo/Hoodoo in Spain during the Spanish inquisition? I'm guessing not very.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars EVERYBODY COULD WIN, EVERYBODY COULD LOSE, 3 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Open Graves [DVD] (DVD)
Some young adults (with models) are in Spain when one acquires a game from an artifacts dealer who apparently disliked him. If they complete the game, they get a wish. However, if they draw a death card, they are out of the game...all the way out. The game, from what I gathered originated during the Spanish Inquisition and is made from a witch's body parts. But don't worry, the curse cards to the game which describe their death are written in modern English with a font to make it look old. Phew! Didn't we see this in another movie with tarot cards?

The film is predictable with no twists. It lacked imagination.

F-bomb, brief sex, brief nudity, one guy gets crabs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funnily enough compared to the other reviewers, I enjoyed the film, 29 April 2010
This review is from: Open Graves [DVD] (DVD)
Compared to the other reviewers, I actually enjoyed the film, it had a good storyline, the only thing that was a let down was that I guessed the ending, it is a pretty obvious twist at the end to guess. But other than that I really enjoyed the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Variation on Other Films, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Graves [DVD] (DVD)
The film is a darker version & more adult version of films like Jumanji & Zathura, and a good teen horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Jumanji Meets Final Destination, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Graves [DVD] (DVD)
Imagine a horror film version of Jumanji meets Final Destination, and you get some idea of what this good but unoriginal film is like. Basicaly some people find a old game play it, and then die accordingly to what the game says, even though in some cases theres no explaination as to whats going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should be left buried..., 17 Feb 2010
By 
Frances Mollins "Thundercats-Ho" (Elgin, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open Graves [DVD] (DVD)
Put simply this film is just plain awful, which is unfortunate given done properly it is a promising story. But then anything that touts itself as following "on from where Final Destination left off" shouldn't be taken too seriously. The best way to describe this story is Jumanji with blood, it's a cliched group of young guys and girls play a game with some sort of urban legend attached to it which leads to some unoriginal deaths.

The actors seemed permanently bored, Dushku has apparently been cast to simply look pretty and would much rather be doing something else. There is little character development and as a viewer you couldn't really care less what happens them. One massive bug for me is the unbelievably terrible CGI, without spoiling the story at one point two snakes appear and float gently down through the sky looking like they've been lifted directly from a childs drawing! I could understand if this was a low budget film but given it had a reported budget of $6.5 million I find myself wondering what the rest of the money went on.

Finally you can see the ending coming a mile off, it's the type of ending where you'll find yourself shouting at the TV "why would you do that?!" On the plus side I quite liked the soundtrack, a band called Showpay do the majority of the songs and they are fitting with the genre.

In conclusion... avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the most original film ever., 16 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Graves [DVD] (DVD)
The plotting's pretty obvious and 'the twist' is immediately obvious the moment the hook's revealed. The budget must have been pretty low, because the special effects are pretty bad.

However as an Eliza Dushku fan, her acting's not the best it's been (see Angel, Alphabet Killer, and Nobel Son), but it's decent, and this film is far more competantly than say Soul Surviours (where the script looked to be written by a twelve year old).

This film's worth a watch but isn't a classic by any means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't even think about buying this, 19 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Graves [DVD] (DVD)
Terrible acting, terrible story and crappy computer effects to go with it.
I bought this as I'm a fan of Eliza (only reason it gets any star is for her) but I think she only did this movie as a favour to someone (stick to the small screen Eliza).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Graves [DVD] (DVD)
dident really like this film was not much to it and was slow and boring prefer ghostly things to slashers there all the same thees days more for teens that hate gore or people who easily feel sick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Open Graves [DVD]
Open Graves [DVD] by Alvaro de Arminan (DVD - 2010)
£6.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews