Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice new edition of the classic series
Neon Genesis Evangelion is a manga and a animated TV-series made in Japan in the 1990s. The basic storyline is set in the future after the mysterious "second impact" which killed off a large part of the human population. Some time after the impact Earth was attacked by powerful monstrous beings known as "angels". Giant biological robots called Eavngelion (Evas) are...
Published on 31 Jan 2011 by MarkusG

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great blu-ray but where is my guidebook?
The film and blu ray quality are great and if that was all I was reviewing I would give this a 5 star but I am rating the package as a whole and I can't help but feel stiffed when the American version in addition to everything we get also comes with a 20 page guidebook. "The first two pages discuss why remaking Eva was done and gives a small introduction. After that...
Published on 21 Jun 2012 by L. O. Woodford


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice new edition of the classic series, 31 Jan 2011
By 
MarkusG "Markus" (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Neon Genesis Evangelion is a manga and a animated TV-series made in Japan in the 1990s. The basic storyline is set in the future after the mysterious "second impact" which killed off a large part of the human population. Some time after the impact Earth was attacked by powerful monstrous beings known as "angels". Giant biological robots called Eavngelion (Evas) are defending the Earth against the angels. The Evas are piloted by children with nerve-systems compatible with the Evas. The story revolves around Shinji Ikari who is to pilot one of the Evas.

The story is complex and simple at the same time. The basic plot is a battle between humanity and aliens. But there are also many thing never fully explained like the mysterious organisation "Seele" and the "Human instrumentality project". And one of the charms is the use of gnostic/religious symbols ("The Golgatha Project", "Spear of Longinus", "angels" etc). This makes Evangelion re-watchable and gives it character. Also, the imaginative work is incredible with fantastic designs for robots and aliens, and a whole city called "Tokyo 3" with skyscrapers able to withdraw underground and form an inverted city. The battles between the angels and Evas usually take place in Tokyo 3. There are also references to older japanese pop-culture stuff. Like the "Super Robot" genre (Mazinger Z, Getter Robo etc). Just like in Mazinger, the robots need young people to pilot them. And just like in Mazinger the aliens attack one by one, one at a time, with the robots coming up from the underground to meet the challenge. There is also the usual anime mix of cuteness and violence, but beware because Evangelion is not for children.

"Evangelion 1.11 You Are (Not) Alone" is a movie version concentrating several episodes from the original, and giving them slightly other storylines. As I see it this is an improvement, not least in graphics. Evangelion 1.11 looks incredible and considerably better than the original (and on Blu ray!). The downside is that the story is now concentrated which means that certain aspects or details are missing. I think that without having seen the original series this movie can be a little confusing. (Sometimes things go a little fast, for example: it's not very clear thet Eva 00 is protecting 01 with a shield under the attack from the 3rd angel). If you like Evangelion 1.11 you should consider getting the sequel: Evangelion 2.22 (a third film is being made as well). And if you haven't seen the original series it can be recommended.

Highly recommended. If you haven't seen Evangelion you have missed something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for both life-long fans and newcomers, 28 April 2010
By 
D. W. Bissett "dave_bissett" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evangelion 1.11 - You Are (Not) Alone [DVD] (DVD)
In Summer 2006, Hideaki Anno, one of Japan's finest animation directors, announced to the world that he was going back to his famous creation, NEON GENESIS EVANGELION (1995-1996), and re-tell the story in THE REBUILD OF EVANGELION, a tetralogy of movies. The first three would be an alternative version of the series with new animation, settings and characters, while the fourth film would have an completely different end. The reaction was mixed - "why go back and re-tell an anime that is so beloved?"

Some people think EVANGELION has become a cash-cow. But that's not true. Anno is re-telling EVANGELION because he wants to make it look and sound better, and allow newcomers of anime to watch it with life-long fans. He also wants to present the EVANGELION in the way he couldn't back in the mid-1990's.

I'm going to get a major flak for saying this, although EVANGELION has a powerful and fantastic storyline, moments of pure genius and great characters (Rei Ayanami is my all-time favourite anime character, alongside Yuki Nagato from the HARUHI SUZUMIYA franchise), it's not a perfect series. Anno had a very ambitious vision for his creation. But GAINAX, who produced the anime, did not received much money nor time to make the episodes they wanted. When the episodes were failing to meet their deadlines, the budget began to decline, and eariler footage started to get re-use alot. The combination of increasing re-use footage and little new animation mid-way through the series was turning the production into a disaster, which was probably one of the reasons why Anno suffered a nervous breakdown.

EVANGELION then ended with two controversial endings, the final two TV episodes which had fans left either confused or enraged, and the theatrical version THE END OF EVANGELION (1997), in which it had the action-packed finale that the fans wanted but was still confusing and downright depressing.

EVA 1.0: YOU ARE (NOT) ALONE (2007) is a partial remake of the first six episodes of the TV series. But Anno has not edited the footage together and give it a CGI makeover. Before production started, he formed a new anime studio called Studio Khara, reunited nearly all of the cast and crew from the TV series, and re-animated the scenes so it can not only look good on the big-screen, but also blend well with the new footage and 3DCG animation.

It's been about six years since I last saw the series, and I must say I was very impress with this film. The EVA vs. Angel battles truly do look epic and exciting. Some of the scenes from the first six episodes, like Shinji meeting his father before piloting the EVA for the first time, or his encounter with Rei at her apartment, are intact. There are some new scenes, of course. But you'll have to get the Blu-Ray or DVD to see what they are!

From what I heard, the next three films are going to be increasingly different, leading to a conclusion that will hopefully won't be as confusing as the TV series one, nor depressing as THE END OF EVA. All I can say is, roll on the next three REBUILD OF EVANGELION films, Anno and Khara!

Reviewer: Ben David W
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rebuild of Evangelion, 10 May 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evangelion 1.11 - You Are (Not) Alone [DVD] (DVD)
This new version of the Evangelion story is pretty much must a retelling of the story from scratch. While there probably wasn't a great need for this remake I did find this first instalment to be far better than I was expecting. At this point the story is pretty much the same as the original series and due to the length of this film there was some stuff left out which does give some of it a somewhat rushed feel but overall the result was quite good.

The English cast are all as good as in the original version of the series but the animation is far better than it once was. Of particular note was the animation of the Fifth Angel Ramiel which was surprisingly beautiful.

While this remake of Evangelion would probably be best for people who have yet to see the original series, I cannot se any reason why people who are already fans of the series shouldn't enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great blu-ray but where is my guidebook?, 21 Jun 2012
By 
L. O. Woodford (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film and blu ray quality are great and if that was all I was reviewing I would give this a 5 star but I am rating the package as a whole and I can't help but feel stiffed when the American version in addition to everything we get also comes with a 20 page guidebook. "The first two pages discuss why remaking Eva was done and gives a small introduction. After that there are a few pages that describe various versions of animation that appear in the Rebuild video extra. It ends with profile data and a short description of the music video on the Blu-ray. Throughout the booklet are pages that contain nothing but good quality art." (taken from fanboyreview.com)

When all that Manga UK really did was port the US disc, would it of been so hard for them to port the booklet too?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Technical prowess, 1 Mar 2012
This review is for the Blu-ray of Evangelion 1.11.

Audio: English or Japanese Dolby true HD
Subtitles: English only. White with black outline. Well visible.
Extras: 2 storyboards, 1 music video, some trailers and advertisements.

I have to say the video quality of the Blu ray is absolutely top class. From the menu up everything looks slick and infinitely high end. It is a technical feat and a serious quality job, and the drawings are jaw dropping. 5 stars, even though the extras are an insult.

As to the film itself I would just say that you probably need to be either a young boy/man or a preexisting fan to really enjoy this and find the characters appealing or the story gripping. We'll leave it at that, with the fact the machinery and surroundings look *really* cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is just part 1, and more to come, 23 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having watched the original years in the 90s, this theatrical version is making the whole series alive again. I couldn't remember exactly what was in the original series, but this version seems to be a shortened and packed version of it. I don't recall anything that is new in this. Also, this is only part 1 of the story, and there are more to come. I haven't watched the 2.22 yet but it seems from trailers that it will start to divert from the original series from then on. (Correct me if I'm wrong)

I haven't watched the DVD version, but the bluray version has very high quality. The slight disappointment is that the original main theme song is not in the disc. It is such as classic! Also, the bonus materials on the disc are close to nothing. Nevertheless, it is still very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can't wait for the rest, 9 July 2010
By 
M. Bird (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evangelion 1.11 - You Are (Not) Alone [DVD] (DVD)
I remember having first watched Evangelion religiously on SyFy (then called Sci-Fi) in the early hours of the morning. I loved every episode and couldn't fault it, well maybe except for the mind twisting ending.

I have the "platinum remastered" boxset at home, but this new take on probably the most iconic Anime series next to Cowboy Bebop is both a refreshing yet enlightening take on an already excellent story line. I am happy to see that this is not just another "remaster", instead it is a retelling with additions and changes to the story line and promises a new ending. I wonder if it will be as crazy as End of Evangelion?

This DVD is the first of 4, the first 3 films will cover the story as far as the series goes with the 4th being the new ending. I can't wait for the "new" story ending.

As for animation and quality, it is simply TOP NOTCH, excellent use of CGI and drawing, voice acting is great and the music is fantastic.

This is a definate buy for Evangelion fans and Anime fans who have yet to watch evangelion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Vast improvement" somehow doesn't seem strong enough, 13 Jun 2010
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Chances are if you can name any anime series beyond "Pokemon" you've at least heard the name "Evangelion", the biggest success story in 'hardcore' anime history. It's one of those series a lot of people will rave about how deep and intense it is once they see it... I am not one of those people. I found the original TV series to be a serious mixed bag... offering an intriguingly layered metaphor driven coming of age cum apocalyptic sci fi cum giant robot saga that, while initially a revelation, descended into cheap, expositionary double talk, poorly explored characterisation and an often needlessly vague and ill defined overall plot and infuriating cut price production values after the halfway point that spirals into an insultingly cheap finale that even a borderline disturbing movie sequel did nothing to 'fix'. It starts strong, but wastes it's potential.

With Evangelion 1.11 we have the first installment in the new 'Rebuild of Evangelion', a series of four movies that will completely reimagine and redefine Evangelion for a new generation, and boy is it once again a strong start to proceedings.

For the most part, it may appear little has been changed from the original series in this movie. The plot is still centred on self loathing emo kid Shinji Ikari as he is summoned to the city of Tokyo 3 by his estranged father to(For some reason) join the mysterious group NERV and pilot a giant robot in an attempt to protect humanity from a race of giant creatures called the 'Angels' who came close to wiping out mankind 15 years before the movie's opening(Rendering much of the Earth uninhabitable). Shinji reluctantly complies, but his deep rooted emotional problems hold him back, even as his new found 'adopted mother' Misato(His superior officer at NERV initially) tries to give him a sense of purpose. The plot sounds pretty wacky laid out like that, but it watches a lot easier than you might think.

While the original TV series did a decent job with the events this movie covered in the first place, some things have seen definite improvement, in particular the characterisation and overall plot development is much more focused and easier to follow in this movie, with considerably less focus on the vague double talk and hallucinagenic "dream sequences" that the series became so mired in as it went on. This movie does a superb job of portraying the outright isolation of Shinji's existence and his gradual journey towards finding something in his life with real meaning. Basically, this movie made me CARE about it's characters first and foremost before making me want to shake my TV and shout "Stop whining and man up already!". It may only cover the first seven or eight episodes of the TV series, but it presents the plot far better than they ever did.

Where the movie excels though, is in it's visuals. Every inch of the original footage from the show has been completely reanimated and redone with a huge amount of new footage and story mixed in with classic events in a truly seamless manner and the end result is a richly coloured, gorgeously animated eye candy fest with the Angels and Evas themselves being redesigned to llok a lot better and CGI being employed to spectacular effect for some scenes, and on this Blu-Ray release, the crystal clarity of the picture really shames the original show's now very washed out, grainy looking appearance.

The soundtrack work is an area where Evangelion always stand out, and this movie is no different with stirring, often haunting soundtrack that can make the long scenes with no dialogue even more emotionally affecting than any other scenes in the film. Add to this a superb theme song from Utada Hikaru(Who you may remember from the Kingdom Hearts games) and you've got a lovely sounding movie. The voice acting likewise does not disappoint, with the Japanese cast from the TV show reuniting yet again, keeping an aural 'comfort zone' in place for the long time fans if nothing else. The english dub has several of the old ADV dub cast present(Most notably Shinji and Misato's voices), but the new recruits replacing the numerous people who didn't return do a good job with the characters I suppose.

Overall, this movie is easily the best way for an entry level fan to get into Evangelion, despite the fact there is likely to be a wait of years between each of the four installments it's still well worth seeing and, having myself just had the chance to see the second movie 'Evangelion 2.22' and experienced just how vastly it improves the later stages of the TV story and takes the whole mythology in exciting new directions, I can safely say that getting on board with the Rebuild of Evangelion is highly recommended, so get in while the getting's good folks. Eva is officially back on top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not essential, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst the vastly improved visual quality does do service to the original series, the actual writing and story does not. Because it is adapted from the first set of episodes it suffers from less character development than the older series because of the lack of running time, making the characters far less interesting and layered. The plot is also essentially the same, save for some minor differences and character interactions. Preferably, I would have you watch the original series, but if you can't take old animation, then I suppose this is the starting point for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Retelling!, 20 May 2014
NOTE: This is a review of the HMV Exclusive version.
With the upcoming release of Evangelion 3.33 You Can (Not) Redo I decided that it's about time that I did a review of not only one of my favorite anime's franchise, anime movies, but also one of my favorite movie series overall. I will say this now that this is a retelling of the first six episodes of Neon Genesis Evangelion, the original 1995 TV series.

STORY
Set in a fantasy, apocalyptic world, the year is 2015 and most of humanity is wiped out by the events of Second Impact. Humanity is fighting against these beings known as Angels, and our only hope are these two fourteen year old's who can pilot these machines known as Evangelion's. These EVA Units are the only things that can defeat the Angels, and can, for reason, only be piloted by kids.
OK, kids aren't the only ones that can pilot them, but it does raise the question as to why can't anyone else do it? I'm going to with that this is following the original series, and you can't just turn away from the main basics of the original source source material.
Anyway, the plot is good. It likes to focus on other characters that aren't the main character, and give you as much character development that can be squeezed into an hour and forty, or so, minutes. The character development is done really well, so much so that I think that it is better than most films. Then again when a movie series is four movies long you know that there will be more to come. Anyway, development is good as well as the pacing of them film.
I will say now that the pacing may not be to everyone's standards, but if you are disappointing by this one in anyway then watch the second one next.

CHARACTER'S
First off we have Shinji Ikari, who suffers from a symptom called the hedgehogs dilemma. It basically means that he doesn't like to get too close to people, because he's afraid that he will be hurt. And this is where the name of the film comes in. It's about Shinji learning that in this fight against the Angels he is not alone.
Next we have Misato who is a thirty, something, year old women who decides to look after Shinji and give him a home she thinks he deserves. She is one of characters that has a big impact on Shinji, and helps him develop as a character.
Next there's Rei Ayanami, who originally started the emotionless doll character people know and love back in 1995 in the original series. Rei is another character who has an impact on Shinji, and is one of the love interests in the series. Which is made clear quite a few times in the film. Towards the end of the film you can tell that she is already developing as a character. I know I'm being vague here, but I am trying to avoid spoilers.
Finally there's Gendo Ikari, Shinji's farther, who is one of the biggest douche's in cinematic history. He has a plan, and everything follows his plans. He may be unfair to his own son, have his own agenda for why he's there, but you have to give him kudos for planning things so well. But that doesn't stop me from thinking that he is bad farther. Again, trying to avoid spoilers.
There are more characters that I could talk about, but there is just so many that I can't go into too much detail on all of them.

ANIMATION & SOUND
While the animation is clearly better than the original series its not the best, but the best animation does come from the fight scenes. What I will say is that the animation is good, the art style is similar to the original, and the backgrounds are detailed and great to look at.
As far as sound goes it's good. The acting is superb. Spike Spencer returns as Shinji Ikari, along with the woman that played Misato, and the guy that originally played Gendo. Other characters have different voice actors, and for good reason. Colleen Clinkenbird (Hawkeye in Fullmetal Alchemist franchise) is Doctor Ikagi, Brina Palencia (Hydiyoshi and Yuko in Baka and Test) is Rei, and Kent Williams (Hoenhime in Fullmetal Alchemist franchise) is Gendo's right hand man.
The music is also good. Each track is a newer version of the original 1995 tracks, but with some differences. There are new tracks, but in this film it is mostly newer versions of old tracks. No matter how you look at it Shiro Sagisu (Composer for the Bleach franchise) has recorded a fantastic soundtrack that can be listened to without the film. If you like the Evangelion music, or music by Shiro Sagisu, or orchestrated music overall, I recommend to listen or buy the soundtrack to this, as it is really good.

OVERALL
While this is a retelling of the first six episodes of the original series I do think of this as a new film, because of some new things that have been added, or changed, and it is done well. This is the start in the new film series of Evangelion, and what a start it is. I recommend that if you haven't seen anything to do with Evangelion you start here, because I know that the original series isn't for everyone. Though if you do end up liking the films I recommend that you watch the original series, and the End of Evangelion straight after episode 24.
I recommend to buy this as it is a great film; but does the epic story end here? Well I recommend that you watch Evangelion 2.22 You Can (Not) Advance straight after watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evangelion 1.11 - You Are (Not) Alone [DVD]
Evangelion 1.11 - You Are (Not) Alone [DVD] by Hideaki Anno (DVD - 2010)
£16.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews