Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME
This film...I don't even know where to begin, if you like ROCK MUSIC, if you like WOMEN, if you like a bit of WEIRDNESS. This is for you my friend. If you like Spinal Tap & Steel Panther? Right up yo street.
Published 13 months ago by Mehanama

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrestlezania!
A hero luchidor called El Superbistro (or something?) has his eye on a stripper but before he is able to declare his amorous intentions to her, she is kidnapped by a gorilla with a screw loose, who's working on behalf of Dr Satan, Bistro's arch nemesis. So from there El Superbistro has to team up with his sister Lara Croft and rescue the girl and save the world... Easy...
Published 17 months ago by Arch Stanton


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This film...I don't even know where to begin, if you like ROCK MUSIC, if you like WOMEN, if you like a bit of WEIRDNESS. This is for you my friend. If you like Spinal Tap & Steel Panther? Right up yo street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rob zombie's the hautend world of el superbeasto, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
excellent. rob zombie did it again...in animation this time. i love the art style., the plot and the characters. found it a bit short, though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrestlezania!, 28 Mar 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A hero luchidor called El Superbistro (or something?) has his eye on a stripper but before he is able to declare his amorous intentions to her, she is kidnapped by a gorilla with a screw loose, who's working on behalf of Dr Satan, Bistro's arch nemesis. So from there El Superbistro has to team up with his sister Lara Croft and rescue the girl and save the world... Easy peasy!
I'm no stranger to Rob Zombie and have really enjoyed some of his work (Devil's Rejects and that Bigfoot comic, in particular) and I've even been known, on occasion, to listen to his music whilst sticking together my Airfix Panzer battalion, with a cup of tea but after watching this, I'm still none the wiser as to whether I liked it or not!
Yeah its suitably offensive, packed full of sex, violence and bad language. The jokes are plenty and story is certainly nonstop but somewhere its lacking. I'd like to put its shortcomings down to a few of the irritating characters but unfortunately I suspect the films failings are maybe more deep rooted than that and I suspect that this was/is one of those films that worked better and was a lot funnier on paper?! That said, there's a few that seem to really rate this on here, so maybe, despite getting most of the in jokes, silly scripting and sight gags, I missed the element that saved me from finding it all a bit noisy and dull!
The animation serves its purpose and fans of The Tick and Ren and Stimpy should enjoy it at least... Ultimately though, this isn't as good as it should've been.. Meaning that in an alternate universe, out there somewhere, Rob Zombie made a feature length animation of Meng and Ecker instead! Which I'll bet is a hundred times better than this!!
I'd of liked a' making of' on the dvd but didn't get one. However for the price of the disc I'm hardly complaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pants, 27 Mar 2011
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Absolute, stunning visually with vibrant cartoon tones leering across the screen but the story dialogue and the scenes would appeal to the immature 13 year old in me back when I was that age. Fast forward a few years and this is flat screen, daddio

Cartoon sex, well OK if that's your bag. jokes about Hitler and Nazis, all OK but life has moved on, apart from those few stuck in glorifying WW2, the rest of us are more affected by American foreign policy than Adolf.

This aims to be risque, flouting all the rules which it would have done in 1969 but in the 21st century its just old tired cliches strung together to create a narrative. Like much else modern fayre from the USA it tacks into a hormonal rebellion to extract those extra dollars from the newly made affluent. So if you've spent a day flipping burgers for the overweight and fancy something that will take your mind off reality then drop this into the slot and become immersed in something even more innane.

It is full of bright dazzling colours of somewhere over the rainbow but when you wake up you will realise the supo beast is just a pair of "pants."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CLEVER CARTOON........................., 27 Feb 2010
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I did not realise that Rob Zombie had a hand in comics or cartoons. I know him only from that fabulous film "Devil's Rejects". This cartoon is a pornographic adventure involving monsters and zombies and pretty girls. There are jokes galore, many of which may have been lost on me as I am neither American or young enough to aooreciate them. All in all it does not appeal to my taste but it is very well done and the music is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lewd and lively, offensive entertainment. Don't say you weren't warned..., 26 Feb 2010
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This feature-length animated adventure veers from mildly incoherent to outrageously offensive in a blink. Lurking amid the slapstick, fart gags and explicit sexual content are some piercingly witty jokes and delicious observations on celebrity culture, hackneyed movie plots and over-used cliches.
If you are offended by nudity, sexuality, Hitler's head in a jar, zombie Nazis, robots with 'fully functioning' appendages and the like then you shouldn't even be considering this film.
Get over being shocked (there's nowt really *that* shocking about bodily functions after all...) and El Superbeasto is a romp. A silly, shrieky, roar with laughter romp. It suffers from the dialogue being delivered too fast so it's a little difficult to figure out what's going on at first -- the alternative intros on the extra features reveal that earlier versions had a more user-friendly beginning which the makers would have done well to hang on to. Some of the deleted scenes could have been left in, too, which would have made more sense of the plot. Cos there is a plot, be it everso thin and largely obscured by mammary glands.
A perfect movie to watch after ten pints. Not one for Sunday afternoon with the family.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What just happened?, 16 Mar 2010
By 
Sanjay (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Okay, so what did I just watch? I feel like I've been run-over by a mobility scooter... kinda bad but in a funny way.

I think that sums this up for me. It's truly awful but in a way so that it actually makes it interesting & watchable.

The animation borders on Ren & Stimpy with a touch of cheap anime thrown-in. A lot more detail has been put into the naked babes than necessary but I'm not objecting to that

A few of the characters are hilarious; the Nazi Zombie for one and my favourite is Velvet Von Black voiced by potty-mouthed Rosario Dawson.

Borderline madness/genius, worth a view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely funny but not for the easily offended, 24 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Dk Hamm "hornet123" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Never has so much gratuitous sex and senseless violence made me laugh so much as this film did. I must admit that I have never read any of Rob Zombie's comic books or seen any of his earlier films so I came to this fresh and not quite sure what to expect. I was not disappointed.

I would only recommend this however if you are not easily offended by anything, anything at all. If you are, stay well clear. If you have a sense of humour and are OK with sexual and violent scenes or think, hey it's only a cartoon, then this is for you.

Although there is plenty of blood, it is done in a cartoon way that doesn't look real and this makes it all the funnier. As regards the sexual content, well, let's just say I'm sure I'm not the only one to be mildly turned on by Suzi X (played by Rob Zombie's wife by the way) slipping out of her costume. There's even rather rude reference to this sort of behaviour in one of the songs (although I wouldn't quite go as far as the song suggests). The sex scenes though are cliched (intentionally) and caricatured and very funny, particularly the relationship between Suzi X and her randy robot.

Talking of songs, they are brilliant pastiches describing key situations in the film. If you usually let the music pass you by in the background, make sure you listen to the songs as they are as funny as the movie.

The acting is generally very good and done in the spirit of the movie. Well known names include Paul Giamatti who plays Dr Satan and Rosario Dawson who is Velvet von Black. The other main characters, Suzi X and El Superbeasto himself are lesser known actors who do a sterling job.

As has been mentioned in another review, the cartoon does look cheap. However, I think this adds to the style of the film. Perfect animation would not be nearly so funny.

The disc is a bit light on extras, there are a few short deleted and alternate scenes which are worth watching. The only other major extra is good if you like animatics and storyboards as you get the whole film, complete with soundtrack, using the storyboards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shock your friends with this animated masterpiece!, 5 Aug 2014
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
After watching this with my best friend I started buying copies for all my other friends! I thought it was a breath of fresh air from all the honey sweet, politically correct animation movies out there. This is a movie that doesn't take itself seriously and you can have a good laugh with or at it. Some might find this stuff vulgar and not fit for print but then what do you expect? Just look at the cover! What you see is what you get and I loved every single minute of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars '... but it's all about the Context, you see!', 5 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. Felicia Davis-burden (Staines, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is proudly non-PC entertainment; a full-length animation that makes the South Park movie, Renn & Stimpy, Wacky Races, Hammer Horror, Benny Hill, Austin Powers and other action atrocities look extremely tired. I was not expecting much from this movie, perhaps only to cringe and force an occasional laugh.

Well I laughed all the way through! There's one major problem here; while I laughed, I missed some of the explosive and scattershot humour that constantly peppers the brilliantly sharp script. There is constant gratuitous sex and ultra-violence, which is given an odd originality through the use of sharp parodies of every possible cinematic and TV cliche. I wish I could mention some of the best nougats but I really don't want to ruin the surprises, which are many and terrifically funny. You have to keep your eyes and ears tuned to this, or else you miss so many startlingly funny bits because Rob Zombie and the crew hit the viewer with everything they have. Very hard.

El Superbeasto himself is a massively irritating superhero masked wrestler. However, my vote for superstar of the film goes to his sister, the extraordinary Suzi X who is armed and extremely dangerous. She may be a peroxided nightmare with a ridiculous Manga physical make-up, but she's no Penelope Pitstop! She takes the leading lady role to new levels of daring, deliciousness, obscenity, wit and sheer chutzpah. She also supplies many of the biggest laughs, as does her female nemesis Velvet Von Black, a foul-mouthed stripper. For all her considerable assets, Von Black doesn't quite match up to Suzi, when it gets to the ultimate cat-fight.... Oh yes, forget Alexis and Krystal in Dallas. This'll have you gasping and laughing much harder!

Incidentally, anyone who has rapped with their mates over who has the most irritating ring-tone on their phone will find a particularly wonderfull running gag, as will lovers of lava lamps, zombies and the doorman from 'Rhoda' (if you remember, you remember, OK?); even 1950's innocence gets a mighty kick in the nether-regions (if you get the joke, believe me you'll be crying with laughter). I've got to stop there, suffice to say that you should only put this film on if you're most definitely alone or with others who are aware of the fact that this is only a cartoon, everything on the screen is entirely make-believe and there's enough beer, pizzas and packets of crisps to feed you so that no one has to leave the room and miss a single moment of this disgustingly brilliant delight. Rob Zombie and crew, I look forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008]
5.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews