Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lewd and lively, offensive entertainment. Don't say you weren't warned...
This feature-length animated adventure veers from mildly incoherent to outrageously offensive in a blink. Lurking amid the slapstick, fart gags and explicit sexual content are some piercingly witty jokes and delicious observations on celebrity culture, hackneyed movie plots and over-used cliches.
If you are offended by nudity, sexuality, Hitler's head in a jar,...
Published on 26 Feb. 2010 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrestlezania!
A hero luchidor called El Superbistro (or something?) has his eye on a stripper but before he is able to declare his amorous intentions to her, she is kidnapped by a gorilla with a screw loose, who's working on behalf of Dr Satan, Bistro's arch nemesis. So from there El Superbistro has to team up with his sister Lara Croft and rescue the girl and save the world... Easy...
Published on 28 Mar. 2013 by Arch Stanton


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrestlezania!, 28 Mar. 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A hero luchidor called El Superbistro (or something?) has his eye on a stripper but before he is able to declare his amorous intentions to her, she is kidnapped by a gorilla with a screw loose, who's working on behalf of Dr Satan, Bistro's arch nemesis. So from there El Superbistro has to team up with his sister Lara Croft and rescue the girl and save the world... Easy peasy!
I'm no stranger to Rob Zombie and have really enjoyed some of his work (Devil's Rejects and that Bigfoot comic, in particular) and I've even been known, on occasion, to listen to his music whilst sticking together my Airfix Panzer battalion, with a cup of tea but after watching this, I'm still none the wiser as to whether I liked it or not!
Yeah its suitably offensive, packed full of sex, violence and bad language. The jokes are plenty and story is certainly nonstop but somewhere its lacking. I'd like to put its shortcomings down to a few of the irritating characters but unfortunately I suspect the films failings are maybe more deep rooted than that and I suspect that this was/is one of those films that worked better and was a lot funnier on paper?! That said, there's a few that seem to really rate this on here, so maybe, despite getting most of the in jokes, silly scripting and sight gags, I missed the element that saved me from finding it all a bit noisy and dull!
The animation serves its purpose and fans of The Tick and Ren and Stimpy should enjoy it at least... Ultimately though, this isn't as good as it should've been.. Meaning that in an alternate universe, out there somewhere, Rob Zombie made a feature length animation of Meng and Ecker instead! Which I'll bet is a hundred times better than this!!
I'd of liked a' making of' on the dvd but didn't get one. However for the price of the disc I'm hardly complaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lewd and lively, offensive entertainment. Don't say you weren't warned..., 26 Feb. 2010
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This feature-length animated adventure veers from mildly incoherent to outrageously offensive in a blink. Lurking amid the slapstick, fart gags and explicit sexual content are some piercingly witty jokes and delicious observations on celebrity culture, hackneyed movie plots and over-used cliches.
If you are offended by nudity, sexuality, Hitler's head in a jar, zombie Nazis, robots with 'fully functioning' appendages and the like then you shouldn't even be considering this film.
Get over being shocked (there's nowt really *that* shocking about bodily functions after all...) and El Superbeasto is a romp. A silly, shrieky, roar with laughter romp. It suffers from the dialogue being delivered too fast so it's a little difficult to figure out what's going on at first -- the alternative intros on the extra features reveal that earlier versions had a more user-friendly beginning which the makers would have done well to hang on to. Some of the deleted scenes could have been left in, too, which would have made more sense of the plot. Cos there is a plot, be it everso thin and largely obscured by mammary glands.
A perfect movie to watch after ten pints. Not one for Sunday afternoon with the family.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pants, 27 Mar. 2011
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Absolute, stunning visually with vibrant cartoon tones leering across the screen but the story dialogue and the scenes would appeal to the immature 13 year old in me back when I was that age. Fast forward a few years and this is flat screen, daddio

Cartoon sex, well OK if that's your bag. jokes about Hitler and Nazis, all OK but life has moved on, apart from those few stuck in glorifying WW2, the rest of us are more affected by American foreign policy than Adolf.

This aims to be risque, flouting all the rules which it would have done in 1969 but in the 21st century its just old tired cliches strung together to create a narrative. Like much else modern fayre from the USA it tacks into a hormonal rebellion to extract those extra dollars from the newly made affluent. So if you've spent a day flipping burgers for the overweight and fancy something that will take your mind off reality then drop this into the slot and become immersed in something even more innane.

It is full of bright dazzling colours of somewhere over the rainbow but when you wake up you will realise the supo beast is just a pair of "pants."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Smutty, ridiculous, illogical - but man, is it funny, 31 Oct. 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Rob Zombie's The Haunted World of El Superbeasto is ridiculous story of our titular burly Mexican-masked wrestler-come-actor chap (Tom Papa) and his super-sexy sister Susi-X (Sheri Moon Zombie, no really, that's a real name - it's the director's wife). It's a bit of a strange set-up, bullied at school (aren't they all?) our super-villain Dr. Satan (clue's in the name, voiced by Paul Giamatti) is trying to marry the sewer-orificed Velvet von Black (voiced by Rosario Dawson), if he succeeds then he will transform into the ultimate dark lord or something and take over the world, scuppering Beasto's career plans. Also, there are legions of Nazi-zombies after Suzi-X who stole the Fuhrer's head-in-a-jar.

It's all a bit nonsensical and suspended in hyperbole, but the songs and script are very, very intelligent, there are obscure references and digs at all sorts of things. There are multiple references to other films and pop-culture and the characters all fulfil some sort of stereotype that needs pulling down, whether it's Beasto's arrogance & vanity, Velvet's money-grabbing & promiscuity, Suzi's naïvety or just Dr Satan's straight-up perversion, it's all fair game.

The animation is fantastic, with some very strange subject material to really indulge the medium of animation, the girls are ridiculously sexy and at several points this is verging on animated-pornography ("Relax, the Japanese do it all the time") and there are numerous references to drugs, violence and sex, all that bad stuff - but that's what makes it fun. This is nonsensical, but if you used to love The Ren and Stimpy Show then you are sure to enjoy this - dim the lights, numb the grey matter and put this on and you are sure to laugh. Recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Over-the-top adult humor with only glimmers of actual comedy, 17 Mar. 2010
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Rob Zombie's 2009 trashy-comedy-exploitation full length animation film entitled 'The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto' was adapted from his comic book series starring ex-Mexican luchador-cum-superhero El Superbeasto and his sexy-sidekick sister Suzi-X (now voiced by none other than Zombie's wife Sheri Moon Zombie).

Packed to the rafters with wildly over-the-top adult humor projected in a puerile and somewhat childish manner, the film flitters from one crude and corny 'joke' to the next. The constant injection of animated sex and cartoon nudity becomes tiresome to say the least. Indeed, strip out all of the innuendo gags and school-boy-esque humor and the film would be reduced to just half its length.

That said there are numerous aspects of the storyline and script that bring forth a smile on any good horror-movie-buffs face. The sheer barrage of homages to the entire span of horror move history creates a "spot the next one" game for even the casualest of horror fans.

The movie soundtrack predominantly by Hard `n' Phirm is one of the highlights of the film. Lyrically, these sudden musical outbursts are possibly the wittiest of elements to accompany the storyline. Listen carefully to the lyrics as the more action-packed moments of the storyline pan out; it's certainly hard to suppress a sly chuckle or two.

Zombie's personal obsession with classic horror characters/icons and his previous artistical approach to illustrating these (particularly within the likes of the 'White Zombie' album sleeves) are evident throughout the film. So much so is this the case, that numerous playfully jocular reminders of these characters can be seen returning to the animation, sometimes only subtly skulking in the background.

All in all the film is as outrageous as it is bizarre. An obvious appeal towards the horror-buff market as well as those who enjoy similarly adult animation. Raunchiness is often sadly mistaken for comedy though, and so many times the storyline seems to miss the mark somewhat. Worth a watch the once, but I wouldn't be returning to it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For fans of the comic (or fans of animated jiggling funbags)., 28 Feb. 2010
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The DVD Starts in the style of an old black and white horror film, but within seconds we are thrown into the chaotic adventures of the masked hero El Superbeasto and the sassy Suzi-X as they save the world from the devil and a horde of zombie nazis...

...There's plenty naughty shenanigans as the characters tend to either be scantily clad buxom ladies - or guys obsessed by them. If that sounds a bit 'Benny Hill' - then obviously the makers of the film thought the same as towards the end there's a parody of the blinky comedian's trademark sped-up routine (including theme tune!). All the animated bare boobs coupled with the cartoon violence makes it clear from the outset that this is a bit of fun, nothing to be taken seriously - just a bit of a naughty laugh.

There's not much else to this really and the lack of substance shows. Once the novelty of the visuals has worn off you're just left with a banal feature length cartoon with the animation quality you expect from a kids TV program. The plot is pretty thin but the funny comedy sketch moments scattered throughout are genuinely quite funny, just about funny enough to justify watching until the final credits roll.

The Haunted World of El Superbeasto is full of references to other films, primarily (though not exclusively) of the horror genre, there are nods to the likes of Halloween, Alien and The Shining. As a film fan I enjoyed spotting various characters or scene recreations from famous movies. Some are pretty obvious, whereas some are easy to miss (such as a familiar face in a queue or crowd.)

In a nutshell: Fans of the comic book will get more out of this film as they will already be familiar with the characters and enjoy seeing brought to life on screen. Those new to Rob Zombie will perhaps find this a bit poor but with enough humour to make it watchable, after all; it's not often you get to hear the song lyrics "It's okay to j*rk off to cartoons - the Japanese do it every day. So rub one out for the USA".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, if crude., 4 Mar. 2010
By 
David Lovie (Aberdeen, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Haunted World of El Superbeasto is the feature length cartoon adaptation of Rob Zombies comic series of the same name. The story centres around El Superbeasto himself, a wrestler/porn star/superhero living in Monsterland - a world very much in the vein of the Transylvania seen in cartoons - alongside Suzi-X, his sister, sidekick and the real brains and skill with her robot Murray fighting to save stripper Velvet Von Black from the evil clutches of Dr Satan, while at the same time saving the world from a group of Nazi zombies as a sideline.

If you have not guessed yet, El Superbeasto is not exactly high brow comedy, but is an entertaining, if crude blast through an amusing storyline chock full of cheap gags with somewhat of a leaning towards hot cartoon girls with large breasts. All the characters fit into some mostly generic but amusing stereotypes - El Superbeasto himself being the attention grabbing, full of himself and inept lead, Suzi-X covering up for this with the skills and some nazi zombies that fit pretty much all of the over the top stereotypes. The storyline is again fairly obvious, but at the same time entertaining and is propped up by the continual barrage of incredibly cheap one liners that flow throughout.

So if you are looking for something intellectual, then I would avoid El Superbeasto like the plague, but for a crude and amusing carton, it stands up pretty well and kept me more than entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CLEVER CARTOON........................., 27 Feb. 2010
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I did not realise that Rob Zombie had a hand in comics or cartoons. I know him only from that fabulous film "Devil's Rejects". This cartoon is a pornographic adventure involving monsters and zombies and pretty girls. There are jokes galore, many of which may have been lost on me as I am neither American or young enough to aooreciate them. All in all it does not appeal to my taste but it is very well done and the music is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely funny but not for the easily offended, 24 Feb. 2010
By 
Junior Hornet "hornet123" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Never has so much gratuitous sex and senseless violence made me laugh so much as this film did. I must admit that I have never read any of Rob Zombie's comic books or seen any of his earlier films so I came to this fresh and not quite sure what to expect. I was not disappointed.

I would only recommend this however if you are not easily offended by anything, anything at all. If you are, stay well clear. If you have a sense of humour and are OK with sexual and violent scenes or think, hey it's only a cartoon, then this is for you.

Although there is plenty of blood, it is done in a cartoon way that doesn't look real and this makes it all the funnier. As regards the sexual content, well, let's just say I'm sure I'm not the only one to be mildly turned on by Suzi X (played by Rob Zombie's wife by the way) slipping out of her costume. There's even rather rude reference to this sort of behaviour in one of the songs (although I wouldn't quite go as far as the song suggests). The sex scenes though are cliched (intentionally) and caricatured and very funny, particularly the relationship between Suzi X and her randy robot.

Talking of songs, they are brilliant pastiches describing key situations in the film. If you usually let the music pass you by in the background, make sure you listen to the songs as they are as funny as the movie.

The acting is generally very good and done in the spirit of the movie. Well known names include Paul Giamatti who plays Dr Satan and Rosario Dawson who is Velvet von Black. The other main characters, Suzi X and El Superbeasto himself are lesser known actors who do a sterling job.

As has been mentioned in another review, the cartoon does look cheap. However, I think this adds to the style of the film. Perfect animation would not be nearly so funny.

The disc is a bit light on extras, there are a few short deleted and alternate scenes which are worth watching. The only other major extra is good if you like animatics and storyboards as you get the whole film, complete with soundtrack, using the storyboards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Funny in places, not hugely entertaining on the whole., 28 Feb. 2010
By 
Max - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Rob Zombie's El Superbeasto is a short movie that certainly doesn't pretend to be anything high brow. In fact this is pretty low brow on the whole. Much violence, much nudity, much swearing, with just the hint that somewhere there's a point to all of it.

While the animation is very Ren and Stimpy and the music is pretty funny it feels like something I should be watching on a Saturday Morning (if you take away all that gives this an 18 certificate). Rather than something an adult would be happy to sit and watch, let alone buy on DVD.

Rob Zombie's obviously known for his B-movie slasher films (and being in various bands) but this is anything but a homage to the classics. This is a crude cartoon for those that like their humour Viz-mag style. Although not devoid of anything entertaining it's not something I'd watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rob Zombie Presents The Haunted World Of El Superbeasto [DVD] [2008]
£4.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews