Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You Network!
A reasonably priced anthology of main themes and incidental cues from the cream of Sir Lew Grade's ITC Company. Fans of retro TV, 60's soundtracks and library music will savour every last note. Unquestionably, this is one of the finest releases in the niche world of soundtracks this year and might encourage similar releases from other cult shows. For those who have not...
Published on 23 Nov. 2009 by Levy

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg - good in parts
While I agree with the reviews so far - in that there is no similar comprehensive collection like this on the market - it needs to be said that although there is a wealth of material, tracks themeselves are annoyingly short -some just a few seconds, and that the quality of the recording for transfer is very variable. The Baron, Gideon's Way and The Saint are very poor...
Published on 5 Feb. 2010 by P. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You Network!, 23 Nov. 2009
By 
Levy "Mod" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Music of ITC (Audio CD)
A reasonably priced anthology of main themes and incidental cues from the cream of Sir Lew Grade's ITC Company. Fans of retro TV, 60's soundtracks and library music will savour every last note. Unquestionably, this is one of the finest releases in the niche world of soundtracks this year and might encourage similar releases from other cult shows. For those who have not (and I can't believe there is anyone) seen at least one of these shows, expect to hear stylings of jazz, lounge, easy and funk - although some of it is at times generic and would benefit from seeing the on screen action, much of it (especially disc 2) is exciting stuff. Although all Main themes, or at least versions of, have been released previously on either Vinyl or CD, the incidental cues have not been except those which Network have released on their box sets and the main themes are as heard on the show, so for instance 'Avenues & Alleyways' by Tony Christie is not the same version found on many comps and appears in an edited form. The Saint includes all versions of the opening titles. Return Of The Saint includes the European theme by the De Angelis Brothers - horrible euro pap but fun. Sadly, Persuaders fans are unlikely to see a full soundtrack release as much of Ken Thorne's original music has been lost - we do however get the much requested 'Gotta Gettaway by Jackie Trent. All in all an essential purchase.

What you get: 2 discs (158 mins), 113 tracks and a lavishly illustrated booklet with decent sleeve notes.

Disc 1
1-6 Danger Man (half hour series)(Edwin Astley)
7-13 Danger Man (hour series)(Edwin Astley)
14-15 Gideon's Way (Edwin Astley)
16-22 The Baron (Edwin Astley)
23-31 The Saint (Edwin Astley)
32-37 Man In A Suitcase (Ron Grainer / Albert Elms)
38-44 The Prisoner (Ron Grainer / Albert Elms / Robert Farnon)
45-53 The Champions (Tony Hatch / Edwin Astley / Albert Elms)
54-61 Department S (Edwin Astley)

Disc 2
1-6 Randall & Hopkirk (Edwin Astley)
7-13 Strange Report (Roger Webb)
14-17 The Persuaders (John Barry / unknown)
18-25 Jason King (Laurie Johnstone)
26-33 The Protectors (Mitch Murray / John Cameron)
34-36 The Adventurer (John Barry / unknown)
37-44 The Zoo Gang (Paul McCartney / Ken Thorne)
45-52 Return Of The Saint (Brian Dee / G&M De Angelis)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 21 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Music of ITC (Audio CD)
This collection is essential not only for anyone who loves the ITC series of the sixties and seventies, but also for anyone interested in the music of that era. As many of the series were repeated in the eighties and nineties, this music is guaranteed to transport most people back to their formative years.

The albums are laid out in chronological order so it is possible to hear the evolution of tv music in this era. The themes are excellent and the recordings clear and fresh sounding. While each theme is a true classic, the incidental tracks stand up well too. Many are beautifully crafted pieces in their own right. Stand outs among these are The Champions, which are as evocative as the theme itself; Department S, particularly the last track; Randal and Hopkirk, including a wonderful track with a rich sepulchral atmosphere; and an engaging reworking of "Avenues and Alleyways", one of the most iconic ITC themes. Repeated listenings also show what an incredible piece of work "The Prisoner" theme actually is, with complexities that make for very satisfying listening, especially as presented here with Opening theme, reprise and end theme interspersed with incidental music.

The highlight for me is the Strange Report selection, which not only features the brilliant theme in full, but also a laid back version of the theme that could almost be called lounge music.

The supporting booklet is excellent, with information on the composers and the shows themselves. There is also a nice pictorial homage to one of the unsung stars of ITC serials - the white Mark II Jaguar whose appearance always heralded a trip to the nearest cliff.

My only criticism is that the Return of the Saint tracks get a bit repetetive, but they're right at the end so it doesn't matter.

A glorious musical treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A raid in the ITC archives!, 23 Dec. 2009
By 
Mr. RE Johnson (Sunbury on Thames, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Music of ITC (Audio CD)
Anyone over a certain age will remember with fondness (and occasional rose tintidness) the ITC shows that rolled across the British TV screens in the 60s and 70s. Some were good ... and some not so. This album perfectly captures the music of those shows, and is ideal for someone that wants to hear again the muic but does not particularly want the entires soundtracks that exist for some of the shows - a perfect halfway house. Highly recommended. The only reason it didn't get five stars is that it would have been nice to have all of the Protectors end song (Avenues and Alleyways)rather than just the bit that was actually featured at the end of the show. Other than that minor flaw, an album to enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the best, 14 May 2010
By 
Brian C. (Brampton, Ont. Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Music of ITC (Audio CD)
A superb and valuable collection of main/end titles and incidental music from many of ITC's classic (and some not-so-classic) TV shows from the 60s and 70s. I say valuable because while a number of these scores are available elsewhere in complete editions (some running to 5 cds), some of the programs in this collection ( "Gideon's Way"; "The Baron"; "The Persuaders"; "The Adventurer"; "The Return of the Saint") have had most, if not all, of their incidental music lost over time, so that the music from these particular shows included here represent practically all the music that remains, making this a truly valuable collection. Add to this an informative and well laid-out booklet (with plenty of photos), and often surprisingly good sound quality, especially from "Danger Man", the earliest program represented here. All-in-all, an outstanding collection from a time when television not only had great music, but also main title graphics that did justice to the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let's Revisit the Wonderful Sounds of ITC Mysteries!, 27 Jan. 2010
By 
Mikio Takahashi (Hyogo, JAPAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Music of ITC (Audio CD)
If you already have a copy of 'ITC 50' DVD, I advise you to have this double CD set in your collection, too. Here you can hear the music of the opening and ending titles of each series contained in that DVD. You can also hear a variety of cues used in the dramas and the booklet tells you the brief information about the composers who contributed to the success of the ITC world.
When these TV programs were shown in Japan in the '60s and '70s, it was not rare that Japanese narration was added to the opening titles and that the ending titles were omitted. In the case of 'THE CHAMPIONS,' the original title music was substituted by another composer's work!! These two CDs have enabled me to meet the theme music of the ITC world in a GENUINE form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly good moneys worth and compact., 28 April 2011
This review is from: The Music of ITC (Audio CD)
Initially I only purchased it for two tracks that I could not find anywhere else, notably, the masterpiece score of The Adventurer by John Barry and the original TV theme version from The Strange Report. I already have most of the tracks on this album so did not want them. What this double CD has is other music tracks from the series which was a bonus; some rather quaint and funky atmospheric and at times totally out there. I even discovered tracks from The Prisoner score (which I am a huge fan of) so I was left with a bargain which I will return to now and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ITC the appeal of this compilation., 30 Mar. 2010
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Music of ITC (Audio CD)
Having recently spent a lot of time watching the reruns of various ITC shows on television at the moment, I came to realise how much I was enjoying the incidental music and the opening/closing scores too, and with that in mind was thrilled to discover that this compilation was available. It doesn't disappoint, and brings back some great nostalgic memories with every listen. Essential for fans of 60s and 70s TV and for lovers of library music. I enjoy using this music as background music to everyday life and to create an atmosphere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extending pleasure for ITC fans, 26 Jun. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Music of ITC (Audio CD)
I am an unashamed fan of all the shows produced by ITC in the 50s, 60 and 70s. Glamorous, exciting, heroic and lots of fun, one of the most exciting parts of these shows were the amazing scores that sat in the memory long after viewing had finished.

There are some cues from programmes like this that remain in my memory, despite not having seen them for years.

So it is an absolute joy for me to have a CD of the original recordings of some of these incidental cues along with the iconic title musics.

I have been enjoying these tracks whilst driving the car, which takes me right back of my childhood (and reminds me that a lot of these cues were covering people like Roger Moore and Peter Wyngarde driving their glamorous sports cars.

If you like this kind of televisoon then this is a great buy for you.

I recommend highly.

D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg - good in parts, 5 Feb. 2010
By 
P. Jones "tri311" (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Music of ITC (Audio CD)
While I agree with the reviews so far - in that there is no similar comprehensive collection like this on the market - it needs to be said that although there is a wealth of material, tracks themeselves are annoyingly short -some just a few seconds, and that the quality of the recording for transfer is very variable. The Baron, Gideon's Way and The Saint are very poor versions. Strange Report theme is pretty distorted, and it's not till we get to Return of the Saint (right at the end of the CD) that we get some superior sound and long(ish) tracks. Compare this with Silva Screen's recent release of Barry Gray's music (Stand by for Action) where efforts have been made to both enhance the listening quality and mix and merge backing music and you'll see what a disappinting effort ITC Muisc is. So, all in all, good to own for the content but very disappointing in its execeution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What every ITC Theme junkie has been waiting for, and worth it!!, 28 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. Jack Gray "jackmaster" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Music of ITC (Audio CD)
In the past few years, Network has been releasing soundtrack CD's from top ITC action series, but this release will, and is bound to top them all.

And since this is only a pre-review, the contents of the discs are looking very promising indeed, and are crammed full of incidental music from the series such as, "Gotta Get Away", from The Persuaders' opnening episode, "Overture", as well as the main themes from, "Return Of The Saint", "The Champions", "Jason King", "The Adventurer", "The Zoo Gang", a.o.. Incidentally the theme from the Zoo Gang can either be found on the B-side of Wings's single, "Band On The Run", or, the CD of, 1975's, "Venus And Mars".

Trust me this CD is, and will be very sought after so I recommend you order a copy as I have done. You'll never regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Music of ITC
The Music of ITC by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews