Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting but with issues.
Very interesting series and I will certainly be buying the second series when it's released.
There is a good cross section of expert opinion and modern day equivalent scenarios.

The CG animation of this possible future is interesting but a little low-res and each piece is quite short and overly repeated throughout the series.

A couple of...
Published on 1 July 2010 by I. S. J. Roberts

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very american
It's a very american reconstruction, very nice special effects but sloppy reconsctruction, and it considers only the US main cities. Europe is barely mentioned (London; one image of Paris, that's all).
It also does not consider that many cities could be covered by ash or earth, like pompeii to name just one the most famous. It seems to ignore that not every human...
Published on 3 Sep 2010 by scardan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting but with issues., 1 July 2010
By 
I. S. J. Roberts (Cowes, IOW UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After People: The Complete Season One (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Very interesting series and I will certainly be buying the second series when it's released.
There is a good cross section of expert opinion and modern day equivalent scenarios.

The CG animation of this possible future is interesting but a little low-res and each piece is quite short and overly repeated throughout the series.

A couple of hypotheses are a little out there, such as the escaped chimps learning to leave some bird eggs to ensure future generations. It's hard to even call that speculation more pure fantasy if you ask me but generally it keeps to the facts or at least a believable hypothesis for a world with out man.

There's still an awful lot of questions have been left unanswered though, possibly the reason for a second series!

The worst part, after the egg collecting chimps has to be the constant repetition, being an American series it has the annoying habit of showing snippets of what your about to see where I guess the adverts would have been scheduled into the program. This happens five or six times an episode and gets quite irritating. Had they edited it down to remove these unnecessary scenes the running time would be half what it is but would have made it far more watchable and enjoyable for it!

It's good but could be so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very american, 3 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After People: The Complete Season One (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
It's a very american reconstruction, very nice special effects but sloppy reconsctruction, and it considers only the US main cities. Europe is barely mentioned (London; one image of Paris, that's all).
It also does not consider that many cities could be covered by ash or earth, like pompeii to name just one the most famous. It seems to ignore that not every human dwelling is build like new york.

Barely nice the first time you watch it the first time, it leaves no need nor desider to watch it a second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost everything was great, 16 Mar 2012
By 
J. Nelson (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life After People: The Complete Season One (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching some episodes of life after people on the history channel and thought, i wonder if this is going to be on DVD because i thought it was quite good. So i decided to look on amazon to see if it was on DVD. It was not (but that was because it had not finished on the history channel). When it did finally come out on DVD i got it as quick as i could. I was a bit unsure because if i should of first because i did not see all of the first season. But when it came and i watched it all i was very impressed. And what i really liked about it was when the buildings came down and when there was explosions etc. I thought that the narration was good as well and all the facts. The music also went well with it and i also liked it when you here a sought of ghost voice when it says 1 hour after people, 1 day after people etc. Definitely recommend to anyone interested in this sought of stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 27 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Life After People: The Complete Season One (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
If you like documentaries this is worth a watch, makes you wonder what will happen to the city you live in if we all disappeared. Sounds morbid, but its' actually quite interesting lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blending Past and Future toghether, 25 Sep 2011
By 
Rozz Atanassova (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Life After People: The Complete Season One (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This is an absolutely brilliant series putting toghether amazing CGI imagery, with well thought out concepts, tied toghether with real examples from historic and current events to back up the reasons for their predictions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dumbed Down, 28 Jan 2011
By 
Matthew Jenkins (Curitiba, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After People: The Complete Season One (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
It comes across as a bit dumbed down. Ghoulish views of deteriorating mummies in museums don't strike me as all that important. A section on the fate of pets in London had them turning into feral mongrels; in reality almost all of them would swiftly die from starvation. Sequences about an abandoned sports stadium showed its interior turning into a green jungle; in reality, its glass ceiling would quickly cover over with algae, making it dark inside. And so on.

Nit-picking aside, however, it was fun to watch. I guess all of us at some time or other have seen images of abandoned Maya cities and wondered how our own would appear. The special effects are impressive; my children liked it. It was worth buying despite the occasional aggravation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best history, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After People: The Complete Season One (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
i liked this dvd becuse it gives a grate insight into our plant to show what it was like and what
would happen to our plant if people were not on it.My two kid,s loved this dvd to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting series, 18 April 2014
By 
Mr. T. Pincham "Pinchton" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After People: The Complete Season One (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Very interesting series.
I remember seeing one of these on Channel 4 some time ago so decided to buy the full series.
Only problem is that alot of the information is repeated over each episode as you follow the destruction of each of the major cities but still the special effects are stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series!, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this series, is a must for anyone who is interested in seeing the influence that people have on the world but is really interesting for anyone really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good casual viewing, but not compelling, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After People: The Complete Season One (3-Disc Set) [DVD] (DVD)
As boxed sets go, this one is obviously much, much better than it would have been to see on TV. The number of times that the show in interrupted with a bit of preamble about what's coming in the next segment, and then a cut to black, and then a "welcome back" kind of intro... it shows that the broadcast version must have been absolutely maddening in terms of the interruptions for commercial breaks. We Brits don't take kindly to that.

So, it's better as a DVD set, right? Well... somewhat. The "coming next ... cut to black ... restate the story so far ... resume" cycle becomes very irritating. Each episode could have been edited specially for DVD, to make a much better product. Since this hasn't been done, what you get is as if you recorded the show on TV and edited out the breaks yourself - so I'll only give it 3 stars.

The voice-over is good and well-cast (unusual choice of a Brit in an otherwise overwhelmingly US-themed show), and the production values are generally high, although the animations of buildings crumbling don't look quite right, and I didn't like the repetitive flickering animation of "X days after people" at all.

Perhaps the biggest problem with the series is that it goes over the same ground again and again. Sure, it's a different city each week, but once you've seen one or two animations of skyscrapers falling down, you've seen them all. Factually, there is a difference between one being weakened by fire, another by earthquake and another by corrosion, but most viewers will rapidly start to feel deja vu as the series progresses. Despite the very interesting premise of the programme, it proves to be something of a 'one trick pony' in that regard.

This is another potential weakness of the boxed set: instead of waiting a week for the next episode, you can watch several one after another. I watched one each night, and at the end of a week I felt that the show was incredibly formulaic. Granted, there are new bits and pieces each week (elephants, domesticated dogs, kudzu...) but the basic formula is the same: a national treasure, a few landmark buildings, a couple of cities in the USA, some 'talking head' subject experts, a visit to a site that's already been abandoned in our own time, and a gradual progression from "1 day after people" until the distant future where every trace is wiped out. This works well the first time you see an episode, but when you watch them all, it comes across as somewhat unimaginative.

Perhaps it gets better, later, but I don't think I'll be buying Series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews