Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Oh Yeah! AAGHH! AAGHH!" - The Smoker You Drink, The Player You Get by JOE WALSH (2009 USA 'Audio Fidelity' CD Remaster)
As a war-weary veteran of some 300+ reviews across 2 years of Amazon and Blog postings, like many music fans purchasing remastered CDs, I grow tired of record companies and their blurbs about 'meticulous transfers' and 'painstaking restoration'... So it was with a certain amount of gonad-holding trepidation that I approached the latest Audiophile reissue of one of my...
Published on 17 Jan 2010 by Mark Barry

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Showing its age ...
An album that I meant to buy when it was first released and have never got round to doing so until now. Almost wish I hadn't bothered. My life would not be incomplete without it. It's a museum pice, gathwering dust on a shelf in some back rrom. Was it ever cutting-edge?
Published 16 months ago by Chris Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The More you Play The Happier You Get, 28 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. M. P. Dibley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like one of the other reviewers, I bought this when it first came out in the 70's, on plastic then tape, (for the car). The C.D. is just as fresh now as then, fantastic sound. There are not many artists whose albums you can play over and over again but Joe Walsh songs are as evergreen as Fleetwood Mac with Rumours e.g..(Didn't he and Stevie Nicks.......thats another story !)"Barnstorm", "So What", and "But Seriously Folks" are just as good. Try his new album, "Analogue Man", he can still write them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rocky Mountain Daydream, 1 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Much has been said about Joe's "strangulated weasel" voice, but he does produce some treasures and classics. It has to be said, in between some vin ordinaires.
The opening track on this collection, "Rocky Mountain Way",is a classic in its way. Strong but not too heavy rock with a captivating hearbeat. Listen to it a few times and his guitar "voice tube" bits, can even stop grating.
He can sometimes sink into schmaltz, like the next track "Book Ends", but with enough musical bite to compensate.
Some Eagle-like notes at the start of "Wolf" shows how Mr. Frey and the rest thought he could fit in well.
Is he being serious with "Midnight Moodies". Yes, serious as jazz.
At this point the album is drifting a bit into dreamland "Happy Ways" should be the sole property of the Hare Krishna fellowship. Not in any way decrying their musical nous, of course.
"Meadows" starts with a boogie scream, then jogs along quite nicely into its pastoral blue skied poetry.
A gradual fade, for the rest of the collection, into Hippy/Poppy reflections and dreams is ok with me, but where is the real Joe Walsh?
I don't know. I'm just and ordinary average....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars eagles fans only, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just get a collection of all joes work in the james gang solo eagles and listen to a unique sublime talent ,without joe in 77 the eagles would have ended.Charisma?the charisma lennon had that made the beatles..loved you on the one show,not being baited by that slimy little prick.love yer mate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice old album, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an album I listened to a lot in the early-mid 70s, while a student. Very good mix from heavy Rocky Mountain Way, to much lighter, latin feel songs. Nice reminder of a well-produced album made by accomplished musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure classic Joe Walsh - excellent album - at his prime., 4 May 2012
By 
P. D. Fox "Lover of musix" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like the Eagles, you will like this. If you like Joe Walsh,you will like this. If you like good atmospheric enjoyable music. You will like this.

I wish someone paid me for writing reviews. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tuneful, 16 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, he isn't the world's greatest singer. But the superb craftmanship manifested on this disc more than makes up for that. I always wondered what lead the Eagles' recent guitar focused music and heres the answer. A great tunesmith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Showing its age ..., 5 April 2013
By 
Chris Williams "Chris" (Hampton Hill, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An album that I meant to buy when it was first released and have never got round to doing so until now. Almost wish I hadn't bothered. My life would not be incomplete without it. It's a museum pice, gathwering dust on a shelf in some back rrom. Was it ever cutting-edge?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews