Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weapons of Choice
A sniper rifle, grenade gun and a bazooka.

For you the choice may be different, but the thing here will be familiarity and ease of use.

You come up on a guard post. No one has seen you so you slink into the undergrowth. Sniper rifle. Take them out from a distance.

The guard post is alerted and two jeeps with mounted machine guns come...
Published on 27 April 2010 by Filthy Raider

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed.
I purchased this because I really enjoyed FC3 and found that many people thought this was as good if not better (apart from respawning of enemies). Personally I found this version dull and not very enjoyable. The graphics are great and the gameplay is pretty good too but the story was not very entertaining and the colours are dull and lifeless compare to FC3.
Published 16 months ago by S. Riggall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weapons of Choice, 27 April 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A sniper rifle, grenade gun and a bazooka.

For you the choice may be different, but the thing here will be familiarity and ease of use.

You come up on a guard post. No one has seen you so you slink into the undergrowth. Sniper rifle. Take them out from a distance.

The guard post is alerted and two jeeps with mounted machine guns come racing at you. Grenade launcher.

Just for the fun of it. Bazooka.

And that is Far Cry 2. It ain't perfect, some missions can be repetitive and I've read of others getting stuck at 84ish % when the game has a bug, but this is good honest FPS Gaming.

For a real treat hit the petrol dump in the dark. The fire effects are amazing. You can burn the grass lands just to flush enemies out.

Initially you feel on a 'rail' as you MUST do certain things to go further, but this is a small part at the start of the game, and after that you are effectively left to do as you want. Get a mission from one faction or the other, take on an 'hit' (target of opportunity!) or hit the latest convoy the gun dealer's rival is trying to get into the area.

Loads of weapons to earn, buddies to meet, vehicles to use (can't get used to that blinkin' hanglider!).

The game has its faults: As said the missions can be repetitive, the bad guys simply go crazy when they spot you and having to take your maleria tablets every so often (and sometimes in the middle of a pitched) battle can be annoying, but the other points of FC2 will make those 'faults' easier to take.

Good online multi player too.

Now if I could just stop hitting zebras in the dark............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heart of darkness, 10 Nov 2009
By 
simon gurney (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Quite simply Far Cry 2 is an awesome game, one of the best fps games for a long time, a very similar gaming experience to GTA although with more possible approaches to playing, and for anyone who enjoyed Black on the PS2 this is a must have. like many other reviewers i wouldnt compare this to COD as its much less linear, with COD you can pick it up and get a good feel for the game very quickly, but here some time and patience is required to discover your own method of playing. Patience is rewarded with a game that is impressive and highly immersive.
The world of Far Cry 2 is stunning, a huge variety of tropical landscapes which are hugely enjoyable, and highly realistic, from creeping through steaming jungles teeming with insects in a tropical rainstorm, to driving a jeep through endless deserts and savana dodging the herds of zebra its very easy to lose yourself in the game.
The actual game-play is a little frustrating initially and getting your gunsights on an enemy and emptying a magazine may not take him down, but things do improve, regular visits to the gunshops early in the game are a must as is learning to use fire tactically, personally i found the silent route a little frustrating as even when armed with a silenced MP5 it doesn't take the enemy long to realize you are nearby.
The enemy AI is indeed challenging, but this is no bad thing, enemies will try and outflank you, and sometimes climb to a vantage point to try and pick you off from a distance, wounding enemies can produce some interesting results, from a comrade running out of cover to try and assist them, to them crawling or hobbling off to cover.
All the characters in the game are superbly detailed, its impressive to see such evil stares and non verbal threats.
A very very good game, a huge and richly detailed world and an enormous variety of ways to play through the story. being a malaria ridden heartless mercenary caught up in an african civil war has never been so much fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars plenty of flaws but great action gameplay, 16 Sep 2014
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I play FPS for the action gameplay and that is the basis for my review.
Far Cry 2 offers a large and immersive open-world to traverse, complete with weather effects and day-night transitions.
Visually it is still one of the most beautiful games I have ever played.
However like the Fallout games there is too much empty space between you and the action.
Add to this the very repetitive nature of the side-missions and their lack of interesting storyline-content.
Having to constantly fight the same guard patrols over and over also got boring rather quickly.
The action gameplay, once you get to it, is very satisfying; the weapons are rustic and the combat raw and gritty.
I liked the choice of older weapons, I liked that the weapons got jammed once in a while, I liked that the game did not pause when you healed yourself, I liked that you had limited health regeneration, I liked that you could only save at certain physical locations, I liked that the enemies were quite smart once attacked, I liked that you fought in a wide range of environments and settings.
I also really liked the storyline and characters. While the game has plenty of flaws, the action gameplay more than made up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars more teenage anst, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Not too bad, son again claims to enjoy which in its self is a miracle, as his favorite pastime is usually annoying me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Thank you for the quick delivery. The product was exactly as displayed and explained. My son is having great fun, while playing this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Game, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'd forgotten just how goods this game is. Excellent graphics, game play, side missions and extras make this a brilliant game.
Add to all that the virtual open free world experience and you are actually there living the missions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good game, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought this as I used to have it on PC. It's getting old now but it's still a good shooter. Very cheap price when I purchased. 40p!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gaming, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I played this game on demo and it was in very good order it was packed well when I opened it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., 15 Aug 2013
By 
S. Riggall "arzer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I purchased this because I really enjoyed FC3 and found that many people thought this was as good if not better (apart from respawning of enemies). Personally I found this version dull and not very enjoyable. The graphics are great and the gameplay is pretty good too but the story was not very entertaining and the colours are dull and lifeless compare to FC3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry 2 - Classics Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Not as good as Farcry 3 but you wouldn't expect that it's an older game. But for 5.99 it's very good value for money with hours of shooting,driving and blowing things up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Far Cry 2 - Classics Edition (Xbox 360)
8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews