Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars29
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2010
Okay, So all us Nirvana fans already own bleach-So it may seem a little pointless to buy the deluxe edition right? BUT If you really do love nirvana then this really is a must have.
Complete with 15 tracks Live at Pine Street Theatre, Giving fans another look into why Nirvana took the world and turned it upside down.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
Well first things first Bleach the studio album is still as amazing as it was 20 years ago. Its a great debut album. Some of Nirvana's best songs are on this album: Blew, About a Girl, Love Buzz, Negative Creep and Downer. All of these songs are just as good as anything they recorded later on in their career. In fact Nirvana's early songs are more complex than the more simple pop songs that came later on their second album Nevermind, which gave them world-wide success. That said all of the previously mentioned songs on Bleach are really catchy too. Bleach really has some attitude to it, punk + metal = grunge, whatever you want to call it. It rocks. Now that was the good part, lets move on to the live show that was included in this deluxe 20th anniversary edition. I have heard countless recordings of live Nirvana shows from this era and most of them are really good but it seems the one that has been used for this album is sub standard. It is just not a good show and I think it was a bad choice when there are loads of better live shows from the Bleach tour that could have been used instead.
0Comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2009
Bleach and InUtero are my favourites Nirvana realises.
This 20th anniversary edition sounds exactly the same of the old version but there are a nice live on Portland (11 tracks) and a raw nice version of SAPPY.
The digipack is really cool and nice, full of pictures(around 50pages) but THERE ARE NO LYRICS. The good thing is that the album is out through SUB POP and not through GEFFEN.
About the album I can say that here are layers of feedback and distortion, the pop inspired undertone, the fuzzy, choppy, noisy distorted guitar and screaming vocals. Its detuned pop punk garage noise heavy hard rock metal. This is a mixture of 70`80 rock music.. in it you can find Flipper, Melvins, Kiss, Black Flag, Red Kross, Cheap Trick, The Replacements, Anvil, Motorhead, AC/DC, Butthole Surfers, Zero Boys, Alice Cooper, Sonic Youth, Husker Du, Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath.

I bought this album for 7pound and I think Is a good deal.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
I never review things on Amazon, but I have to say that this album is really worth discussing and praising.

In my mind, Nirvana's "Bleach", their debut album is an absolute milestone in grunge music. Although many Nirvana fans believe that the Nevermind's sheen and polish is what makes their music so timeless, Bleach (and later In Utero) would prove this theory incorrect. I only got into them properly around six months ago - and although Nevermind was amazing, I always felt more drawn towards the more abrasive, natural sound of In Utero. After properly "consuming" both albums, I decided to buy Insecticide (as I heard it was sort of like a Bleach starter course) and enjoyed it, however I felt like the record missed the consistency and decent song rotation. Bleach fills in all of those gaps and also manages to slide somewhere in-between the poppy songwriting of Nevermind and loud, noisy production of In Utero (albeit on a much lower budget - $600, in fact).

Full of sludgy riffs, Cobain screams and downtuned guitars, this really is a grunge record through-and-through - with strong hints of pop music coming through on songs like "About a Girl" (inspired after a long listening session of Meet the Beatles) and their cover of "Love Buzz" (you will NEVER be able to get that bassline out of your head!). Although it wasn't defined as "grunge" at the time, this album really helped to pioneer the genre and to bring more attention to other artists on the Sub Pop imprint a the time. With most of the record done on a one-take basis you can't help but think that the songwriting has had tons of effort put into it, with the exception of the lyrics as Cobain confessed. Although it may be easy to analyse them, Cobain stated that most of the lyrics on Bleach were about "nothing" and should be treated that way. With such tight and pounding instrumentals, it's not too difficult of a task to disregard the lyrics entirely and just appreciate the melody of the vocals. Often, Cobain helped to emphasise Nirvana's use of dynamics (that they would later be famous for) - track 4 on the album titled "School" makes this clear when the lyric "You're in high school again" gets pushed out of Cobain's vocal chords with extreme velocity and power, helping to re-introduce the pounding chorus effectively.

Regarding the low production budget, there is evidence of this on the album. Drums (especially the symbals) sound a bit plastic-y, background vocals are relatively low-fi and the bass guitar sometimes booms in the mix, but I believe that this adds to the charm of the album and is refreshing after hearing the extremely polished quality of Nevermind. The 2009 remaster by George Marino helps to correct dull spots in the mix and helps to produce more definition in the low end. Drums sound less plastic-y and vocal effects have been turned down to increase clarity. Although it is far from Nevermind quality, it serves its purpose and matches the content of the album. I really couldn't imagine it to be any different after listening a few times.

Another benefit of the remaster is that you get a bonus live show of a performance in 1990. I haven't listened to this yet, but I've heard it's an entertaining and well-performed show. The packaging is very high-quality and the photo book is a nice touch too.

Playing-wise, both Kurt and Chris are seamless with each other's playing. It feels very comfortable and results in delivering great energy throughout. Nirvana's first studio drummer Chad Channing also lays down interesting grooves on songs like School, however on some tracks it feels as if this istyle s sacrificed for a cool-sounding drum fill or added complexity, which offers very little substance. The band ended up replacing him in 1991 because of this, however honoured his talents on Nevermind by keeping some of Channing's written drum parts the same (such as the intro to In Bloom and Breed).

Overall, this album was a brilliant start for the group and shows that they didn't need a large production budget to make a great album. Although it is their "darkest" sounding album, if you are a fan of In Utero it won't come as much of a surprise. Coming to stores in summer 1989, it was the beginning of the Seattle grunge movement that would make waves across the world for years to come. Recommended. A

If you are only just getting into Nirvana, I would go with this album rotation - Nevermind, then In Utero, then MTV Unplugged/ Incesticide and finally Bleach. You will not regret it!

Favourite tracks:
Track 1 - "Blew": Brilliant bass riff, lazy guitar matching Kurt's vocals creates a very strong melody. Channing provides a heavy backbeat with numerous double kicks. One of the best-sounding songs production wise on the album.

Track 3 - "About a Girl": Showcases Kurt's songwriting ability and foreshadows the pop side of the band that would be emphasised on later albums. Instantly recognisable guitar riff.

Track 4 - "School": A short, riot-inducing track with a feedback-laden guitar intro before heading into a distorted single-note riff played by the bass and guitar. Great vocals, dynamics used well. Channing enjoyed himself on this one.

Track 5 - "Love Buzz": Cobain's vocals are brilliant. Krist does his thing, providing the main meat of the track.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Having previously owned Nevermind and In Utero, i was somewhat of the assumption (never never assume :)) that, asides About A Girl, their first album would be a bit of a mishmash of early experiments and feedback. I was wrong. The songs on the album are strong riff-based compositions, with more of a leaning to what would later appear on their beautifully murky third album. It takes a few listens to separate out the tracks, as there is a hard-nosed consistency to them all, but it is an album i've played over and over. On top of this, the live recordings are surprisingly high quality (was not expecting this from an early Nirvana gig) and full of biting energy.

Track 'School' has the typical Nirvana chorus repeat line, as does Sifting, which has shades of Metallica as well as grunge. Negative Creep refuses to have a soft edge. Bits of lyric and musical interludes make me smile, like on Floyd The Barber and Big Cheese. But it's not really an album to pick out individual tracks as the songwriting is tough and lean throughout. I love the opening section to live song Spank Thru - a gig that also includes shimmering versions of Sappy and About A Girl.

Bleach is brilliant - it's never going to be the masterpiece of Nevermind, but perhaps offers a stronger hint at what Nirvana were really about.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
Bleach has to be my favourite Nirvana album - it's so raw, focused and heavy with Kurt singing and screaming like a man possessed. You don't just listen to each song, you actually feel every emotion that Kurt felt when he was singing it. There are so many stand out tracks. And the re-mastered version hasn't ruined the overall sound quality either. And the booklet is great to read through. A must buy.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
Forget about `Nevermind'. Forget about `In Utero'. This is where Kurt and the gang really went loose. The Melvins influence is strongly felt here, all that dirty bass and angry guitar up in your face, and Kurt screaming like he's possessed.
It's raw and honest, a sort of album the Stooges would have been proud to release. Kurt would be jaded by all the hype and fame that `Nevermind' brought about, but `Bleach' is where his songwriting is at its peak. Pure rage and catharsis, none of that lethargic grunge crap you get from Alice In Chains or Soundgarden.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2011
It was great putting this on and hearing the first Nirvana album again. Their more famous tracks from Nevermind have a more standard pattern of riff, verse, chorus, verse, solo etc. and it sounds great, but Bleach has a more unique, raw feel. Sometimes just a single line screamed over and over again to thudding beats and harsh guitar riffs. There are exceptions, like the "pop song" of the album - About A Girl which is more standard.

My personal highlight was the live version of "School" but every track feels like a classic. Must have for any Nirvana fanand my favourite of their CD's.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
It's raw, addictive and love the vibe of the Portland gig and humour of 'Spank it'. There's not a bad track on here and great photos in the anniversary booklet that just show young guys doing their thing and making great music that has well and truly stood the test of time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Now, in all other circumstances I'd give this a 5 star, I love this album! It is my favourite album ever and this edition just gives more. The disc art is AWESOME! The booklet is GREAT! But the case was split at the back... it was literally ripped open, now of course I could have sent this back and gotten a refund but that requires so much hassle and to be honest I can't be dealing with it, just a little disappointed that my product was literally ripped apart as I trust Amazon a great deal! Also I would have liked the chance to send a message about this rather than being forced to return my item for something that was not my fault.
review image
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Use Clorox® Regular-Bleach For Your Must-Disinfect Moments & More.