Customer Reviews


448 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (68)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (96)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mayans may have got it wrong, but the movies not bad
There appears to be a lot of negative reviews about this movie, which I feel is a real shame, especially for those who enjoy this genre and may be put off from watching it.

Being a disaster movie, you have to approach it with an open mind and relax your normal beliefs and rationality. This is entertainment, popcorn viewing at its best. Yes, you should expect it...
Published 19 months ago by CharlieMbro

versus
65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin!
If you sit down to watch 2012, like I did, you're probably not in it for the characters or Oscar worthy acting, or any kind of real emotional imput. No, you're in it for the thrills and spills, the relentless breathtaking superb CGI orgies of special effects and riveting explosions.

So you'll be pleased that this movie delivers its promise. I don't see the...
Published on 12 April 2010 by Mr. D. J. Sutton


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mayans may have got it wrong, but the movies not bad, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There appears to be a lot of negative reviews about this movie, which I feel is a real shame, especially for those who enjoy this genre and may be put off from watching it.

Being a disaster movie, you have to approach it with an open mind and relax your normal beliefs and rationality. This is entertainment, popcorn viewing at its best. Yes, you should expect it to be far fetched and beyond belief, it would make for a pretty boring movie if everyone just bit the bullet in one almighty catastrophe at the beginning. I find it puzzling that people can't just sit back and enjoy the ride, after all, we have films such as Armageddon and The Day After Tomorrow which expect you to use your imagination. These other two disaster movies push the limits of reality, and seem to be favoured over 2012, but would you really believe that Bruce Willis and his gang could really land on that asteroid, or that a new ice age could be endured by burning a few library books & putting on another layer of clothes hahaha. So if your a fan of those movies, or disaster movies in general then I think you'll be pleasantly suprised.

Without going into any great detail about the movie, basically the whole planet is facing apocalypse, and there's not a lot that can be done to stop it. With a large group of characters from the start, we follow each individuals or groups struggle in either avoiding or accepting the pending doom. We've seen most of the characters story lines in many films before this one, estranged father, separated families and political leaders all play a part in the telling of 2012. The lead player, John Cusack plays his role well, with a slight tongue in cheek, and likeable manner as he becomes the unlikely hero. Supporting cast play their parts as would be expected for a movie of this kind.

Of course what makes or breaks this kind of movie are the special FX and 2012 certainly doesn't leave you wanting in this department. 2012 is crammed full of awesome effects from start to finish, I actually can't recall a movie that seems to have as many, or indeed treats us to them all the way through the film. The effects start early & keep coming thick & fast throughout, unlike some. Yes Deep Impact that means you!, a film that tends to revolve around the investigation and exposure of the disaster, but only really kicks off with the special effects towards the end of the movie.
When watching 2012 last night on Blu ray for the first time, I was amazed at the level of detail that I had not noticed on the DVD version. Some of the nightmare scenarios we encounter are spectacular, in one particular scene when a skyscraper is collapsing, the level of detail is immense, every little part of the interior is visible as we get chance to view inside upon its demise. We can see office furniture flying out of the building, people clinging on for dear life, the internal structure on show, and it simply looks breathtaking in Blu Ray. It is this level of detail that provides more replay value, as there really is so much to take in on screen. Check out the limo escape sequence in the movie and watch out for the cement truck!!! Other water effects,earthquakes, and fire effects throughout the movie are all fantastically replicated in stunning Blu Ray goodness! Close ups of characters also show high levels of detail, there is one shot of San Francisco that looks so beautiful and impressive.

With regards to sound quality, I watched it late at night, so I was listening through headphones, but I have no complaints here either. Obviously a movie like this is going to feature a lot of crash, bang wallops, and through a surround sound system I expect that you will be immersed in everything that is going on around you. Through the headphones, every raindrop, jet engine, helicopter, piece of smashing glass, explosion, and tsunami was heard with gratifying clarity. With all of this noise going on as the world is enduring its fate, thankfully dialogue is still clear and audible.

I watched a few of the extras, and found the featurettes on the actors, director and insight of the movie enjoyable, although I'd love to hear what the guys who are adamant 2012 was going to happen would say now that we have happily moved into 2013, Ooooops! Other extras include, directors commentary, deleted scenes and an alternative ending.

Above all, this is a near reference Blu Ray to show off your system through the picture and sound quality. So if you are a fan of disaster movies, and can watch this film how the director intended, kicking back with a few treats, then I'm sure you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


530 of 581 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, a 5, 1 Mar 2010
This review is from: 2012 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I have looked at some of the reviews, and as much as anything I wanted to write a couple of lines simply to counter things.

There are far too many people who want to come across as insightful, so very seriously aware viewers, who know the hidden agenda going on, and can't be fooled into watching brainless entertainment without giving back a whole load of disdain. However, if you want a battleground for such debate, I hardly think 2012 is the proper place.

This movie is from the guy who make 10,000 BC, Godzilla, and The Day After Tomorrow. It's a disaster movie. It's a soap opera. As such it has all the cardboard characters, the ridiculous cliffhangers, the simple dialog, and all the depth of a pond. On the other hand, it has spectacular effects, load bangs, literary seismic events. Some characters won't make it, some will become unlikely heroes. Which ones? Watch The Towering Inferno from the 70's to find out, it's all the same.....

But then, what was this movie trying to do? Some here are talking about the political message, the "new world order". I truly think they must be having a laugh on us. This film has been made many times, and it'll be made many times more. It's exciting at times, daft, silly and ridiculous. It's a disaster, after all.

What more do you want? You want politics? Go elsewhere. Who'd have thought an American movie, made largely for the American market, financed by American dollars, would center itself on American ideals, and the American way of life? Are we really shocked?

This is a five not because it's a good film, but because it does what it says on the tin. And for those concerned, it's okay to simply be entertained sometimes, honestly, it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin!, 12 April 2010
By 
Mr. D. J. Sutton "reader-review" (reader-review) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you sit down to watch 2012, like I did, you're probably not in it for the characters or Oscar worthy acting, or any kind of real emotional imput. No, you're in it for the thrills and spills, the relentless breathtaking superb CGI orgies of special effects and riveting explosions.

So you'll be pleased that this movie delivers its promise. I don't see the point of people writing about the poor acting or 2D characters because this is not what this movie is about. It is no more than a B movie pop corn action flick, which you sit down to watch on a Saturday night to loose yourself in the silliness of this action epic purely to be entertained. I agree that the characters are very badly conceived. None are particularly likeable and most others are annoying. This can be frustrating because you feel that if the actors and producers had taken the time to make the characters more likable this movie would be so much better off for it. For a start it would become instantly more compelling because you'd be willing the characters to survive, unfortunately you just don't care.

While the script is very loose, the dialogue is bland and the acting close to embarrassing for all concerned - the effects seem beyond our time and are the most exquisite I have seen to date. I had to marvel at how calm the characters seemed in some absolutely absurd scenarios, when buildings are collapsing all around them, they have no real fear or shock in there expressions and it takes away all the believability. It's hard enough to believe anyway, as the action is very far fetched, but undeniably brilliant. I just felt if the acting had been stronger the sense of peril would be greater, so the action moments would feel more intense, scarier and slightly more realistic. The central character drives cars, dodges explosions and comes close to death like he does it everyday and it really doesn't bother him.

I do agree with all this movies flaws and it does have a fare few. Still I was not disappointed by this film because my expectations were nothing more than what it is, which is an action epic that will at least once make you gasp. It's a little overlong and when the dialogue scenes do come they aren't very engaging and quite frankly I was just waiting for the next action set piece. In conclusion I would recommend this as a brainless entertaining film to watch over the weekend with a bottle of wine a few mates and some popcorn. It's worth the purchase, even better on Blu-ray. Just leave your brain at the door and don't expect too much, but it's certainly no way near as bad as others have made out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MAYAN PROPHECY MEETS HAB THEORY PLUS BAD SCIENCE, 8 Oct 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 2012 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The theory of shifting crusts is not new, but if it did occur, the theory also states that the crust shifts around certain centers which will be unaffected by the shift. Mutating neutrinos? What is that? Once you get by the gibberish, you get into a bad script. The actors did what they could to save it, but when the script goes south, Cusack couldn't carry the load. There are long drawn out ridiculous scenes where Cusack barely saves his family as the world collapses only inches behind him. Limos and Winnebagos do not handle like NASCARs.

Woody Harrelson as a modern day conspiracy prophet gave us some good moments, I wish there would have been more of him. This movie plays on the hype of 2012. It is for suckers. In 2013 we won't be watching it one way or the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not very realistic - but funny!, 16 Feb 2010
By 
Jarle L. Nyvoll (RANDABERG Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2012 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I have come to the conclusion that the only way to watch this film is as a comedy. Willingly - or not so - it is a shining example of how a far from subtle parody should be. I found myself laughing through most of the film, and enjoying myself immensely. SO, is it clever? No. Is the acting good? Eh... No. It's not meant to be. Is the plot interesting? No, it's a "greatest hits" of disaster movies, and all the better for it. You never really connect with any of the people in peril, so I would never presume to take any of this seriously. I'm not sure if Mr. Emmerich set out to make a comedy, but that's what he turned in. And I, for one, enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's the end of the world as we know it and some people know it, 2 April 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2012 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
A disaster movie from the director of independence day and also the day after tomorrow. People discover that the world is going to come to an end in 2012 when the continents will collapse and massive floods will follow. Ordinary and not so ordinary people strive to survive and cope with all the big set pieces disasters that ensue. Characters bond. Families get closer together as a result of what they go through. And dogs do amazing things to escape from peril.

Business as usual for this kind of film. There are great set pieces, and some of the effects work is great although there's also some rather obvious back projection. It doesn't quite scale the heights of independence day in being big and dumb fun as you're never quite rooting for the characters in the same way as you did there. But it offers entertainment to get you by if you're looking for a decent bit of disaster movie escapism.

The DVD is a single disc edition.

Language tracks: English, French, English audio descriptive.

Subtitles: English Arabic Danish Dutch Finnish French Hindi Norwegian Swedish.

Extras: a commentary from the director and his co writer.

An alternate ending. This runs for four minutes and just has character scenes that didn't get to the final cut. It doesn't do anything different plot wise.

A handful of deleted scenes that run for five minutes in total, and can be watched all together or individually. All quite short and okay but they don't add anything much and are the kind of thing that can easily be cut for timing.

A ten minute long feature about the director and his movie style. Which is decent enough and gets it's point over well but does feel a couple of minutes too long.

Trailers; a generic one for blu ray and three for other movies that have nothing to do with this one.

And that's that. The DVD like the movie is nothing special but not a bad bit of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb blu-ray, 12 Mar 2010
In Holland the blu-ray is already available and the quality is superb. It has a lot of very nice extra's. The commentary from director Roland Emmerich and Co-writer and composer Harald Kloser is insightfull and fun. They both make clear that this movie is not really to be taken seriously and yes, they do know that there are plotholes in this movie that are so big, Hannibal could have moved his army through it!!! And a fun fact, John Cusack and they boy who played his son did all the underwater scenes themselves, because they were better at it than the stuntmen who were innatialy hired for the job.
The deleted scenes are nice to look at, but it's also pretty clear why they are deleted. The alternate ending is also fun, it could have giving the film a totaly different ending, but again it's clear why they eventualy didn't use it. In the documentaries there is the same kind of stuff you can expect to found with every movie: Oh he is such a great director, Oh my actors are magnificent, bla bla bla.
Nothing new there. There are also some talkings heads seriously talking about the 2012 apocalypse: terrible, don't take these people serious.
And of course, the movie quality is fantastic. Crisp and clear, but don't expect the same experience as in the theater. You need at least a 50 inch television to do this film some justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This is just another run of the mill disaster movie, 30 Mar 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Looks like the Mayans were right. Jackson Curtis (John Cusack) is starting to put two and two together. Yep sunspots, neutrinos, and planet alignment spell kaput for the world. However, wait doomsayer Charlie Frost (Woody Harrelson) finds the governments of the world have found a way out. Can Curtis same his estranged family and the doctor/pilot that usurped his wife and a half a dozen other assorted characters? Alternatively, do they learn what dust to dust really means? We hope this is not one of those wimpy movies where in the end the people of the earth hold hands and sing Kumbayah.

I only saw the Blu-ray version so I cannot compare. However, you are treated to a seemingly endless Blu-ray and BD live commercial. Then you are bombarded with choices that have nothing to do with the film. All I wanted to do is see the film, not press buttons every time it is flagged.

The fun part is recognizing the different actors and saying, "Now where have I seen him/her before?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 4 Mar 2010
This review is from: 2012 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is a ridiculous movie in every respect.

Incredibly dodgy science walks hand in hand with miraculous coincidence and appallingly bad story lines. With that in mind, why the 5 stars? Because, with a whole heap of Schadenfreude, this is one of the great comedies of our time.

Oh yes, I really mean it!

2012 is not in the 'So bad it's awful' category of films like the Keanu Reeves remake of The Day The Earth Stood Still. Nor is it 'So bad it's good' that you have to see it like Plan 9 From Outer Space or Battlefield Earth. 2012 is genuinely funny!

From Woody Harrelson commentating on the greatest volcanic eruption ever "I wish you guys could see what I'm seeing" and what we are seeing is his chunky builders butt; to John Cusack's deadpan "We're going to need a bigger plane" when he finds out he has to fly to China; to the wildly spinning clock that jumps from seconds to minutes, counting down to the moment the tidal wave hits; to a riotous, Oscar worthy, performance by Zlatko Buric who steals every scene as the jowly Russian oligarch Yuri Karpov: "Engine, shtooooooaart!" To truly brilliant, yet absurdly hilarious (here is where the Schadenfreude comes in), special effects: flying trains, USS JFK destroying the White House, Hawaii in flames.

How can you not laugh when every convention of the disaster movie is rolled out before you in such crystal clarity? When every obvious plot developement is followed to the letter? The plane that out runs Yellowstone's eruption. The ex-husband pitted against the interloping new boyfriend for his families affections. The car that is faster than Tectonic quakes. The lowly scientist forced front and centre by his theories. The huge boats that survive the compete shift of earths crust regardless of the unprecedented 'getting out of the bath' kind of tidal waves it would create.

Roland Emmerich has to have made 2012 with tongue firmly in cheek!

The story is clichéd. A great majority of the science is bunk. The effects are great but utterly unrelated to how the events would actually happen. The heroics are impossible. Even the politics are risible. And don't get me started on the emotional subplots in the script!

But 2012 is genuine, genuine fun. With a capital LOL! It's a LOLaster movie! I honestly have not laughed so much since QI's moonwalking bird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2012 [DVD] [2010], 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2012 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
If you sit down to watch 2012, like I did, you're probably not in it for the characters or Oscar worthy acting, or any kind of real emotional imput. No, you're in it for the thrills and spills, the relentless breathtaking superb CGI orgies of special effects and riveting explosions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

2012 [DVD] [2010]
2012 [DVD] [2010] by Roland Emmerich (DVD - 2010)
£2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews