Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment as it's meant to be !!
Survivors for me is as it should be thoroughly entertaining....I do wish people would stop comparing it to the original series.
If the original was so good then fine leave it at that...This is todays version of the same story.
It really does wind me up when a series gets pulled to pieces like this one has..It's is meant to be entertainment not fictional or a...
Published on 23 Feb 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is the end!!!
I really enjoyed this series. With some spectactular set peices and some great drama, it really drew me in....however...It seems a little pointless in buying this as, the series in now cancelled , due to poor vewing numbers...so the series ends on a cliff hanger in which will never be resolved. Save your money, dont buy this.
Published on 5 May 2010 by L. Allen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars survivors -series2, 23 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed the original series made many years ago and own a copy of this. I missed the new series on TV and felt I ought to have a look. I have seen both new series and was NOT disappointed . Julie Graham makes a a excellent Abby Grant and I especially liked the "new interpretation of "Tom Price" I am very sorry to hear that there are no plans for a Third series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Survivors series 1 & 2, 28 July 2010
This review is from: Survivors - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Having just sat over 2 days and watched both series I must say the acting of the main characters is excellent. Anyone who has also watched the original may find as I did that although the re-imagining stayed closer to the original idea of Terry Nation, it didn't take the time to flesh out the characters. I found it increasingly hard to root for them when they constantly got back into trouble.
I'm also left wondering if enough loose strings were left at the end to warrant a series 3?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Survivors Series 2, 30 Aug 2010
This review is from: Survivors - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this DVD. Great cast. Great story. Just a shame there will not be a Series 3 made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Survivors - Series 2 dvd (2009), 28 Feb 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Survivors - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The second series started off very promising. Then just lost it the last episode seemed as if the writers ran out of things to do.Very poor ending dont make anymore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A big improvement on series one ..., 23 Feb 2010
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Survivors - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Unfortunately that's not saying much!

This weak and pointless remake of the classic original suffers from terminal overproduction - not the least of which is the irritatingly intrusive background music.

The characters are almost invariably unlikeable and utterly fail to convince. Paterson Joseph has nowhere near the commanding presence of Ian McCulloch as Greg. Frumpy trout-pouting Julie Graham cannot possibly compete with the stunning Carolyn Seymour as Abbey. The two muslim characters add nothing to the narrative and would appear to be merely BBC PC tokenism. Finally, the new incarnation of Tom Price makes Vinnie Jones look like Oscar material! Beesley's strutting OTT thuggish performance is so bad it's downright funny at times! Take the final episode, in which he retains super-commando powers despite being shot several times through the chest. I'm sure that when the going gets tough and his lungs start to hurt he'll just spit them out and carry on playing the uber-tough guy.

And where is any semblance of realism? No rotting cadavers, no feral and possibly rabid dogs! In the real Suvivors, the characters became increasingly grubby and hirsute, whereas in this remake they remain immaculately coiffured (especially Max Beesley!).

Some examples of the dialog were cringingly awful - remember in the pub "get the cigarettes" "The machine isn't working" (no s--- Sherlock - there's been no electricity for months!) - <Vinnie Jones SORRY Max Beesley smashes the ciggie machine> "It is now!" Oh dear, oh dear.

Furthermore, the sub-plot about the boo-hiss scientists in white coats detracted from the whole point of Terry Nation's brilliant novel. Survivors was always meant to be an exploration of how individuals could cope with an unfathomable end-of-the-world-as-we-know-it scenario, not some diatribe against science.

Why didn't the BBC give the Survivors fans what they /really/ wanted - a `next generation' scenario? Instead of "re-imaging" a classic original (and failing miserably in the process) why not re-broadcast the original and then give us a valid and convincing continuation; - how children born to a society thrown back to pre-industrialisation days would attempt to reconstruct civilisation.

This pointless and weak remake has tainted the memory of probably the best TV drama of all time and is an opportunity thrown away. I probably can't top the Guardian's scathing but spot-on observation about series 1 - "There was no laughter track - so I added my own!".

No doubt the die-hard supporters of this remake will disapprove of my review but I would just ask you all to give the original and REAL Survivors a chance. Having watched the original (and ideally read Terry Nation's novel too), I'm sure any unbiased viewer would have to concede that this remake is very weak indeed.

When the BBC relaunches the Quatermass franchise, I sincerely hope they do a better and more respectful job than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After a disapponiting end to series 1 this is a good continuation. Will there be another one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars survivors 2, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Survivors - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
dvd was great value until I found out that Amazon charged me an extra 1.71 for so called free delivery. I brought a few things through amazon and only got charged extra when I brought to though amazon themselfs so I wont buy at amazon again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WORST TV SHOW EVER, 6 May 2010
By 
S. D. Campbell (seattle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Survivors - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Survivors - Series 2 [DVD] [2009]Funny given that a plague killed off most of humanity there seem to be an awful lot of them still running around in this POORLY written POORLY acted and POORLY directed
remake of Terry Nations superb and thought provoking original. MY advise AVOID IT LIKE THE PLAGUE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Survivors - Series 2 [DVD]
Survivors - Series 2 [DVD] by John Alexander (DVD - 2010)
10.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews