Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


119 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well balanced overview of a world religion. Fascinating, even for the non-religious
You don't need to be a Christian or even religious to find this BBC series absolutely fascinating and extremely informative. Over six episodes it explains how what started as a small Jewish sect that preached humility became the biggest religion in the world. So much of our modern world, its societies, conflicts and customs are intertwined with the development of...
Published on 31 Jan 2010 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An all too brief history
Diarmaid MacCulloch is not the most obviously charismatic television presenter but by the end of the series I had rather warmed to him and his dry charm. The main problem with this series is that the attempt to cover the history of the Christian Church in only 6 episodes means the program as a whole is patchy and extremely shallow. Twenty years ago, A History of...
Published on 4 Mar 2010 by Star Gazer


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History Of Christianity [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
great title!!👍👍👍👍👍
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History Of Christianity [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Just what I needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A History of Christianity, 2 Oct 2010
By 
PGARROD "paulusdei" (Norfolk. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A History Of Christianity [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
A fascinating well produced and presented history of the early church which explores areas not normally associated with the usual view of the growth of the faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A History of Christianity, 1 July 2010
By 
M. A. Foley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History Of Christianity [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Good set of videos. I missed some of the programmes on TV and was glad to get the series on DVD. I enjoyed watching it as the presenter was excellent except he could have left out telling us his persuasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A History of Christianity DVD, 9 Jun 2010
By 
J. M. Heskins "janetheski" (Surbiton,Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History Of Christianity [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I was so impressed by this programme when I watched it on TV that I decided to buy a number of copies to give to friends. I have not yet watched my own copy but remember that I felt that the programmes gave a clear account of the history of the Christian church, sometimes in ways that I had not previously considered.

I would recommend this series to anyone who has an interest in history in general and Christianity in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dry subject made palatable, 6 Feb 2010
This review is from: A History Of Christianity [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
You don't have to be a Godbotherer or even religious to appreciate the work done here.In fact its not a history of religion but of Christianity and as such has more appeal to the masses than histories of comparative religions which embraces Jewish,Buddhist,Moslem whatever.
Its great that all these sort of documentaries become available on CDs many times with added bonus features
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 28 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History Of Christianity [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
this is a comprehensive Objective view of the History of Christianity . an Amazing journey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Strongly biased against Catholicism, 20 July 2011
By 
Joko71 (Split, Croatia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A History Of Christianity [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I'll refer mostly on Catholicism in this review.

When talking about confession and purgatory the author hints that the Church invented them for some sinister goal, completely disregarding the history of both from the early Church.

At the beginning of the episode about Catholicism the author states that early Christians believed that they were eating and drinking body and blood of Christ, and later "forgets" that he said that and says that Catholic Church invented this in 13th century. Do I have to mention what Christ clearly says about blood and body in the Gospel of John?

Also, when talking about Crusades, the author comments them strictly ideologically from negative point of view. If I didn't know better I'd thought that Pope called for Crusade wantonly, just to kill, plunder and subjugate Middle East. No word about the FACT that Turks have occupied in 11th century the whole Minor Asia facing Constantinople and there was threat about invasion on Europe. Despairing Byzantine Emperor asked Pope for help and help was given. Crusades have delayed Islamic invasion of Europe through Balkans for 2 or 3 centuries. Too bad that Europeans had no more stomach for Crusades in the 15th and 16th century when crisis erupted in earnest. But that is not important for the author: Crusades are the proof that Catholic Church is "evil".

Few words about Orthodoxy episode. Biased against Catholics the author chastises Westerners for their sack of Constantinople in 1204., he is appalled with barbarity of Crusaders, but he like the rest of history "forgets" that 20 years before "sophisticated" population of Constantinople made a terrible crime, a massacre of more than 50 thousand Westerners. That is the true context of the sack, without it it's the "evil" Catholics again doin' their stuff.

Surprisingly, the author said that 1937. Papal encyclic against Hitlerism was good thing, but "not enough". Not enough in 1937. when the West was on friendly with Hitler, next year (1938.) they've given Czechoslovakia in Munich on the platter, and in 1939. Stalin made the pact? Church in those years went in fact too far, Pope was included in 1940. with the British and German resistance in the plot to remove Hitler from power. But, our good author does not mention that episode in history.

There is many more stuff to discuss, but for the end just one thing: the author does not bother at all what word "catholic" means and who Catholics are and what distinguishes them from the rest of Christianity.

I'm surprised that someone who teaches theology at Oxford can have so narrow and biased view on Christianity. BBC was always famous with it's superb documentaries, sadly this is not one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christian History, 19 Feb 2010
By 
H Newell "animals" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A History Of Christianity [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The content of these DVDs has been magnificently put together by a most accomplished authority on the subject of History of Christianity - Professor Diarmaid McCulloch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No cause and effect, 3 Mar 2010
By 
P. Malling (Worcester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History Of Christianity [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This series suffered from being a mere narration of the history of Christianity rather than an explanation of why things happened which would have been much more interesting.

There are a lot of gaps in the narration which makes some of it hard to follow.

This is a fascinating subject but has not been done justice by this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A History Of Christianity [DVD] [2009]
A History Of Christianity [DVD] [2009] by Diarmaid MacCulloch (DVD - 2010)
£8.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews