Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silly theme for a release, but fun
Okay, first off I'll get this out of the way: it's clear that the folk putting these DVD releases together knew that they were faced with three, well, let's say 'less popular' stories, and found a very tenuous link for a boxset to get them out of the way - the fact that they were all inspired by Greek myths (Atlantis, Jason and the Argonauts, Theseus and the Minotaur)...
Published on 29 Mar. 2010 by P. Sanders

versus
71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of WHO, but enjoyable stuff despite itself
Three generally unloved DOCTOR WHO stories from three distinct eras of the show bundled together in a (very) loosely themed collection. Certainly these are not fan favourites, but there's still a lot of entertainment to be found here, not least because even below average DOCTOR WHO has a lot to enjoy if you're in the right mood for it.

THE TIME MONSTER from...
Published on 2 April 2010 by Emanon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Myths and Legends (3 discs), 30 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - Myths And Legends Box Set: The Time Monster / Underworld / The Horns of Nimon [DVD] (DVD)
Doctor Who thinks it is about a myth and legend. It was broadcasted on the 1970s.

The Time Monster:

Part 1:The Master is using a device called TOMTIT to summon a creature from beyond time.
Part 2:After a disastrous attempt to summon Kronos, the Master prepares to use TOMTIT once again.
Part 3:The Master uses TOMTIT to summon threats from the past to attack UNIT.
Part 4:The Master heads to Atlantis but he and the Doctor confront each other in the time vortex.
Part 5:In Atlantis the crystal of Kronos is protected by a guardian who is half man, half beast.
Part 6:With the crystal of Kronos in his possession, the Master releases the Chronovore.

20 May - 16 June 1972

Underworld:

Part 1:The TARDIS lands on a spaceship crewed by the survivors of Minyos.
Part 2:The Minyan survivors discover what they have been searching for.
Part 3:The Doctor and Leela attempt to access the Citadel of the Seers to rescue Idas's father.
Part 4:The Minyans are eager to recover the race banks that they have waited so long to find.

7 - 28 Jan 1978

The Horns on Nimon:

Part 1:With the TARDIS disabled, the Doctor is powerless to act when Romana is kidnapped.
Part 2:The Doctor attempts to repair the TARDIS so that he can affect Romana's rescue.
Part 3:The Doctor and Romana suspect that the Nimon is only the first of an invasion force.
Part 4:On Crinoth, Romana discovers the truth behind the Nimon's empty promises.

22 Dec 1979 - 12 Jan 1980
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Myths And Legends Box Set: The Time Monster / Underworld / The Horns of Nimon [DVD] (DVD)
Great package
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For completists only, 15 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who - Myths And Legends Box Set: The Time Monster / Underworld / The Horns of Nimon [DVD] (DVD)
Three Dr Who stories (one Jon Pertwee, two Tom Baker) from the seventies released together under a very thinly-connecting 'myths and legends' theme.

The Time Monster (**), the Pertwee story, concerns the return of the Master and also features a creature which feeds on time itself. The 6-part story drags a bit, there is a vaguely interesting thread involving Atlantis, but the 'terrifying' time monster of the title just looks like a man dressed as a budgie. And who the heck thought we could take something called "Tomtit" seriously? The Brigadier is now just a figure of fun and Unit has become a kind of sitcom family rather than anything interesting or dynamic.

Underworld (**) has a promising opening episode, in which the Doctor and friends find themselves inside a newly-formed planet. But apart from that it's pretty much bottom-of-the-barrel fare. The CSO backgrounds are truly dreadful, but this wouldn't have been a problem if the plot had been strong. Sadly it's little more than a lot of running around, feeble puns are mistaken for parables of Greek legends (the story of Jason and the Golden Fleece would never have found its way into legend if it consisted of a lot of rather uninteresting people mumbling "the quest is the quest" and aimlessly looking for test tubes protected by lasers). There's also two daft-looking aliens and yet another computer that thinks it's all-powerful. Even the Doctor comments on "yet another computer with megalomania", as though a 'clever' self-reference somehow excuses the lack of imagination on the part of the writers.

The Horns of Nimon (*****), despite its terrible reputaton, is actually by far the best of these three stories. In fact I'd say it was one of Tom Baker's better adventures. The Nimon themselves are admittedly a bit cumbersome, but they have great sinister-sounding voices and are kind of creepy. Indeed, the idea of a race of parasites sucking planets dry is quite an unsettling one. This is a very entertaining tale, never drags, has some interesting ideas and should provide plenty of laughs for fans of shlock. Whether the price tag of this set is worth it just for this story, however, is another matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantisct, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Myths And Legends Box Set: The Time Monster / Underworld / The Horns of Nimon [DVD] (DVD)
I found this story more dramatic than the others. The actors were very good, and I found this one scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars because I said so, 24 Mar. 2010
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Myths And Legends Box Set: The Time Monster / Underworld / The Horns of Nimon [DVD] (DVD)
I am giving this five stars because, I said so. In other words we get endless doctor who reviews in which people haven't even seen the dvd's yet. Or they aren't even released yet in which they talk about how they hate a certain story or even worse the tenure of a whole doctor. I am just glad to get these out finally (this is why I give it five stars) and why not? other people gave it lower stars and hadn't seen it on dvd yet either , this after all was a low budget tv show, so how can I get too unhappy about any of it coming out on dvd? So this deserves five stars under the I haven't seen the dvd's yet aspect of reviews. Sure I can't review the picture quality or the extras but then I could give it one star because I said so too. just like all the negative reviewers. Personally it gets five because I am glad that it's out there on dvd at all. I want doomwatch! where's that series? the bbc is robbing me of doomwatch! now that makes me mad, Oh I digress , anyways if other people can give this one star because they don't like some of this low budget but rather cool tv series episodes then I can give it five because It's all good by me. And these episodes at least make sense!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who are they trying to kid?, 4 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. M. Leacy "Michael Leacy" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Myths And Legends Box Set: The Time Monster / Underworld / The Horns of Nimon [DVD] (DVD)
Yeah right! So they call it Myths and Legends in an attempt to make it sound enticing but every fan knows only too well that these stories are terrible (and 2entertain know it as well). So to relieve the tedium of having to buy these three seperately, they packed them off in one go.

In fact, "The Time Monster" is my least favourite Pertwee story (easily Delgado's worst performance) and "Underworld" is my least favourite Baker story (actually both are in my all-time top 10 clangers - out of 200 stories!), so to save myself the suffering of having to view all ten episodes together, I won't be buying this set. However, having said that, I do actually quite like "Horns of Nimon" (although it is considered by many to be one of the all-time worst), but that's mainly down to Lalla Ward looking gorgeous and doing some great acting as well as Soldeed being genuinely funny - which is something "Underworld" could desperately do with! So it saves this set from being 1 starred to 2. Altogether now : "You - meddling - fooooooooooool!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... say other than that it is doctor who - brilliant as usual, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Myths And Legends Box Set: The Time Monster / Underworld / The Horns of Nimon [DVD] (DVD)
what can I say other than that it is doctor who - brilliant as usual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Myths And Legends Box Set: The Time Monster / Underworld / The Horns of Nimon [DVD] (DVD)
V.Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Myths And Legends Box Set: The Time Monster / Underworld / The Horns of Nimon [DVD] (DVD)
much excitement at receiving this and wont be disappointed either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leg-endary cheese.., 10 Jan. 2010
By 
andy "andy" (Cornwall, England UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who - Myths And Legends Box Set: The Time Monster / Underworld / The Horns of Nimon [DVD] (DVD)
These three stories packaged together is a strange idea and a slightly annoying one for those of us who are completists as you have to break up the box set in order to stick the DVd's on a shelf with your others in broadcast order. I much prefer it when stories are in a box in sequential order as most of the other are.

And on to the stories themselves.
Well, the Pertwee era has the reputation of producing classics but in my view much of those stories that feature Jo Grant represent a dumbing down from Pertwee's first season which was much more intelligent. presumeably this was to entertain the little kiddies. But despite Katy Manning sometimes poor acting, many of those stories featuring her are ok, but some are just downright cheesy and this is one of them.

As others have said it starts off ok but is too long and gets bogged down in itself.
One good point is that the Master gets himself stuck into some political manouevering (and tries to woo the Atlantis queen which is a nice touch) and one that the makers of todays Who have also done with the current Master.

Underworld is an example of a cracking good story on paper using the basis of a legend or story to tell a good yarn as many other stories did, but is hideously let down by the woeful Chromakey effects. Done today with CGI, this would have been good. I suppose it would have been too expensive for this release to have CGI effects as others have, since most of the story would have had to be replaced...

The Horns of Nimon. Well, what can i say? As a Who story it is actually the most watchable here despite Graham Crowden hamming it up. The Nimon themselves are no worse than many other 70's monsters really and it works well as a 4 parter.

A lot of reviewers villify the 80's stories but compared to these, early 80's stories are like Lord of the Rings as compared to Roobarb and Custard..We won't metion those made after 1986 though....

Its also worth noting that by 1979 Doctor Who under Graham Williams production was tired and looked cheap and rather silly and the humour was often over the top.
Although John Nathan Turner had his critics and i am certainly one of them, if Doctor Who had carried on in the same vein as Nimon into the 80's it would probably not have lasted much longer.

JNT took over the following year. The next story shown after Nimon was The leisure Hive and that season would prove to be one of the best ever with consistently good stories executed well, and this would continue albeit patchily for the next few years.

Here though, in this boxset, its Cheese city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews