Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10th Doctor gone....but not forgotten
If ever there was two days when half the female popularity had their heart broken, one was the 29th October 2008 when the very talented, gorgeous David Tennant announced he was stepping down as everyones favourite Doctor, but we had over a year to come to terms with it.
second was 1st January 2010 when the moment many had dreaded happened, and the 10th Doctor was no...
Published on 26 Jan 2010 by Helen Anne

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The End of Time - Great acting not quite matched by the story
There has already been a lot said on this subject. The positives have tended to focus on David Tenant and his portrayal of the Doctor, while the negatives have tended to focus on the writing/story. In my opinion both are true.
It's a difficult one this, and I can see the reason for RT (the writer)'s conflict.
On the one hand, the passing of all previous doctors...
Published on 6 Jan 2010 by Mark J. L. Mariassy


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10th Doctor gone....but not forgotten, 26 Jan 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who - Winter Specials 2009 - Waters of Mars and The End of Time [DVD] (DVD)
If ever there was two days when half the female popularity had their heart broken, one was the 29th October 2008 when the very talented, gorgeous David Tennant announced he was stepping down as everyones favourite Doctor, but we had over a year to come to terms with it.
second was 1st January 2010 when the moment many had dreaded happened, and the 10th Doctor was no more.

I found Waters of Mars creepy one of the scariest episodes to date. I work in a nursery and I was praying that the children didnt watch it, as some of them do like Doctor Who, but to my relife they hadnt watched it.
The ending though sums up the feeling of the very last episode, you know its going to be sad..... but just how sad, no one realises.

End Of Time - end of the 10th Doctors time, maybe should have been a more apt name for it.
It starts off a bit slow, but to its credit, a tremondous build up to what we all know is gonna happen, all the way through, David portrays the emotion that not only the Doctor felt, but that as he himself must have felt as well, saying himself that he is a fanboy of the show, so that emotion probably didnt need much acting.

Beautiful performance also from John Simms, especially when his Master and the Doctor meet face to face properly since the Doctor held him while he died in The Last Of The Time Lords.
This scene held the anticipation of what was to come and it didnt dissappoint.

In a medium nutshell, David Tennant was the best Doctor ever, and it wont be the same without him.
If you havent seen it, about 15 minutes before the ending there is a twist, and it involves the two Time Lords.

David Tennant, the nation salutes you, whether you like it or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last of Tennant as the Doctor, 11 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Winter Specials 2009 - Waters of Mars and The End of Time [DVD] (DVD)
This is a three disc set featuring the last two stories featuring David Tennant as the Doctor.

In The Waters of Mars the Doctor encounters one of his "fixed points" in time when the crew of the first base on Mars are all killed in a catastrophic explosion. The Doctor leaves Bowie Base One when he realises that he has arrived on the day that this event occurs, but as he trudges across the surface he can hear the men and women screaming and dying. An explosion knocks him off his feet and debris falls around him; and this is the turning point. Can he really turn his back?

The End of Time is the last of David's appearances, and he is teamed up with Bernard Cribbins as Wilfred Mott. "I am going to die," he says. "So am I," says Wilfred. Two old geezers together and it even turns out that Wilfred is the cause of the Doctor's regeneration. The Doctor battles with the Doctor but it turns out that they have to stand together to defeat a greater menace. One of my favourite moments is when the Doctor points a gun directly at the Master. The Master thinks that he may pull the trigger but the Doctor bellows: "Get out of the way!" and blasts a control panel. John Simm plays the resurrected but definitely unhinged Master perfectly and he has a most unusual way of conquering the world.

The features together give 193 minutes of entertainment and Doctor Who fans will thoroughly enjoy them. Everyone else should find plenty them thrilling adventures as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The End of Time - Great acting not quite matched by the story, 6 Jan 2010
By 
Mark J. L. Mariassy "BFG" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Winter Specials 2009 - Waters of Mars and The End of Time [DVD] (DVD)
There has already been a lot said on this subject. The positives have tended to focus on David Tenant and his portrayal of the Doctor, while the negatives have tended to focus on the writing/story. In my opinion both are true.
It's a difficult one this, and I can see the reason for RT (the writer)'s conflict.
On the one hand, the passing of all previous doctors (while dramatic) has almost simply been a fact of the last episode of a seiries and you could argue that the transition from the 10th to the 11th Doctor should be no different. On the other hand (regardless of what the detractors may say) we have in David Tennant, without doubt, a superb actor who has captured the public's imagination in this role, has played it for loger than anyone in recent memory and as a result someone who is held in very high public affection. In these circumstances, in my opinion, it is only right that this is in some way acknowledged. So it's a bit of a ballancing act, acknowleding what has gone before and turning out another Doctor Who tale, but at the same time not ignoring the current circumstances. My own conclusion is that the ballance is not wholely successful with the the writing focussing too much on the fact that it is David Tennant's last outing as the Doctor to the detriment of aspects of the story and the overall cohesion of the episodes.
POSITIVES -
First and formost, let nothing detract from the quality of the acting of the key players (cactus people asside) here. Sims as the Master, Cribbins and Tennant as the Doctor. All Superb. All accusations of over indulgence asside, you can't really argue with what the actors do with the material they are given. Tenant especially. You may find yourself questioning the the direction the storey goes (especially at the end), but there is no denying that David Tennant superbly conveys every emotion the doctor is feeling.
The other superb element is the Wilf - Doctor story arc, culminating in the fact that it is Wilf, in a very quiet an unassuming way, who is the key player in the Doctor's death and regeneration.
NEGATIVES -
The surrounding storey and events of the episodes. The general premise is a perfectly valid and potentially effective one. Everyone watching knows that the Doctor is going to die/regenerate, so have a big event that creates a loud distraction that everyone expects will bring about the expected result, then when the dust has settled, quietly reveal that this is not the case at all and the 'event' unfurls in a wholely unexpected manner. As I have mentioned, the 'quiet' bit works wonderfully, it's just the 'noisy distraction' that doesn't and given the fact that this is what takes up most of the double episode running time, that's not insignificant. Despite the grand nature of the events, the return of the timelords/galifray thing just does not feel significant enough. They've necver been a feature before appart from the odd mention and so they do not have the feeling of being one of the Doctor's significant enemies. The master is a different kettle of fish, but then it didn't end up being between them really and as a result it just didn't feel weighty enough. If you think back to the end of Series 4 on the other hand and the whole return of Davros etc, THAT felt significant and definately a main event that could have incorporated the 'quiet death' arc very effectively.
The drawn out post radiation / pre regeneration section. Much talked about, much malligned. As I have mentioned previously, Tennant's performance remains faultless throughout, but it is too much. Too long, too indulged. A couple of minutes to say a few words after coming out of the booth would have been enough.
CONCLUSION -
RT (the writer) clearly loves the Doctor, but more specifically he clearly loves David Tennant as the Doctor and as such, after 4 years felt the need to give him a decent send-off. The trouble with love is that it effects your judgement and that is exactly what has happened here. The focus is on the death of the Doctor and the fact that it is David Tennant's last outing to the detriment of the other elements of the story. As a result we have a very strong and well written Doctor/Wilf arc, an over indulgent, over written and over long lead up to the actual regeneration and everything else feels underwritten / like not enough time was spent on it. Having said all that, the perfomances and the key Wilf/Doctor arc still make this a rewarding and enjoyable experience, just not as good as it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'He will knock four times!' - The Flood and the return of the Master!, 18 Nov 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - Winter Specials 2009 - Waters of Mars and The End of Time [DVD] (DVD)
This box-set contains the last two TV adventures to feature David Tennant's Doctor and concludes the Russell T. Davies era of the show. These are two thrilling stories that bring a closure to the Tenth Doctor with touching and moving dedication. David Tennant was the best Doctor I've ever seen and enjoyed watching and he's truly missed.

The two stories are `The Waters of Mars' (a one-part story on one disc) and `The End of Time' (a two-part story spread across two discs).

`THE WATERS OF MARS'

The `Autumn Special' that was shown in November back in 2009. This is a chilling horror story that will make your children scared to bits. It stars David Tennant alongside his main co-star Lindsay Duncan as Captain Adelaide Brooke. It's set on the planet Mars and it's the 21st of November 2059. New reports about the existence of life on Mars has been with us long as man first walked on the moon back in 1969. And it's great that in the Russell T. Davies era they actually get to do a story that's a proper Martian adventure.

Mars is of course the home of popular Doctor Who monsters - the Ice Warriors. But they don't appear in this story. Instead we have the deadly Flood - an alien species in the form of water that possesses human bodies whenever you touch or drink one drop. The look of these monsters when the humans actually become the Flood like Andy, Tarak and Maggie are really terrifying. They're properly one of the most scariest monsters ever to appear in `Doctor Who'. And it's a really frightening idea of people being taken over by water that controls you and once you've been hit by water, you're dead. I found it very heart-breaking when Steffi gets trapped about to be hit by water and she's crying when watching a `family video' before she dies. I wouldn't be surprised if they ever did a story like this with the Flood again as it really is a chillingly terrifying horror story.

The main guest star in this episode is Lindsay Duncan (who I know for playing Margaret Thatcher in `Margaret' earlier that year). She plays Adelaide Brooke, who's in charge of this doomed expedition to study and find life on the planet Mars. She leads her team on the famous Bowie Base One and becomes a driving force during the whole of the story when trying to save her team from being killed by the Flood. She's a very strong and sharp individual. She doesn't take too kindly to many of her team players as she's not an automatically nice person. But there's something about that makes the Doctor take a liking to since she has a fascination and wonder what life's like out there in the universe. She saw the Daleks invading the Earth during 'The Stolen Earth'/'Journey's End' and one even looked at her whilst she was in her house and it flew away. Since then she was determined to travel the stars.

`Gadget, gadget'. There's a funny little robot in this story. `Gadget, gadget'. His name is Gadget. `Gadget, gadget'. He's like a security drone and maintenance tool that helps out during the operations of Bowie Base One. `Gadget, gadget'. I found Gadget very funny and thought him rather sweet. `Gadget, gadget'. The Doctor hates funny robots but manages to put him to go use in the end. `Gadget, gadget'. He reminds a bit of Wall-E from that daft Disney film Pixar made. `Gadget, gadget'. He manages to get to fly the TARDIS in the end for the Doctor and save everybody else in the end. `Gadget, gadget'. He also gets a power boost up which makes him go more than two miles an hour. `Gadget, gadget'. Good, old Gadget who's such a funny sweet little thing. `Gadget, gadget'.

The story of courses focuses on a future event that's a fixed point in time where Bowie Base One will blow up because of an explosion and that everybody including Adelaide will die. The Doctor knows this event must occur and can't interfere. He's put through agonising torment and grief as he knows everybody will die on Bowie Base One and doesn't want to let that happen but can't be involved. It reminds me of his predicament in 'The Fires of Pompeii' when he was responsible for the eruption of Vesuvius. He tries to walk away from the chaotic events happening when people are getting killed left, right and centre by the Flood. But as he walks away, a certain rage enters into him and he becomes fed up at people dying that he decides to go back. He decides to save the people of Bowie Base One despite himself being a Time Lord and defies the laws of time. It results with disastrous consequences making him the `Time Lord Victorious' and the loss of a person he most admires.

This episode contains a colossal and amazing performance from David Tennant and is brilliantly directed by Graeme Harper. The episode ends on a depressing but thrilling note, as the Doctor gets summoned back by the Ood to meet his fate. At that time it became such a heart-throbbing moment that I wondered what was going to happen next.

This episode is dedicated to the memory of Barry Letts - former producer of `Doctor Who'.

On this disc there's an hour long documentary focusing on the making of `The Waters of Mars', featuring interviews with David Tennant, Graeme Harper, Russell T. Davies, Julie Gardner, Lindsay Duncan, etc. and narrated by Anthony Head.

`THE END OF TIME'

This two-part story is the final adventure of David Tennant's time as the Doctor, that shown over Christmas 2009 and New Year's Day 2010. It was a bittersweet heart-breaking story to watch David's last run as the Doctor and is a fitting tribute to his era on the show.

This story features many good returns of characters to see the Tenth Doctor off. There's John Simm returning as the Master in this story. There's Bernard Cribbins playing Wilfred Mott (Donna's granddad), Catherine Tate playing Donna herself and Jacqueline King playing Sylvia (Donna's mum). It's a story containing many returns of characters to tribute David Tennant's Doctor, but more on that later.

The Doctor finds himself up against the Master in this story, who returns after being resurrected since 'The Sound of Drums'/'Last of the Time Lords'. I was so pleased the Master was returning as the big villain for this story as it seemed right for David Tennant's Doctor to fight him off in this one. Here the Master has become a wretched and homeless creature, unlike the last time when he had great power as Prime Minster of Great Britain. Here he's living on the wastelands of London and is torn-up and broken as he has a ravenous appetite and is eating tramps and people off by the skin of his teeth. It's a terrifying notion to have the Master becoming a cannibal and a creepy one since it's a side of this rogue Time Lord we've never seen before. John Simm is so into his role as the Master and is terrifying brilliant and I love it when he has scenes with David Tennant's Doctor. In this story we get the revelation for the Master's drum-beating inside his head and it becomes a shocking one at that.

Donna Noble returns in this story. I'm so glad to see Donna back in `Doctor Who'. I really missed seeing her since the last time she appeared. She's now engaged to be married to a new bloke Shaun Temple and seems to be happy at the moment. The Doctor is trying to avoid Donna seeing him since he's afraid she'll die and her mind will burn up with the memories of him. But the Doctor overjoyed at seeing Donna despite Wilfred persuading him to go and talk to her. I was afraid for Donna when the `world turned into the Master' at the end of Part One and wondered what would happen to her next week in the following instalment on `New Year's Day'.

Bernard Cribbins as Wilfred Mott gets to be the Doctor's companion for this final story. I found it a rather nice idea for Bernard to be a companion to the Doctor (and he had been a companion before with Peter Cushing's Doctor in the movie `Daleks: Invasion Earth 2150 AD'). It's great that Bernard has had a bigger bite of the cherry as Wilfred since his small appearance in 'Voyage of the Damned' and to have him as Donna's granddad is such a blessing and he has managed to bring so much to the role. Here Wilfred is worried for Donna and gets haunted by the vision of a mysterious woman appearing to her and telling him messages about the Doctor. He helps the Doctor out with finding the Naismith Mansion and trying to stop the Master's plans for taking control of the world. The Doctor is pondering on who Wilfred is since they kept meeting up with each other. But he shares with Wilfred that he's going to die and the prophecy that `he will knock four times' since there's no one else to turn to.

Another guest star I'm pleased to see in this is June Whitfield playing Minnie Hooper (`Minnie the Menace' as I like to call her). It's so lovely to see June in this as I've been watching her in `Terry and June' (one of my favourite sitcoms) and she gets to bring light relief in such a dark story as this. She also gets to pinch David Tennant's bum which is quite unusual for a story as this and quite a funny treat.

There are the Vinvocci aliens that appear in this story that look (according to Wilfred) like cactuses - called Addams and Rossiter (played by Sinead Keenan and Lawry Lewin. I found these aliens to be really funny to watch and it's so good we get to see green spiky haired looking aliens for a Christmas show as this. I like it when they go `shimmer' and reveal their true guises under their human form. They manage to save the Doctor and Wilfred during a very funny chase/escape sequence in `Part Two' - regarded as the worst rescue ever by the Tenth Doctor. We also get to go onboard their ship that manages to save the planet Earth. They are quite annoying and argumentative, but they're a good bunch of aliens all around.

The Master carries out his insane plan using the Immortality Gate at the Naismith Mansion as he turns everyone being human in duplicate version of himself. Everyone is the same as he. Everyone's the Master. The whole world turns into one big John Simm Master population. It's a mad idea and pretty daft and silly one by Russell T. Davies. And yet it's terrifying. The Doctor is shocked at seeing this happen and is determined to put it right when the Master laughs his head a lot.

But of course there's an ultimate enemy in this story (and I wasn't expecting this when I saw it) as we get the long-awaited return of the majestic Time Lords of Gallifrey, led by none other than James Bond himself - Timothy Dalton playing Rassilon the Time Lord president of Gallifrey. Here Timothy Dalton is ferocious as the Time Lord president as he uses his energy gauntlet to zap people when he gets angry or when they anger him. The Time Lords seek to escape the Time War and initiate the Final Sanction causing the `end of time itself' - which the Ood warned the Doctor in a prophecy when he came to visit them on the Ood Sphere at the beginning of the story. The Doctor's determined to stop the Time Lords and he uses the Vinvocci's spaceship to get back to the mansion to stop the Time Lords when they return. I was so pleased with the look of the Time Lords in this story as the production team manage to be faithful to the look of Jim Acheson's designs for the Time Lords in 'The Deadly Assassin' all those years ago back in the 70s.

The final battle between the Doctor and the Time Lords was tremendous and brought me close to tears when there were moments of tensions between all three characters - the Doctor, the Master and Rassilon himself. The Doctor manages to send the Time Lords back into the Time War itself, with the Master zapping them with his scared Time Lord energy after the awful things they had done to them. The Master pushes the Time Lord back fighting them into a void. I don't think that's the end of the Master as he's got to come back somehow. It would be great to see the Master returning to Doctor and with John Simm playing him as he's such a great actor to play the part.

Towards the end, the Doctor is still alive and he's overjoyed thinking he's managed to cheat death once the Time Lords and the Master are gone. But then come the `four knocks' and the Doctor is absolutely devastated. I won't say anymore on who's knocking (though you probably have guessed), but it's a really terrifying and moving scene. The Doctor goes through such a rage that he's so upset to be ending his life to save someone. But eventually he sacrifices himself and goes through the pain process that leads him to his regeneration. It's a very powerful scene wonderfully played by David Tennant and is such a moving scene that manages to encapsulate the Tenth Doctor all over.

Then we get the Doctor's reward, where he's going to various points of time to say farewell to his companions. First he sees off Martha Jones and Mickey Smith (Freema Agyeman and Noel Clarke) who are escaping a Sontaran and have got married (which I don't buy at all). Then he manages to save Luke Smith's (Tommy Knight) life and waves goodbye to Sarah Jane Smith (Elisabeth Sladen) at her house (from `The Sarah Jane Adventures). Then he sees Captain Jack Harkness (John Barrowman) at an alien bar in the future, saddened and depressed following recent events in 'Torchwood - Children of Earth' and gives him Alonso from `Voyage of the Damned'. Then he meets Verity Newman - the descendant of Joan Redfern from 'Human Nature'/'The Family of Blood' - (played by Jessica Hynes) and gets his copy of her book signed from her about `A Journal of Impossible Things'. Then the Doctor sees Donna getting married to Shaun Temple with her family and her friends and gives Wilfred and Sylvia a present which is a lottery ticket that he managed to get with some money from Geoff Noble (father of Donna, played by the late Howard Attfield who died before Series 4). And finally, the Doctor sees Rose Tyler before she met him on New Year's Day, 2005, and wishes her great year knowing she's going to meet him later in March as the Ninth Doctor.

And as the Ood sing the Tenth Doctor to sleep, the Doctor returns to his TARDIS one last time and takes off leaving the Earth. They are very lovely and tearful moments for David Tennant as we say goodbye to him. His final words `I don't want to go' are uttered, and I don't want him to go either. Then he regenerates, exploding in an inferno that even blows up the TARDIS console on fire. We see David Tennant's fiery face before it changes and he turns...into Matt Smith the Eleventh Doctor. What we have are the few minutes of the Eleventh Doctor waking up, finding he's got legs and has got long hair - still not ginger. Then he remembers he's crashing and is plummeting to Earth. His last words `GEROMINO!!!' as his new life is about to begin.

On both discs, there are `Doctor Who Confidential' documentaries focusing on the making of this final two-part story for David Tennant's Doctor. On Disc 1 there's `Lords and Masters' focusing on the making of `Part 1' and on Disc 2. there's `Allons-sy' focusing on the making of `Part 2'. Both documentaries feature interviews with David Tennant, John Simm, Bernard Cribbins, Russell T. Davies, Julie Gardner (executive producer), Euros Lyn (the director), etc and are both narrated by Anthony Head.

This has been a really epic story to close off David Tennant's Doctor and wonderfully directed by Euros Lyn. It's a big tribute to a wonderful Doctor, one who we will all miss.

So this DVD box set closes off the David Tennant and Russell T. Davies era of the show. Such an epic and thrilling of `Doctor Who' that will be forever missed and will never be forgotten. Many thanks to David and Russell for five happy years. You've made us proud.

Next it's Matt Smith's Doctor starting in 'The Eleventh Hour'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterful performance by John Simm, 7 Jan 2010
By 
E. JACKSON "Neon Sky Books" (SURREY, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Winter Specials 2009 - Waters of Mars and The End of Time [DVD] (DVD)
David Tennant was brilliant in his final adventure as the Tenth Doctor. Bernard Cribbins was like everyone's best and favourite Granddad, ever. Both brought tears to my eyes as Ten's swansong unfolded.

But John Simm as the Doctor's tortured nemesis the Master was simply spellbinding throughout. Quite simply he stole every single scene he was in - it was sheer pleasure watching the whole range of human (and Timelord) emotions chase across his face. Prior to Russell T. Davies and John Simm's take on the character of the Doctor's old adversary (and one-time friend) I'd always found the Master to be a pretty unimpressive character - I never quite 'got' him. The dressing up, the doomed-to-failure plans to take over the universe/any planet you care to name/kill the Doctor (except mostly he didn't seem able to quite do that, either)never seemed to make much sense. But Russell T. Davies wanted to hold off bringing back the character until he'd worked out how to write him. And what he did was (and pardon the pun) quite simply Masterful: he made the Master insane. Not evil (Davies doesn't like the word and doesn't believe in evil for it's own sake) but clinically insane. A psychotic, high-functioning Sociopath. But he didn't stop there - he explained why the Master is insane. And this story arc (begun in Season Three with Utopia/The Sound of Drums/Last of the Time Lords)came to it's sad conclusion in The End of Time.

What a story! Perhaps there were a few things left unexplained (doesn't bother me - fuel for speculation and fan fiction galore over the months and years to come, no doubt) but the overall effect is an emotional roller-coaster of a tale that will have you reaching for your tissues as the two frenemies discover the Master's sad story. I won't give anything away here (although I'm sure most people buying this will have already seen it when it aired) but it's a corker. Lots of moments for the fans, some of which will go right over the head of any casual viewer but which had this long-time fan gasping and exclaiming like a ... well, fan.

And just in case you're in any doubt, John Simm (for me, at any rate) simply steals the show with his performance. He takes the character from the depths of despair to hysteria to glee, wistfulness, anguish and disbelieving rage... He is, quite simply, amazing. There aren't enough superlatives to really describe his performance here and if this doesn't bring him a whole new generation of fans, I will eat my hat. In fact, there is a Face Book group (which started with people changing their profile picture to John Simm/The Master for the duration of the Festive Break) which has 4300 members at the last count. Some of the photoshopped profile pictures are hilarious and clever, well worth a peek!

So I'd thoroughly recommend this Box Set. If you've never seen Dr Who before you could do much worse than start with this - I guarantee you'll be ordering every Box Set from Series 1 to 4 to catch up on the best thing since sliced bread...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't want you to go either David......................, 14 Jan 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who - Winter Specials 2009 - Waters of Mars and The End of Time [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit that I am a huge Doctor Who fan. I am (unfortunately!!) old enough to remember the originals (all though not the very first I might add) but didn't really become a fan until the Christopher Eccleston / David Tennant incarnations.

For me DT has been the best Doctor and whilst some of the episodes have been imperfect, that is some of the joy of the programme. I accept Doctor Who for what it is, sometimes flawed and sometimes brilliant.

I have now watched The End of Time twice and love the performances given by all the cast, especially the 3 key players, The Doctor, Wilfred Mott and The Master. Yes the episodes had plot holes, but it also had real emotion. The scenes between The Doctor and Wilf were heartfelt. At the end I just wanted to give The Doctor a big hug and tell him I didn't want him to go either!!!

Brilliant family entertainment - David, you were brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting end for the Tenth Doctor, 23 Sep 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who - Winter Specials 2009 - Waters of Mars and The End of Time [DVD] (DVD)
AT first I thought it an odd choice to release The Waters of Mars and The End of Time together, a all previous Specials (bar The Christmas Invasion) had their own stand-alone releases. I certainly wasn't prepared to pay twenty-odd quid for this set either. But thanks to Amazon, I can now enjoy yhese episodes all over again

The Waters of Mars- Disc 1

The Waters of Mars is probably up there with Planet of the Ood as the best Tenth Doctor story. Initially starting off quite light in tone, the story quickly darkens into a tale of the conflict in the Doctor's mind about whether or not he should change history. The Flood are some of the best monsters the series as done, which contribute significantly to the fear factor of this story. The crew are excellently portrayed by actors/acrresses of varying nationalities, particularly Lindsay Duncan as Adelaide who injects the character with a sense of toughness, and I wasn't expecting the character's suicide at the end. COmic relief is provided by the base's robot GADGET, who ultimately saves the day by piloting the TARDIS. The Tenth Doctor's descent into darkness is well handled, flashback scenes and a vision of Ood Sigma woven into slow mo shots of the Doctor giving off a nice effect.

The episode of Doctor Who Confidential is also presented in its entirety, giving a detailed account of various aspects of the production. I wonder if that girder will return again.....?

The End of Time Part 1-Disc 2

The first part of The End of Time is probably the oddest episode in the set. At times dark and at times funny, its sole purpose is to set up the Tenth Doctor's swansong, the Master's return, and the return of the Time Lords for the big climax in Part 2. The return of the Master is handled well, even if it is a bit cheesy, and the return of Wilfred Mott is genius, who else should acompany the Tenth Doctor on his final journey? The Master's plot is actually quite convincing, using alien technology to spread his genetic code throughout the human race, perfectly intertwined with one of the best cliffhangers ever, the Time Lords returning to initiate the end of time.

Once again the relevant Confidential episode is included in its entirety, giving a brief overview of the Master's appearances, which should delight any fan.

The End of Time Part 2- Disc 3

Part 2 of The End of Time is noticably different than part 1, with the characters set firmly in their places ready for the Tenth Doctor's final episode. I couldn't think of any better way to see the Tenth Doctor off than to see him forced once again into tragedy, forced to see his 'best enemy' presumably killed, and to have to kill his own species. The ensuing four knocks on that glass door and the sacrifice the Doctor makes is quite poignant, as is the ensuing 20 minute ending, allowing the Tenth Doctor to visit all his companions again before finally regenerating into Matt Smith. The final scene with the Eleventh Doctor is brilliant, perfectly capturing the essence of theperiod after regeneration, and setting the tone for The Eleventh Hour.

Once again, the relevant Confidential is included, detailing the regeneration, and showing how some of the effects were achieved.

Overall view of this set: 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Confidential Tale, 11 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Winter Specials 2009 - Waters of Mars and The End of Time [DVD] (DVD)
I've given this 5 stars, but the overall boxset only three. That is because this release excels expectations, the "complete" box set fouls up on them.
For a start, there are three discs, and three full length Confidentials. The stories are individually packaged, so you can slot them next to your other releases. What could have been all on one disc with no extras has become magnificent. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Winter Specials 2009 - Waters of Mars and The End of Time [DVD] (DVD)
Great quality. Delivered quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars got for dr who mad son, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Winter Specials 2009 - Waters of Mars and The End of Time [DVD] (DVD)
This is the second purchase of this set - one of the disks in the original set got damaged (overuse?). so had to buy the entire set for just one DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews