Customer Reviews


242 Reviews
5 star:
 (169)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


225 of 231 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Final 5 4 10
After the tragic events at the end of series 4, the tenth Doctor chooses to travel alone and over the course of his final year in the role this equates to 5 longer than usual "special" episodes for David Tennant leading up to the very impressive arrival of Matt Smith at the end of THE END OF TIME PART TWO on 1 1 10 (which might be significant to any numerologists out...
Published on 22 Jan 2010 by Emanon

versus
36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The greatest doctor, but not his finest hour...
For me, David Tennant is the greatest Doctor we have seen since Tom Baker. David is for 21st century Who, what Tom was to the 20th. The strength of David's performance has carried these specials, and made every one absolutely worth watching.

At the same time, I've become increasingly frustrated with Russell T. Davies' (RTD) writing for the series. Not that I am...
Published on 21 Mar 2010 by K9


‹ Previous | 120 21 2225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 24 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This dvd boxset is absolutly amazing me and my little brothers and sisters love this. A must for doctor who fans!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed at 'End of Time', 12 Feb 2011
I enjoyed the other specials but was left disappointed at the two 'End of Time' specials.
I think a better send off for the tenth doctor would have been with one of his loyal companions, instead of just Wilfred, who doesn't connect with the audience as well as someone, say Rose, does. I believe it would have been best for the 10th Doctor to have a proper send off with the woman he loved most of all, Rose Tyler. For me, personally, this would have tied together David Tennant's time on Doctor Who perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars do NOT miss it!, 25 Jan 2011
By 
This Box set is simply awesome!
definatly do not get Season 5 before you have seen this, as you will not know what is going on.
This set sits between Season 4 and 5 and is a must see. The episodes are fantastic, Waters of Mars in particular was for me so powerfull... imho its better than the whole 5th season combined ;-)

Tennent and Davies.... best Dr Who ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review Dr. Who Specials, 26 Oct 2010
It is an present for a female friend who likes Dr. Who specialy David Tennant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now, 20 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is excellent viewing I was just blown away by it all, this is Doctor Who at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, 5 Mar 2010
By 
Paula Carthy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was delighted with the speedy arrival of my purchase, which was in perfect condition. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 4.5 boxset, 26 Nov 2009
By 
S. Oien - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Specials [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Finally. I like to speak of these specials as season 4.5 of Doctor Who. I were sure they would put out a boxset of the specials. But I agree with the one-star reviewer; they should put out these seperately. The two winter specials are ok to be bundled, as they're going to be aired so close anyway. I bought both the Next Doctor and the Dead Planet on DVD, but will most definately buy this Blu-set :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug 2014
By 
R. Kehoe "timelord" (Miranda NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Specials [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The end of the RTD era and it needed to be, 11 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. G. Birkett "Gareth0013" (Chorley, Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Specials [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Ok lets make this clear I am a fan of Doctor Who and of the Russell T Davies era as a whole but these specials kind of ruined this era of Doctor Who for me in a lot of ways. I'll do each special individually:

The Next Doctor

What can be said here - nice title. That's about it. This is certainly one of the worst Christmas specials ever. It starts well but the minute you see the giant cyberman stomping around it completely ruins what little credibility it already had. Worth watching once just so you've seen it.

Planet of The Dead

This is actually very good, and my favourite of these specials. The only thing wrong with this is the flying bus. If you can get passed that what you get is a very good episode with some comedy, some great atmosphere and a warning at the end you won't be expecting.

The Waters of Mars

This starts off brilliantly and indeed remains excellent right up until the last few minutes when RTD ruins the whole episode by writing the Doctor doing something so completely out of character that it not only ruined the episode for me, but the whole of the RTD era which was now proving to be more Doctor Who The Soap and not what Doctor Who was supposed to be.

The End of Time Parts 1 & 2

RTD does it again, completely brilliant idea completely let down by ridiculous overacting by one character, stupid plotlines (the master race - ridiculous) and the return of a race for no other reason than to force the ending. True it did have some touching moments for the Doctor, in particular the last 20 minutes, but this should have been far better overall.

So it marks the end of the RTD era of Doctor Who and, whilst I am a fan of series 1-4 and some of these specials, I have to say it needed to end before this. Far too soap opera and less Doctor Who what should have been a fitting end became a mish mash of ideas let down by RTD's over dramatising and trying to outdo himself. Doctor Who had been fun and very watchable until this point however these specials cross the line of ridicule and in the instance of The End of Time become more of a farce than good Doctor Who.

Before writing this I have seen most of Series 5 and gladly it seems to be Doctor Who at its best.

I suggest only buying this to complete your collection and either renting or borrowing from a friend to view first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special Box, 26 Aug 2014
Very Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 120 21 2225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Complete Specials [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
12.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews