Customer Reviews


281 Reviews
5 star:
 (198)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


226 of 232 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Final 5 4 10
After the tragic events at the end of series 4, the tenth Doctor chooses to travel alone and over the course of his final year in the role this equates to 5 longer than usual "special" episodes for David Tennant leading up to the very impressive arrival of Matt Smith at the end of THE END OF TIME PART TWO on 1 1 10 (which might be significant to any numerologists out...
Published on 22 Jan. 2010 by Emanon

versus
37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The greatest doctor, but not his finest hour...
For me, David Tennant is the greatest Doctor we have seen since Tom Baker. David is for 21st century Who, what Tom was to the 20th. The strength of David's performance has carried these specials, and made every one absolutely worth watching.

At the same time, I've become increasingly frustrated with Russell T. Davies' (RTD) writing for the series. Not that I am...
Published on 21 Mar. 2010 by K9


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A SPLENDID SEND-OFF, 2 Jan. 2012
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Farewell to Russell T Davies, who so exhilaratingly revived the series. Farewell to David Tennant, the memorable tenth Doctor. This boxed set does them proud.

Five discs. Three specials and the grand finale, divided into two hour long episodes. The 2008 Christmas edition is fun. 1851 London. Can David Morrissey really be the next Doctor? The Cybermen again excitingly menace. Somehow "Planet of the Dead" failed to keep me enthralled, but "The Waters of Mars" is terrific. The first Mars Base on the last day of its life. Can the Doctor be about to break a golden rule, interfering with a fixed event in time? (Lindsay Duncan excellent.) Finally "The End of Time" - The Doctor v. The Master (John Simm once more gloriously berserk). Many surprises and major twists. Bernard Cribbins most moving. The dying Doctor pays final visits to key figures of the past few years. All very emotional.

Five hour long Confidentials, each interesting, as are the two commentaries; a David Tennant video; the programme's promoters hysterically received by American fans. (Note that answer given to a question about John Barrowman!)

One bonus stands out in particular - The Doctor Who Prom. Ben Foster conducts a celebration of Murray Gold's music. Monsters and surprises abound. Take a look at those children's faces! Totally captivated, they are caught up in the wonder of it all.

This serves as a useful reminder to us oldies. "Doctor Who" is primarily for children. Russell T Davies specifically sought to recreate for them the weekly excitements so many of us remember from our young days. Magnificently he has done what he set out to do. Of course we all have our favourite Doctor. I have been there from the start in 1963, perhaps taking a little longer than most to get used to each new reincarnation. (By the way, Matt Smith features impressively in the final Confidential.) Let us, though, not squabble over who is the best Doctor, but rejoice that the series has captured a whole new generation of viewers - as well as held captivated so many older ones. We owe much to those who made this possible.

A great boxed set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The end of X, 20 Feb. 2010
By 
ds (Whitby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These specials marked the end of David Tennant's period as everyone's favourite time-travelling busybody who can never leave well-enough alone. It also marked the end of Russell T Davies and Julie Gardner's time with the show. The feeling was that there would be nothing anti-climactic about the end of Ten's time; and so it proved.

After the conclusion of 2008's Series 4 The Doctor strikes out alone in an effort to avoid causing pain to those who mostly choose to travel with him. But what of the adventures themselves?

The Next Doctor is something of a mixed bag. David Morrissey is wonderfully intense as Jackson Lake and the supporting cast, including Dervla Kirwan are nicely and unseasonably icy, but the resolution involving the Cyberking is deeply unsatisfying, possibly being the first tangible sign of RTD's increasing reliance on the deus ex machina to get himself out of plot holes. He also is starting to write the Doctor as an increasingly messianic figure, though the hints at vulnerability at the very end are rather touching.

Planet of The Dead is simply odd and can't really decide what it wants to be. It clearly pays more than passing homage to The Flight Of The Phoenix , but then uses Lee Evans to provide some odd (but not unwelcome) comic relief. There are plot holes aplenty but, once again, the performances are uniformly excellent. And I include the much-derided Michelle Ryan here, who is actually rather spiffy. True, Christina de Souza is a barely concealed Lara Croft clone, but Ryan does her work deftly and provides a nicely sardonic foil to Tennant. It is also in this episode where we start to get some small clues about ten's future and his eventual demise, "he will knock four times", in amongst the Doctor's rhapsodising over the minutiae of average lives that have become as much an RTD writing trope as those of Tarantino or Kevin Smith. Fun but ultimately lightweight.

Then we hit Waters of Mars, which is quite clearly the pick of the bunch here. The claustrophobia and the Doctor's crushing realisation of where and when he is is quite beautifully made flesh. And Lindsay Duncan is quite, quite fabulous. It's not all perfect, though. That bloody robot, Gadget, does grate but does have a part to play (however credibility there is stretched). However, in the last 10 minutes it gets even better, with the Doctor's latest meddling resulting in an unexpected and messy conclusion. Of course it also serves to immediately rein in The Doctor's burgeoning monomania: however much he tries, some things just are not fated to be changed, because 'little people' get in the way. This little passage was probably the most shocking one of these specials and shows that Davies' instincts for good dialogue and characterisation are still very strong indeed when he does get it right.

Given the hype and the kitchen sink being thrown at the series 4 finale, it was fair to assume that the final two part adventure that ends Tennant's time as the Doctor was not going to be an understated affair. As a result there were lots of things in The End of Time to love: John Simm's increasingly unhinged Master; the rather tender interactions between Ten and (undoubted national treasure) Bernard Cribbins' Wilf. And then there was Timothy Dalton and the increasingly complex and twisty plot (but once again shot through with holes - if Gallifrey was indeed timelocked, just how could they get that White Point Star out of the lock? Hmmm). And this was the central problem of the last story: RTD's insistence on continually gilding the narrative lily, including the last 15 minutes of the second part. I simply thought Tennant's regen sequence was way too long and way too self-indulgent. If he'd pared things down to the Sarah-Jane segment, Donna's wedding then Rose he may have got away with it. As it was the Jack and Mickey/Martha inserts felt a bit arbitrary and bolted on. It partially spoiled what could have been pitch perfect.

But, the first few seconds of XI look really rather promising: "Chin - blimey!"

I think that these specials ultimately show that RT has made the right decision. There is a danger that to stay any longer would have seen the creative well run dry. As it is, I think he just about gets away with it, and leaves Steve Moffat a blank canvas to work form. I'm looking forward to it already.

As ever, with the annual Who releases, the series extras are compendious and worth splashing the cash for: stripped back Confidential episodes, commentaries and video diaries all help to fill out the already good material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grand goodbye for David Tennant, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The last episodes of season 4, the last episodes with David Tennant. Although they are touching and powerful, I must say they were disappointing to me. The reason I say that is because the bar was set so high after the previous season endings, such as parting of the ways, doomsday, Last of the Time Lords and Journey's End. They all played strongly on your emotions both good and bad, they all had these grand and massive battles or happenings, and yes, End of Time does have some of that, but not quite on the same scale as the last four.

That being said it is still a MUST see for any Dr. Who fan. The waters of Mars is deffenetly quite the creepy episode that has a very surprising ending, which is the beginning of the end for Tennant as the 10th doctor.

The next doctor and planet of the dead are not really linked to anything else happening in the other three episodes, but they are decent Dr. Who stories nonetheless.

Bottom line you do get your moneys worth and then some, and of course, you get to say goodbye to Tennant.
4/5 simply because I hoped for just a tiny bit more when it came to the way it ended, and the actual... powerfulness... ?.. of the ending.

.. Oh and I almost forgot, the discs all have some great bonus material that you should enjoy, for example The Doctor and the writers of the show at comic con, deleted scenes etc. Loads of additional entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who Specials - really special, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful set of Dr Who adventures made to accomodate David Tennant's acting commitments elsewhere (otherwise there would have been no Dr Who at all in 2010). While fans were always left wanting more, time really did fly by until the end of the year when the reappearance of the Time Lords caused a real emotional stir. Russell T Davies had originally decided when he became Dr Who producer that the Time Lords would no longer exist!
Not only was that the stupidest thing that man ever did it was also arrogant and typically self-indulgent, It was offensive and nonsense to any real dedicated fan of Dr Who. So I cheered loudly when it was announced that at the end of the specials season it was announced that RTD would step down as producer. So the Time Lords appear in their regal pomp and splendour having lost none of their arrogance (RTD would have been well suited to life on Gallifery).
The Master brilliantly played by John Sim really does bite off more than he can chew when he colludes with the Time Lords....well you can just guess the rest. David Tennant exited Doctor Who in one of the most exciting endings since 1974 when the Jon Pertwee |(my favourite!) changed into Tom Baker. Ste Johnson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Eleventh Hour has come, 27 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Specials [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The Tenth Doctor's regin comes to an end with a series of specials running from Christmas 2008 all the way to New Year 2010. While many of these may not stand out as classics compared to previous episodes during David Tennant's run, there is still plenty to enjoy here as The Doctor battles the Cybermen, alien and human eating giant insects, creatures who prey on their victims with deadly water and of course the man who proclaims that 'He Will Knock Four Times'.
'The Next Doctor' while possibly the weakest of the specials is still a fun story which sees The Doctor confront a stranger who claims to be The Doctor himself. 'Planet of The Dead' is an entertaining and fairly underrated story with a great performance from one off companion Michelle Ryan (who was rumoured at one point to take on the role as The Eleventh Doctor's first full time companion). 'Waters of Mars' is probably the best the serials featuring some entertaining characters and storytelling. 'The End of Time' is also a great if overlong final story for David Tennat and final scene with the arrival of Matt Smith shows that the series was in safe hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great end for Mr Tennent - over 5 discs?, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is no doubt about the quality of the special episodes that constituted series 5. Highlights are definitely the spooky, revealing 'Waters on Mars' and shocking 'The End of Time'.

My only issue is why these five 1 hour long episodes are spread over 5 discs? The previous 4 series contained three 45 min episodes per disc, 5 discs seems like overkill, particularly having the final two part episode split over two discs.

Overall though, a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where are my commentaries??, 13 Sept. 2010
By 
MissMarj (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have absolutely no complaints about the specials themselves, they're all spectacular and such a fitting end to David Tennant's time as The Doctor. Anyone suffering from regeneration blues should re-watch these specials because the way the scripts went it really was time for this Doctor to move on.

My complaint is the lack of commentaries on this box set. The End of Time parts 1 and 2 are the only episodes that have a commentary and, as every single other episode of new Who has a one, this seems odd. I particularly missed it on Water of Mars, an absolutely stunning episode in terms of the Doctor's character development. The full length Doctor Who Confidentials are interesting though and David Tennant's last video diary is so bitter sweet.

Ah well, I'll just have to wait for the 50th anniversary editions like Russell T. Davies keeps promising on his commentaries ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! :D, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good quality DVD's which open up like a 5 segment book which is very cool. Everything is in good condition along with the free episode guide which tells you about the episode and the special features of which includes Doctor Who confidential, audio commentaries and Doctor Who at the Proms to name a few. Overall fantastic :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swan song for Ten, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Specials [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Ok, there is nothing much to say about it:
Good video quality (even considering the first special is a mere upscaling as it was the last Doctor Who episode to be shot in standard definition PAL) and tons of extras.
The packaging is a good amaray with a slip cover.

The only bad thing is the fact that the episodes are encoded in 60i instead of the correct 50i.

While the conversion is good anough not to be immediately noticeable, it's still utterly nonsensical that here in Europe we have to get the same "adapted" master of the US edition as, last time I checked, all our HDTVs and BD players are perfectly capable of displaying 50i unlike the ones on the other side of the ocean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME! MINDBLOWING, PALM SWEATING TENSION!, 2 Jan. 2011
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I urge you to buy this box set! i have the complete series 1-4 box set and i love them! but this is just as good!

THE NEXT DOCTOR-this is OK. Could have been better but still, give it a go! 7/10

THE LAND OF THE DEAD-awesome! Michael Ryan is hilarious as a myterious criminal! funny, action-packed and scary! 9/10

THE WATERS OF MARS-one of the best episodes ever! really distyurbing and funny! 10/10

THE END OF TIME 2 PARTER-brilliant! the saddest one yet! 10/10

thank you:

David Tennant
Billie Piper
Catherine Tate
Freema Agyeman
Russel T Davies
David Morrisey
John Simm
Bernard Cribbins

love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Complete Specials [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
£17.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews