Customer Reviews


285 Reviews
5 star:
 (201)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


226 of 232 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Final 5 4 10
After the tragic events at the end of series 4, the tenth Doctor chooses to travel alone and over the course of his final year in the role this equates to 5 longer than usual "special" episodes for David Tennant leading up to the very impressive arrival of Matt Smith at the end of THE END OF TIME PART TWO on 1 1 10 (which might be significant to any numerologists out...
Published on 22 Jan. 2010 by Emanon

versus
37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The greatest doctor, but not his finest hour...
For me, David Tennant is the greatest Doctor we have seen since Tom Baker. David is for 21st century Who, what Tom was to the 20th. The strength of David's performance has carried these specials, and made every one absolutely worth watching.

At the same time, I've become increasingly frustrated with Russell T. Davies' (RTD) writing for the series. Not that I am...
Published on 21 Mar. 2010 by K9


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who Specials (new Dr who), 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Specials (The Next Doctor/ Planet of the Dead/ Waters of Mars & Winter Specials) [DVD] (DVD)
The product arrived promptly and well packed. I received an excellent service from the seller, it was a pleasure to do business with them. Of course the Doctor Who specials are brilliant and very much loved and watched.

This box set includes the Waters of Mars, The End of Time part one and two and The next Doctor.

Starting with The Next Doctor, The doctor arrives in Victorian England only to hear someone shouting for the Doctor, he arrives only to find that the woman who shouted did not mean him and another "Doctor" appears. My first reaction to this was regrettably to shout NO!! very loudly at the television. Of course my instincts proved right, but it was a worrying time for a whovian who loved Tennants version of the Doctor. Yes, the large Cyberking was a bit under par but the woman in the story was beautifully wicked and excellently played, a pitty that the writers had to follow form and kill her off like all the rest of the strong women charecters they have had in this series. That is the only down side to an other wise lovely TV story. There are some good psychological twists and turns in this story, after all it is a chirstmas special, so ther is a nice ending to it.

I actually liked the Planet of the Dead story and I especially liked Lee Evans as the mad scientist in it. There were some good lines woven through the story, including the Doctors (almost forgotten) relationsip with UNIT. I felt sorry that Christine did not come with the doctor and was quite surprised to find that they did not kill her off as they seem to do for other female charecters. It is well worth a viewing.

Lastly, the End of Time, I did feel this went on a bit, especially about the drumming in the master's head and it was also a bit of a streach for the doctor to regenerate back to his original form when the Master prematurely aged him. His monologue with Bernard at the end had me in tears as did his farewell speach in the Tardis. I enjoyed the fact that he had time to go and see his companions one last time and who can blame him or the writers for doing that. After all, he could afford to delay his regeneration. It made sense therefore that after his delay, the regeneration was more powerful and took out the TARDIS consul as well.

The story lines are well thought out and the acting is very good from Mr David Tennant. As a long time fan of Doctor who and considered Tom Baker to be the best of them all, with Chirstopher being the darkest. I find it a difficult choice now to choose my favourate. Tom only comes out better because he had to act against poor scenery and a limited budget and dealt with it all with humour and skill. David had it better overall but even so, his proformance shone. He should be very proud.

All in all a very enjoyable and exciting purchase. I have waited 20 years for this programme to return and this was my second purchase of Doctor who. I now want to buy all the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The end of X, 20 Feb. 2010
By 
ds (Whitby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Specials (The Next Doctor/ Planet of the Dead/ Waters of Mars & Winter Specials) [DVD] (DVD)
These specials marked the end of David Tennant's period as everyone's favourite time-travelling busybody who can never leave well-enough alone. It also marked the end of Russell T Davies and Julie Gardner's time with the show. The feeling was that there would be nothing anti-climactic about the end of Ten's time; and so it proved.

After the conclusion of 2008's Series 4 The Doctor strikes out alone in an effort to avoid causing pain to those who mostly choose to travel with him. But what of the adventures themselves?

The Next Doctor is something of a mixed bag. David Morrissey is wonderfully intense as Jackson Lake and the supporting cast, including Dervla Kirwan are nicely and unseasonably icy, but the resolution involving the Cyberking is deeply unsatisfying, possibly being the first tangible sign of RTD's increasing reliance on the deus ex machina to get himself out of plot holes. He also is starting to write the Doctor as an increasingly messianic figure, though the hints at vulnerability at the very end are rather touching.

Planet of The Dead is simply odd and can't really decide what it wants to be. It clearly pays more than passing homage to The Flight Of The Phoenix , but then uses Lee Evans to provide some odd (but not unwelcome) comic relief. There are plot holes aplenty but, once again, the performances are uniformly excellent. And I include the much-derided Michelle Ryan here, who is actually rather spiffy. True, Christina de Souza is a barely concealed Lara Croft clone, but Ryan does her work deftly and provides a nicely sardonic foil to Tennant. It is also in this episode where we start to get some small clues about ten's future and his eventual demise, "he will knock four times", in amongst the Doctor's rhapsodising over the minutiae of average lives that have become as much an RTD writing trope as those of Tarantino or Kevin Smith. Fun but ultimately lightweight.

Then we hit Waters of Mars, which is quite clearly the pick of the bunch here. The claustrophobia and the Doctor's crushing realisation of where and when he is is quite beautifully made flesh. And Lindsay Duncan is quite, quite fabulous. It's not all perfect, though. That bloody robot, Gadget, does grate but does have a part to play (however credibility there is stretched). However, in the last 10 minutes it gets even better, with the Doctor's latest meddling resulting in an unexpected and messy conclusion. Of course it also serves to immediately rein in The Doctor's burgeoning monomania: however much he tries, some things just are not fated to be changed, because 'little people' get in the way. This little passage was probably the most shocking one of these specials and shows that Davies' instincts for good dialogue and characterisation are still very strong indeed when he does get it right.

Given the hype and the kitchen sink being thrown at the series 4 finale, it was fair to assume that the final two part adventure that ends Tennant's time as the Doctor was not going to be an understated affair. As a result there were lots of things in The End of Time to love: John Simm's increasingly unhinged Master; the rather tender interactions between Ten and (undoubted national treasure) Bernard Cribbins' Wilf. And then there was Timothy Dalton and the increasingly complex and twisty plot (but once again shot through with holes - if Gallifrey was indeed timelocked, just how could they get that White Point Star out of the lock? Hmmm). And this was the central problem of the last story: RTD's insistence on continually gilding the narrative lily, including the last 15 minutes of the second part. I simply thought Tennant's regen sequence was way too long and way too self-indulgent. If he'd pared things down to the Sarah-Jane segment, Donna's wedding then Rose he may have got away with it. As it was the Jack and Mickey/Martha inserts felt a bit arbitrary and bolted on. It partially spoiled what could have been pitch perfect.

But, the first few seconds of XI look really rather promising: "Chin - blimey!"

I think that these specials ultimately show that RT has made the right decision. There is a danger that to stay any longer would have seen the creative well run dry. As it is, I think he just about gets away with it, and leaves Steve Moffat a blank canvas to work form. I'm looking forward to it already.

As ever, with the annual Who releases, the series extras are compendious and worth splashing the cash for: stripped back Confidential episodes, commentaries and video diaries all help to fill out the already good material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grand goodbye for David Tennant, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Specials (The Next Doctor/ Planet of the Dead/ Waters of Mars & Winter Specials) [DVD] (DVD)
The last episodes of season 4, the last episodes with David Tennant. Although they are touching and powerful, I must say they were disappointing to me. The reason I say that is because the bar was set so high after the previous season endings, such as parting of the ways, doomsday, Last of the Time Lords and Journey's End. They all played strongly on your emotions both good and bad, they all had these grand and massive battles or happenings, and yes, End of Time does have some of that, but not quite on the same scale as the last four.

That being said it is still a MUST see for any Dr. Who fan. The waters of Mars is deffenetly quite the creepy episode that has a very surprising ending, which is the beginning of the end for Tennant as the 10th doctor.

The next doctor and planet of the dead are not really linked to anything else happening in the other three episodes, but they are decent Dr. Who stories nonetheless.

Bottom line you do get your moneys worth and then some, and of course, you get to say goodbye to Tennant.
4/5 simply because I hoped for just a tiny bit more when it came to the way it ended, and the actual... powerfulness... ?.. of the ending.

.. Oh and I almost forgot, the discs all have some great bonus material that you should enjoy, for example The Doctor and the writers of the show at comic con, deleted scenes etc. Loads of additional entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who Specials - really special, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Specials (The Next Doctor/ Planet of the Dead/ Waters of Mars & Winter Specials) [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful set of Dr Who adventures made to accomodate David Tennant's acting commitments elsewhere (otherwise there would have been no Dr Who at all in 2010). While fans were always left wanting more, time really did fly by until the end of the year when the reappearance of the Time Lords caused a real emotional stir. Russell T Davies had originally decided when he became Dr Who producer that the Time Lords would no longer exist!
Not only was that the stupidest thing that man ever did it was also arrogant and typically self-indulgent, It was offensive and nonsense to any real dedicated fan of Dr Who. So I cheered loudly when it was announced that at the end of the specials season it was announced that RTD would step down as producer. So the Time Lords appear in their regal pomp and splendour having lost none of their arrogance (RTD would have been well suited to life on Gallifery).
The Master brilliantly played by John Sim really does bite off more than he can chew when he colludes with the Time Lords....well you can just guess the rest. David Tennant exited Doctor Who in one of the most exciting endings since 1974 when the Jon Pertwee |(my favourite!) changed into Tom Baker. Ste Johnson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Eleventh Hour has come, 27 Oct. 2014
The Tenth Doctor's regin comes to an end with a series of specials running from Christmas 2008 all the way to New Year 2010. While many of these may not stand out as classics compared to previous episodes during David Tennant's run, there is still plenty to enjoy here as The Doctor battles the Cybermen, alien and human eating giant insects, creatures who prey on their victims with deadly water and of course the man who proclaims that 'He Will Knock Four Times'.
'The Next Doctor' while possibly the weakest of the specials is still a fun story which sees The Doctor confront a stranger who claims to be The Doctor himself. 'Planet of The Dead' is an entertaining and fairly underrated story with a great performance from one off companion Michelle Ryan (who was rumoured at one point to take on the role as The Eleventh Doctor's first full time companion). 'Waters of Mars' is probably the best the serials featuring some entertaining characters and storytelling. 'The End of Time' is also a great if overlong final story for David Tennat and final scene with the arrival of Matt Smith shows that the series was in safe hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great end for Mr Tennent - over 5 discs?, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Specials (The Next Doctor/ Planet of the Dead/ Waters of Mars & Winter Specials) [DVD] (DVD)
There is no doubt about the quality of the special episodes that constituted series 5. Highlights are definitely the spooky, revealing 'Waters on Mars' and shocking 'The End of Time'.

My only issue is why these five 1 hour long episodes are spread over 5 discs? The previous 4 series contained three 45 min episodes per disc, 5 discs seems like overkill, particularly having the final two part episode split over two discs.

Overall though, a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who with all the trimmings., 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Specials (The Next Doctor/ Planet of the Dead/ Waters of Mars & Winter Specials) [DVD] (DVD)
David Tennant had a back injury when making the previous season so we have to consider this a piece of Dr Who made when he was avialable, however the stories themselves are well executed and do the job to the bitter end, this time they have spent the budget on the Doctor and it shows, the production values are very high and they don't let up save for significant moments in the overall story arc, the best kind of Dr Who story are all in this collection, the guest stars in these all perform with gusto without overwhelming the plots, Timothy Dalton as Rassilon is an inspiration, he dynamites his way through the story as you would expect the top timelord to do, Bernard Cribbins, he just needs to be there, John Simm plays the master at his most full throttle, If you watch this lot you need to space it out, try and watch it all in one go and you will need a defribulator and a nurse on standby. Set aside a period for this, it needs to be watched without distractions. get this while you can you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where are my commentaries??, 13 Sept. 2010
By 
MissMarj (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Specials (The Next Doctor/ Planet of the Dead/ Waters of Mars & Winter Specials) [DVD] (DVD)
I have absolutely no complaints about the specials themselves, they're all spectacular and such a fitting end to David Tennant's time as The Doctor. Anyone suffering from regeneration blues should re-watch these specials because the way the scripts went it really was time for this Doctor to move on.

My complaint is the lack of commentaries on this box set. The End of Time parts 1 and 2 are the only episodes that have a commentary and, as every single other episode of new Who has a one, this seems odd. I particularly missed it on Water of Mars, an absolutely stunning episode in terms of the Doctor's character development. The full length Doctor Who Confidentials are interesting though and David Tennant's last video diary is so bitter sweet.

Ah well, I'll just have to wait for the 50th anniversary editions like Russell T. Davies keeps promising on his commentaries ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! :D, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Complete Specials (The Next Doctor/ Planet of the Dead/ Waters of Mars & Winter Specials) [DVD] (DVD)
Good quality DVD's which open up like a 5 segment book which is very cool. Everything is in good condition along with the free episode guide which tells you about the episode and the special features of which includes Doctor Who confidential, audio commentaries and Doctor Who at the Proms to name a few. Overall fantastic :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swan song for Ten, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok, there is nothing much to say about it:
Good video quality (even considering the first special is a mere upscaling as it was the last Doctor Who episode to be shot in standard definition PAL) and tons of extras.
The packaging is a good amaray with a slip cover.

The only bad thing is the fact that the episodes are encoded in 60i instead of the correct 50i.

While the conversion is good anough not to be immediately noticeable, it's still utterly nonsensical that here in Europe we have to get the same "adapted" master of the US edition as, last time I checked, all our HDTVs and BD players are perfectly capable of displaying 50i unlike the ones on the other side of the ocean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews