Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun
I'll have to disagree with other reviewers in their estimation of how good this film is as they tend to lead you to expect something that it isn't. Having said, it was well worth the two hours of my time spent watching it, but it isn't a classic by any means.

The story is simple enough: last survivor seeks revenge and becomes bodyguard to a princess on a...
Published on 28 Sep 2010 by Ian Williams

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid But Not-Quite-Classic
I enjoyed Wolfhound and was ready to make it a blind buy...right up until I actually watched the film. It's good, really entertaining stuff, but not even close to being good enough to sit amongst my sword-and-sorcery classics. It is indeed worth renting or catching on cable though! It's beautiful to look at, the action is spot on, the villains are ruthless and the hero is...
Published on 12 Oct 2010 by Brian Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 28 Sep 2010
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolfhound [DVD] (DVD)
I'll have to disagree with other reviewers in their estimation of how good this film is as they tend to lead you to expect something that it isn't. Having said, it was well worth the two hours of my time spent watching it, but it isn't a classic by any means.

The story is simple enough: last survivor seeks revenge and becomes bodyguard to a princess on a journey to an arranged marriage. There is simply lots of action, so much that you're almost clammering for a talking bit to slow down the pace and get some plot development in. While there's plenty of blood being spattered about, it's quite restrained when it comes to showing you gory details. Forget about the monsters though, there aren't any other than the barely seen mist creatures and an animated mountain. I did like the hero's companion animal, a flying fox (or fruit bat) as I'm partial to their sweet little faces. Not sure if the creature was all cgi. If not then the cgi was very good.

The setting is one of the main attractions with the wild Russian wilderness of mountains, forests and swamp, enhanced by some effective cgi work. Also the Dark Age Russian culture and dress adds another layer of interest and difference. The film has a feeling of reality.

The hero is hairy, bearded and unstoppable but not in a Conan way and the actor does a good job of making a somewhat dour character sympathetic and believable.

Don't expect too much of it and you'll probably have a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passable fighting fantasy movie, 11 Mar 2010
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wolfhound [DVD] (DVD)
The blurb on the box for this movie compares it to both Conan and Lord of The Rings, while it is correct in the first instance I dont see it as being similar to Lord of The Rings at all, it is more apt to compare it to either Willow [DVD] [1988] (particularly the skull masked evil swordmaster) or the beast master movies (particularly the hoardes of evil black armoured warriors and the hero having little animal consorts from the outset right through to the finish).

It covers a lot of the fighting fantasy cliches, magical swords being forged against dark gods, children enslaved when their tribe are massacred growing up, learning fighting arts and swordsmanship to exact revenge, the blood of innocents used to unleash dark Gods, bookish sorts being saved from bullying slavers etc. Although if this is what you are looking for you wont be disappointed and I wasnt.

It is a foreign language film, which I hadnt realised before buying it but the captions and subtitles were fine and dialogue didnt move too quickly to follow. All the actors really look the part and the special effects were decent, a little better than TV or photoshop or youtube, although not likely to rival big budget productions like LOTR. A lot better than early fantasy productions or "bodice rippers" like the woeful Deathstalker [1984] [DVD].

There's some magical and monster battling in the form of mist which manifests people/ghosts, a large rock and lava style beasty which then takes on the character of a kind of twister or storm and gets fought of with a magical sword which takes a huge beam of light quality (this is reminiscent of the final battle in the PS2 Game God Hand (PS2) for anyone who would understand that reference). That said the majority of the action is brawling among humans with swords or spears or sharp sticks even, a little like some of the sequences in The 13th Warrior [DVD] [1999] and First Knight [DVD] [1995] or even one sequence fighting in a sort of fishing village to save a condemned woman and child which is reminiscent of Waterworld [DVD] [1995].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A howling success - nearly gets 5 stars!, 20 Aug 2011
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wolfhound [DVD] (DVD)
WolfHound turned out to be quite a surprise. It was really pretty good, and nearly gets 5 stars in my opninion. There was much to like about this film, especially if sword & scorcery flicks are you typr of thing.

Based on a best-selling novel, WolfHound follows the tale of the last surviving member of a slaughtered tribe. Snatched as a child and enslaved, he escapes and grows up to become a fearsome warrior and is sucked into an all-out war of good Vs. evil

The costumes were great, as were the sets. The effects too were pretty impressive in places. The scenery was, quite frankly, stunning and WolfHound the warrior had one of the coolest familiars I've ever seen in a film: Torn Wing, the fruit bat.

The fight scenes were well choreographed and felt full of energy and the leading lady was beautiful. Best of all though was the storyline, which - I'm guessing because the film itself is Russian - felt far removed from the normal formula.

The acting was good and the score was pretty good too - adding to the film in all the right ways in all the right places. The only thing there is to grumble about is the lack of extras on the DVD. All there is is the option to watch the film with English dubbing.

Overall - well worth a watch if you like this sort of thing and fancy something different. To sum up, WolfHound was a Howling success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By the power of Greywolf!, 7 Mar 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolfhound [DVD] (DVD)
Stop me if you've heard this one.... Some bad toads show up at a village, only to slaughter everyone but for the kids, who they put into slavery! Then one day, later down the line, one of the kids grows up with such a big chip on his shoulder, that he breaks social convention, by standing up against his bosses at the sweat shop he works in and becomes a free man, only to then pick up a big sword and wage a one man war against the original aggressors, in a vengeful attempt to massacre his way to redemption...
Great film this, really good fun. Okay, I'll admit the storytelling is a bit clumsy at times and the dialogue a bit stilted and deceiving to follow in Russian (I went for subtitles over dubbing), but Wolfhound's a solid little fantasy with some great horror elements! There's a little bit of slushy romance, tension, scares, monsters, honour, adventure, boo hiss baddies and loads of fighting... What more do you want. There's a semi~annoying pet bat, kinda like the animals in Beastmaster, that seems to be some sort of metaphor for Wolfhound's character. The sets are well done and the costumes are good with plenty of blood squibs and effects!
I mean yeah okay, it's not as good as Conan (Milius) or Hawk The Slayer (yes my spectacles are rose tinted!) but its probably better than the Ator films and some of the other cheap (mostly American and Italian) sword and sandal/fantasy efforts of the early 80's, which I don't say lightly, as I have a great fondness for them! It also reminded me a little of those cheap 70's fantasy paperbacks I used to read (and still do on occasion if I'm honest!), like Wereblood!
Toward the end, Wolfhound just gets more and more ridiculous (in a good way), building up to a big one on one scrap with a demon (which I didn't like the concept for, but is nonetheless well realised) with the hero practically shouting "By the power of Greyskull!" Hahaha. Well I enjoyed it anyway.. 4.25/5 stars at least, considering its sub~genre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolfhound is a gem that many will miss., 26 April 2010
This review is from: Wolfhound [DVD] (DVD)
There are a lot of straight to dvd fantasy movies coming out these days and most are dire. Wolfhound clearly has a larger budget than most of them and while no rival to the LOTR trilogy it is certainly a good looking film. The digital effects are all good but the sets and production values are excellent. I watched it first with subtitles as I usually hate dubbing but even that is well done here.
The story follows a lot of fantasy cliches but does them so well you really don't care, I would actually go as far as to say it is the best fantasy film since return of the king.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 3 Mar 2011
By 
Nobody "Knows" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wolfhound [DVD] (DVD)
Epic movie, only spoiled by a poor translation, I do wish the translators would try harder to convey the meaning of language rather than direct translation, but still a good solid fantasy yarn, and a trained bat, remarkable. I really enjoyed it, long, slow but always watchable, and a great bit of back story via a song. Worth the discounted price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid But Not-Quite-Classic, 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: Wolfhound [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
I enjoyed Wolfhound and was ready to make it a blind buy...right up until I actually watched the film. It's good, really entertaining stuff, but not even close to being good enough to sit amongst my sword-and-sorcery classics. It is indeed worth renting or catching on cable though! It's beautiful to look at, the action is spot on, the villains are ruthless and the hero is the quiet, handle-your-business Clint Eastwood type. `nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: Wolfhound (DVD)
An entertaining fantasy film though being subtitled makes it more difficult to watch, better than some Hollywood stuff out recently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars another rubbish film, 17 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Wolfhound (DVD)
When Lovefilm was running this operation, you could safely say that if a film only 1 or 2 stars that it was probably pretty frightful
Now Amazon have their paws in the mix, tripe like this appears to have 4 or more stars
Don't trust the Amazon reviews seems to be the way to go.
This is the third film that we've had recently that was of little or no use.
This one was so bad that we didn't bother to watch it through to the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 18 April 2014
By 
Mr. William Land (yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolfhound [DVD] (DVD)
it is in Russian with subtitles and after 10 minutes had enough of what I can only describe is rubbish!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wolfhound [DVD]
Wolfhound [DVD] by Nikolay Lebedev (DVD - 2010)
9.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews